~ 1 ") 2009 Massachusetts Resident Income Tax Form 1

Still filing paper?
WebFile instead!

Now available
for almost all
Form 1 filers

WebFile
for Income ™\

WebFile is Secure, Easy, Green and Free ...
... and you’ll get a faster refund!

www.mass.gov/webfile



Special Section on Minimum Creditable Coverage

Starting on January 1, 2009, adults must be enrolled in a health insurance plan that meets Minimum Creditable Coverage requirements.

What is “Minimum Creditable Coverage” (MCC)?

It’s the minimum level of health insurance benefits that adult tax filers need
to be considered insured and avoid tax penalties in Massachusetts.

How do | know if my plan met MCC?

Massachusetts-licensed health insurance companies must put an MCC-
compliance notice on their plans to indicate if it does or does not meet MCC.
Most do meet the MCC standards. If you received a Form MA 1099-HC
from your insurer, that form will indicate whether your insurance met MCC
requirements. For a list of plans that automatically meet MCC, please refer
to the plans listed on this page.

What if I did not receive a Form MA 1099-HC from my insurer?

You can call your insurer or your employer’s human resources department
or benefits administrator for help, if you get health coverage through your
job. If your insurer or your employer is unable to assist you, please refer

to the “Benefits Required Under MCC” section on this page to see if your
policy meets these requirements. If your plan meets all of the requirements,
you may certify in line 3 of the Schedule HC that you were enrolled in a plan
that met the MCC requirements during that time period.

What if my plan did not meet MCC for all of 2009?

If you were enrolled in a plan that did not meet the MCC requirements for all
of 2009, you must fill in the “No MCC/None” oval in line 3 of the Schedule
HC and follow the instructions on the Schedule HC. You will not be subject
to a penalty if it is determined that you did not have access to affordable
insurance that met MCC. If you had access to affordable insurance that met
MCC but did not purchase it, you are subject to a penalty. However, if you
are subject to a penalty, you may appeal and claim that the penalty should
not apply to you. For more information about the grounds and procedure
for appeals, go to page HC-8. No penalty will be imposed pending the out-
come of your appeal.

What if | was enrolled in an MCC plan for only part of the year?

If you were enrolled in an MCC plan for only part of the year, you should fill
in the “Part-Year MCC” oval in line 3 of the Schedule HC and go to line 4.
In line 4, only provide the health insurance information for the MCC plan(s)
you were enrolled in. Do not provide health insurance information in line 4
for a plan that did not meet the MCC standards.

Benefits Required Under MCC
For most plans, the 2009 “Minimum Creditable Coverage” standards include:

* Coverage for a comprehensive set of services (for example: doctors vis-
its, hospital admissions, day surgery, emergency services, mental health
and substance abuse, and prescription drug coverage);

* Doctor visits for preventive care, without a deductible;

* A cap on annual deductibles of $2,000 for an individual and $4,000 for a
family;

* For plans with up-front deductibles or co-insurance on core services, an
annual maximum on out-of-pocket spending of no more than $5,000 for an
individual and $10,000 for a family;

* No caps on total benefits for a particular iliness or for a single year;

* No policy that covers only a fixed dollar amount per day or stay in the
hospital, with the patient responsible for all other charges; and

* For policies that have a separate prescription drug deductible, it cannot
exceed $250 for an individual or $500 for a family.

Other ways of meeting MCC:
You automatically meet MCC if you are enrolled in:

* Medicare Part A or B;

* Any Commonwealth Care, Commonwealth Care Bridge plan;

* Any Commonwealth Choice plan (including Young Adult Plans);
* MassHealth;

* A federally-qualified high deductible health plan (HDHP);

e A Student Health Insurance Plan (SHIP) offered in Massachusetts or
another state;

e Atribal or Indian Health Service plan;
* TRICARE;
* The U.S. Veterans Administration Health System;

* A health insurance plan offered by the federal government to federal
employees or retirees; or

 Peace Gorps, VISTA or AmeriCorps or National Civilian Community Corps
coverage.

For more information on MCC requirements, see 956 C.M.R.5.00 on the
Health Connector’s website at www.mahealthconnector.org.



What Is E-File?

E-File is filing your state personal income tax return electronically through
one of three methods offered by the Massachusetts Department of Rev-
enue (DOR). Last year, more than one million taxpayers electronically
filed their state income tax returns in the Commonwealth. On average,
they received their refunds in three days. These three methods are:

WebFile for Income

Expanded for Tax Year 2009. The Department’s WebFile for Income online
service has been expanded. Almost all taxpayers who file Form 1 are now
eligible to electronically their file personal income tax return directly with
DOR, at no cost. WebFile for Income is available through our Web Serv-
ices for Income application.

How do I begin? Sign up today through DOR’s Web Services for Income
application to start enjoying the benefits of managing your personal in-
come tax account online. For more information, visit www.mass.gov/dor
and click on “Income Tax Services” in the “Online Services” section at
the top of the page.

Paid Preparer

Millions of taxpayers have had their returns electronically filed
through DOR-approved tax preparers. If your tax preparer does
not offer E-File, ask him or her to give it a try!

Note: For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005, income tax
return preparers who completed 100 or more original Massachusetts
Forms 1 and 1-NR/PY, including those E-Filed, during the previous cal-
endar year are required to use electronic means to file all personal in-
come tax returns, unless the taxpayer specifically directs that the filing
be on paper and signs Form EFO, Personal Income Tax Declaration of
Paper Filing.

If you prefer to file using paper, your preparer must use a DOR-approved
tax preparation software package that supports 2-Dimensional (2-D)
barcodes. Visit www.mass.gov/dor for a list of approved preparers.

Be sure to use the proper address when mailing your 2-D barcoded
return. Refund/no tax due: Massachusetts Department of Revenue,
PO Box 7001, Boston, MA 02204-7001. Payment/tax due: Massachu-
setts Department of Revenue, PO Box 7002, Boston, MA 02204-7002.

Commercial Tax Preparation Software

You can also E-File using DOR-approved commercial tax filing web-
sites or software products. Visit www.mass.gov/dor for a com-
plete listing of approved websites and products. If you prefer to file
using a paper copy, you must use a product that incorporates 2-D bar-
codes into their software. This will expedite the processing of your re-
turn. If your software-generated return does not print with a 2-D barcode
in the upper right hand corner of all pages, you may have a problem with
your printer. To avoid penalties or having your return rejected, contact
your software vendor for instructions on how to print the 2-D barcode.

Be sure to use the proper address when mailing your 2-D barcoded
return. Refund/no tax due: Massachusetts Department of Revenue,
PO Box 7001, Boston, MA 02204-7001. Payment/tax due: Massachu-
setts Department of Revenue, PO Box 7002, Boston, MA 02204-7002.

Personal Identification Number (PIN)

If you received this booklet in the mail, be sure to retain the PIN printed
on the back cover. You will need it to access the Department’s telephone

and Web-based systems that allow you to check the status of your re-
fund and perform other actions. If you did not get this booklet in the mail
and do not have a PIN, you will need the amount of your requested re-
fund or tax due from your 2008 Massachusetts tax return to access these
systems. If you are a first-time filer, you will still be able to access these
systems without a PIN.

Why Should You E-File?

D Less stress. If you E-File you will not have to worry about math errors,
missing schedules or other common mistakes which could delay your
refund or cause other problems that take time to resolve. And E-File is
safe. Plus, you will receive immediate confirmation that serves as proof
you filed.

D Fast refunds. Whether you E-File in January or mid-April, you will
receive your refund, on average, in three days. You also have the option
of having your refund deposited directly into your bank account. (Some
commercial tax preparation products may not offer direct deposit.)

D Easy to use. Whether you file your return, or have your preparer E-File
for you, the E-File system walks you through it step by step, and does
the calculations for you.

D Convenient payment options. If you have a tax due, you can file now
and pay later (by April 15, 2010) through Web Services for Income at
www.mass.gov/dor or by Electronic Funds Withdrawal. You can also file
now and pay later using Form PV, Massachusetts Income Tax Payment
Voucher (by April 15, 2010). Form PV is attached to the back of the
envelope found in this booklet. If you choose to pay by check, be sure
to include Form PV to ensure proper crediting of your account.

Automatic Extension Granted if 100% Tax Due is Paid
by Tax Return Due Date

If line 3 of the worksheet below is “0” and 100% of the tax due for 2009
has been paid through:

d withholding;

D timely estimated payments of tax;

d credits from your 2009 return; and

D arefund from the prior tax year applied to the next year’s tax liability,
you are no longer required to file Form M-4868, Application for Automatic
Extension of Time to File Massachusetts Income Tax Return. However, if

you do choose to file Form M-4868 in this instance, you must do so elec-
tronically, via DOR’s website. See TIR 06-21 for more information.

Also, if you owe no tax or you are making a payment of $5,000 or more,
you are required to file your extension via the web. If you are making a
payment of less than $5,000, you also have the option of filing your ex-
tension electronically. If there is a tax due with your extension, payment
can be made through Electronic Funds Withdrawal.

Visit www.mass.gov/dor to file via the Web or to obtain Form M-4868.

Extension Worksheet

1. Enter amount from Form 1, line 31..............
2. Enter the total of Form 1, lines 36 through 38 and
40through42 ......... ... ... . ... i
3. Amount due. Subtract line 2 from line 1, not less
than “07. .. ... ... . . . .




O Before You Begin

Important Note

At the time this booklet was printed, the IRS had
not released final versions of all of its forms and
schedules. Therefore, taxpayers should double-
check references to U.S. forms and schedules
within this booklet before filing their returns.

Form 1 Checklist

V' if you received a booklet in the mail, be sure
to retain the four-digit Personal Identification Num-
ber (PIN) printed on the back cover. You may need
it to use DOR’s Web-based and/or Interactive Voice
Response (IVR) applications, such as checking the
status of your refund.

V' Have you entered your Social Security num-
ber(s) on Form 1?

V' Have you completed and enclosed all three
pages of Form 1 and applicable schedules?

V' Have you completed and enclosed Schedule
HC, Health Care Information? Be sure to attach
Form MA 1099-HC to Schedule HC.

V' if you changed your name, did you enclose a
copy of your Social Security card or driver’s license
showing your new name and fill in the name/ad-
dress change bubble on Form 1?

V' Have you, and your spouse if married filing
jointly, signed your return at the bottom of page 1
of Form 1?

V' Have you marked an “X” in any form or
schedule box that shows a loss?

V' Have you completed Schedule DI, Dependent
Information, if claiming a dependent exemption on
Form 1, line 2b or taking a deduction/credit(s) on
Form 1, lines 12, 13 or 40 (if applicable)?

V' if making a payment, have you enclosed your
check and Form PV with your return? Be sure to
put your Social Security number on your check.
Form PV is attached to the back of the envelope
found in this booklet. Also, be sure to use the light
blue mailing label when mailing your Form 1 with
the Form PV.

Major 2009
Tax Changes

Duty to Obtain Health Insurance; Penalty
for Failure to Obtain Health Insurance

Most Massachusetts residents age 18 and over are
required to have health insurance, if it is afford-
able to them. Residents who have access to afford-
able coverage but do not obtain the coverage may
face state tax penalties pursuant to G.L. c. 111M,

sec. 2. Starting with 2008, adults who can afford
health insurance are required to have coverage
each month of the year, although 63-day gaps in
coverage are allowed. The monthly penalties for
failing to obtain affordable coverage for taxable
year 2009 are set out in TIR 09-1 and are based on
half of the minimum monthly insurance premium
for which an individual would have qualified
through the Connector.

Pursuant to its authority under the Act, the Con-
nector issued Administrative Information Bulletin
02-09 that temporarily extends the permitted, pen-
alty-free gap in health insurance coverage to three
months (as opposed to the statutory 63-day gap).
For 2009, adults who lose but then resume their
coverage within three or fewer consecutive calen-
dar months will not be subject to tax penalties.

Schedule HC, Health Care Information, must be
completed by all full-year residents and certain
part-year residents age 18 and over to notify the
Department whether or not they had health insur-
ance in each month of 2009. Taxpayers who did
not have coverage for all of 2009, or had a gap in
coverage of four or more consecutive months will
need to determine if they had access to affordable
health insurance (either through an employer, the
government or on their own). The instructions to
Schedule HC contain the worksheets and tables to
determine whether the taxpayer had access to af-
fordable health insurance. If it is determined that a
taxpayer could have afforded health insurance, the
taxpayer has the right to appeal the application of
the penalty due to hardship by requesting an ap-
peal to the Connector on the Schedule HC.

For more information about the health care re-
form law, including DOR’s regulation at 830 CMR
111M.2.1, Health Insurance Individual Mandate;
Personal Income Tax Return Requirements, or the
Connector’s regulation at 956 CMR 6.00, Deter-
mining Affordability for the Individual Mandate,
see the Connector’s website at www.mahealthcon
nector.org or DOR’s website at www.mass.gov/dor.

Circuit Breaker Tax Credit Increased

A credit is allowed to an owner or tenant of resi-
dential property located in Massachusetts equal to
the amount by which the real estate tax payment
or 25% of the rent constituting real estate tax pay-
ment exceeds 10% of the taxpayer’s total income,
not to exceed $960. The amount of the credit is
subject to limitations based on the taxpayer’s total
income and the assessed value of the real estate,
which must not exceed $788,000. For tax year
2009, an eligible taxpayer’s total income cannot
exceed $51,000 in the case of a single filer who is
not a head of household filer, $64,000 for a head
of household filer, and $77,000 for joint filers. In
order to qualify for the credit, a taxpayer must be

age 65 or older and must occupy the property as
his or her principal residence. See TIR 09-16 for
more information.

Dairy Farmer Tax Credit

The Massachusetts dairy farmer tax credit was
established to offset the cyclical downturns in milk
prices paid to dairy farmers and is based on the
U.S. Federal Milk Marketing Order for the applica-
ble market. A taxpayer who holds a certificate of
registration as a dairy farmer pursuant to G.L. c.
94, s. 16A is allowed a refundable tax credit based
on the amount of milk produced and sold. The
dairy farmer tax credit as originally enacted was
90% refundable. Under recent legislation, the dairy
farmer tax credit is now 100% refundable.

Military Spouses Residency Relief Act

On November 11, 2009, the Military Spouses Res-
idency Relief Act (P.L. 111-97) was enacted. The
Act prohibits a servicemember’s spouse from ei-
ther losing or acquiring a residence or domicile for
purposes of taxation because of being absent or
present in any U.S. tax jurisdiction solely to be with
the servicemember in compliance with the service-
member’s military orders if the residence or domi-
cile is the same for the servicemember and the
spouse. For more information, see TIR 09-23.

New Current Code Provisions

As a general rule, Massachusetts will not adopt any
federal tax law changes incorporated into the Inter-
nal Revenue Code (“Code”) after January 1, 2005.
However, certain specific provisions of the per-
sonal income tax automatically adopt the current
Code. Provisions of the Code adopted on a current
Code basis are (i) Roth IRAs, (i) IRAs, (iii) the ex-
clusion for gain on the sale of a principal residence,
(iv) trade or business expenses, (v) travel expenses,
(vi) meals and entertainment expenses, (vii) the
maximum deferral amount of government employ-
ees’ deferred compensation plans, (viii) deduc-
tion for health insurance costs of self-employed,
(ix) medical and dental expenses, (x) annuities, and
(xi) health savings accounts. See TIRs 98-8, 02-11,
and 07-4 for further details on Massachusetts’ per-
sonal income tax current Code provisions.

New Exclusion Allowed

Temporary Subsidy for COBRA Coverage

of Unemployed Workers

The federal American Recovery and Reinvestment
Act of 2009 (P.L. 111-5 or “ARRA”) allows a
COBRA subsidy for certain involuntarily-terminated
employees and their families. Recently, the Legis-
lature adopted the current Code with regard to the
federal exclusion from gross income of the COBRA
subsidy under IRC sec. 139C. Thus, Massachu-
setts adopts the new federal exclusion from gross
income for the COBRA subsidy. See TIR 09-21 for
more information.



Temporary Increase in Earned Income
Credit

For federal income tax purposes, the ARRA
amends IRC sec. 32 to increase the earned in-
come tax credit percentage for families with three
or more qualifying children to 45% for 2009 and
2010. The ARRA also increases the threshold
phase-out amounts for married couples filing joint
returns to $5,000 above the threshold phase-out
amounts for singles, surviving spouses, and heads
of household for 2009 and 2010. The Massachu-
setts earned income tax credit equals 15 % of the
federal earned income tax credit received by the
taxpayer for the taxable year. Therefore, Massachu-
setts allows 15% of whatever the taxpayer receives
federally under IRC sec. 32. The effect is that
Massachusetts will allow a larger credit for 2009
and 2010 due to the ARRA and its increases to the
federal earned income tax credit for those years.

Temporary Increase in Section 179
Expensing

Effective for the tax years beginning in 2009, for
federal income tax purposes, the ARRA increased
the IRC sec. 179 election to expense property in
its initial year from $133,000 to $250,000. The
federal Act also increased the sec. 179 overall in-
vestment limit from $530,000 to $800,000. Mass-
achusetts adopts the increases in this expensing
provision given sec. 179 is a trade or business
expense deduction adopted by Massachusetts on
a current Code basis.

Tax-Free Distributions from
Individual Retirement Accounts

Qualified Charitable Distribution from an
Individual Retirement Account (“IRA”)

IRC sec. 408(d)(8)

The Pension Protection Act of 2006 (P.L. 109-280)
allowed taxpayers age 701/2 or greater to make
tax-free distributions from traditional and Roth
IRAs to qualified charities for the 2006 and 2007
tax years, not to exceed $100,000 per tax year. The
exclusion was extended for distributions made in
tax years 2008 and 2009 by the Emergency Eco-
nomic Stabilization Act of 2008 (P.L. 110-343).
Massachusetts adopts this exclusion from gross
income, including the extension for tax years 2008
and 2009, given this federal Code provision for
IRAs is adopted by Massachusetts on a current
Code basis. See TIR 06-20 and Schedule X, line 2
for further details.

New Exclusion — Not Allowed

Partial Exclusion of Unemployment
Compensation

For federal income tax purposes, pursuant to IRC
sec. 85(c), individuals must include in gross in-
come any unemployment compensation received
under the laws of the U.S. or any state. Under the

ARRA, up to $2,400 of unemployment compensa-
tion benefits received in 2009 are excluded from
federal gross income by the recipient. Massachu-
setts follows the provisions of IRC sec. 85(c) as
amended and in effect on January 1, 2005. Mass-
achusetts does not adopt the partial exclusion of
unemployment compensation because it was en-
acted after January 1, 2005.

New Deduction — Not Allowed

Federal “Bonus” Depreciation

For federal income tax purposes, the ARRA pro-
vides for an additional depreciation deduction,
under IRC sec. 168(k), in the placed-in-service
year equal to 50% of the adjusted basis of “quali-
fied property.” The property must be acquired after
December 31, 2008 and before January 1, 2010.
Under 2002 legislation, Massachusetts decoupled
from bonus depreciation allowed under IRC sec.
168(k), as amended and in effect for the current
year. Therefore, Massachusetts does not adopt this
additional depreciation deduction. See TIRs 02-11
and 03-25 for further details.

New Deduction — Not Allowed

Deduction for State or Local Sales Tax
Paid on the Purchase of a Qualified

Motor Vehicle

Under the ARRA, for federal income tax purposes,
an individual can deduct the state or local sales
and excise taxes paid on the purchase of a quali-
fied motor vehicle, subject to certain limitations
and adjusted gross income phase out. For federal
purposes, the deduction can either increase the
amount of a taxpayer’s standard deduction or be
taken as an itemized deduction. Massachusetts
does not adopt the federal standard deduction or
federal itemized deductions. Thus, Massachusetts
does not adopt this deduction for sales tax paid
on a qualified motor vehicle.

Massachusetts Decouples from

Certain Business Tax Provisions

Recent legislation includes provisions decoupling
Massachusetts tax law from certain federal busi-
ness tax law changes made by ARRA and, in one
instance, from the impact of an IRS Notice that
was effectively repealed (but only prospectively)
by ARRA. The specific federal provisions from
which the Massachusetts legislation decouples
include: (a) deferral of the recognition of certain
cancellation of indebtedness income under the
Code, (b) suspension of Code rules that would
otherwise disallow or defer deductions for origi-
nal issue discount claimed by issuers of debt
obligations, and (c) relief from certain limitations
on the use of losses after a change of ownership
under (i) IRS Notice 2008-83 (for periods prior to
its effective repeal by ARRA) and (ii) new IRC sec
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382(n) as added by ARRA. For more information,
see TIR 09-21.

Exclusion — Not Allowed

Mortgage Forgiveness — IRC sec. 108(a)

The Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007
(P.L. 110-142) amended IRC section 108(a) by
adding an exclusion for indebtedness that is dis-
charged before January 1, 2010 and is qualified
principal residence indebtedness. The Economic
Stabilization Act of 2008 extended this exclusion for
three years, until January 1, 2013. Massachusetts
does not adopt this exclusion or the extension be-
cause they were enacted after January 1, 2005.

Extended Deductions — Not Allowed
Massachusetts allows certain federal deductions
based on the Internal Revenue Code as amended
and in effect on January 1, 2005. Under the Janu-
ary 1, 2005 Code, certain federal deductions due to
expire, have now been extended. Massachusetts
will not adopt the extensions because they were
enacted after January 1, 2005.

Tuition and Fees Deduction — IRC secs.
62(a)(18) and 222

The Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of
2008 extended the federal deduction for qualified
higher education expenses to tax years 2008 and
2009. Massachusetts will not adopt this extension
because it was enacted after January 1, 2005.
However, there is a separate Massachusetts de-
duction for undergraduate tuition if the total paid
exceeds 25% of the taxpayer’'s Massachusetts
adjusted gross income. See TIR 97-13 for addi-
tional information.

Educators Deduction — IRC sec. 62(a)(2)(D)
The Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008
extended the federal deduction for certain ex-
penses paid by educators to tax years 2008 and
2009. Massachusetts will not adopt this extension
because it was enacted after January 1, 2003.

Criminally Fraudulent Investment
Arrangements

In 2009, the IRS issued Revenue Procedure
2009-20 providing an optional safe harbor
method for qualified investors to deduct theft
losses under IRC sec. 165(c) from investments in
criminally fraudulent Ponzi-type schemes. Also, in
2009, the IRS issued Revenue Ruling 2009-9 to
describe the proper federal income tax treatment
for losses resulting from these Ponzi schemes. In
the case of individual investors, Massachusetts law
does not adopt the federal safe harbor treatment
for qualified investors with theft losses from a
Ponzi scheme that is outlined in Revenue Proce-
dure 2009-20. In a further departure from federal
law, Massachusetts does not adopt a net operating
loss in the case of the personal income tax.
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The Massachusetts tax relief potentially available
to qualifying individual taxpayers who invested in
a criminally fraudulent investment arrangement is
explained in TIR 09-15.

Fringe Benefits

Parking, Comhined Commuter Highway
Vehicle Transportation and T-Pass Fringe
Benefit — IRC sec. 132(f)

The federal exclusion amounts for tax year 2009
are $230 per month for qualified parking, and
$120 per month for combined commuter highway
vehicle transportation and transit passes for the
months of January and February. For federal in-
come tax purposes, ARRA increased the exclusion
amount to $230 per month for combined com-
muter highway vehicle transportation and transit
passes for the months of March through Decem-
ber. Massachusetts follows the inflation adjust-
ment formula allowed under the January 1, 2005
Code and does not adopt the increased exclusion
allowed by ARRA for combined commuter high-
way vehicle transportation and transit passes. The
Massachusetts exclusion amounts for tax year
2009 are $230 per month for qualified parking, and
$120 per month for combined commuter highway
vehicle transportation and transit passes. These
differences will be reflected in the Form W-2 pro-
vided by your employer.

Privacy Act Notice

Under the authority of 42 U.S.C. sec. 405(c)(2)
(C)(i), and M.G.L. c. 62C, sec. 5, the Department
of Revenue has the right to require an individual to
furnish his or her Social Security number on a
state tax return. This information is mandatory.
The Department of Revenue uses Social Security
numbers for taxpayer identification to assist in
processing and keeping track of returns and in de-
termining and collecting the proper amount of tax
due. Under M.G.L. c. 62C, sec. 40, the taxpayer’s
identifying number is required to process a refund
of overpaid taxes. Although tax return information
is generally confidential pursuant to M.G.L. c. 62C,
sec. 21, the Department of Revenue may disclose
return information to other taxing authorities and
those entities specified in M.G.L. ¢. 62C, secs. 21,
22 or 23, and as otherwise authorized by law.

Common Form 1
Mistakes

An incomplete or incorrect return can delay the
processing of your return. Following are a number
of tips to help us process your return as quickly
as possible.

Note: You should not staple any items, other than
any required Form(s) W-2 or 1099, to Form 1. Any
enclosures such as schedules, statements, Form
PV, etc. should simply be placed in the envelope
along with Form 1 when mailing.

D Missing Social Security number(s). Be sure to
enter your Social Security number(s) in the spaces
provided on all pages and schedules.

D Missing Schedule HC. Be sure you have com-
pleted and enclosed Schedule HC, Health Care In-
formation and Form MA 1099-HC. We cannot
process your return without this schedule.

D Incorrect computation. The Department cor-
rects many returns each year due to errors in
computation. Before mailing your return, check
your arithmetic to make sure the computations
are correct.

D Filing status. Be sure to fill in the correct oval
in line 1, Filing Status. This line is frequently
overlooked.

» Exemptions. Be sure that you specify the num-
ber of exemptions you are claiming in line 2, items
b, ¢ and d. Enter the appropriate number(s) in the
small white box(es). Note: You must complete
Schedule DI, Dependent Information, if claiming a
dependent exemption in line 2b.

D Missing pages of Form 1. Form 1 is three
pages. Be sure to include all three pages of the re-
turn when mailing.

D Missing withholding statement(s). Be sure
the state copy of Form(s) W-2 (Wages), W-2G
(Winnings), PWH-WA (Promoter Withholding),
2G, K-1, 2K-1, 3K-1 and SK-1 and any Form 1099
that show Massachusetts income tax withheld are
attached with a single staple. These forms are fre-
quently missing and must be obtained later from
you in order to process the return.

D Missing supporting schedules. Be sure all re-
quired schedules are enclosed to support the in-
formation on your Form 1. These include Mass-
achusetts Schedules HC, X, Y, Z, B, C, C-2, D, DI,
E, E-1, E-2, E-3, and CB. We cannot process your
return without these forms.

» Government employee pension contributions.
If you were a state, local or county employee and
made contributions to a Massachusetts state or
local pension plan, your total wages for state pur-
poses will be different from the amount you re-
port on your U.S. return. Report your total state
wages from your Form(s) W-2 on Form 1. This is
generally box 16 of Form W-2.

D Earned Income Credit. You must have your
federal earned income credit amount from your
U.S. return or as computed by the IRS if you wish
to claim the Earned Income Credit on Form 1.

Also, you must complete Schedule DI, Dependent
Information, if you have one or more qualifying
children/dependents for the Earned Income Credit.

D Missing signatures. Thousands of unsigned
returns are received by the Department every year.
These returns must be returned to the taxpayers for
signatures. If a joint return is filed, both spouses
must sign the return. Make sure signatures are on
the correct lines. Remember to sign your return at
the bottom of page 1 of Form 1.

D Missing Form PV. If you are making a payment,
make certain you fill out Form PV, Massachusetts
Income Tax Payment Voucher. Form PV is attached
to the back of the envelope found in this booklet.
Enclose Form PV and your check with your return.
Be sure to use the light blue mailing label when
mailing your Form 1 with the Form PV. Note: Go to
www.mass.gov/dor and click on Web Services for
Income for online payment options.

Filing Your
\Vlassachusetts
Return

If you were a legal resident of Massachusetts and
your gross income was more than $8,000 —
whether received from sources inside or outside of
Massachusetts — you are required to file a Mass-
achusetts income tax return. If your gross income
was $8,000 or less, you do not need to file a return.

If you did not live in Massachusetts but received
Massachusetts source income in excess of your
personal exemption amount multiplied by the ratio
of your Massachusetts income to your total in-
come, you must file as a nonresident on the Non-
resident/Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return,
Form 1-NR/PY. Generally, this means you must file
Form 1-NR/PY if you were a nonresident of Mass-
achusetts and you received Massachusetts source
income in excess of $4,400 if single or married fil-
ing separately, $6,800 if head of household or
$8,800 if married filing jointly.

If, during the taxable year, you either moved to
Massachusetts or terminated your status as a
Massachusetts resident to establish residency out-
side the state, and your gross income was more
than $8,000 — whether received from sources in-
side or outside of Massachusetts — you must file
as a part-year resident on the Nonresident/Part-
Year Resident Income Tax Return, Form 1-NR/PY.

What Is Gross Income?
Massachusetts gross income includes the
following:

D all wages, salaries, tips, bonuses, fees and other
compensation;



D taxable pensions and annuities;

D pension income from another state or political
subdivision before any deduction;

D taxable IRA/Keogh and Roth IRA distributions;
b alimony;

D income from a business, trade, profession, part-
nership, S corporation, trust or estate;

D rental, royalty and REMIC income;
unemployment compensation;

taxable interest and dividends;

gambling winnings;

capital gains;

forgiveness of debt;

mortgage forgiveness;

D taxable portion of scholarships and fellowships;
and

D any other income not specifically exempt.
Massachusetts gross income also includes
the following, which are not subject to U.S. in-
come tax:

D interest from obligations of states and their po-
litical subdivisions, other than Massachusetts and
its political subdivisions; and

D income earned by a resident from foreign
employment.

Massachusetts gross income does not include:
D interest on obligations of the U.S. and U.S.
territories;

D Pension income received from a contributory
annuity, pension, endowment or retirement fund
of the U.S. Government or the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts and its political subdivisions.

D amounts received as U.S. Social Security, pub-
lic welfare assistance, Veterans Administration
disability payments, G.I. Bill education payments,
certain worker’s compensation, gifts, accident or
life insurance payments, or certain payments re-
ceived by Holocaust survivors; and

D compensation earned by members of the armed
forces for service in a combat zone (excluded to
the same extent as under federal law).

Am | a Resident, Nonresident,

or Part-Year Resident?
There are three different categories of resident
status under Massachusetts tax law:

1. You are a Full-Year Resident if your legal resi-
dence (domicile) is in Massachusetts or if you
maintain a permanent place of abode in Massachu-
setts and during the year spend more than 183
days, in the aggregate, in the state. If you fit this
description you should file a Massachusetts Resi-
dent Income Tax Return, Form 1.

2. You are a Nonresident if you were not a resident
of Massachusetts but earned Massachusetts in-
come (e.g., from a job in Massachusetts). You
must report such income by filing a Massachusetts
Nonresident/Part-Year Resident Income Tax Re-
turn, Form 1-NR/PY.

3. You are a Part-Year Resident if you either
moved into or moved out of Massachusetts dur-
ing the taxable year. In this case, you must reduce
certain income, deductions and exemptions based
on the number of days you were a resident or on
the amount of your income that is subject to
Massachusetts tax. Part-year residents must file a
Massachusetts Nonresident/Part-Year Resident
Income Tax Return, Form 1-NR/PY.

If both categories 2 and 3 apply to you, you will
have to file both as a nonresident and as a part-
year resident. In these cases, you must file one
Massachusetts Form 1-NR/PY and complete the
Resident/Nonresident Worksheet, Schedule R/NR,
to calculate the portion of income earned while a
part-year resident and the portion of income
earned while a nonresident. If you are required to
file as both a part-year resident and a nonresident,
be sure to fill in the oval below the address section
of Form 1-NR/PY to indicate that you are complet-
ing Schedule R/NR and enclose Schedule R/NR
with your return.

See TIR 95-7 for more information regarding res-
ident status. For information on how to file as a
part-year resident/nonresident, visit DOR’s website
at www.mass.gov/dor or call (617) 887-MDOR or
toll-free in Massachusetts 1-800-392-6089.

Are Military Personnel Required

to File?

If you enlisted in the service as a Massachusetts
resident and have not established a new domicile
(legal residence) elsewhere (refer to military guide-
lines), and if your gross income is more than
$8,000, you are required to file a Massachusetts
resident income tax return. This applies even
though you may be stationed outside of Mass-
achusetts. The terms “legal residence” and “domi-
cile” are used to denote that place where you have
your permanent home and to which, whenever you
are absent, you have the intention of returning.
Nonresident military personnel stationed in Mass-
achusetts may be subject to Massachusetts taxes
and should file Form 1-NR/PY if they earn income
from outside military sources.

The following example illustrates circumstances
under which military pay is or is not taxable in
Massachusetts. No guidance is intended on the
tax treatment of such pay under the laws of other
states. Generally, when income is taxable in two
jurisdictions, a credit for taxes paid to the other
jurisdiction is allowed on the taxpayer’s return in
the state of his/her residence.

Example: Betsy enlisted in the Navy in Massachu-
setts, but moved with her husband, Eric, from
Massachusetts to Delaware when she was sta-
tioned there. They did not change their domicile to
Delaware. She received military income while her
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husband received income working as a reporter for
a local newspaper.

Betsy’s income from the Navy, as well as her hus-
band’s income from the newspaper, are both sub-
ject to Massachusetts income tax since she
enlisted in the Navy in Massachusetts and they
did not become legal residents of Delaware. Betsy
and her husband are, therefore, Massachusetts
residents, and any income they receive, whether
derived in Massachusetts or not, is included in
their Massachusetts gross income.

Military Spouses: On November 11, 2009, the Mil-
itary Spouses Residency Relief Act (P.L. 111-97)
was enacted. For tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 2009, the Act prohibits a service-
member’s spouse from either losing or acquiring
a residence or domicile for purposes of taxation
because of being absent or present in any U.S.
tax jurisdiction solely to be with the servicemem-
ber in compliance with the servicemember’s mili-
tary orders. In general, for Massachusetts tax
purposes, the new law will affect only service-
members and their spouses who are domiciled in
a state other than Massachusetts. For more infor-
mation see TIR 09-23.

What Are the Rules for Filing

a Joint Return?

Ajoint Form 1 is not allowed if both spouses were
not Massachusetts residents for the same portion
of 2009.

If your spouse died during 2009, you may still
choose to file a joint return.

If you are legally married, you have the option of
filing either a joint return or a married filing sepa-
rate return. Married taxpayers who file a joint re-
turn are allowed to claim the following exemptions,
deductions and credits which married taxpayers
filing separate returns may not claim:

D adeduction of $3,600 ($7,200 for two or more
dependents) for a dependent member of house-
hold under age 12, or dependent age 65 or over as
of December 31, 2009 (not you or your spouse)
or a disabled dependent;

» No Tax Status if joint Massachusetts AGI was
$16,400 or less plus $1,000 for each dependent;

D Limited Income Credit if joint Massachusetts
AGl is between $16,400 and $28,700 plus $1,750
for each dependent;

D excess unused exemptions against interest in-
come (other than interest from Massachusetts
banks), dividends or capital gain income; and

D a senior circuit breaker tax credit which allows
senior citizens meeting certain eligibility criteria
to claim a refundable credit on their state income
taxes for the real estate taxes paid on the Mass-
achusetts residential property they own or rent, and
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which they occupy as their principal residence. The
credit is the amount by which the real estate tax
payment or 25% of the rent constituting real es-
tate tax payments exceeds 10% of their total in-
come, but not more than $960. The credit is
refundable to the extent the credit exceeds the tax-
payer’s tax liability.

How Do | File a Decedent’s Return?
A final income tax return must be filed for a tax-
payer who died during the taxable year. This re-
turn should include income received until date of
death. It must be signed and filed by his/her ex-
ecutor, administrator or surviving spouse for the
portion of the year before the taxpayer’s death. Be
sure to fill in oval 1 if the taxpayer who was listed
first on last year’s income tax return is deceased,
or oval 2 if the taxpayer who was listed second on
last year’s income tax return is deceased. Also,
enclose Form M-1310, Statement of Claimant to
Refund Due on Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer, with
the refund claimant’s name and Social Security
number clearly printed.

A joint return may be filed by a surviving spouse.
In the case of the death of both spouses, a final re-
turn must be filed by their legal representative.

Any income received for the decedent for the tax-
able year after the decedent’s death, and for suc-
ceeding taxable years until the estate is completed,
must be reported each year on Massachusetts Form
2, Massachusetts Fiduciary Income Tax Return.
Form 2 is available online at www.mass.gov/dor.

If the decedent’s return shows a refund due, and if
the Probate Court has not appointed a legal repre-
sentative and none is contemplated, a Massachu-
setts Form M-1310 must be enclosed with the
return so the refund check may be made payable
to the proper person.

Should | Make Estimated Tax
Payments in 2010?

Every resident or nonresident who expects to pay
more than $400 in Massachusetts income tax on
income which is not covered by Massachusetts
withholding must pay Massachusetts estimated
taxes. Estimated tax payments can be made on-
line by using Web Services for Income by visiting
www.mass.gov/dor or by filing Massachusetts
Form 1-ES. See line 38 instructions and TIR 04-25
for more information.

When to File
Your Return

Your Massachusetts Form 1 is due on or before
April 15, 2010.

Automatic Extension Granted if
100% Tax Due is Paid by Tax Return
Due Date

If line 3 of the Extension Worksheet on page 3 is
“0” and 100% of the tax due for 2009 has been
paid through:

d withholding;
D timely estimated payments of tax;
D credits from your 2009 return; and

D an overpayment from the prior tax year applied
to the next year’s estimated tax,

you are no longer required to file Form M-4868,
Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File
Massachusetts Income Tax Return. However, if you
do choose to file Form M-4868 in this instance,
you must do so electronically, via DOR’s website.
See TIR 06-21 for more information.

Also, if you owe no tax or you are making a pay-
ment of $5,000 or more, you are required to file
your extension via the web. If you are making a
payment of less than $5,000, you also have the op-
tion of filing your extension electronically. If there
is a tax due with your extension, payment can be
made through Electronic Funds Withdrawal.

Visit www.mass.gov/dor to file via the Web.

Note: Your extension will not be valid if you fail to
pay 80% of your total tax liability through with-
holding, estimated tax payments or with your ex-
tension. Form M-4868 is available at www.mass.
gov/dor or by calling (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free
in Massachusetts 1-800-392-6089.

Must | File on a Calendar Year Basis?
No. You may file on a fiscal year basis if you keep
your books and records on that fiscal year basis
and if you receive permission from the Commis-
sioner of Revenue. If you file on a fiscal year basis,
you must file on or before the fifteenth day of the
fourth month after the end of your fiscal year. Tax-
payers filing on a fiscal year basis must complete
and file Form 13, Notice of Designation of Fiscal
Year, available at www.mass.gov/dor or by calling
(617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in Massachusetts 1-
800-392-6089.

What Should | Do If | Make a Mistake
or Leave Something Off My Return?

If, after filing your income tax return, you receive
an additional tax statement or discover that an
error was made, do not submit a second tax re-
turn. If corrections are necessary, go to www.
mass.gov/dor and use DOR’s online abatement ap-
plication or file Form CA-6, Application for Abate-
ment/Amended Return. Form CA-6 is available at
www.mass.gov/dor, or you may have one mailed

to you by calling (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in
Massachusetts 1-800-392-6089.

What If | am Unable to Pay?

If you are unable to pay the full amount of tax that
you owe, you should pay as much of your tax lia-
bility as possible with this return. You will receive
a bill from the Department for the remaining
amount of tax due plus accrued interest and
penalty charges. If the amount of that bill is less
than $5,000 and you still cannot pay it in full, you
must apply formally to the Department for a small
payment agreement in order to avoid collection
activity. You can apply for a small payment agree-
ment by visiting Web Services for Income at
Www.mass.gov/dor.

Note: Do not mail your request for a payment
agreement with your tax return. Requests can be
made once a bill is issued through DOR’s Web
Services for Income application at www.mass.
gov/dor or by calling the Department at (617) 887-
MDOR or toll-free in Massachusetts 1-800-392-
6089 using the Department’s Interactive Voice
Response (IVR) system. Setting up a small pay-
ment agreement will allow you to make monthly
payments within a set time period to satisfy your
unpaid liability.

Name and Address

Print the full name, address, and Social Security
number of each person filing the return in the
spaces provided. Enter names as they appear on
your federal return. Be sure to retain the four-digit
Personal Identification Number (PIN) printed on
the back cover. You will need it to use DOR’s
Web-based and/or Interactive Voice Response
(IVR) applications, such as checking the status of
your refund.

Social Security Number(s)

Be sure to enter your Social Security number(s) on
your return. Also, enter your Social Security num-
ber on pages 2 and 3 of Form 1 and on page 2 of
Schedules B or C, if filed. Failure to show the cor-
rect Social Security number in the space provided
will delay the processing of your return. If filing
jointly, list your numbers in the order they appear
on your federal return. Taxpayers filing their U.S.
return using an Individual Taxpayer Identification
number (ITIN) should enter that ITIN as their So-
cial Security number in the appropriate space. Also,
be sure your employer has listed the correct Social
Security number on your Form W-2. If you are mar-
ried, you must list your spouse’s Social Security
number even if you are filing a separate return.

To apply for an SSN, you must complete Form
SS-5. Form SS-5 is available online at www.social
security.gov, from your local Social Security Admin-
istration (SSA) office, or by calling the SSA at 1-
800-772-1213. It usually takes about 2 weeks to



receive an SSN. If you are a nonresident or resident
alien and you do not have and are not eligible to get
an SSN, you must apply for an ITIN. For details on
how to do so, see Form W-7 and its instructions.
Form W-7 is available online at www.irs.gov or by
calling the IRS at 1-800-829-1040. It usually takes
about four to six weeks to receive an ITIN.

Deceased Taxpayer

Be sure to fill in the appropriate oval if a taxpayer
died during the taxable year. For further informa-
tion, refer to the section “How Do | File a Dece-
dent’s Return?”

Name/Address Change

If you legally changed your name or address in
2009, fill in the oval. If you changed your name,
enclose a copy of your Social Security card or
driver’s license showing your new name. Failure to
include this documentation could delay processing
of your return. If you move after filing, be sure to
leave a forwarding address with your local post of-
fice and file a Change of Address Form with the
Massachusetts Department of Revenue. This form
is available to be filed online at www.mass.gov/dor,
or by calling (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in
Massachusetts 1-800-392-6089.

Veterans Benefits

Fill in the appropriate oval(s) for you, and/or your
spouse if married filing a joint return, if you are a
veteran who served in the Armed Forces of the
United States in active service as part of Operation
Enduring Freedom, Operation Iraqi Freedom or
Operation Noble Eagle and were discharged under
honorable conditions and were domiciled for six
months in Massachusetts immediately prior to
entry into the Armed Forces. The Department of
Revenue will then forward the name and address
to the Department of Veterans’ Services and the
adjutant general of the Massachusetts National
Guard to verify eligibility for any benefits you may
be entitled to.

Voluntary Contribution to

State Election Campaign Fund

You, and your spouse if filing jointly, may volun-
tarily contribute $1 each to the State Election Cam-
paign Fund. The purpose of this fund is to provide
limited public financing for campaigns of eligible
candidates for statewide and elective office. This
contribution will not change your tax or reduce
your refund.

Noncustodial Parent

Fill in this oval if you are a “noncustodial parent.”
A noncustodial parent is defined as a person who
has a minor child, but does not live with the child.

Note: If you are the biological parent of a child,
but your parental rights have been terminated, you
are not the noncustodial parent of that child.

Schedule TDS — Inconsistent

Filing Position Penalty

Fill in the oval and attach Schedule TDS, Taxpayer
Disclosure Statement, if you are disclosing any in-
consistent filing positions. Schedule TDS is avail-
able on our website at www.mass.gov/dor. The
inconsistent filing position penalty (see TIR 06-5,
section IV) applies to taxpayers that take an in-
consistent position in reporting income. These
taxpayers must “disclose the inconsistency” when
filing their Massachusetts return. If such inconsis-
tency is not disclosed, the taxpayer will be subject
to a penalty equal to the amount of tax attributable
to the inconsistency. This penalty is in addition to
any other penalties that may apply.

A taxpayer is deemed to have taken an “inconsis-
tent position” when the taxpayer pays less tax in
Massachusetts based upon an interpretation of
Massachusetts law that differs from the position
taken by the taxpayer in another state where the
taxpayer files a return and the governing law in that
other state “is the same in all material respects” as
the Massachusetts law. The Commissioner may
waive or abate the penalty if the inconsistency or
failure to disclose was attributable to reasonable
cause and not willful neglect.

Under Age 18
If you are under age 18 as of January 1, 2010, be
sure to fill in the oval(s).

Note: Lines without specific instructions are con-
sidered to be self-explanatory.

Line 1. Filing Status

Note: More than one filing status may apply to you.
If so, you may wish to figure your taxes based
upon more than one filing status to see which sta-
tus is to your benefit.

Single

Fillin the “Single” oval if you were single as of De-
cember 31, 2009. This status applies to you if at
the close of the taxable year you fit into any of the
following categories:

D you were unmarried;

D you were a widow or widower whose spouse
died before 2009; or

D you were legally separated under a final judg-
ment of the probate court.

Please note that you are not single if: (1) you have
obtained a judgment of divorce which has not yet
become final; (2) you have a temporary support
order; or (3) you and your spouse simply choose
to live apart.

Married Filing Joint Return

Fill in the “Married filing joint return” oval if you
were legally married as of December 31, 2009.
Both spouses are responsible for the accuracy of
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all information entered on a joint return and both
must sign. A joint return is allowed even if only one
spouse had income or if one spouse died during
2009. For further information, refer to the section
“What Are the Rules for Filing a Joint Return?”

Note: Same-sex spouses filing a Massachusetts
joint return must combine their figures from their
separate U.S. returns. See TIR 04-17 for more in-
formation.

Married Filing Separate Return
Fill in the “Married filing separate return” oval if
you were legally married as of December 31, 2009,
and if you and your spouse are not filing a joint
return. Be sure to enter your spouse’s Social Se-
curity number in the space provided.

Head of Household

Fill in the “Head of household” oval if you qualify
to file this status federally. This status is for un-
married people who paid over half the cost of
keeping up a home for a qualifying person, such
as a child who lived with you or your dependent
parent. See TIR 04-17 for Massachusetts differ-
ences. Certain married people who lived apart from
their spouse for the last six months of 2009 may
also be able to use this status. See IRS Publica-
tion 501, Exemptions, Standard Deduction, and Fil-
ing Information, for more information.

Whole Dollar Method Required

The Department of Revenue requires that the
whole dollar method be used for entries made on
forms or schedules. For example, amounts be-
tween $1.00 and $1.49 should be entered as $1.00
and amounts between $1.50 and $2.00 should be
entered as $2.00. However, calculations on work-
sheets used to reach amounts shown on the re-
turn may be made in one of two ways: (1) round
amounts before adding them up and enter the re-
sulting total on the form, or (2) add amounts to
the penny, and then round to the whole dollar for
entry on the form. Either method is acceptable as
long as one method is used consistently through-
out the return.

Line 2. Exemptions

Line 2a: Personal Exemptions

Each taxpayer is entitled to claim a personal ex-
emption. The amount of your personal exemption
depends on your filing status in line 1.

D Ifyou are single or married filing a separate re-
turn, enter $4,400 in line 2a.

D If filing as head of household, enter $6,800 in
line 2a.

» If married filing a joint return, enter $8,800 in
line 2a.
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Line 2b: Number of Dependents

You may claim a $1,000 exemption for each of
your dependents if you claimed them on your U.S.
return. Enter in the box in item b the number of
dependents you listed on U.S. Form 1040, line 6¢
or U.S. Form 1040A, line 6¢. Do not include your-
self or your spouse. Then, multiply that total by
$1,000 and enter the total amount in line 2b. Be
sure to fill out Schedule DI, Dependent Informa-
tion, if you are claiming a dependent exemp-
tion(s). Failure to do so will delay the processing
of your return.

Note: In a few cases, the number of dependents
claimed for Massachusetts purposes and for U.S.
purposes may differ. Massachusetts allows a de-
pendent exemption for each individual who quali-
fies for exemption as a dependent under sec.
151(c) of the Code. For purposes of sec. 151(c),
the definition of dependent in sec. 152 is adopted.
Under federal law, there are additional restrictions
on the dependent exemption beyond the rules of
sec. 152 that are not adopted by Massachusetts.
For Massachusetts tax purposes, if an individual
qualifies as a dependent under the rules of sec.
152, you can claim a dependent exemption for
such a person. If you claim such a dependent in
Massachusetts, increase the number reported in
item b from your U.S. return by the number of
such additional dependents. Also, same-sex joint
filers should combine the number of dependents
from their federal returns to arrive at the number
of Massachusetts dependents. See TIR 04-17 for
more information.

Line 2¢: Age 65 or Over Before 2010

You are allowed an additional $700 exemption if
you were age 65 or over before January 1, 2010.
If your spouse was age 65 or over and you are fil-
ing a joint return, you may also claim a $700 ex-
emption for your spouse. Fill in the appropriate
oval(s) and enter the total number of persons age
65 or over in the small box. Multiply that total by
$700 and enter the total in line 2c.

Line 2d: Blindness Exemption

You are allowed an additional $2,200 exemption if
you are legally blind. If your spouse is also legally
blind and you are filing a joint return, you may also
claim a $2,200 exemption for your spouse. Fill in
the appropriate oval(s) and enter the total number
of blindness exemptions in the small box. Multiply
that total by $2,200 and enter the total in line 2d.

Legal Definition of Blindness

You are legally blind and qualify for the blindness
exemption if your visual acuity with correction is
20/200 or less in the better eye, or if your peripheral
field of vision has been contracted to a 10-degree
radius or less, regardless of visual acuity.

Line 2e: Other: Medical/Dental Expenses
and Adoption Agency Fee

You may claim an exemption for medical and den-
tal expenses paid during 2009 only if you itemized
these expenses on your U.S. Form 1040, Sched-
ule A. If you are married filing a joint U.S. Form
1040, you must file a joint Massachusetts Form 1
to claim this exemption. Enter in line 2e, item 1 the
amount reported on your U.S. Form 1040, Sched-
ule A, line 4.

Note: Same-sex joint filers should recalculate their
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A by combining allow-
able expenses as reported on U.S. Form 1040,
Schedule A, line 1 and their adjusted gross incomes
as reported on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A, line 2
in calculating U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A, line 4.

If you paid adoption fees to a licensed adoption
agency during 2009, you are eligible for an ex-
emption of the total amount of the fees paid dur-
ing the year. Fees paid during 2009 to an agency
licensed to place children for adoption on account
of the adoption process of a minor child regard-
less of whether an adoption actually took place
during 2009 should also be included for this ex-
emption. Enter this amount in line 2e, item 2.

Add items 1 and 2 and enter the total in line 2e.

Line 2f: Total Exemptions

Add items 2a through 2e and enter the total in line
2f. This amount should also be entered on line 18
of Form 1.

5.3% Income

Note: DOR and the IRS maintain an extensive ex-
change program, routinely sharing computer tapes
and audit results. Discrepancies between income,
deductions, and schedules reported federally and
on this return, except those allowed under state
law, will be identified and may result in a state audit
or further investigation.

Line 3. Wages, Salaries, Tips and
Other Employee Compensation
Report in line 3 total state wages and allocated tips
from Form(s) W-2. Income earned by a Massachu-
setts resident in another state is subject to taxation
in Massachusetts. Generally, your total wages and
allocated tips will be the same amount reported on
your U.S. 1040 or 1040A, line 7; or 1040EZ, line 1.

Following are instances that require an adjustment
to these amounts:

Massachusetts Legal Residents Working

in a Foreign Country

Income earned by a Massachusetts resident in a
foreign country is subject to taxation in Massachu-
setts. If you excluded part or all of the compensa-

tion earned in a foreign country on your U.S. return
(under Section 911 of the U.S. IRC), you must in-
clude any such amount in line 3 for Massachusetts
tax purposes.

State or Local Employees Contributing to
Pension Plans

If you are a Massachusetts state, city, town or
county employee and contributed to your pension
plan, enter in line 3 the Massachusetts W-2 state
wage amount. This is generally box 16 of Form
W-2. This amount will be higher than the U.S.
amount because your pension contributions are
excluded from your income for U.S. tax purposes.
Contributions up to $2,000 per taxpayer may still
be deducted in lines 11a and/or 11b.

Line 4. Taxable Pensions and

Annuities

Income from most private pensions or annuity
plans is taxable in Massachusetts. Certain govern-
ment pensions, however, are exempt under Mass-
achusetts law. In general, exempt pensions include
contributory pensions from the U.S. Government
or the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and its
political subdivisions, and noncontributory military
pensions. The following section describes some
specific pensions which are exempt. If your pen-
sion is exempt, enter “0” in line 4 and note the
source on the dotted line to the left.

If your pension is not exempt, you should generally
enter in line 4 the taxable amount reported on your
U.S. Form 1040, line 16b, or U.S. Form 1040A, line
12b. In some cases, however, Massachusetts law
requires an adjustment to the federal amount.
Distributions from annuity, stock bonus, pension,
profit-sharing or deferred payment plans or con-
tracts described in Sections 403(b) and 404 of the
U.S. IRC must be adjusted to account for your con-
tributions that have been previously taxed. Sub-
tract from such income (as reported on your U.S.
Form 1040, line 16a, or U.S. Form 1040A, line 12a)
the amount of your contributions which was pre-
viously taxed by Massachusetts until the total of
your taxed contributions is received. If your pen-
sion falls into this category, enter the adjusted
amount in line 4. If you are receiving distributions
from an IRA or Keogh plan, do not report the in-
come here; instead, see the instructions for Sched-
ule X, line 2.

Note: Massachusetts does not tax Social Security
income; therefore, you should not report such in-
come on Massachusetts Form 1.

What pensions are exempt?

D Pension income received from a contributory
annuity, pension, endowment or retirement fund
of the U.S. Government or the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts and its political subdivisions.



D Pensions from other states or its political subdi-
visions which do not tax such income from Mass-
achusetts or its political subdivisions may be
eligible to be deducted from Massachusetts taxable
income. This pension income, however, should be
reported in line 4. Refer to Schedule Y, line 13 in-
structions to determine eligibility for this deduction.

» Noncontributory pension income or survivorship
benefits received from the U.S. uniformed services
(Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard,
commissioned corps of the Public Health Service
and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Adminis-
tration) is exempt from taxation in Massachusetts.

D Massachusetts state court judges who were ap-
pointed on or after January 2, 1975 are participants
in the Massachusetts contributory retirement sys-
tem and their pensions are nontaxable. State court
judges who were appointed prior to January 2,
1975 receive taxable noncontributory pensions.

If you retired under Chapter 32, Sections 5660 of
Massachusetts General Laws and are a veteran who
began Massachusetts state service prior to July 1,
1939, all or part of your pension income may be
subject to tax. If you elected to receive your pro-
ceeds from contributions in one lump-sum distrib-
ution, your original contributions to the retirement
system are not taxable. Noncontributory pension
income received after a lump-sum distribution is
fully taxable and should be reported in line 4.

How do I report lump-sum distributions?

If you were an employee of the U.S., Massachu-
setts or one of its political subdivisions and left
public employment prior to retirement, you are
not required to report as income the lump-sum
distribution of your previously-taxed pension
contributions.

Lump-sum distributions of qualified employee ben-
efit plans in excess of the employee’s contributions
which were previously subject to Massachusetts tax
(or not previously excluded from Massachusetts
tax) must be reported in line 4. Generally, qualified
rollovers are not taxable in Massachusetts to the
extent they are not taxable on your U.S. return.
Lump-sum distributions related to IRA/Keogh and
Roth IRA distributions should be reported in line 9.

Rollover from a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA.
Taxpayers with $100,000 or less in federal adjusted
gross income are allowed to make partial or com-
plete rollovers from existing IRAs to Roth IRAs.
Any taxable portion of these rollovers included in
federal gross income is also included in Massachu-
setts gross income, except for amounts previously
subject to Massachusetts personal income tax. See
Schedule X, line 2 instructions for further details.

Line 5. Interest from Massachusetts

Banks

Enter in line 5a the total amount of interest re-
ceived or credited to deposit accounts (term and
time deposits, including certificates of deposit, sav-
ings accounts, savings shares, and NOW accounts)
in Massachusetts banks. Then, enter your exemp-
tion amount in line 5b (if married filing jointly,
enter $200; otherwise, enter $100). Subtract line
5b from 5a and enter the result in line 5, but not
less than “0.”

Note: This exemption amount does not apply to
your U.S. tax return.

Do not subtract interest forfeited or penalties
charged to you for early savings withdrawal. You will
be allowed to deduct these amounts on Schedule
Y, line 2. All other interest, unless exempt, should
be entered on Massachusetts Schedule B. Interest
on an IRA/Keogh is not taxable until distributed.

Lines 6, 7 and 10. If showing a loss in lines 6, 7 or
10, be sure to mark over the “X” in the box to the
left. Do not use parentheses or negative signs to
indicate losses.

Line 6. Business/Profession or
Farm Income or Loss

Enter in line 6 the amount of income or loss from
a business or profession from Massachusetts
Schedule C, line 31. You must enclose Massachu-
setts Schedule C with this return. Also, enclose a
copy of your U.S. Schedule C-EZ if substituting U.S.
Schedule C-EZ for Massachusetts Schedule C.

Note: U.S. Schedule C is no longer allowed as a
substitute for Massachusetts Schedule C. How-
ever, you may substitute U.S. Schedule C-EZ for
Massachusetts Schedule C if there are no differ-
ences between the amounts reported on U.S.
Schedule C-EZ and amounts that would be re-
ported on Massachusetts Schedule C. Be sure to
write “No Massachusetts Differences” on the top
of the U.S. Schedule C-EZ.

If you operate a farm as an individual or coopera-
tive, enter the amount of income or loss from op-
erating a farm from U.S. Schedule F, Profit or Loss
from Farming, line 36. Enclose a copy of U.S.
Schedule F. Complete a pro-forma U.S. Schedule
F to report Massachusetts differences, such as
bonus depreciation.

Line 7. Rental, Royalty, REMIC,
Partnership, S Corporation,

Trust Income or Loss

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2008,
any taxpayer with income or loss reported on a
Schedule E must file his or her tax return using
computer-generated forms produced by third-
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party software. The tax return may be generated
by the taxpayer or by a tax professional. The tax-
payer is encouraged, but not required, to submit
the return electronically. Paper forms produced
using the third-party software product will contain
a two-dimensional (2D) bar code and will also be
accepted. If the taxpayer hires an income tax pre-
parer to complete the taxpayer’s taxes, the preparer
must follow the Commissioner’s electronic filing
rules. See TIR 08-22 for more information.

If you do not have access to a software package
when filing your 2009 income tax return, you may
file your Schedule(s) E on paper. Visit our website
at www.mass.gov/dor to download a paper copy
of the 2009 Schedule(s) E (and instructions) to
file with your income tax return.

Line 8a. Unemployment
Compensation

Partial Federal Exclusion of
Unemployment Compensation

For federal income tax purposes, pursuant to IRC
sec. 85(c), individuals must include in gross in-
come any unemployment compensation received
under the laws of the U.S. or any state. Under the
ARRA, up to $2,400 of unemployment compensa-
tion benefits received in 2009 are excluded from
federal gross income by the recipient. Massachu-
setts follows the provisions of IRC sec. 85(c) as
amended and in effect on January 1, 2005. Mass-
achusetts does not adopt the partial exclusion of
unemployment compensation because it was en-
acted after January 1, 2005.

If you received unemployment compensation,
enter in line 8a the amount from box 1 of all Forms
1099-G, Certain Government Payments. If you
elected voluntary withholding of Massachusetts
state income taxes on your unemployment com-
pensation, be sure to include the amount of Mass-
achusetts state income tax withheld, as reported
on Form 1099-G, on Form 1, line 36 and attach
with a single staple, where indicated on the return,
Form 1099-G.

Note: DOR routinely matches the amounts in line
8a with files from the Division of Unemployment
Assistance.

Line 8b. Massachusetts State
Lottery Winnings

Enter in line 8b all winnings from the Massachu-
setts state lottery. Do not enter less than “0.” You
may only deduct the price of your winning ticket.
Lottery losses claimed as itemized deductions on
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A are not allowed on
your Massachusetts return.

Note: DOR routinely matches the amounts in line
8b with files from the Lottery Commission.
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Line 9. Other Income
(from Schedule X)

Alimony Received, Taxable IRA/Keogh

and Roth IRA Conversion Distributions,
Other Gambling Winnings, Fees and

Other 5.3% Income

“Other 5.3% income” includes the items listed
above and must be included on Schedule X. Enter
the total from Schedule X, line 5. Not less than “0.”
Be sure to enclose Schedule X with your return.
Failure to enclose this schedule will delay the
processing of your return.

Deductions

Lines 11 through 15

Massachusetts allowable deductions differ from
“Itemized Deductions” on Schedule A of U.S. Form
1040. You may claim only the deductions speci-
fied on Massachusetts Form 1, lines 11 through
14 and Schedule Y.

Please read the instructions for lines 12 and 13 to
determine which deduction you qualify for or which
is better for you. You cannot claim a deduction in
both lines 12 and 13.

You are not allowed to deduct amounts unless they
are directly related to income that is subject to tax-
ation and reported on Massachusetts Form 1.

Line 11. Amount Paid to Social
Security (FICA), Medicare,
Railroad, U.S. or Massachusetts
Retirement Systems

If you have paid into any of the retirement systems
listed above during 2009, you may deduct those
contributions, up to a maximum of $2,000.

Enter in lines 11a and 11b the amount you, and
your spouse if filing jointly, paid to Social Security
(FICA), Medicare or Railroad Retirement and the
U.S. or Massachusetts retirement systems during
2009 as shown on your Form W-2, but not more
than $2,000 each. Payment amounts may not be
combined or transferred from one spouse to the
other. Be sure to add any amount of Medicare tax
withheld as shown on Form W-2 and any amount
of self-employment tax as reported on your U.S.
Form 1040 to the amount of Social Security tax
withheld, the total not to exceed $2,000 per person.

Note: Medicare premiums deducted from your
Social Security or retirement payments are not
deductible.

Payments to an IRA, Keogh, Simplified Employee
Pension Plan (SEP), or Savings Incentive Match
Plan for Employees (SIMPLE) Account are not de-
ductible for Massachusetts income tax purposes.

Line 12. Child Under Age 13,
or Disabled Dependent/Spouse

Care Expenses

Massachusetts allows taxpayers to exceed the
federal limit on employment-related expenses for
the care of a qualified child under the age of 13, a
disabled dependent or a disabled spouse. The
maximum deduction is $4,800 for one qualifying
individual, and $9,600 for two or more qualifying
individuals. Complete the following worksheet to
calculate your Massachusetts child or disabled de-
pendent/spouse care expense deduction.

Note: You cannot claim this deduction if married
filing a separate U.S. 1040 or 1040A return. If you
are filing a joint U.S. 1040 or 1040A return but are
married filing separately for Massachusetts pur-
poses, either spouse may claim the deduction for
expenses he or she incurred, but their combined
deduction cannot exceed $4,800 for one qualify-
ing individual or $9,600 for two or more qualify-
ing individuals.

Taxpayers who received dependent care benefits
should complete a pro forma U.S. Form 2441 or
U.S. Form 1040A, Schedule 2. When completing
this pro forma form, taxpayers should enter
$4,800 (or $9,600 for two or more qualifying per-
sons) in line 30 of U.S. Form 2441 or line 23 of
U.S. Form 1040A, Schedule 2. The amount from
this pro forma Form 2441, line 34 or U.S. Form
1040A, Schedule 2, line 27 should then be en-
tered in line 1 of the following worksheet.

Note: Same-sex joint filers should complete a pro
forma U.S. Form 2441 or U.S. Form 1040A,
Schedule 2. In addition to changing the maximum
amount of the deduction allowed on U.S. Form
2441 or U.S. Form 1040A, Schedule 2 (see pre-
ceding paragraph), same-sex spouses should pre-
pare the pro forma federal forms as though they
were filing a joint federal return. See TIR 04-17
for more information.

Line 12 Worksheet — Child Under 13 or
Disabled Dependent/Spouse Care Deduction

Use this worksheet to calculate your Mass-
achusetts child under age 13 or disabled
dependent/spouse care deduction.

1. Enter the amount of qualified expenses

Yyou incurred and paid in 2009 for a qualifying
person(s). This amount may exceed the federal
limit of $3,000 for one qualifying person or
$6,000 for two or more persons. However,

do not enter more than $4,800 for one
qualifying person or $9,600 for two or

MOre Persons . ................ -
2. Enter the amount from U.S. Form 2441,

line 4, or U.S. Form 1040A, Schedule 2,
lined........................

3. Enter the amount from U.S. Form 2441,

line 5, or U.S. Form 1040A, Schedule 2,
lineb........................

4. Enter the smallest of line 1,20r3
5. If you paid 2008 expenses in 2009, enter the
amount of the allowed 2008 expenses used to
compute the credit on U.S. Form 2441, line 9,
or U.S. Form 10404, Schedule 2, line 9.
Otherwise, enter “0” .. .......... -
6. Add lines 4 and 5. Not to exceed more than
$4,800 for one qualifying person or $9,600 for
two or more persons. Enter here and in Form 1,
line12.......................

Note: If you choose to take a deduction in line
12, you cannot take the deduction in line 13.

Line 13. Dependent Member(s)
of Household Under Age 12,

or Dependents Age 65 or Over
(not you or your spouse) as of
December 31, 2009, or Disabled

Dependent

You may deduct $3,600 for a dependent member of
household, or $7,200 for two or more dependents,
under age 12, or dependent age 65 or over (not
you or your spouse) as of December 31, 2009, or
disabled dependent. Enter the number of qualified
dependents in line 13a, not to exceed two, and mul-
tiply that amount by $3,600. Enter the result in line
13. Only if single, head of household or married fil-
ing jointly. You cannot claim this deduction if mar-
ried filing a separate return.

Note: You may claim an amount in line 13 only if
there is no entry in ling 12.

Line 14. 50% Rental Deduction

You may be entitled to a rental deduction equal to
one-half (50%) of the rent you paid during 2009
(up to a maximum of $3,000 per return) for your
principal residence in Massachusetts. Enter the
total amount of qualified rent paid by you during
2009 in line 14a. Divide line 14a by 2 and enter the
result, or $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing a sepa-
rate return) — whichever is smaller — in line 14.

Note: This deduction amount does not apply to
your U.S. tax return.

What Qualifies for the Rental Deduction?
The deduction must be for rent you paid to a land-
lord for the rental or lease of your principal resi-
dence in Massachusetts.

If two or more persons jointly rent a unit, each oc-
cupant using it as his/her principal residence is en-
titled to a deduction based on the amount of rent
that each person paid.



If the rent is paid by a third party (such as a parent)
who maintains a principal residence elsewhere, no
50% rental deduction is allowed for either party.

A principal residence does not include any resi-
dence for vacation, an apartment for a person on
a temporary assignment or a student or faculty
member who has a principal residence elsewhere.
It also does not include any apartment or house
in Massachusetts of a nonresident who has a
legal residence in another state or country.

Payment for occupying a hotel, motel or rooming
house is not considered rent unless a rental agree-
ment exists. All separately stated charges such as
utilities, furnishings or parking cannot be included
in rent for purposes of this deduction. Also, rent
does not include any advance payments (such as
security deposit, last month’s rent, etc.) until ac-
tually applied as rent.

How Do | Calculate My Rental Deduction

If | Am Married Filing Separately?

If a husband and wife file separate returns, they are
each entitled to a rental deduction equal to 50% of
the rent each pays, not to exceed $1,500 per re-
turn. However, a married couple filing separately
may allocate the rent deduction differently, pro-
vided the amount taken by each spouse does not
exceed 50% of the rent actually paid by that
spouse, and provided their combined rental deduc-
tions do not exceed $3,000. If the allocation re-
sults in one spouse claiming a deduction in excess
of $1,500, that spouse must enclose with his/her
return a statement signed by the other spouse in-
dicating consent to the allocation. The statement
must contain the name, address and Social Secu-
rity number of the consenting spouse and the
amount of rental deduction taken by that spouse.

Line 15. Other Deductions
(from Schedule Y)

Enter the total from Schedule Y, line 16. Be sure to
enclose Schedule Y with your return. Failure to do
so will delay the processing of your return.

Line 17. 5.3% Income After

Deductions
Subtract line 16 from line 10. Enter the result in line
17. If line 16 exceeds line 10, enter “0” in line 17.

Line 19. 5.3% Income After

Exemptions
Subtract line 18 from line 17. If line 18 exceeds
line 17, enter “0” in line 19.

If line 18 exceeds line 17 and you received interest
income (other than interest from Massachusetts
banks), dividends or capital gain income, com-
plete the worksheet for Schedule B, line 36 and
Schedule D, line 19, if applicable. All others pro-
ceed to line 20.

Line 20. Interest and Dividend

Income

If you have any interest income other than interest
from deposits in banks located in Massachusetts,
dividend income in excess of $1,500, certain cap-
ital gains or losses, or any adjustments to interest
income (other than interest from Massachusetts
banks), you must complete Schedule B. Be sure to
enclose Massachusetts Schedule B. To determine
if you need to file Schedule B, refer to the Sched-
ule B instructions in this booklet.

Enter in line 20 the amount from Schedule B, line
38. If not required to file Schedule B, enter divi-
dend income of $1,500 or less (from U.S. Form
1040 or 1040A, line 9a) in line 20.

Tax on 5.3% Income

Line 22. 5.3% Tax (from Tax Table)
Based upon the amount in line 21, find the proper
amount of tax in the table at the back of this book-
let. Enter the tax in line 22. If line 21 is more than
$24,000, multiply the amount in line 21 by .053
and enter the result in line 22. You must use the
tax table if line 21 is $24,000 or less.

Note: Personal income tax forms must provide an
election to voluntarily pay tax at a rate of 5.85% on
taxable income which would otherwise be taxed
at a rate of 5.3%. The election to pay tax at the rate
of 5.85% does not apply to items of income taxed
at 12% (short-term capital gains and gains on col-
lectibles). If choosing the optional 5.85% tax rate,
multiply line 21 and Schedule D, line 20 by .0585
and fill in the oval.

12% Income &Tax

Line 23. 12% Income from Certain

Capital Gains

If you have any interest income other than interest
from deposits in banks located in Massachusetts,
dividend income in excess of $1,500, certain cap-
ital gains or losses, or any adjustments to interest
income (other than interest from Massachusetts
banks), you must complete Schedule B. Be sure to
enclose Massachusetts Schedule B. To determine
if you need to file Schedule B, refer to the Sched-
ule B instructions in this booklet.

Enter in line 23a the amount from Schedule B, line
39. Multiply this amount by .12 (12%) and enter
the tax in line 23.
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Tax on Long-Term
Capital Gains

Line 24. Schedule D (Long-Term
Capital Gains and Losses Excluding
Collectibles)

Enter in line 24 the amount from Schedule D, line
21, but not less than “0.” To determine if you need
to file Schedule D, refer to the Schedule D instruc-
tions in this booklet.

Schedule B, Line 36 and Schedule D, Line 19
Worksheet — Excess Exemptions from Interest
and Dividend Income, 12% Income and Long-
Term Capital Gain Income (Only if Single,
Head of Household, or Married Filing Jointly)

If your total exemptions in line 18 are more than
the amount of your 5.3% income after deduc-
tions in line 17, the excess may be applied
against your interest and dividend income and
income taxed at 12%. Any remaining excess
amount may then be applied against your long-
term capital gain income. Complete this work-
sheet only if line 17 is less than line 18 to
determine if you qualify for the excess
exemption. Enter all losses as “0.”

1. Enter amount from Schedule B, line 35.

Not less than “0”...............

2. Enter amount from Form 1,
line18.......................

3. Enter amount from Form 1,
line17....................... -
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If “0” or less,

you do not qualify for this exemption.

Omit remainder of worksheet . . . ..

5. Excess exemptions applied against interest
and dividend income and 12% income. If line 1
is larger than line 4, enter line 4 here and in
Schedule B, line 36. If line 4 is equal to or
larger than line 1, enter line 1 here and in
Schedule B, line 36. Complete lines 6
through8.....................

6. Subtract line 5 from line 4. If “0,” omit
remainder of worksheet . . .......

7. Enter Schedule D, line 18. Not less

than “0”...................... -
8. Excess exemptions applied against long-term
capital gain income. If line 7 is larger than line 6,
enter line 6 here and in Schedule D, line 19. If
line 6 is equal to or larger than line 7, enter line
7 here and in Schedule D, line 19 . .

Excess Exemptions

If excess exemptions were used in calculating lines
20, 23 or 24 (see Schedule B, line 36 and/or Sched-
ule D, line 19), be sure to fill in the oval in line 24.
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Line 25. Credit Recapture Amount

If any Brownfields Credit (BC), Economic Opportu-
nity Area Credit (EOA), Low Income Housing Credit
(LIH) or Historic Rehabilitation Credit (HR) prop-
erty is disposed of or ceases to be in qualified use
prior to the end of its useful life, the difference be-
tween the credit taken and the total credit allowed
for actual use must be added back to your tax on
Form 1. Complete and enclose Schedule H-2,
Credit Recapture. Schedule H-2 is available at
www.mass.gov/dor or by calling (617) 887-MDOR
or toll-free in Massachusetts 1-800-392-6089.

Massachusetts
Adjusted Gross
Income (AGI)

No Tax Status — Single, Married Filing a
Joint Return or Head of Household Only

If your Massachusetts AGI was $8,000 or less if
single, $14,400 or less plus $1,000 per depen-
dent if head of household, or $16,400 or less plus
$1,000 per dependent if married filing a joint re-
turn, you qualify for No Tax Status and are not re-
quired to pay any Massachusetts income taxes.

Limited Income Credit —

Single, Married Filing a Joint Return

or Head of Household Only

If you do not qualify for No Tax Status, but you are
single and your Massachusetts AGI is between
$8,000 and $14,000, or if you are filing as head of
household and your Massachusetts AGI is be-
tween $14,400 and $25,200 plus $1,750 per de-
pendent, or if you are married filing a joint return
and your Massachusetts AGI is between $16,400

and $28,700 plus $1,750 per dependent, you may
qualify for the Limited Income Credit. This credit
is an alternative tax calculation that can result in a
significant tax reduction for people whose income
is close to the No Tax Status threshold.

Massachusetts AGI

Massachusetts AGI is not the same as taxable in-
come. Massachusetts AGI includes:

D wages, salaries, tips;

D taxable pensions and annuities;

D pension income from another state or political
subdivision before any deduction;

D taxable IRA/Keogh and Roth IRA distributions;
d fees and unemployment compensation;

D income or loss from a business or profession;
» income or loss from partnerships, S corpora-
tions and trusts;

D rents, royalties and REMIC income;

D alimony and other 5.3% income;

D interest from Massachusetts banks before ex-
emptions; and

d other interest, dividends, and capital gains.
Complete the Massachusetts AGI Worksheet to see
if you may qualify for the College Tuition Deduction
(Schedule Y, line 11), No Tax Status or the Limited
Income Credit.

Massachusetts AGI Worksheet

1. Enter your total 5.3% income from Form 1,
line 10. Not less than “0”* .......

2. Enter the total of Schedule Y, lines 1

through 10....................

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Not less

than “0”...................... -
4. Enter total Massachusetts bank interest or the
interest exemption amount, whichever is smaller,
from Form 1, line 5a or line 5b . . . .

Note: If Form 1, line 10 is a loss, combine Form
1, line 10 with the smaller amount of total Mass-
achusetts bank interest or the interest exemption
amount. Enter the result in line 4, unless the
result is a loss. If the result is a loss, enter “0.”

5. Enter amount from Schedule B, line 35. If
there is no entry in Schedule B, line 35 or if

not filing Schedule B, enter the amount from
Form1,line20 ................ -
6. Enter the amount from Schedule D, line 18.**
Not less than “0”. ..............

7. Add lines 3 through6 . . . .. ....

If you are single and the total in line 7 is $8,000
or less, you qualify for No Tax Status (see line
26 instructions). If you are single but do not
qualify for No Tax Status, and your total in line 7
is $14,000 or less, complete line 27 and see line
28 instructions for the Limited Income Credit.

If you are filing as head of household or married
filing a joint return, compare line 7 with the No
Tax Status/Limited Income Credit chart to see if
you may qualify for No Tax Status or the Limited
Income Credit.

*Add back any Abandoned Building Renovation
deduction claimed on Schedule(s) C and/or E
before entering an amount in line 1.

**If filing Schedule D-IS, Installment Sales, see the
Schedule D-IS instructions (available at www.
mass.gov/dor) for the amount to enter in line 6.

No Tax Status/Limited Income Credit Chart

Filing status:

Number of dependents
(from Form 1, line 2b):

Head of household. Line 7 of
the AGI worksheet is less than

Married filing a joint return.
Line 7 of the AGI worksheet

or equal to: is less than or equal to:

0 $14,400 $25,200 $16,400 $28,700

1 15,400 26,950 17,400 30,450

2 16,400 28,700 18,400 32,200

3 17,400 30,450 19,400 33,950

4 18,400 32,200 20,400 35,700

5 19,400 33,950 21,400 37,450

6 20,400 35,700 22,400 39,200
you qualify for  you may qualify you qualify for  you may qualify
No Tax Status  for the Limited No Tax Status  for the Limited

Income Credit Income Credit

If the number of dependents is more than 6, add $1,000 per dependent to the No Tax Status column, or
$1,750 per dependent to the Limited Income Credit column.

Ifyou qualify for No Tax Status, see the instructions for line 26. If you may qualify for the Limited Income

Credit, go to line 27 and complete the worksheet for line 28.

Line 26. No Tax Status

If you qualify for No Tax Status, fill in the oval in
line 26, enter “0” in line 27 and omit lines 28
through 30. Also, enter “0” in line 31 and complete
Form 1. However, if there is an amount entered in
line 25, Credit Recapture Amount, enter that
amount in line 27 and complete lines 29 and 30.

Note: If married filing separately, you do not qual-
ify for No Tax Status.

Line 28. Limited Income Credit

Line 28 Worksheet — Limited Income Credit
(Only if Single, Head of Household, or Married
Filing Jointly)

1. Enter amount from line 7 of Massachusetts
AGI Worksheet . ............... -
2. Enter $8,000 if single. If married filing a joint
return or head of household, enter the amount
from the No Tax Status column of the No Tax
Status/Limited Income Credit chart

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. . . . .. -
4. Enter in line 4 the amount of tax from Form 1,
line27.......................

5. Multiply line 3 by 10% (.10) . . ..

6. If line 4 is smaller than line 5, you are not eli-
gible for this credit. Enter “0.” If line 4 is larger
than line 5, subtract line 5 from line 4 and enter
result here and in line 28 on Form 1




Line 29. Other Credits
(from Schedule 2)

Enter the total from Schedule Z, line 14. Be sure to
enclose Schedule Z with your return. Failure to do
so will delay the processing of your return.

Line 32. Voluntary Contributions

You may contribute any amount you choose to the
following funds. Remember, these amounts are
added to your tax. They increase the amount of
your payment or reduce the amount of your refund.

a. Endangered Wildlife Conservation: The Natural
Heritage and Endangered Species Fund is admin-
istered by the Division of Fisheries and Wildlife.
Contributions are used to protect and restore rare
and endangered wildlife and plants, and their habi-
tats. This fund has helped restore and conserve in
the Commonwealth populations of the Bald Eagle,
Hessel’'s Hairstreak Butterfly, the Redbelly Turtle
and the Plymouth Gentian.

b. Organ Transplant Fund: The Organ Transplant
Fund is administered by the Massachusetts De-
partment of Public Health. All contributions re-
ceived by the Fund assist patients with the costs of
medications without which they might lose their
transplanted organs. For information on how to be-
come an organ donor, visit the Registry of Motor
Vehicle’s website at www.mass.gov/rmv.

c. Massachusetts AIDS Fund: The Massachusetts
AIDS Fund is administered by the Massachusetts
Department of Public Health. Contributions are
used for research, experimental treatment and ed-
ucation related to Acquired Immune Deficiency
Syndrome (AIDS). Massachusetts residents living
with AIDS receive experimental treatment through
clinical trials which are wholly supported with this
Fund. The Fund also educates people with AIDS
about treatment options and how to gain access
to medication and experimental treatment.

d. Massachusetts United States Olympic Fund:
Contributions to this fund are used to assist Mass-
achusetts residents in paying all or part of any costs
associated with the development, maintenance and
operation of the United States Olympic Team par-
ticipating in the Olympics and the United States
Paralympic Team participating in the Paralympics.

e. Massachusetts Military Family Relief Fund:
The Massachusetts Military Family Relief Fund Is
administered by the Friends of Massachusetts Na-
tional Guard and Reserve Families. Contributions
to this fund are used to help members of the Mass-
achusetts National Guard and Massachusetts res-
idents who are members of the reserves of the
armed forces of the United States and who have
been called to active duty after the September 11,
2001 terrorist attacks, and their families, to defray
the costs of food, housing, utilities, medical serv-
ices, and other expenses.

Line 33. Massachusetts Use Tax
Due On Out-of-State Purchases
Made in 2009

A Massachusetts use tax is due on your taxable
purchases of tangible personal property purchased
for use in Massachusetts on which you did not
pay Massachusetts sales or use tax. These in-
clude, but are not limited to, purchases made out-
of-state, on the Internet or from a catalog, where
no Massachusetts sales tax was paid. The use tax
does not apply to out-of-state purchases that are
exempt from the sales tax (for example, clothing
that costs $175 or less). Examples of taxable
items include computers, furniture, jewelry, cam-
eras, appliances, and any other item that is not
exempt. Generally, anyone who pays a sales or
use tax to another state or territory of the United
States on tangible personal property to be used in
Massachusetts is entitled to a credit against the
Massachusetts use tax, up to either 5% or 6.25%,
depending on when the transaction occurred. This
credit is allowed for sales or use tax paid to an-
other state only if that state has a corresponding
credit similar to the Massachusetts credit. See TIR
03-1 for more information. Prepare and retain with
your records a list of your purchases in 2009 that
are subject to the Massachusetts use tax.

Taxpayers may use the following table to self-re-
port a “safe-harbor” amount of use tax based on
their Massachusetts adjusted gross income. A
taxpayer may pay this amount in lieu of the actual
amount of use tax that would otherwise be due with
respect to such purchases. Individual taxpayers
electing to report use tax under this method will
not be assessed additional use tax on audit, even if
the actual amount of use tax due would have been
greater than the amount from the schedule.

The estimated liability applies only to purchases
of any individual items each having a total sales
price of less than $1,000. For each taxable item
purchased at a sales price of $1,000 or greater,
the actual use tax liability for each purchase must
be added to the amount of the estimated liability
derived from the table below. See TIR 04-26.

Mass. AGI per return* Use tax liability

$ 0-§ 25,000 §0

25,001- 40,000 15

40,001- 60,000 25

60,001—- 80,000 35

80,001- 100,000 45

Above $100,000 Multiply Mass. AGI* by .0005

*From line 7 of Massachusetts AGI worksheet.

Complete the following worksheet to calculate your
use tax if you are not self-reporting a “safe-harbor”
amount. For more information about use tax, visit
DOR'’s website at www.mass.gov/dor.
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Form 1, Line 33 Worksheet —
Use Tax Due on Out-of-State Purchases

1. Total of purchases in 2009 subject to Mass-
achusetts use tax purchased between 1/1/09
and 7/31/09. . ................. -
2. Total of purchases in 2009 subject to Mass-
achusetts use tax purchased between 8/1/09
and 12/31/09. . ................

3. 5% Use tax. Multiply line 1 by .05

(5%) <o -
4. 6.25% Use tax. Multiply line 2 by .0625
(6.25%)...................... -
5. Credit for sales/use tax paid to other states or
Jjurisdictions between 1/1/09 and 7/31/09. Add
the amount of any sales/use tax paid to another
state or jurisdiction, or 5% of the sales price
whichever is less, on each purchase reported
inlinet...................... -
6. Credit for sales/use tax paid to other states or
Jjurisdictions between 8/1/09 and 12/31/09. Add
the amount of any sales/use tax paid to another
state or jurisdiction, or 6.25% of the sales price
whichever is less, on each purchase reported
inline2...................... -
7. 5% Total amount due. Subtract line 5 from
line 3. Not less than “0”. . ........ -
8. 6.25% Total amount due. Subtract line 6
from line 4. Not less than “0” . . . .. -
9. Total amount due. Add line 7 to line 8. Not
less than “0”. Enter result here and on Form 1,
line33.......................

Line 34. Health Care Penalty
If you are subject to the Health Care Penalty for
2009 and are not appealing the application of the
penalty, enter the penalty amount from line 8 of
the Penalty Worksheet on page HC-7 in line 34a
for you and/or line 34b for your spouse.

Note: If married filing a joint return and both you
and your spouse are subject to the penalty, separate
Penalty Worksheets must be filled out to calculate
the separate penalty amounts for you and your
spouse, using your married filing jointly income.

Line 36. Massachusetts Income
Tax Withheld

This represents all income taxes withheld for the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts as indicated on
your copies of Forms W-2, W-2G, PWH-WA (pro-
moter withholding), 2G, K-1, 2K-1, 3K-1 and cer-
tain 1099s, if applicable. Enter the total of all
Massachusetts withholdings in line 36. Attach,
with a single staple, state copies to your return;
otherwise your claim of amounts withheld will not
be allowed. If you have lost your state copy, ask
the payer for a duplicate. Copies of 1099s need
only be attached if they show an amount for
Massachusetts tax withheld.
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Line 37. 2008 Overpayment Applied
to Your 2009 Estimated Tax

Include the exact amount of any 2008 overpay-
ment you applied to your 2009 estimated taxes
from your 2008 Massachusetts Form 1, line 45 or
Form 1-NR/PY, line 50. Do not include any 2008
refund in this line.

Line 38. 2009 Massachusetts

Estimated Tax Payments

If you paid Massachusetts estimated income tax
for 2009, enter in line 38 the total of all Massachu-
setts estimated tax payments. Be sure to include
any last quarter (of 2009) payment made on or be-
fore January 15, 2010. Do not include any 2008
overpayment applied to your 2009 estimated tax.
Every resident who expects to pay more than $400
in Massachusetts income tax on income which is
not covered by Massachusetts withholding must
pay Massachusetts estimated taxes. Estimated tax
payments can be made online by using Web Serv-
ices for Income by visiting www.mass.gov/dor or
by filing Massachusetts Form 1-ES.

Income which is not subject to withholding
includes:

D salaries and wages where the employer is not
subject to Massachusetts withholding;

D dividends and interest, including interest from
Massachusetts banks;

D gains from capital assets;

» income from an individual trade, business or
profession;

D income from any estate or trust not taxed directly;
D certain pensions;

D taxable Keogh or IRA distributions (only if you
elected not to have federal withholding);

D rental, royalty or REMIC income;

» unemployment compensation (from which no
Massachusetts income tax was withheld);

D alimony received;

 distributions from SIMPLE accounts;

D illegal income; and

D any other income received while a Massachu-
setts resident from which Massachusetts tax will
not be withheld.

Generally, the first payment must be filed on or
before April 15 of the taxable year. The estimated
tax may be paid in full with the first payment or in
four installments on or before April 15, June 15,
September 15 of the current taxable year and Jan-
uary 15 of the following year.

If you wish to verify estimated tax payments that
have already been made, check the Estimated Tax
Payment History Application at www.mass.gov/dor.
You will need to know the PIN that appeared on the
back of your Form 1 booklet or the amount of last
year's refund or balance due to access your account.

You may request your employer to withhold addi-
tional amounts from your salary on Form M-4,
Massachusetts Employee’s Withholding Exemption
Certificate to cover the taxes on other income so
that you do not have to file and pay estimated taxes.

If 80% of the tax is not paid throughout the year
through withholding and/or estimated payments,
a penalty may be imposed.

Line 39. Payments Made with
Extension

If you filed Massachusetts Form M-4868, Applica-
tion for Automatic Six-Month Extension of Time to
File Massachusetts Income Tax Return, for 2009 on
or before April 15, 2010, enter in line 39 the amount
you paid with Massachusetts Form M-4868.

Line 40. Earned Income Credit

The earned income credit is a tax credit for certain
taxpayers who work and have earned income
under $48,279. Taxpayers who qualify for and
claim the federal earned income credit are allowed
a refundable credit equal to 15% of the federal
amount. If the credit due the taxpayer exceeds the
amount of the total income tax payable for the year
by the taxpayer, the excess amount of the credit
will be refunded to the taxpayer without interest.
You must enter the number of qualifying children,
if any, in line 40a. Then, enter the federal earned
income credit amount from your U.S. Form 1040,
line 64a, 1040A, line 41a; or 1040EZ, line 9a. Mul-
tiply this amount by .15 (15%) and enter the re-
sult in line 40. Be sure to fill out Schedule DI,
Dependent Information, if you are claiming this
credit for one or more qualifying children/depen-
dents. Failure to do so will delay the processing of
your return.

If you choose to have the IRS compute your federal
earned income credit, wait until the IRS notifies
you of that amount before making an entry in line
40. If you have not received your earned income
credit amount as computed by the IRS by April 15,
2010, you may file Massachusetts Form M-4868,
Application for Automatic Six-Month Extension of
Time to File Massachusetts Income Tax Return.
See page 3 for information about filing your exten-
sion via the Web. For more information about the
federal earned income tax credit, see IRS publica-
tion 596, available at www.irs.gov.

Line 41. Senior Circuit Breaker Credit
Certain senior citizens in Massachusetts may be
eligible to claim a refundable credit on their state
income taxes for the real estate taxes paid on the
Massachusetts residential property they own or
rent and which they occupy as their principal resi-
dence. The maximum credit allowed is $960 for the
tax year beginning January 1, 2009. If the credit
due the taxpayer exceeds the amount of the total

income tax payable for the year by the taxpayer,
the excess amount of the credit will be refunded to
the taxpayer without interest. To determine if you
qualify for this credit, refer to the Senior Gircuit
Breaker Credit instructions in this booklet.

If you qualify for this credit and you are a home-
owner, enter the amount from Schedule CB, Cir-
cuit Breaker Credit, line 17; if you are a renter, enter
the amount from line 21. Be sure to complete and
enclose Schedule CB with your return.

Line 42. Other Refundable Credits
Enter in line 42 the amount from Schedule RF,
line 3.

Refund Amount

Line 45. Amount of Overpayment
You Want Applied to Your 2010

Massachusetts Estimated Tax

Enter the amount of your 2009 overpayment that
you wish to apply to your 2010 Massachusetts
estimated tax. Once an election is made to apply
your overpayment to your 2010 estimated tax, it
cannot be refunded later or applied to any addi-
tional tax you may owe for 2009. The amount en-
tered in this line can only be claimed as a credit on
your 2010 Massachusetts return.

Line 46. Refund Amount
Subtract line 45 from line 44. Enter the result in
line 46. This is the amount of your refund.

Note: Your state tax refund may be taxable on your
U.S. tax return if you deducted state income tax
paid as an itemized deduction on U.S. Schedule A.

) Direct Deposit

You may elect to have your refund deposited di-
rectly into your savings or checking account.
Check with your financial institution to make sure
that it accepts direct deposit and verify the routing
transit number (RTN) of the issuing financial insti-
tution. If we are unable to honor your request for
a direct deposit, a paper check will be sent to you.

JANE TAXPAYER 1234
JOHN TAXPAYER
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The routing number of your financial institution
is nine digits and begins with 01 through 12 or 21
through 32. The account number can be up to 17
characters (both numbers and letters). Omit hy-
phens, spaces and special symbols. Enter the
number from left to right and leave any unused



boxes blank. You must enter the routing number
and the account number in the spaces provided in
line 46 if you are requesting direct deposit. Failure
to do so will result in your request for direct de-
posit being denied. See sample check for location
of this information.

Tax Due

Line 47. Tax Due

If line 35 is larger than line 43, subtract line 43
from line 35, and enter the result in line 47. This
is the amount of tax you owe with your return.
Pay in full with your return. Go to Web Services
for Income at www.mass.gov/dor for online pay-
ment options. If you need to mail your payment,
make your check or money order payable to the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts and write your
Social Security number on the front of your check
or money order in the lower left corner. Complete
and remove Form PV, Massachusetts Income Tax
Payment Voucher, attached to the back of the en-
velope included in this booklet. Enclose the check
and Form PV with your return. Form PV must be
included with your check to ensure proper credit-
ing of your account. Be sure to use the light blue
mailing label when mailing your Form 1 with the
Form PV.

Failure to file or failure to pay the proper amount of
tax when due will result in an increasing amount
of interest and penalties. It is to your advantage to
file when your return is due, whether or not you
are able to make full payment.

If you owe any interest, penalty or addition for the
underpayment of estimated tax, add those
amounts to the tax you owe and enter the total
amount in line 47.

What Are Interest and Penalties?

Interest: If you fail to pay the tax when due, inter-
est will be charged. For an explanation of how in-
terest is compounded in Massachusetts, see TIR
92-6 or call the Customer Service Bureau at (617)
887-MDOR or toll-free, in Massachusetts at
1-800-392-6089.

Penalty for Late Payment: The penalty for late
payment is 1% per month (or fraction thereof) of
the tax due, up to a maximum of 25%.

Penalty for Failure to File: The penalty for failure
to file a tax return by the due date is 1% per month
(or fraction thereof) of the tax due, up to a maxi-
mum of 25%. If you were required to file a tax re-
turn for income received in any prior year and you
did not file, you must file for that prior year.

Penalty for Protested (“Bad”) Payment: If your
payment is not honored by your bank because of
insufficient funds or any other reason, a penalty

may be added of $30 or the amount of the pay-
ment, whichever is less.

Addition for Underpayment of Estimated Tax: You
will generally be subject to this addition to tax if
you did not have withholding and/or estimated
payments equal to 80% of the total tax liability re-
quired to be paid and your 2009 tax due after cred-
its and withholding is greater than $400. The 80%
requirement is reduced to 66%% for individuals
who receive two-thirds of their income from fish-
ing or farming. If you failed to meet these require-
ments, you must complete and enclose Massachu-
setts Form M-2210 to calculate the amount you
must add to line 47. You do not have to complete
Form M-2210 if the balance due with your return
is $400 or less.

You may not be subject to an underpayment penalty
if you qualify for one of the following exceptions:

D you are a qualified farmer or fisherman and are
paying the full amount of the tax due on or before
March 1, 2010;

D you were a Massachusetts resident and were
not liable for 2008 taxes (where the taxable year
was 12 months); or

» the sum of your estimated payments and with-
holding equals or exceeds your 2008 total tax due
(where the taxable year was 12 months and a re-
turn was filed).

If you qualify for one of these exceptions, please fill
in the oval marked “EX” under line 47 on Form 1
and enclose Form M-2210 indicating which of the
exceptions applies to your circumstances.

Alimited number of taxpayers may also qualify for
a waiver of the underpayment penalty for one or
more installments if:

» the underpayment was because of casualty or
disaster; or

D during 2008 or 2009 you retired after reaching
age 62 or became disabled and the underpayment
was due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect.

If you think you qualify for one of these waivers,
go to www.mass.gov/dor and use DOR’s online
application for abatement/amended return at
www.mass.gov/dor or enclose Form M-2210 and
an explanatory statement with your return and fill
in the oval marked “EX” under line 47. If your
waiver is not for all four installments, complete
Form M-2210 to calculate the underpayment
penalty for the installments which are not covered
by the waiver. Form M-2210 is available by visit-
ing www.mass.gov/dor.

Penalty for Failure to Report Federal Change: If
the U.S. Internal Revenue Service changes your
income for a prior year (generally through audit),
file an online application for abatement/amended
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return at www.mass.gov/dor within one year of the
final federal determination to avoid this penalty.
This penalty is equal to 10% of the additional tax
due or $100, whichever is smaller. If the change in-
dicates a refund, file an online application for abate-
ment/amended return within one year, including
acceptance of an amended federal return by the In-
ternal Revenue Service. Form CA-6, Application for
Abatement, can also be downloaded from DOR’s
website at www.mass.gov/dor.

Sign Here

Now that you have completed Form 1, sign your
name at the bottom of page 1 of Form 1. Your
spouse must also sign if this is a joint return. Write
the date you signed the return.

Note: Be sure to include all three pages of Form
1, as well as Schedule HC.

Attach to your Form 1, with a single staple, all state
copies of your Forms W-2, W-2G, PWH-WA, 2G
and any Forms 1099 which included Massachu-
setts withholding. If making a payment, be sure to
enclose Form PV with your Form 1. Form PV is at-
tached to the back of the envelope found in this
booklet. Form PV must be included with your check
to ensure proper crediting of your account. Make
your check or money order payable to Common-
wealth of Massachusetts and be sure to sign the
check and write your Social Security number on
it. Also, be sure to use the light blue mailing label
when mailing your Form 1 with the Form PV.

Paid Preparer Must Sign Your Return

Generally, anyone you pay to prepare your return
must sign it in the space provided. Tax return pre-
parers are authorized to sign the return by means
of a rubber stamp, mechanical device, or computer
software program, which must include either a fac-
simile or printed name of the preparer. Preparers
are personally responsible for affixing their signa-
tures to returns. Preparers must also provide their
Social Security Number (SSN) or Preparer Tax
Identification Number (PTIN) and Employer Identi-
fication Number (EIN) in the spaces provided. The
preparer must give you a copy of the return for your
records. Someone who prepares your return but
does not charge you should not sign your return.

Paid Preparer Authorization

If you want to allow the Massachusetts Depart-
ment of Revenue (DOR) to discuss your 2009 tax
return with the paid preparer who signed it, fill in
the “Yes” oval in the signature area of the return.
This authorization applies only to the individual
whose signature appears in the “Paid Preparer”
section of your return. It does not apply to the
firm, if any, shown in that section.



© Schedule Instructions

If you fill in the “Yes” oval, you, and your spouse if
filing a joint return, are authorizing DOR to call the
paid preparer to answer any questions that may
arise during the processing of your return. You are
also authorizing the paid preparer to:

» give DOR any information that is missing from
your return;

d call DOR for information about the processing
of your return or the status of your refund or pay-
ment(s); and

D respond to certain DOR notices that you have
shared with the preparer about math errors, offsets
and return preparation. The notices will not be sent
to the preparer.

You are not authorizing the paid preparer to receive
any refund check, bind you to anything (including
any additional tax liability), or otherwise represent
you before DOR. If you want to expand the paid
preparer’s authorization, see Form M-2848, Power
of Attorney and Declaration of Representative. Form
M-2848 is available by visiting www.mass.gov/dor.

The authorization cannot be revoked. However, the
authorization will automatically end no later than
the due date (without regard to extensions) for
filing your 2010 tax return. This is April 15, 2011
for most people.

E-File Opt Out

For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2005, income tax return preparers who completed
100 or more original Massachusetts Forms 1 and
1-NR/PY, including those E-filed, during the previ-
ous calendar year are required to use electronic
means to file all personal income tax returns, un-
less the taxpayer specifically directs on the paper
form that the filing be on paper and signs Form
EFO, Personal Income Tax Declaration of Paper Fil-
ing. Fill in oval if you do not want your preparer to
file your return electronically. See TIR 04-30 for
more information.

Mailing

If you are expecting a refund or if you have no tax
due, use the white mailing label on the back of the
envelope that came with this booklet. If you do not
have one, mail Form 1 to: Massachusetts Depart-
ment of Revenue, PO Box 7000, Boston, MA
02204-7000. If using a tax software product, be
sure to use the correct PO box. See page 3.

If you have a tax due, use the light blue mailing
label on the back of the envelope that came with
this booklet. If you do not have one, mail Form 1
to: Massachusetts Department of Revenue, PO
Box 7003, Boston, MA 02204-7003. If using a tax
software product, be sure to use the correct PO
box. See page 3.

Note: Schedule lines without specific instructions
are considered to be self-explanatory. Be sure to

list on each schedule the name and Social Security
number that appears first on Form 1. Do not cut
or separate schedules.

Schedule DI

Dependent Information
Be sure to enclose with Form 1.

You must complete this schedule if you are claim-
ing a dependent exemption(s) on Form 1, line 2b or
taking a deduction/credit(s) on Form 1, lines 12, 13
or 40 (if applicable). Failure to provide this informa-
tion will delay the processing of your return. You
must complete the information for each dependent.

In the spaces provided, enter the name, Social Se-
curity number, date of birth and the relationship
of the dependent to you (son, daughter, mother,
father, etc.). Also, if the dependent is a qualifying
child for the Earned Income credit, fill in the “Yes”
oval. If you are claiming more than 10 depen-
dents, attach a statement listing the name, Social
Security number, date of birth and the relationship
of the dependent to you and if the dependent is a
qualifying child for the Earned Income credit.

Schedule X

Other Income
Be sure to enclose with Form 1.

Line 1. Alimony Received

Enter in Schedule X, line 1 the total amount of all
periodic payments of alimony or separate mainte-
nance received under a court judgment or decree,
or for excess alimony amounts recaptured, as re-
ported on U.S. Form 1040, line 11. Payments
specified as child support are not taxable.

Line 2. Taxable IRA/Keogh,
Qualified Charitable IRA
Distributions and Roth

IRA Conversion Distributions
Complete the Schedule X, line 2 worksheet to cal-
culate the taxable portion of any amount you re-
ceived from an Individual Retirement Account
(IRA), Keogh, qualified charitable IRA distribution
or Roth IRA conversion distribution. Since Mass-
achusetts does not allow a deduction for amounts
originally contributed to an IRA or Keogh, the dis-
tributions are not taxable until the full amount of
your contributions which were previously subject
to Massachusetts taxes are recovered.

Contributions made to Keogh accounts prior to
1975 were deductible when made. Therefore, no
deduction may be taken from a Keogh distribu-
tion for amounts contributed before 1975.

Massachusetts generally adopts the federal con-
version rules for partial or complete rollovers from
existing IRAs to Roth IRAs. Generally, the rollover
amount is treated as a distribution and included in
federal gross income to the extent it is attributable
to investment growth or previously deducted con-
tributions. See TIR 98-8, Massachusetts 1998 Re-
ducing Income Taxes Act, for further details.

Note: Massachusetts adopts the federal exclusion
for qualified charitable distributions from IRAs and
Roth IRAs, including the extension for tax years
2008 and 2009. Not to exceed $100,000 per tax
year. See TIR 06-20, The Pension Protection Act
of 2006: Charitable IRA Distributions, for further
information.

Schedule X, Line 2 Worksheet — Taxable
IRA/Keogh Plan, Qualified Charitable IRA
Distributions and Roth IRA Conversion
Distributions

Complete this worksheet to report conventional
IRA/Keogh distributions, qualified charitable
IRA distributions or Roth IRA conversion
distributions.

1. Total IRA/Keogh plan distributions, qualified
charitable IRA deductions, Roth IRA conversion
distributions in 2009. . . .........

2. Total IRA/Keogh plan contributions
previously taxed by Massachusetts

3. Total distributions received in

Drevious years. . ............... -
4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If line 3 is larger
than line 2, enter “0”. ........... -
5. Subtract line 4 from line 1 and enter the
result here. Not less than “0” . . . . . -
6. Total qualified charitable IRA distributions

in 2009 included in line 1 ........ -
7. Taxable IRA/Keogh distributions or Roth

IRA conversion distributions. Subtract line 6
from line 5 and enter result here and in
Schedule X, line 2. Not less than “0”

Note: You must complete separate worksheets
if married filing a joint return and both you and
Yyour spouse received IRA/Keogh Plan, qualified
charitable IRA distributions, and/or Roth IRA
conversion distributions.

Line 3. Other Gambling Winnings

Enter in Schedule X, line 3 all gambling winnings
from casinos, raffles, races, beano or other events
of chance, wherever held, and winnings from non-
Massachusetts lotteries. Do not enter less than
“0.” You may only deduct the price of the winning
ticket. Gambling losses are not deductible under
Massachusetts law. Gambling losses claimed as
itemized deductions on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule
A are not allowed on your Massachusetts return.

Note: Do not report Massachusetts state lottery
winnings in Schedule X, line 3. Instead, report them
on Form 1, line 8b.



Line 4. Fees and Other 5.3% Income
The following items should be reported on line 4 of
Schedule X. Do not enter less than “0.” Enclose
additional statements if more space is needed.

D All fee income, such as payments for jury duty,
election worker payments, director’s fees, compen-
sation received as executor or administrator of an
estate, and commission income or tips not reported
in line 3 of Form 1 are taxable. Also, report all
bartering income not reported on Schedule C (the
fair market value of goods or services received in
payment for your services).

D All prizes and awards won in a quiz program,
drawing, beauty contest, etc. are taxable at fair
market value. Awards and bonuses received from
your employer for performance of services not
part of a qualified award plan are also taxable.

D Forgiveness of debt and mortgage forgiveness.

» Other Massachusetts 5.3% income reported
on U.S. Form 1040, line 21 and not reported else-
where in Form 1, lines 3 through 8 or Schedule X,
lines 1 through 3 must be reported in line 4 of
Schedule X.

D Pre-1996 installment sales classified as ordinary
income for Massachusetts purposes (from Mass-
achusetts Schedule D, line 9) are taxed as 5.3%
income and must be reported on line 4 of Sched-
ule X.

D Embezzled or other income from illegal activi-
ties is taxable and should be reported on Sched-
ule X, line 4.

The following items should not be reported on your
Massachusetts return:

D Any “net operating loss” reported as a negative
amount on U.S. Form 1040, line 21 cannot be en-
tered on Schedule X. A net operating loss from a
business or profession cannot be carried forward
or backward to offset individual income in any
other year under Massachusetts law.

D Refunds of U.S. and Massachusetts income
taxes are not considered income under Massachu-
setts law. If you received interest on refunds, re-
port such interest on Massachusetts Schedule B.

Schedule Y

Other Deductions
Be sure to enclose with Form 1.

Line 1. Allowable Employee

Business Expenses

Generally, reimbursed employee business ex-
penses are not included in your wages or salary
and therefore are not allowed as deductions.
However, there are unreimbursed and certain re-
imbursed expenses for which you are allowed a

deduction. Complete the following worksheet in
order to calculate your Massachusetts employee
business expense deduction. The expenses must
relate to income reported in lines 3 or 9 on Form 1.

Employees may deduct the following:

» unreimbursed travel and transportation ex-
penses including lodging and meals away from
home incurred by an employee; and

D all federally deductible unreimbursed employee
business expenses, if the employee is a sales-
person who solicits business for an employer away
from the employer’s place of business.

Unreimbursed expenses are only deductible if all
of the following conditions are met:

D you itemize deductions;

D if you filed a joint U.S. return, you must file a
joint Massachusetts return; and

D your unreimbursed business expenses taken
together with the other miscellaneous itemized de-
ductions reported on U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A,
lines 21, 22 and 23 exceed 2% of your federal ad-
justed gross income reported on U.S. Form 1040,
Schedule A, line 26. See the following worksheet
for Schedule Y, line 1.

If you are a qualified performing artist or a fee-basis
state or local government official, do not complete
the worksheet. Enter on Schedule Y, line 9 your fed-
erally deductible business expenses included on
U.S. Form 1040, line 24 and fill in the appropriate
oval in Schedule Y, line 9.

Note: Same-sex joint filers must recalculate their
U.S. Form 1040, Schedule A by combining allow-
able expenses as reported on U.S. Form 1040,
Schedule A, lines 24 and 28 and their adjusted
gross incomes as reported on U.S. Form 1040,
Schedule A, line 25 in calculating U.S. Form 1040,
Schedule A, line 27. Same-sex joint filers must
also recalculate their US. Form 2106 or 2106-EZ
by combining allowable expenses as reported on
U.S. Form 2106, lines 4, 9b and 10 or U.S. Form
2106-EZ, lines 4, 5 and 6. See TIR 04-17 for more
information.

Schedule Y, Line 1 — Massachusetts Employee
Business Expense Deduction Worksheet

1. Enter the amount from U.S. Form 2106,

line 10, or 2106-EZ, line6. . . . .. .. -
2. If you are an employee other than an outside
salesperson, enter the amount of unreimbursed
expenses included in U.S. Form 2106 or
2106-EZ, line4 ................ -
3. If you are an employee other than an outside
salesperson, enter the amount of unreimbursed
meals and entertainment expenses included in
U.S. Form 2106, line 9, column B or 2106-EZ,
line 5, except for meals incurred while away
fromhome. ...................
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4. If you are an individual with a disability,

enter the amount of impairment-related
expenses included in line 1 and claimed

on line 28 of U.S. Schedule A . . . . .

5. Add lines 2 through 4. Enter the
resulthere....................

6. Subtract line 5 from line 1. Enter the
resulthere.................... -
7. Enter the amount from U.S. Schedule A,
line27....................... -
8. Enter the smaller amount of line 6 or line 7
here and on Schedule Y, line 1 . . ..

Line 2. Penalty on Early Savings
Withdrawal

If you were charged a penalty because of early
withdrawal of savings, and interest on the savings
that such a penalty relates to income reported in
line 5a or line 20 of this return or on a prior year
Massachusetts return, you may deduct the penalty.
This deduction is the same as the amount allow-
able on U.S. Form 1040, line 30. Enter this amount
in line 2 of Schedule Y.

Line 3. Alimony Paid

Enter in Schedule Y, line 3 the total amount that
you paid to your former spouse during 2009 for
alimony or separate maintenance under court de-
cree, or for excess alimony amounts recaptured,
as reported on U.S. Form 1040, line 31a.

Note: Alimony payments specified as child sup-
port are not deductible.

Line 4. Amounts Excludible Under
MGL Ch. 41, Sec. 111F or U.S. Tax

Treaty Included in Form 1, Line 3.
Massachusetts allows an exclusion from income
of amounts received by a firefighter or police offi-
cer incapacitated in the line of duty, per MGL Ch.
41, sec. 111F, and an exclusion from income of
amounts received by qualifying students exempt
under a U.S. tax treaty.

Enter any excludible amount of income received
while you were a firefighter or police officer inca-
pacitated in the line of duty in line 4 of Schedule Y
that was included in Form 1, line 3, and fill in the
appropriate oval.

If you were a qualifying student or a taxpayer with
income exempt under a U.S. tax treaty, enter any
excludible amount of income received that was ex-
empt under a U.S. tax treaty in line 4 of Schedule Y
that was included in Form 1, line 3, and fill in the
appropriate oval.

Line 5. Moving Expenses
Enter in Schedule Y, line 5 the amount from U.S.
Form 1040, line 26.
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Line 6. Medical Savings Account
Enter in Schedule Y, line 6 the amount of the Med-
ical Savings Account deduction included in U.S.
Form 1040, line 36 “MSA Write-In Adjustment.”

Line 7. Self-Employed Health

Insurance
Enter in Schedule Y, line 7 the amount from U.S.
Form 1040, line 29.

Note: If you elected to claim the federal credit under
sec. 35 and had to reduce the amount on U.S. Form
1040, line 29 by the amount of the federal credit,
you may add back the amount of the credit to the
amount entered on U.S Form 1040, line 29.

Line 8. Health Savings Accounts
Enter in Schedule Y, line 8 the amount from U.S.
Form 1040, line 25.

Line 9. Other Qualified Deductions
You may claim only the deductions listed below for
Schedule Y, line 9. If you are entitled to claim any
of the deductions in line 9, fill in the appropriate
oval(s) and enter the total amount of deductions
claimed in line 9.

D Certain qualified deductions from U.S. Form
1040. Do not include any amounts reported on
U.S. Form 1040, lines 23 through 35 that are in-
cluded in Form 1040, line 36 total. Enter only
amounts included in U.S. Form 1040, line 36 as a
write-in adjustment, except amounts contributed
to sec. 501(c)(18) pension plans. For Massachu-
setts purposes, contributions to sec. 501(c)(18)
pension plans are not deductible. Also, the IRC
sec. 404 deduction for contributions on behalf of
IRC sec. 401(c)(1) employees (sole proprietors
and partners) is disallowed. See TIR 02-18 (1)(D)
and DOR Directive 01-7 for more information.

On the dotted line next to line 9, be sure to indicate
the type of deduction being taken, as identified on
U.S. Form 1040, line 36. Identify jury duty pay
given to your employer as “Jury pay”; reforesta-
tion amortization as “RFST”; repayment of supple-
mental unemployment benefits under the Trade
Act of 1974 as “Sub-Pay TRA”; attorney fees and
court costs involving certain unlawful discrimina-
tion claims as “UDC”; and deductible expenses re-
lated to income reported on U.S. Form 1040, line
21 and Massachusetts Schedule X, line 4 from the
rental of personal property engaged in for profit
as “PPR.” Fill in the appropriate oval in line 9 of
Schedule Y.

» Business Expenses of National Guard and
Reserve Members, Performing Artists and Fee-
Based Government Officials: Enter the amount
from U.S. Form 1040, line 24 and fill in the appro-
priate oval in line 9 of Schedule Y.

Line 10. Student Loan Interest

Deduction

Enter the amount from U.S. Form 1040, line 33 or
1040A, line 18. This deduction is only allowed if
not claiming the same expenses in line 12 of
Schedule Y, Undergraduate Student Loan Interest
Deduction.

Note: Same-sex joint filers must use the “Student
Loan Interest Deduction” worksheet in the instruc-
tions to U.S. Form 1040 or 1040A making sure to
combine their income figures, and performing the
calculation as though they were filing a joint fed-
eral return. See TIR 04-17 for more information.

Line 11. College Tuition Deduction
A deduction is allowed for tuition payments paid
by you, for yourself or a dependent, to a qualifying
two- or four-year college leading to an undergrad-
uate or associate’s degree, diploma or certificate.
Tuition payments for students pursuing graduate
degrees at such a college or university are not eli-
gible for the college tuition deduction. The deduc-
tion is equal to the amount by which the tuition
payments, less any scholarships, grants or finan-
cial aid received, exceed 25% of Massachusetts
AGI. Qualified tuition expenses include only those
expenses designated as tuition or mandatory fees
required for the enrollment or attendance of the
taxpayer or any dependent of the taxpayer at an
eligible educational institution. No deduction is al-
lowed for any amount paid for room and board,
books, supplies, equipment, personal living ex-
penses, meals, lodging, travel or research, athletic
fees, insurance expenses or other expenses unre-
lated to an individual’s academic course of instruc-
tion. Complete the Massachusetts AGI Worksheet
and the Schedule Y, line 11 worksheet to see if
you may qualify for this deduction. See TIR 97-13
for more information.

Schedule Y, Line 11 Worksheet —
College Tuition Deduction

1. Enter total tuition payments paid by you, for
yourself or a dependent, to a qualifying two-

or four-year college in 2009 . . . . ..

2. Enter amount of scholarships, grants or
financial aid received in 2009 for amounts
showninline 1 ................ -
3. Subtract line 2 from line 1. If “0” or less,

you do not qualify for this deduction

4. Enter amount from line 7 of the
Massachusetts AGI Worksheet . . .

5. Multiply line4 by .25. . ........ -
6. If line 3 is smaller than line 5, you are not
eligible for this deduction. Enter “0.” If line 3

is larger than line 5, subtract line 5 from line 3
and enter the result here and in line 11 on
ScheduleY ...................

Line 12. Undergraduate Student

Loan Interest Deduction

A deduction is allowed for interest paid on a qual-
ified undergraduate student loan. To be eligible for
the deduction, the “education debt” must be a loan
that is administered by the financial aid office of a
two-year or four-year college at which you, or a
qualified dependent, were enrolled as an under-
graduate student. Additionally, the loan must have
been secured through a state student loan pro-
gram, a federal student loan program, or a com-
mercial lender, and must have been spent solely
for the purposes of paying tuition and other ex-
penses directly related to the school enrollment.
Enter the amount of such interest paid in Sched-
ule Y, line 12. This deduction is only allowed if not
claiming the same expenses in line 10 of Sched-
ule Y, Student Loan Interest Deduction.

Line 13. Deductible Amount of
Qualified Contributory Pension
Income from Another State or
Political Subdivision Included in
Form1, Line 4

Massachusetts allows a deduction for contribu-
tory pension income received from another state
or one of its political subdivisions which does not
tax such income from Massachusetts or its politi-
cal subdivisions. For guidelines to determine which
state’s pensions are exempt in Massachusetts, see
TIR 95-9. Enter any deductible amount of such in-
come in line 13 of Schedule Y that was included in
Form 1, line 4.

Line 14. Claim of Right Deduction

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005,
taxpayers who have paid Massachusetts personal
income taxes in a prior year on income attributed
to them under a “claim of right” may deduct the
amount of that income from their gross income if it
later develops that they were not in fact entitled to
the income, and have repaid the amounts in ques-
tion. The deduction is allowed in the year of repay-
ment, provided that the repayment is not otherwise
deductible in determining Massachusetts income
taxable under M.G.L. ch. 62. Some examples in
which the claim of right may be applied for are:

» Stock under claim of ownership. Gains from
sales of stock under a claim of ownership must be
included, regardless of whether the taxpayer actu-
ally owned it;

» Employment contracts. Amounts in settlement
of employment contracts must be included not-
withstanding the prospect of eventual repayment
to the employer of an amount equivalent to or
greater than the amount received,;



D Dividends. Where a taxpayer receives a dividend
that must be repaid in a later year (e.g., because it
impaired corporate capital), the dividend must be
included in the year of receipt;

D Corporate notes. Where a taxpayer receives a
distribution with respect to holding of notes, the
income must be included regardless of whether it
could be challenged by senior creditors;

D Mistake in validity of claim. The claim of right
doctrine applies where a taxpayer merely mistakes
the validity of his claim; or

D Advanced insurance commissions.

If you are entitled to claim this deduction, enter the
amount claimed in Schedule Y, line 14. For more
information, see TIR 06-4.

Line 15. Commuter Deduction

A deduction is allowed for certain amounts paid by
an individual for tolls paid for through a FastLane
account or for weekly or monthly transit commuter
passes for MBTA transit or commuter rail, not in-
cluding amounts reimbursed or otherwise deduct-
ible. In the case of a single person or a married
person filing a separate return or a head of house-
hold, this deduction applies only to the portion of
such expended amount that exceeds $150, and
the total amount deducted cannot exceed $750. In
the case of a married couple filing a joint return,
this deduction applies only to the portion of such
amount expended by each individual that exceeds
$150, and the total amount deducted cannot ex-
ceed $750 for each individual. Also, one spouse
cannot transfer his or her excess deduction to the
other spouse; separate worksheets must be com-
pleted to calculate the deduction. See TIR 06-14
for additional information. Complete the following
worksheet to calculate the commuter deduction.

Dependents Claimed on Taxpayers’ Income Tax
Returns: The deduction is allowed where an indi-
vidual purchases an MBTA pass for a dependent
who is claimed on that individual’s tax return,
provided the dependent does not also claim the
deduction. However, the total amount deducted
cannot exceed $750 for each individual taxpayer
who is filing a return. In the case of married tax-
payers filing a joint return, the total amount de-
ducted cannot exceed $750 per taxpayer; thus, the
maximum deduction for a joint return is $1,500.

Schedule Y, Line 15 Worksheet —
Commuter Deduction

1. Enter amount paid in 2009 for tolls through

a FastLane account . ............ -
2. Enter amount paid in 2009 for weekly or
monthly transit commuter passes for MBTA
fransit or commuter rail. (Do not include amounts
reimbursed or otherwise deductible)

3. Add lines 1 and 2. If $150 or less, you do not
qualify for this deduction. Omit remainder of
this worksheet. Otherwise, complete lines 4
through6.....................

4. Enter $150 .................

5. Subtract line 4 from line 3. . . . .. -
6. Enter the lesser of line 5 or $750 here and

on Schedule Y, line15...........

Schedule Z

Other Credits

Be sure to enclose with Form 1.

Part 1 Credits
Line 1. Lead Paint

If you incurred expenses for covering or remov-
ing lead paint on residential premises in Mass-
achusetts, you may claim a credit for expenses up
to $1,500 for each residential unit. The basic rules
are explained on Massachusetts Schedule LP,
Credit for Removing or Covering Lead Paint on
Residential Premises. If you qualify for the credit,
complete Schedule LP and enter the amount of
credit in line 1.

Line 2. Economic Opportunity Area
Massachusetts allows a credit equal to 5% of the
cost of qualifying property purchased for business
use within an Economic Opportunity Area (EOA).
If you qualify for the credit, complete Schedule
EOAC and enter the amount of credit in line 2.

Line 3. Full Employment

Every employer who participates in the Full Em-
ployment Program and continues to employ a par-
ticipant for at least one full month after any Full
Employment Program subsidy for that participant
has expired may claim the Full Employment Credit.
A qualified employer may claim a credit equal to
$100 per month of eligible employment per partic-
ipant, with a maximum credit of $1,200 per partic-
ipant. Qualified participants and employers are
those who participate in the Full Employment Pro-
gram under the rules of the Department of Transi-
tional Assistance (DTA). A five-year carryover of
any unused credit is allowed. If you qualify for this
credit, complete Massachusetts Schedule FEC, Full
Employment Credit, and enter the amount of credit
in line 3.

Line 4. Septic

An owner of residential property located in Mass-
achusetts who occupies the property as his or her
principal residence is allowed a credit of a maxi-
mum of $1,500 per taxable year for expenses in-
curred to comply with the sewer system require-
ments of Title V as promulgated by the Department
of Environmental Protection or to connect to a mu-
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nicipal sewer system pursuant to a federal court
order, administrative consent order, state court
order, consent decree or similar mandate. The
amount of the credit is 40% of the cost, up to
$15,000, for design and construction expenses for
repair or replacement of a failed cesspool or sep-
tic system. The maximum aggregate amount of
the credit is $6,000. A five-year carryover of any
unused credit is allowed. See TIRs 97-12, 98-8,
99-5, 99-20 and DOR Directive 01-6 for more in-
formation. If you qualify for this credit, complete
Massachusetts Schedule SC, Septic Credit, and
enter the amount of credit in line 4.

Note: Betterment assessments do not qualify for
this credit.

Line 5. Brownfields

Recent legislation extends the Brownfields credit
to nonprofit organizations, extends the time frame
for eligibility for the credit, and permits the credit to
be transferred, sold, or assigned. Under prior law,
net response and removal costs incurred by a tax-
payer between August 1, 1998 and August 5,
2005, were eligible for the credit provided that the
environmental response action before August 5,
2005. As a result of the recent legislation, the envi-
ronmental response action commencement cut-off
date is changed from August 5, 2005 to August 5,
2011, and the time for incurring eligible costs that
qualify for the credit is extended to January 1, 2012.
See TIR 06-16 for more information. If you qualify
for this credit, complete Massachusetts Schedule
BC, Brownfields Credit, and enter the amount of
credit in line 5. Also, be sure to enter the DOR-
issued certificate number in the space provided on
line 5. Certificate application forms and additional
information are available at www.mass.gov/dor.

Line 6. Low-Income Housing

A low-income housing credit is available to indi-
vidual taxpayers. The Department of Housing and
Community Development will allocate the low-in-
come housing credit from a pool of available
credits granted under section 42 of the Internal
Revenue Code among qualified low-income hous-
ing projects. A taxpayer allocated a federal low-in-
come housing credit may also be eligible for a state
credit based on the credit amount allocated to a
low-income housing project that the taxpayer owns.
A five-year carryforward of unused credit is al-
lowed. See TIR 99-19 for more information. If you
qualify for the credit, enter the amount in line 6.

Line 7. Historic Rehabilitation

Effective for tax years beginning on January 1,
2005 and ending on or before December 31, 2011,
taxpayers may be eligible for the Historic Rehabili-
tation Credit (HRC). To claim this credit, a historic
rehabilitation project must be complete and have
been certified by the Massachusetts Historical



@ 2009 Form 1 — Schedule Instructions

Commission. Unused portions of the credit may be
carried forward for 5 years. The credit may be
transferred or sold to another taxpayer. The HRC is
not subject to the 50% limitation rule for corporate
taxpayers. If the taxpayer disposes of the property
generating the HRG, a portion of the credit may be
subject to recapture. For further information, see
TIR 06-16 and 830 CMR 63.38R.1, Massachusetts
Historic Rehabilitation Credit. If you qualify for
this credit, enter the amount in line 7.

Line 8. Film Incentive

For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2006 and before January 1, 2023, motion picture
production companies may claim (1) a credit equal
to 25% of the total qualifying aggregate payroll for
employing persons within the Commonwealth in
connection with the filming and production of a
motion picture and (2) a credit equal to 25% of their
Massachusetts production expenses. Each credit
has its own qualification requirements and a tax-
payer is allowed to qualify for and claim both
credits. The credits are also transferable. For more
information, see TIR 06-1. If you qualify for this
credit, enter the amount of credit in line 8. Also, be
sure to enter the DOR-issued certificate number
in the space provided on line 8. Certificate applica-
tion forms and additional information are available
at www.mass.gov/dor.

Note: Motion picture production companies qual-
ify to elect a refundable film credit if they have not
transferred or carried forward a portion of the film
credit for the production/certificate number to be
refunded. If you qualify this election, enter the
amount from line 5 of Schedule RFC, Refundable
Film Credit, in Schedule RF, line 1.

Line 9. Medical Device

Medical device companies that develop or manu-
facture medical devices in Massachusetts can
claim a credit equal to 100% of the user fees paid
by them when submitting certain medical device
applications and supplements to the United States
Food and Drug Administration. The credit is also
transferable. For more information, see TIR 06-22.
If you qualify for this credit, enter the amount of
credit in line 9. Also, be sure to enter the DOR-is-
sued certificate number in the space provided on
line 9. Certificate application forms and additional
information are available at www.mass.gov/dor.

Part 2 Credits for Residents and
Part-Year Residents Only

Line 11. Income Tax Paid to
Another State

If any of the income reported on this return is sub-
ject to taxation in another state or jurisdiction and
you have filed a return and paid taxes in the other

state or jurisdiction, complete the Schedule Z, Part
2, line 11 worksheet and enter the amount of credit
line 11. Do not include taxes paid to the U.S. gov-
ernment. (This credit does not apply to city or local
taxes.) You are allowed to claim a credit for taxes
paid to the following jurisdictions: (a) other states in
the U.S.; (b) any territory or dependency of the U.S.
(including Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam,
the District of Columbia); or (c) the Dominion of
Canada or any of its provinces (less any U.S. credit
amount allowable from U.S. Form 1116).

The total credit which you calculate on this
worksheet is the smaller of the amount of taxes
due to other jurisdictions (net of certain adjust-
ments) or the portion of your Massachusetts tax
due on your gross income that is taxed in such
other jurisdictions.

Credit is not given for a property tax due to an-
other jurisdiction on account of capital stock or
property. This does not refer to a tax on gain or
income from the sale of capital stock or property,
as included on Schedule B or D. Credit is also not
given for any interest and penalties paid on a tax
due to another jurisdiction.

You must complete separate worksheets if you had
5.3% and interest income (other than interest from
Massachusetts banks), dividends or capital gain in-
come taxed by another jurisdiction. If you use this
worksheet to calculate a credit for interest income
(other than interest from Massachusetts banks),
dividends or capital gain income, substitute inter-
est income (other than interest from Massachu-
setts banks), dividends or capital gain income for
5.3% income in line 1. You must also substitute
Schedule B, line 7 (interest and dividend income)
and Schedule B, line 13 (taxable 12% capital gains)
or Schedule D, line 12, (gross long-term capital
gains and losses), but not less than “0,” for Form
1, line 10 in line 2 of the worksheet, and the total of
Form 1, line 20 multiplied by .053 (tax on interest
and dividend income) and Form 1, line 23 (12%
tax) or line 24 (tax on long-term capital gains) for
Form 1, line 19 in line 4 of the worksheet.

» When using this worksheet to calculate credit
for interest income (other than interest from
Massachusetts banks), dividends or capital gain
income, enter in line 1 such income taxed in an-
other jurisdiction calculated as if it was earned in
Massachusetts.

D If you choose to pay the optional 5.85% tax
rate, substitute .0585 for .053 in line 4 of the
worksheet.

Note: Be sure to enter the two-letter state or ju-
risdictional postal code for each state or juris-
diction for which you are taking the credit. Visit
the United States Postal Service’s website at
www.usps.com and click on “Service Guides”
for a list of these codes.

Schedule Z, Part 2, Line 11 Worksheet —
Income Tax Paid to Another Jurisdiction

Note: If you have income other than from
Form 1, line 10 taxed by other jurisdictions,
see instructions.

1. Enter the total 5.3% income included in

Form 1, line 10 on which you paid taxes

to another jurisdiction. . . ........ -
2. Enter the total of Form 1, line 10 and the total
Massachusetts bank interest or the interest
exemption amount, whichever is smaller,

from Form 1, line 5a or line 5b . . . .

3. Divide line 1 by line 2. Not greater

than “1”......................

4. Multiply Form 1, line 19 by .053

5. Enter any Limited Income Credit from

Form 1, line28 ................

6. Subtract line 5 from line 4. . . . ..

7. Multiply line 6 by line 3. . ... ... -
8. Enter the total tax paid to other jurisdictions
on income also reported on this return unless
the tax was paid to Canada. If the tax was paid to
Canada, the amount reported in this line must be
reduced by the amount claimed as a foreign tax
credit on U.S. Form 1040, line 47. Credit is only
allowable for amount of tax paid. ..
9. Enter the smaller of lines 7 or 8 here and on
Schedule Z, line 11 .............

Line 12. Solar and Wind Energy

If you had expenditures for certain renewable en-
ergy source items, such as equipment which uses
or transmits solar or wind energy to heat, cool, or
provide hot water for your principal residence in
Massachusetts, you may qualify for a credit. If you
qualify for the credit, complete Schedule EC, Res-
idential Energy Credit, and enter the amount of
credit in line 12.

Schedule RF

Other Refundable Credits
Line 1. Refundable Film Credit

Motion picture production companies qualify to
elect a refundable film credit if they have not trans-
ferred or carried forward a portion of the film credit
for the production/certificate number to be re-
funded. Transferees of the film credit do not qualify
for the refundable film credit. Transferees should
claim their film credit on Schedule Z, line 8.

If an election to refund the film credit for a produc-
tion/certificate number is made, the entire film
credit remaining after reducing tax liability and other
credits will be refunded at 90%. A motion picture
production company that elects to claim a refund
of the film credit is not permitted to seek a partial
refund and a partial transfer or carryover of the
credit. However, the refund can be applied as an
estimated payment for the subsequent tax year.



Enter in line 1 any amount of refundable film credit
from Schedule RFC, Refundable Film Credit, line 5.

Line 2. Refundable Dairy Credit

The Massachusetts dairy farmer tax credit was es-
tablished to offset the cyclical downturns in milk
prices paid to dairy farmers and is based on the
U.S. Federal Milk Marketing Order for the applica-
ble market. A taxpayer who holds a certificate of
registration as a dairy farmer pursuant to G.L. c.
94, s. 16A is allowed a refundable tax credit based
on the amount of milk produced and sold. The
dairy farmer tax credit as originally enacted was
90% refundable. Under recent legislation, the dairy
farmer tax credit is now 100% refundable.

Enter the amount of refundable dairy credit from
the Department of Agricultural Resources’ Dairy
Farmer Certified Tax Credit Statement.

Also, be sure to enter the Department of Agricul-
tural Resources-issued certificate number in the
space provided on line 2 of Schedule RF.

Line 3. Total Refundable Credits
Add lines 1 and 2. Enter the result here and on
Form 1, line 42.

Schedule B

Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
“X” in the box to the left. Also, be sure to enclose
with Form 1.

Interest, Dividends and Certain

Capital Gains and Losses

You must file Massachusetts Schedule B if you had:
d dividend income in excess of $1,500;

D any interest income other than from Mass-
achusetts banks taxed at 5.3%;

D short-term capital gains or losses;

D carryover short-term losses from prior years;
D long-term gains on collectibles and pre-1996
installment sales classified as capital gain income
for Massachusetts purposes;

D gains or losses from the sale, exchange or in-
voluntary conversion of property used in a trade
or business;

D net long-term capital gains and losses; or

D excess exemptions.

Collectibles are defined as any capital asset that is a
collectible within the meaning of Internal Revenue
Code section 408(m), as amended and in effect for
the taxable year, including works of art, rugs, an-
tiques, metals, gems, stamps, alcoholic beverages,
certain coins, and any other items treated as col-
lectibles for federal tax purposes.

» You need not file Massachusetts Schedule B if all
interest income you had was from Massachusetts
banks (reportable in Form 1, line 5a), and your
gross dividend income was $1,500 or less (divi-

dend income of $1,500 or less is reportable on
Form 1, line 20), and you have no short-term cap-
ital gains or losses, long-term gains on collectibles
and pre-1996 installment sales, gains or losses
from the sale, exchange or involuntary conversion
of property used in a trade or business, allowable
deductions from your trade or business, carryover
short-term losses from prior years, net long-term
capital gains or losses, or excess exemptions.

» You must complete Massachusetts Schedule B
if your interest or dividend income includes: divi-
dends taxed directly to trusts or estates on a
Massachusetts Fiduciary Return, Form 2; or dis-
tributions that are returns of capital.

Part 1. Interest and Dividend Income

Line 1. Total Interest Income

Enter your total interest income from your U.S.
Form 1040 or 1040A, lines 8a and 8b, or U.S.
Form 1040EZ, line 2.

Line 2. Total Ordinary Dividends

Enter your total ordinary dividends from your U.S.
Schedule B, Part Il, line 6 (Form 1040) or U.S.
Schedule 1, Part I, line 6 (Form 1040A). If you did
not file U.S. Schedule B or U.S. Schedule 1, enter
the amount from U.S. Form 1040 or 1040A, line 9a.

Line 3. Other Interest and
Dividends

Enter the following amounts and their sources
(enclose additional statement if more space is
necessary):

D Interest from obligations of other states and their
political subdivisions (including your share, if any,
from a partnership, an S corporation and a grantor-
type trust or non-Massachusetts trust). Do not in-
clude exempt interest already included in line 1;

D Taxable distributions from Massachusetts S cor-
porations not reported in Schedule B, line 2. Dis-
tributions in excess of the Massachusetts accu-
mulated adjustments account are dividends to the
extent of the corporation’s Massachusetts accumu-
lated earnings and profits. For more information,
see Regulation 830 CMR 62.17A.1;

D Interest and dividends from a partnership, S
corporation, grantor-type trust, or non-Massachu-
setts estate or trust from Massachusetts Schedule
E. Generally, portfolio interest and dividend income
from partnerships and S corporations should al-
ready be included in the Schedule B, line 1 and line
2 amounts;

D Interest from a trade or business that is reported
on Massachusetts Schedule C, line 32; or

D Interest or dividends from a mutual fund, if such
distributions are not included in line 1 or line 2.
See line 6.
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Lines 5 and 6
Enter only amounts related to income that you
have already included in lines 1, 2, and 3.

Line 5. Total Interest from

Massachusetts Banks

Enter the total interest included in Form 1, line 5a
(prior to the exemption amount being subtracted)
only if it has been included in lines 1 or 3 of this
schedule.

Line 6. Other Interest and

Dividends to Be Excluded

Enter the total interest and dividends from the fol-
lowing sources (enclose an additional statement,
if necessary) only if it has been included in lines 1
or 3 of this schedule:

D Interest on U.S. debt obligations. Enter interest
received on U.S. Treasury bills, notes and bonds,
savings bonds or other obligations of the United
States, including its territories or dependencies.
Such interest is tax-exempt in Massachusetts. For
further information concerning exempt obliga-
tions of the United States, see TIR 89-8;

D Interest and dividends taxed directly to Mass-
achusetts estates and trusts. Enter the interest and
dividends that are taxed directly to a Massachu-
setts estate or trust (reportable on a Massachu-
setts Fiduciary Return, Form 2);

D Any distribution which is a return of capital in-
cluded in total gross dividends, line 2;

d Any interest or dividends from obligations of the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts or its political
subdivisions held by you;

d Any exempt portion of interest or dividends
from a mutual fund included in lines 1, 2 or 3 of
this schedule. Enter only the exempt portion of in-
terest or dividends derived from obligations of the
U.S. government or the Commonwealth of Mass-
achusetts or its political subdivisions; or

D Any interest on pre-retirement distributions from
state and municipal contributory pension plans.

Do not enter in line 6 either of the following:

d Dividends from the earnings and profits accu-
mulated prior to January 1, 1971 by any corporate
trust which was not taxed directly by Massachu-
setts in prior years, even though such an entity is
taxed directly now (obtain from the entity the tax-
able status of dividends paid to you); or

» Dividends from any corporate trust which is not
taxed directly by Massachusetts. Such entities in-
clude: those not doing business in Massachusetts;
regulated investment companies or real estate in-
vestment trusts (both as defined under the U.S.
Internal Revenue Code, Sections 851 and 856); or
holding companies (as defined in Massachusetts
General Laws, Chapter 62, section 8).
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Line 8. Allowable Deductions

from Your Trade or Business

Enter the appropriate amount from Massachu-
setts Schedule C-2 if you qualify for an excess
trade or business deduction. Generally, taxpayers
may not use excess 5.3% deductions to offset
other income. However, where the taxpayer files a
Massachusetts Schedule C or Schedule E, Mass-
achusetts law allows such offsets if the following
requirements are met: the excess 5.3% deductions
must be adjusted gross income deductions al-
lowed under MGL Ch. 62, sec. 2(d); and these ex-
cess deductions may only be used to offset other
income which is effectively connected with the
active conduct of a trade or business or any other
income allowed under IRC, sec. 469(d)(1)(B) to
offset losses from passive activities.

Line 9. Subtotal Interest and

Dividend Income

Subtract line 8 from line 7. If you have no short-
term capital gains or losses, net long-term capital
gains or losses, carryover short-term losses from
prior years, long-term gains on collectibles and
pre-1996 installment sales classified as capital gain
income for Massachusetts purposes, gains or
losses from the sale, exchange or involuntary con-
version of property used in a trade or business
and held for one year or less, allowable deductions
from your trade or business, or excess exemp-
tions, omit lines 10 through 37. Enter the amount
from line 9 in line 38 of Schedule B and on Form
1, line 20, and omit lines 39 and 40 of Sched-
ule B. Otherwise, complete Parts 2, 3 and 4.

Part 2. Short-Term Capital Gains
and Losses and Long-Term Gains
on Collectibles and Pre-1996

Instaliment Sales

If there are any differences between U.S. and
Massachusetts amounts reported in lines 10, 11,
12, 16 and 17, be sure to enter the Massachu-
setts amount. Possible differences include:

D Short-term capital gains taxed directly to
Massachusetts estates and trusts (reportable on a
Massachusetts Fiduciary Return, Form 2);

D Upon the sale of stock of an S corporation, the
federal basis must be modified according to
Massachusetts Income Tax Regulation, 830 CMR
62.17A.1; and

D Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment
rules to take into account differences between Mass-
achusetts and federal tax laws. For more informa-
tion regarding basis adjustment rules, see TIR 88-7.

Line 10. Short-Term Capital Gains
Enter the gross short-term capital gains included
in U.S. Schedule D, lines 1, 2, 4 and 5, column (f).

Line 11. Long-Term Capital Gains
on Collectibles and Pre-1996

Instaliment Sales

Enter the amount of long-term capital gains on col-
lectibles and pre-1996 installment sales classified
as capital gain income for Massachusetts pur-
poses, from Massachusetts Schedule D, line 11.

Line 12. Gain on Sale of Business
Property

Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of gain
from the sale, exchange or involuntary conversion
of property used in a trade or business and held
for one year or less.

Line 14. Allowable Deductions

from Your Trade or Business

Enter the appropriate amount from Massachu-
setts Schedule C-2 if you qualify for an excess
trade or business deduction. Generally, taxpayers
may not use excess 5.3% deductions to offset
other income. However, where the taxpayer files a
Massachusetts Schedule C or Schedule E, Mass-
achusetts law allows such offsets if the following
requirements are met: the excess 5.3% deductions
must be adjusted gross income deductions al-
lowed under MGL Ch. 62, sec. 2(d); and these ex-
cess deductions may only be used to offset other
income which is effectively connected with the
active conduct of a trade or business or any other
income allowed under IRC, sec. 469(d)(1)(B) to
offset losses from passive activities.

Line 16. Short-Term Capital Losses
Enter the gross short-term capital losses included
in U.S. Schedule D, lines 1, 2, 4 and 5, column (f).

Line 17. Loss on Sale of Business
Property

Enter from U.S. Form 4797 the amount of loss
from the sale, exchange or involuntary conversion
of property used in a trade or business and held
for one year or less.

Line 18. Prior Years Short-Term

Unused Losses

You may use short-term losses accumulated in the
previous taxable years beginning after 1981 in the
computation of short-term gain or loss for the cur-
rent year. Enter here the amount from your 2008
Massachusetts Schedule B, line 40.

Line 21. Available Short-Term Losses
Combine lines 19 and 20. This amount should be
“0” or less. If line 21 is less than “0,” go to line 22.
If line 21 is “0,” omit lines 22 through 28 and go
to Part 3.

If Schedule B, line 21 is a loss and Schedule D, line
12 is a loss, omit line 22, enter the amount from
line 21 in line 23 and line 40, omit lines 24 through
28 and complete Parts 3 and 4.

Line 22. Short-Term Losses Applied

Against Long-Term Gains

If Schedule B, line 21 is a loss and Schedule D, line
12 is greater than “0,” enter the smaller of Sched-
ule B, line 21 (considered as a positive amount)
or Schedule D, line 12 in Schedule B, line 22 and
in Schedule D, line 13.

Line 23. Short-Term Losses for
Carryover in 2010

Combine line 21 and line 22 and enter the result
in line 23 and in line 40, omit lines 24 through 28
and complete Part 3 and Part 4.

Line 24. Short-Term Gains and
Long-Term Gains on Collectibles
Enter the amount from Schedule B, line 19. If
Schedule D, line 12 is “0” or greater, omit line 25
and enter the amount from line 24 in line 26. If
Schedule D, line 12 is a loss, go to Schedule B,
line 25.

Line 25. Long-Term Losses Applied
Against Short-Term Gains

If Schedule B, line 24 is greater than “0,” and
Schedule D, line 12 is a loss, enter the smaller of
Schedule B, line 24 or Schedule D, line 12 (con-
sidered as a positive amount) in Schedule B, line
25 and in Schedule D, line 13.

Line 27. Long-Term Gains Deduction
Complete only if lines 11 and 26 are greater than
“0.” If there is no entry in line 11, enter “0.” If line
11 shows a gain, enter 50% of line 11 minus
50% of losses in lines 16, 17, 18 and 25, but not
less than “0.”

Example: Jack has a long-term capital gain on
collectibles of $1,000 entered in line 11 and line
15. He does not have any other interest income
(other than interest from Massachusetts banks)
and dividend income. Jack also has a short-term
capital loss of $100 entered in line 16 and a prior
year short-term unused loss of $200 entered in
line 18. Jack enters $350 in line 27: $500 (50% of
$1,000) minus $150 (50% of $300) = $350.



Part 3. Adjusted Gross Interest,
Dividends Short-Term Capital Gains
and Long-Term Gains on Collectibles

Line 31. Subtotal Interest and
Dividends

If Schedule D, line 14 is “0” or greater, omit Sched-
ule B, line 32 and enter the amount from Sched-
ule B, line 31 in Schedule B, line 33. If Schedule
D, line 14 is a loss, go to Schedule B, line 32.

Line 32. Long-Term Losses Applied
Against Interest and Dividends

If Schedule B, line 31 is a positive amount and
Schedule D, line 14 is a loss, complete the Long-
Term Capital Losses Applied Against Interest and
Dividends Worksheet for Schedule B, Line 32
and Schedule D, Line 15. When completing the
worksheet, be sure to enter all losses as a posi-
tive amount.

Part 4. Taxable Interest, Dividends
and Certain Capital Gains

Line 36. Excess Exemptions
Enter the amount from line 5 of the Excess Ex-
emption Worksheet (only if single, head of house-
hold or married filing a joint return and Form 1,
line 18 is greater than Form 1, line 17).

Long-Term Capital Losses Applied Against
Interest and Dividends Worksheet for Sched-
ule B, Line 32 and Schedule D, Line 15. Com-
plete only if Schedule B, line 31 is a positive
amount and Schedule D, line 14 is a loss.
Enter all losses as positive amounts.

1. Enter amount from Schedule B,
line29.......................

2. Enter the lesser of line 1 or $2,000

3. Enter the amount from Schedule B,
lined30.......................

4. Subtract line 3 from line 2. If “0” or less

omit the remainder of worksheet. Otherwise,
complete lines5andé6 ..........

5. Enter any loss from Schedule D, line 14

as a positive amount. Otherwise,

enter“0” ..................... -
6. If line 4 is less than or equal to line 5, enter
line 4 here and in Schedule B, line 32 and in
Schedule D, line 15. If line 4 is larger than line 5,
enter line 5 here and in Schedule B, line 32 and
in Schedule D, line15...........

Schedule D

Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
“X” in the box to the left. Also, be sure to enclose
with Form 1.

Long-Term Capital Gains and

Losses Excluding Collectibles

You must complete Massachusetts Schedule D if
you had long-term gains or losses from the sale or
exchange of capital assets or from similar transac-
tions which are granted capital gain or loss treat-
ment on your U.S. return, or if you had capital
gain distributions. If you did not file U.S. Sched-
ule D but are reporting capital gain distributions
on U.S. Form 1040, line 13 or 1040A, line 10, you
must complete Massachusetts Schedule D (see
line 5 instructions). Include gains from all prop-
erty, wherever located. Long-term capital gains are
gains on the sale or exchange of capital assets
that have been held for more than one year on the
date of the sale or exchange. Long-term capital
losses are losses on the sale or exchange of cap-
ital assets that have been held for more than one
year on the date of the sale or exchange.

The law defines “capital gain income” as gain from
the sale or exchange of a capital asset. The defini-
tion of “capital asset” includes: (1) an asset which
is a capital asset under IRC sec. 1221, or (2) prop-
erty that is used in a trade or business within the
meaning of IRC sec. 1231(b) without regard to the
holding period as defined in said sec. 1231(b).

Differences
Significant differences between the U.S. and Mass-
achusetts capital gain provisions are:

D IRC sec. 1244 losses reported as ordinary losses
on your U.S. return must be reported on Mass-
achusetts Schedule D;

d If you made a federal election under sec. 311
of the Tax Relief Act of 1997 to recognize gain on
the deemed sale of a capital asset held on Janu-
ary 1, 2001, Massachusetts does not follow the
federal rules at sec. 311 for determining the basis
of the asset. See TIR 02-3. If you sold a capital
asset in 2009 for which you made a federal sec.
311 election, the Massachusetts initial basis will
not be the federal basis. The Massachusetts initial
basis will be determined as of the date the asset
was first acquired,;

» Upon the sale of stock of an S corporation, the
federal basis must be modified according to
Massachusetts Income Tax Regulation, 830 CMR
62.17A.1; and
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D Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment
rules to take into account differences between Mass-
achusetts and federal tax laws. For more informa-
tion regarding basis adjustment rules, see TIR 88-7.

Net ordinary losses that are itemized deductions
on U.S. Schedule A are not allowable.

Installment Sales

If a sale was treated as an installment sale for U.S.
income tax purposes, it may be treated the same
way on your Massachusetts income tax return.
Gains from pre-1996 installment sales are classi-
fied as either capital gains or ordinary income under
the Massachusetts law in effect on the date the sale
or exchange took place.

Gains from pre-1996 installment sales that are clas-
sified as capital gains should be reported as 12%
income on Massachusetts Schedule B. If the asset
was held for more than one year when it was sold,
the gain will be eligible for a 50% long-term deduc-
tion. Gains from pre-1996 installment sales that
are classified as capital gains included on Mass-
achusetts Schedule D, line 3 should be reported on
Massachusetts Schedule D, line 11 (“Long-term
gains on collectibles and pre-1996 installment
sales”). The amount of such gain is then reported
on Massachusetts Schedule B, Part 2, line 11.

Gains from pre-1996 installment sales classified
as ordinary income and that are included on
Massachusetts Schedule D, line 3 should be re-
ported on Massachusetts Schedule D, line 9 (“Dif-
ferences”). The amount of such gain classified as
ordinary income should then be reported on Form
1, line 9 (“Other income”) and included on Sched-
ule X, line 4 and identified as “2009 gain from pre-
1996 installment sale.”

Note: If you are reporting an installment sale occur-
ring on or after January 1, 2003, report those gains
on Schedule D. If you are reporting capital gains
on installment sales that occurred during January
1, 1996 through December 31, 2002, do not file
Schedule D. Instead, you must file Schedule D-IS,
Installment Sales. Schedule D-IS can be obtained
on DOR’s website at www.mass.gov/dor.

Effective for sales on or after January 1, 2005, if
you wish to report a sale on your Massachusetts
return as an installment sale and the Massachusetts
gain is $1 million or greater, you must apply in writ-
ing to the Department of Revenue’s Installment
Sales Unit. See TIR 04-28. The Commissioner of
Revenue must approve your application to report
the sale on the installment basis in Massachusetts
before you file your return, and appropriate secu-
rity must be posted. An explanatory statement
must be enclosed with each return for the life of
the installment sale. For further information con-
tact the Installment Sales Unit at (617) 887-6950.
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Long-Term Capital Gains and
Losses, Excluding Collectibles

Line 1. Long-Term Capital Gains

and Losses
Enter the gain or loss included in U.S. Schedule D,
line 8, column f.

Line 2. Additional Long-Term
Capital Gains and Losses

Enter the gain or loss included in U.S. Schedule D,
line 9, column f.

Line 3. Gain from Sales of Business
Property and Other Long-Term
Gains and Losses

Enter the gain or loss included in U.S. Schedule D,
line 11, column f.

Line 4. Net Long-Term Gain or Loss
from Partnerships, S Corporations,
Estates and Trusts

Enter the gain or loss included in U.S. Schedule D,
line 12, column f.

Line 5. Capital Gain Distributions

If you did not file U.S. Schedule D, enter the capi-
tal gain distributions reported to you by a mutual
fund or real estate investment trust included in the
amount from U.S. Form 1040, line 13 or 1040A,
line 10.

If you did file a U.S. Schedule D, enter the capital
gain distributions reported to you by a mutual fund
or real estate investment trust included in U.S.
Schedule D, line 13, column f.

Line 6. Massachusetts Long-Term
Capital Gains and Losses Included

in U.S. Form 4797, Part Il

Enter amounts included in U.S. Form 4797, Part Il
treated as capital gains or losses for Massachu-
setts purposes (not included in lines 1 through 5).
These include ordinary gains from the sale of Sec-
tion 1231 property, recapture amounts under Sec-
tions 1245, 1250 and 1255, Section 1244 losses
and the loss on the sale, exchange or involuntary
conversion of property used in a trade or business.

Line 7. Carryover Losses from

Previous Years

If you have a carryover loss from a prior year, enter
in line 7 the total amount of carryover losses from
your 2008 Massachusetts Schedule D, line 22.

Line 9. Differences

Enter any differences between the gains or losses
reportable for Massachusetts tax purposes and the
U.S. gains or losses reported in Massachusetts
Schedule D, lines 1 through 7. Differences include:

D Pre-1996 installment sales classified as ordi-
nary income for Massachusetts purposes;

» Long-term capital gains or losses from transac-
tions reported as installment sales for U.S. income
tax purposes but not for Massachusetts; and

D Massachusetts has adopted basis adjustment
rules to take into account differences between
Massachusetts and federal tax laws.

Line 10. Adjusted Capital Gains and
Losses

Exclude/subtract line 9 from line 8 and enter the
result in line 10.

D Ifline 9is aloss, add loss as a positive number
to the amount recorded in line 8. See the follow-
ing examples:

Schedule D
Line ex.A ex.B ex.C ex.D
8 $1000 $1,000 $ 700* $700*
9 500 300* 500 500"
10 500 1,300 1,200* 200"

*denotes loss

» Ifinline 9 you entered amounts which increase
the amounts reported from U.S. to Massachusetts,
for example, a long-term gain reported as install-
ment sales for U.S. tax purposes but not for Mass-
achusetts, add the amount in line 9 to the amount
in line 8.

Line 11. Long-Term Gains on
Collectibles and Pre-1996

Instaliment Sales

Enter in line 11 the amount of long-term gains on
collectibles and pre-1996 installment sales classi-
fied as capital gain income for Massachusetts
purposes that are included in line 10.

Long-term gains on collectibles and pre-1996 in-
stallment sales classified as capital gain income
for Massachusetts purposes are taxed at the 12%
rate and should be entered on Schedule B, line 11.

Collectibles are defined as any capital asset that is
a collectible within the meaning of Internal Rev-
enue Code section 408(m), as amended and in
effect for the taxable year, including works of art,
rugs, antiques, metals, gems, stamps, alcoholic
beverages, certain coins, and any other items
treated as collectibles for federal tax purposes.

Line 12. Subtotal
Subtract line 11 from line 10 and enter the result
in line 12.

If Schedule D, line 12 is a loss and Schedule B,
line 21 is less than “0,” omit Schedule D, lines 13
through 15, enter the amount from Schedule D,
line 12 in Schedule D, line 16, omit Schedule D,

lines 17 through 21 and enter the amount from
Schedule D, line 16 in Schedule D, line 22, and
enter “0” on Form 1, line 24.

If Schedule D, line 12 is a gain and Schedule B,
line 21 is a loss, go to Schedule D, line 13.

If Schedule D, line 12 is a loss and Schedule B,
line 24 is “0” or greater, go to Schedule D, line 13.

If Schedule D, line 12 is a gain, and Schedule B,
line 24 is “0” or greater, omit Schedule D, lines 13
through 15 and enter the amount from Schedule
D, line 12 in Schedule D, line 16.

Line 13. Capital Losses Applied
Against Capital Gains

If Schedule D, line 12 is a positive amount and
Schedule B, line 21 is a loss, enter the smaller of
Schedule D, line 12 or Schedule B, line 21 (con-
sidered as a positive amount) in Schedule D, line
13 and in Schedule B, line 22.

If Schedule D, line 12 is a loss and Schedule B, line
24 is a positive amount, enter the smaller of Sched-
ule D, line 12 (considered as a positive amount) or
Schedule B, line 24 in Schedule D, line 13 and in
Schedule B, line 25.

Line 14. Subtotal

If line 12 is greater than “0,” subtract line 13 from
line 12. If line 12 is less than “0,” combine lines 12
and 13.

If Schedule D, line 14 is a loss and Schedule B,
line 24 is “0” or greater and Schedule B, line 31 is
a positive amount, go to Schedule D, line 15.

If Schedule D, line 14 is a loss, and Schedule B, line
21is “0” or less, omit Schedule D, line 15, enter the
amount from Schedule D, line 14 in Schedule D, line
16, omit Schedule D, lines 17 through 21 and enter
the amount from Schedule D, line 16 in Schedule
D, line 22, and enter “0” on Form 1, line 24.

Line 15. Long-Term Capital Losses
Applied Against Interest and
Dividends

If Schedule D, line 14 is a loss, and Schedule B,
line 24 is “0” or greater and Schedule B, line 31 is
a positive amount, complete the Long-Term Capi-
tal Losses Applied Against Interest and Dividends
Worksheet for Schedule B, Line 32 and Schedule
D, Line 15.

Line 16. Subtotal
Combine line 14 and line 15. If Schedule D, line 16
is “0,” enter “0” in lines 17 through 20 and omit
lines 21 and 22. If Schedule D, line 16 is a loss,
omit lines 17 through 21 and enter the amount
from line 16 in line 22.



Line 17. Allowable Deductions

From Your Trade or Business

Enter the appropriate amount from Massachu-
setts Schedule C-2 if you qualify for an excess
trade or business deduction. Generally, taxpayers
may not use excess 5.3% deductions to offset
other income. However, where the taxpayer files a
Massachusetts Schedule C or Schedule E, Mass-
achusetts law allows such offsets if the following
requirements are met: the excess 5.3% deductions
must be adjusted gross income deductions al-
lowed under MGL Ch. 62, sec. 2(d); and these ex-
cess deductions may only be used to offset other
income which is effectively connected with the
active conduct of a trade or business or any other
income allowed under IRC, sec. 469(d)(1)(B) to
offset losses from passive activities.

Line 19. Excess Exemptions

Enter in line 19 the amount from line 8 of the Ex-
cess Exemption Worksheet (only if single, head of
household or married filing joint return).

Line 21. Tax On Long-Term Capital
Gains

Multiply line 20 by .053 (5.3%) and enter the result
here and in Form 1, line 24.

Note: If choosing the optional 5.85% tax rate,
multiply line 20 by .0585 and enter the result here
and in Form 1, line 24.

Line 22. Available Losses for
Carryover

Enter the amount from Schedule D, line 16, only if
it is a loss.

Schedule C

Note: If showing a loss, be sure to mark over the
“X” in the box to the left. Also, be sure to enclose
with Form 1.

Substituting U.S. Schedule C-EZ

U.S. Schedule C is no longer allowed as a substi-
tute for Massachusetts Schedule C. However, you
may substitute U.S. Schedule C-EZ for Mass-
achusetts Schedule C if there are no differences
between the amounts reported on U.S. Schedule
C-EZ and amounts that would be reported on
Massachusetts Schedule C. Be sure to write “No
Massachusetts Differences” on the top of the U.S.
Schedule C-EZ.

Profit or Loss from Business or
Profession

Massachusetts Schedule G is provided to report in-
come and deductions from each business or pro-
fession operated as a sole proprietorship.

If your business deductions, excluding the Aban-
doned Building Renovation Deduction, exceed
Schedule C income and any other income taxable
at the 5.3% rate, such excess deductions may be
subtracted from the other income that is effec-
tively connected with the active conduct of your
trade or business and any other income allowed
under IRC Section 469(d)(1)(B) to offset losses
from passive activities. To compute the excess
trade or business deductions use Massachusetts
Schedule C-2. This form is available by visiting
www.mass.gov/dor, or you may have one mailed
to you by calling (617) 887-MDOR.

Registration Information

In the space provided, describe the business or pro-
fessional activity that provided your principal source
of income reported on line 1. If you owned more
than one business, you must complete a separate
Schedule C for each business. Give the general field
or activity and the type of product or service.

Employer Identification Number

You need an Employer Identification number (EIN)
only if you had a Keogh plan, were required to file
an employment, excise, estate, trust, or alcohol, to-
bacco and firearms tax return or employ contract
labor. If you do not have an EIN, leave the line
blank. Do not enter your Social Security number.

Small Business Energy Exemption

If you are claiming the small business energy ex-
emption from the sales tax on purchases of tax-
able energy or heating fuel during 2009, you must
have five or fewer employees. You must enter the
number of your employees in the space provided.

Accounting Method

If you filed a return on the accrual basis last year,
your return for this year must be on the same basis.
If a taxpayer requesting permission to change an
accounting method for Massachusetts purposes is
eligible for an automatic change of accounting
method federally, and has correctly followed the
most recently issued federal revenue procedure for
requesting an automatic change, then the taxpayer
should file his/her annual return using the new
method and write at the top, “Automatic Change
of Accounting Method — filed in compliance with
DOR Directive 02-13.” The taxpayer should en-
close a copy of federal Form 3115, together with
any required statements. See DOR Directive 02-
13 for further information.

Material Participation

Indicate if you materially participated in the oper-
ation of this business during 2009. If you did not
materially participate and have a loss from this
business, see line 33 for further instructions.
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Line 1a. Gross Receipts or Sales

In the boxes provided, enter gross receipts or sales
from your business. Be sure to include on this line
amounts you received in your trade or business
as shown on Form 1099-MISC, Miscellaneous In-
come. If the nature of your business is such that
you have gross or other income that is interest
(other than from Massachusetts banks) and divi-
dend income, exclude this income from lines 1 and
4 on Massachusetts Schedule C and include it in
line 32 and in Schedule B, line 3. Examples of in-
terest (other than from Massachusetts banks) and
dividend income are interest received on loans,
notes receivable or charge accounts that you ac-
cept in the ordinary course of business, and divi-
dends on stocks received in payment for goods
and services. Capital gains from the sale or ex-
change of assets used in your business are not
reported on Schedule C. Use U.S. Form 4797 and
report the amount in Form 1, Schedule B and/or
Schedule D. You must also exclude from Sched-
ule C any income and expenses that pertain to ac-
tivities for yourself as distinguished from those
performed for your customers. Such income must
be reported by class of income in Schedules B and
D. Personal expenses are not deductible.

If you received Form W-2 and the “Statutory em-
ployee” box in item 13 of that form was checked,
report your income and expenses related to that
income on Schedule C. Enter your statutory em-
ployee income from box 1 of Form W-2 on line 1
of Schedule C and fill in the oval. Statutory em-
ployees include full-time life insurance agents,
certain agent or commission drivers and traveling
salespersons and certain homeworkers. If you had
both self-employment income and statutory em-
ployee income, do not combine these amounts
on a single Schedule C. In this case, you must file
two Schedules C.

Line 4. Other Income

If you received bartering income, you must report
the fair market value of goods or services received
in payment for your goods and services in line 4. Do
not include interest income (other than from Mass-
achusetts banks) and dividends here (see line 32).

Line 7. Bad Debts From Sales or

Services

Include debts and partial debts from sales or serv-
ices that were included in income and are definitely
known to be worthless. If you later collect a debt
that you deducted as a bad debt, include it as in-
come in the year collected.

Note: Cash method taxpayers cannot take a bad
debt deduction unless the amount was previously
included in income.
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Line 11. Depreciation and
Section 179 Deduction

Massachusetts adopts the current federal rules at
section 179 for expensing certain depreciable
business assets. For property placed in service in
tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009,
the maximum section 179 expensing allowance
is $250,000.

Line 17. Pension and Profit-Sharing
Plans

Enter your deduction for contributions to a pen-
sion, profit-sharing or annuity plan, or plans for the
benefit of your employees. If the plan includes you
as a self-employed person, do not include contri-
butions made as an employer on your behalf. See
DOR Directive 08-3 for more information.

Line 23. Meals and Entertainment
Line 23a. Enter your total business meal and en-
tertainment expenses. Include meals while travel-
ing away from home for business. Instead of the
actual cost of your meals while traveling away from
home, you may use the standard meal allowance.
Business meal expenses are deductible only if they
are (a) directly related to or associated with the
conduct of your trade or business, (b) not lavish or
extravagant and (c) incurred while you or your em-
ployee is present at the meal. Club dues are not
allowed as a business deduction.

Line 23b. Generally, you may deduct only 50% of
your business meal and entertainment expenses,
including meals incurred while traveling away from
home on business. However, you may fully deduct
meals and entertainment furnished or reimbursed
to an employee if you properly treat the expense
as wages subject to withholding. You may also
fully deduct meals and entertainment provided to
a nonemployee to the extent the expenses are in-
cludible in the gross income of that person and re-
ported on Form 1099-MISC. Figure how much of
the amount on line 23a is subject to the 50% limit.
Then, enter 50% of that amount on line 23b. This
amount should be subtracted from the amount in
line 23a. Enter the result in line 23 of Massachu-
setts Schedule C.

Line 30. Abandoned Building

Renovation Deduction

Massachusetts allows businesses to deduct 10%
of the costs incurred in renovating certain build-
ings located in an Economic Opportunity Area
(EQA). The buildings must be designated as aban-
doned by the Economic Assistance Coordinating
Council. The renovation deduction may be taken
in addition to any other deduction for which the
renovation costs may qualify. For more informa-
tion, contact the Massachusetts Office of Business
Development.

In line 30 enter 10% of the costs of renovating a
qualifying abandoned building.

Line 33. If You Have a Loss

Fill in the oval in line 33a if all of your investment
is at risk. Enter your loss from line 31 on Form 1,
line 6 unless you answered “no” to the question
on material participation on the front of Schedule
C. If you answered “no” to this question, complete
a pro forma copy of U.S. Form 8582 that reflects
only income being reported on your Massachusetts
return. Enter in Massachusetts Schedule G, line 31
your allowable loss calculated on Form 8582.

Fill in the oval in line 33b if only some of your in-
vestment is at risk. To determine the amount of
your allowable loss, complete a pro forma copy of
U.S. Form 6198 that reflects only income being
reported on your Massachusetts return. Enter the
amount calculated on U.S. Form 6198 in line 31 un-
less you answered “no” to the question on mater-
ial participation on the front of Schedule C. In this
case, your loss is further limited. Use the amounts
calculated on your pro forma U.S. Form 6198 to
complete a pro forma U.S. Form 8582. If your at-
risk amount is “0” or less, enter “0” in line 31.

Senior Gircuit
Breaker Tax Credit

What Is It?

For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2001, senior citizens in Massachusetts may be el-
igible to claim a refundable credit on their state
income taxes for the real estate taxes they paid on
the Massachusetts residential property they own
or rent and which they occupy as their principal
residence. The maximum credit allowed is $960 for
the tax year beginning January 1, 2009. See TIR
09-16 for more information.

Eligible taxpayers who own their property may
claim a credit equal to the amount by which their
property tax payments in tax year 2009 (exclud-
ing any exemptions and/or abatements), includ-
ing water and sewer debt charges, exceed 10% of
their “total income” for the same current tax year.
Taxpayers residing in communities that do not in-
clude water and sewer debt service in their prop-
erty tax assessments may claim, in addition to
their property tax payments, 50% of the water
and sewer use charges actually paid during the
tax year when figuring their credit.

Renters may claim a credit in the amount by which
25% of their annual rental payment is more than
10% of their total income.

Ia b

For purposes of the tax credit, a taxpayer’s “total
income” includes taxable income as well as ex-
empt income such as Social Security, Treasury
bills and public pensions. For a complete list of
what constitutes “total income,” see TIR 01-19.

Who Is Eligible for the Credit?

To be eligible for the credit for the 2009 tax year, a
taxpayer must be 65 years of age or older before
January 1, 2010 (for joint filers, it is sufficient if
one taxpayer is 65 years of age or older), must
own or rent residential property in Massachusetts
and occupy the property as his or her principal res-
idence, and must not be the dependent of another
taxpayer. The taxpayer’s total income cannot ex-
ceed $51,000 for a single filer who is not the head
of a household, $64,000 for a head of household,
or $77,000 for taxpayers filing jointly. No credit is
allowed for a married taxpayer unless a joint re-
turn is filed. Moreover, the assessed valuation of
the real estate cannot exceed $788,000.

No credit is allowed if the taxpayer claims the
“married filing separate” status, receives a federal
or state rent subsidy, rents from a tax-exempt en-
tity, or is the dependent of another taxpayer.

Is the Tax Credit Considered Income?
Tax credits received by eligible taxpayers are not
considered income for the purpose of obtaining
eligibility or benefits under other means-tested as-
sistance programs including food, medical, hous-
ing, energy and educational assistance programs.

How Does a Taxpayer Claim

the Credit?

Taxpayers who are eligible for the tax credit in the
2009 tax year can claim the credit by submitting a
completed Schedule CB, Circuit Breaker Credit,
with their 2009 state income tax return. Eligible
taxpayers who do not normally file a state income
tax return may obtain a refund by filing a return
with Schedule CB. As with all claimed tax credits
and deductions, the taxpayer must keep all perti-
nent records, receipts and other documentation
supporting his or her claim for the credit.

Line 1. Living Quarters Status
During 2009

Be sure to fill in the appropriate oval. If you were a
renter in 2009 and you received any federal and/or
state subsidy, or you rent from a tax-exempt entity,
you do not qualify for the Circuit Breaker Credit.



Line 2. Assessed Value of Principal

Residence as of January 1, 2009
Enter the amount of the assessed value of your
principal residence as of January 1, 2009. If you
own a multi-family home, mixed-use property, or
more than one acre of land, only the assessed value
of the principal residence, together with the land
that immediately surrounds and is associated with
that residence, not to exceed one acre, should be
used. If the assessed value is over $788,000, you
do not qualify for the credit. Contact your local
city or town’s assessors’ office if you have any
questions in determining the amount of the as-
sessed value of your principal residence as of
January 1, 2009.

Income Calculation

Qualifying income for the Circuit Breaker Credit
(Schedule CB, lines 3 through 9) is the taxpayer’s
Massachusetts AGI as defined in MGL Ch. 62,
sec. 2 increased by various amounts that may have
been excluded or subtracted when originally calcu-
lating the taxpayer’s Massachusetts AGlI, less cer-
tain exemptions claimed by the taxpayer. Amounts
added back to Massachusetts AGI in computing
qualifying income include income from Social Se-
curity, retirement, pension or annuities, cash pub-
lic assistance, tax-exempt interest and dividends,
net capital losses, long-term capital losses, certain
capital gains, income from a partnership or trust
not otherwise included in the taxpayer’s Massachu-
setts AGI, and gross receipts (for example, the re-
turn of capital or gifts) from any other source
except the tax credit itself. The exemptions allowed
which decrease the total income amount are those
allowed for blindness, dependents and taxpayers
who are at least age 65 by the end of the tax year.

Line 4. Total Social Security Benefits
Enter in line 4 the amount of Social Security benefits
received in 2009. Social Security benefits include
retirement, disability, dependent, survivorship and
insurance. Medicare premiums withheld from So-
cial Security payments should not be excluded.

Line 5. Pension, Annuities,
IRA/Keogh Distributions Not Taxed

on Your Massachusetts Tax Return
Enter in line 5 the amount of pension, annuities,
IRA/Keogh distributions not taxed on your Mass-
achusetts Form 1. See Form 1, line 4 instructions,
Pension and Annuities, for a list of exempt items
that must be included in Schedule CB, line 5 as part
of total income for the purposes of calculating the
Circuit Breaker Credit.

Line 6. Misellaneous Income

Including Cash Public Assistance
Enter the amount of miscellaneous income, includ-
ing cash public assistance, received during 2009.
This includes but is not limited to food stamps and
welfare payments, disability income, gifts, sick pay
and worker’s compensation.

Credit Calculation

If you filled in the “Homeowner” oval in line 1,
complete lines 10 through 17, if you filled in the
“Renter” oval in line 1, go to line 18.

Line 10. Real Estate Taxes Paid
in Calendar Year 2009 for Your

Principal Residence

Enter the amount of real estate taxes paid in calen-
dar year 2009. Be sure to include real estate tax
payments made pursuant to the Community Pres-
ervation Act, the Cape Cod Open Space Land Acqui-
sition Program and/or paid to a tax-levying district.

Note: Real estate taxes paid in a calendar or tax-
able year generally reflect taxes assessed for two
different fiscal years. If a community collects taxes
quarterly, a taxpayer may have made four payments
during a calendar year. These payments are billed
as due on the following dates: February 1, May 1,
August 1, and November 1. If a community col-
lects taxes semi-annually, a taxpayer may have
made two payments during the calendar year. The
first payment is billed as due on May 1 and the
second as due on November 1, or thirty days after
it is mailed, if the bill is mailed after October 1. If
you own a multi-family home, mixed-use property,
or your principle residence has a land area in ex-
cess of one acre, contact your local city or town’s
collector’s office if you have any questions in de-
termining the amount of real estate taxes paid in
calendar year 2009 for your principal residence.

Line 11. Adjustments to Real Estate
Taxes Paid

Enter the amount from line 4 of the Adjustments to
Real Estate Taxes Paid Worksheet for Schedule CB,
line 11, on page 2 of Schedule CB. Adjustments to
real estate taxes paid include:

D Abatements granted by local assessors or
earned through the Senior Work Program*;

D Exemptions granted by cities or towns to qual-
ifying veterans, surviving spouses, blind persons
and the elderly™;
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D Interest charges assessed due to delinquent
payments; and

D Betterments or special assessments levied upon
the property.

*Do not exclude this amount if it was already re-
flected on your tax bill and you did not pay it.

Line 13. Water and Sewer Use
Charges Paid in 2009

Contact your town official to determine if your
community has elected to include water and sewer
debt charges in the property tax assessment. Tax-
payers residing in communities that do not include
water and sewer debt charges in the property tax
assessments may include 50% of the actual water
and sewer use charges paid during the taxable year.
If they have elected to include those charges in the
property tax assessment, enter “0” in line 13. If they
have not elected to include those charges, enter
50% of your actual water and sewer use charges
paid in 2009 in line 13.

If you own a multi-family home, mixed-use prop-
erty, or your principal residence has a land area in
excess of one acre, see TIR 01-19 for information
on how to prorate water and sewer use charges.

Line 18. Rent Paid for Your

Principal Residence in 2009

Enter in line 18a the total amount of rent paid for
your principal Massachusetts residence in 2009.
Divide that amount by 4 (25%) and enter the re-
sult in line 18. In the space provided, be sure to
enter your landlord’s name and address. If you
received any federal and/or state rent subsidy, or
you rent from a tax-exempt entity, you do not
qualify for the Circuit Breaker Credit.
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2009 Massachusetts Income Tax Table at the 5.3% Rate

Use this table to calculate tax for taxable 5.3% income (line 21) of not more than $24,000.

Line 22 instructions: To find your tax on 5.3% Income (line 22), read down the tax table income column to the line containing the amount you en-
tered in line 21. Then read across to the TAX column and enter this amount in line 22. If your taxable 5.3% income in line 21 is greater than $24,000,
multiply the amount by .053. Enter the result in line 22.

Note: If choosing the optional 5.85% tax rate, multiply line 21 and the amount in Schedule D, line 20 by .0585.

INCOME INCOME INCOME INCOME INCOME INCOME
More Butnot TAX More Butnot TAX More Butnot TAX More Butnot TAX More Butnot TAX More Butnot TAX
than more than —— than more than —— than more than — than more than — than more than — than more than ——
$ 1-% 50 1 $ 4,000-$ 4,050 $ 213 $ 8,000—$ 8,050 $ 425 $12,000 — $12,050 $ 637 $16,000 — $16,050 $ 849 $20,000 — $20,050 $1,061
50 - 100 4 4,050- 4,100 216 8,050 - 8,100 428 12,050 - 12,100 640 16,050 — 16,100 852 20,050 - 20,100 d
100 — 150 7 4,100- 4,150 219 8,100- 8,150 431 12,100 - 12,150 643 16,100 — 16,150 855 20,100 - 20,150 1,067
150 — 200 9 4,150 - 4,200 221 8,150 - 8,200 433 12,150 - 12,200 645 16,150 — 16,200 857 20,150 - 20,200 1,069
200 — 250 12 4,200—- 4,250 224 8,200 - 8,250 436 12,200 — 12,250 648 16,200 — 16,250 860 20,200 - 20,250 1,072
250 — 300 15 4,250 - 4,300 227 8,250 - 8,300 439 12,250 - 12,300 651 16,250 — 16,300 863 20,250 - 20,300 1,075
300 — 350 17 4,300 - 4,350 229 8,300 - 8,350 441 12,300 - 12,350 653 16,300 — 16,350 865 20,300 - 20,350 1,077
350 — 400 20 4,350 - 4,400 232 8,350 - 8,400 444 12,350 - 12,400 656 16,350 — 16,400 868 20,350 - 20,400 1,080
400 — 450 23 4,400- 4,450 235 8,400 - 8,450 447 12,400 - 12,450 659 16,400 — 16,450 871 20,400 - 20,450 1,083
450 — 500 25 4,450 - 4,500 237 8,450 — 8,500 449 12,450 — 12,500 661 16,450 — 16,500 873 20,450 - 20,500 1,085
500 - 550 28 4,500 - 4,550 240 8,500 - 8,550 452 12,500 - 12,550 664 16,500 - 16,550 876 20,500 - 20,550 1,088
550 — 600 30 4,550 - 4,600 242 8,550 - 8,600 454 12,550 - 12,600 666 16,550 — 16,600 878 20,550 - 20,600 1,090
600 — 650 33 4,600 - 4,650 245 8,600 - 8,650 457 12,600 - 12,650 669 16,600 — 16,650 881 20,600 - 20,650 1,093
650 — 700 36 4,650- 4,700 248 8,650 - 8,700 460 12,650 - 12,700 672 16,650 — 16,700 884 20,650 - 20,700 1,096
700 — 750 38 4,700- 4,750 250 8,700- 8,750 462 12,700 - 12,750 674 16,700 — 16,750 886 20,700 - 20,750 1,098
750 — 800 a4 4,750 - 4,800 253 8,750 - 8,800 465 12,750 - 12,800 677 16,750 — 16,800 889 20,750 - 20,800 1,101
800 — 850 44 4,800 - 4,850 256 8,800 - 8,850 468 12,800 - 12,850 680 16,800 - 16,850 892 20,800 - 20,850 1,104
850 — 900 46 4,850 - 4,900 258 8,850 - 8,900 470 12,850 — 12,900 682 16,850 — 16,900 894 20,850 - 20,900 1,106
900 — 950 49 4,900 - 4,950 261 8,900 - 8,950 473 12,900 - 12,950 685 16,900 — 16,950 897 20,900 - 20,950 1,109
950- 1,000 52 4,950 - 5,000 264 8,950 - 9,000 476 12,950 — 13,000 688 16,950 — 17,000 900 20,950 - 21,000 1,112
1,000~ 1,050 54 5,000 - 5,050 266 9,000 - 9,050 478 13,000 - 13,050 690 17,000 - 17,050 902 21,000- 21,050 1,114
1,060- 1,100 57 5,060 - 5,100 269 9,050 - 9,100 481 13,050 - 13,100 693 17,050 - 17,100 905 21,060 - 21,100 1,117
1,100- 1,150 60 5100- 5,150 272 9,100- 9,150 484 13,100 - 13,150 696 17,100 - 17,150 908 21,100- 21,150 1,120
1,150 - 1,200 62 5,150 - 5,200 274 9,150 - 9,200 486 13,150 — 13,200 698 17,150 — 17,200 910 21,150 - 21,200 1,122
1,200- 1,250 65 5,200—- 5,250 277 9,200 - 9,250 489 13,200 — 13,250 701 17,200 — 17,250 913 21,200- 21,250 1,125
1,250- 1,300 68 5,250 - 5,300 280 9,250 - 9,300 492 13,250 - 13,300 704 17,250 - 17,300 916 21,250 - 21,300 1,128
1,300- 1,350 70 5,300 - 5,350 282 9,300 - 9,350 494 13,300 - 13,350 706 17,300 - 17,350 918 21,300- 21,350 1,130
1,350 - 1,400 73 5,350 - 5,400 285 9,350 - 9,400 497 13,350 - 13,400 709 17,350 - 17,400 921 21,350 - 21,400 1,133
1,400- 1,450 76 5,400 - 5,450 288 9,400 - 9,450 500 13,400 - 13,450 712 17,400 — 17,450 924 21,400 - 21,450 1,136
1,450 - 1,500 78 5,450 - 5,500 290 9,450 - 9,500 502 13,450 — 13,500 714 17,450 — 17,500 926 21,450 - 21,500 1,138
1,500- 1,550 81 5,600 - 5,550 293 9,500 - 9,550 505 13,500 - 13,550 717 17,500 - 17,550 929 21,500 - 21,550 1,141
1,550- 1,600 83 5,650 - 5,600 295 9,550 - 9,600 507 13,5650 - 13,600 719 17,550 — 17,600 931 21,550 - 21,600 1,143
1,600- 1,650 86 5,600 - 5,650 298 9,600 - 9,650 510 13,600 - 13,650 722 17,600 - 17,650 934 21,600 - 21,650 1,146
1,650 1,700 89 5,650 - 5,700 301 9,650 - 9,700 513 13,650 — 13,700 725 17,650 - 17,700 937 21,650 - 21,700 1,149
1,700- 1,750 91 5,700 - 5,750 303 9,700 - 9,750 515 13,700 - 13,750 727 17,700 — 17,750 939 21,700- 21,750 1,151
1,750- 1,800 94 5,750 - 5,800 306 9,750 - 9,800 518 13,750 - 13,800 730 17,750 - 17,800 942 21,750 - 21,800 1,154
1,800- 1,850 97 5,800 - 5,850 309 9,800 - 9,850 521 13,800 - 13,850 733 17,800 - 17,850 945 21,800- 21,850 1,157
1,850 - 1,900 99 5,850 - 5,900 311 9,850 - 9,900 523 13,850 — 13,900 735 17,850 - 17,900 947 21,850- 21,900 1,159
1,900- 1,950 102 5,900 - 5,950 314 9,900 - 9,950 526 13,900 - 13,950 738 17,900 - 17,950 950 21,900- 21,950 1,162
1,950 - 2,000 105 5,950 - 6,000 317 9,950 — 10,000 529 13,950 — 14,000 741 17,950 — 18,000 953 21,950 - 22,000 1,165
2,000- 2,050 107 6,000 - 6,050 319 10,000 - 10,050 531 14,000 — 14,050 743 18,000 — 18,050 955 22,000 - 22,050 1,167
2,060- 2,100 110 6,050 - 6,100 322 10,050 - 10,100 534 14,050 - 14,100 746 18,050 - 18,100 958 22,060 - 22,100 1,170
2,100- 2,150 113 6,100- 6,150 325 10,100 - 10,150 537 14,100 - 14,150 749 18,100 — 18,150 961 22,100 - 22,150 1,173
2,150 - 2,200 115 6,150 - 6,200 327 10,150 - 10,200 539 14,150 - 14,200 751 18,150 — 18,200 963 22,150 - 22,200 1,175
2,200- 2,250 118 6,200 - 6,250 330 10,200 - 10,250 542 14,200 - 14,250 754 18,200 — 18,250 966 22,200- 22,250 1,178
2,250 - 2,300 121 6,250 — 6,300 333 10,250 - 10,300 545 14,250 — 14,300 757 18,250 — 18,300 969 22,250 - 22,300 1,181
2,300 2,350 123 6,300 - 6,350 335 10,300 - 10,350 547 14,300 - 14,350 759 18,300 — 18,350 971 22,300 - 22,350 1,183
2,350 - 2,400 126 6,350 - 6,400 338 10,350 - 10,400 550 14,350 - 14,400 762 18,350 — 18,400 974 22,350 - 22,400 1,186
2,400 - 2,450 129 6,400 - 6,450 341 10,400 - 10,450 553 14,400 - 14,450 765 18,400 — 18,450 977 22,400 - 22,450 1,189
2,450 - 2,500 131 6,450 - 6,500 343 10,450 - 10,500 555 14,450 — 14,500 767 18,450 — 18,500 979 22,450 - 22,500 1,191
2,500- 2,550 134 6,500 - 6,550 346 10,500 - 10,550 558 14,500 — 14,550 770 18,500 — 18,550 982 22,500 - 22,550 1,194
2,550 - 2,600 136 6,550 - 6,600 348 10,550 - 10,600 560 14,550 — 14,600 772 18,550 — 18,600 984 22,550 - 22,600 1,196
2,600- 2,650 139 6,600 - 6,650 351 10,600 - 10,650 563 14,600 — 14,650 775 18,600 — 18,650 987 22,600 - 22,650 1,199
2,650- 2,700 142 6,650 - 6,700 354 10,650 - 10,700 566 14,650 — 14,700 778 18,650 — 18,700 990 22,650 - 22,700 1,202
2,700- 2,750 144 6,700 - 6,750 356 10,700 - 10,750 568 14,700 — 14,750 780 18,700 — 18,750 992 22,700 - 22,750 1,204
2,750- 2,800 147 6,750 - 6,800 359 10,750 - 10,800 571 14,750 — 14,800 783 18,750 — 18,800 995 22,750 - 22,800 1,207
2,800- 2,850 150 6,800 - 6,850 362 10,800 - 10,850 574 14,800 — 14,850 786 18,800 — 18,850 998 22,800 - 22,850 1,210
2,850 - 2,900 152 6,850 — 6,900 364 10,850 — 10,900 576 14,850 — 14,900 788 18,850 - 18,900 1,000 22,850 - 22,900 1,212
2,900 - 2,950 155 6,900 - 6,950 367 10,900 - 10,950 579 14,900 — 14,950 791 18,900 - 18,950 1,003 22,900 - 22,950 1,215
2,950 - 3,000 158 6,950 - 7,000 370 10,950 - 11,000 582 14,950 — 15,000 794 18,950 - 19,000 1,006 22,950 - 23,000 1,218
3,000- 3,050 160 7,000- 7,050 372 11,000 - 11,050 584 15,000 - 15,050 796 19,000 - 19,050 1,008 23,000 - 23,050 1,220
3,060- 3,100 163 7,050- 7,100 375 11,050 - 11,100 587 15,050 - 15,100 799 19,060 - 19,100 1,011 23,050 - 23,100 1,223
3,100- 3,150 166 7,100- 7,150 378 11,100 - 11,150 590 15,100 - 15,150 802 19,100 - 19,150 1,014 23,100 - 23,150 1,226
3,150 - 3,200 168 7,150 - 7,200 380 11,150 - 11,200 592 15,150 - 15,200 804 19,150 - 19,200 1,016 23,150 - 23,200 1,228
3,200- 3,250 171 7,200—- 7,250 383 11,200 - 11,250 595 15,200 — 15,250 807 19,200 - 19,250 1,019 23,200 - 23,250 1,231
3,250 - 3,300 174 7,250 - 7,300 386 11,250 - 11,300 598 15,250 — 15,300 810 19,250 - 19,300 1,022 23,250 - 23,300 1,234
3,300 - 3,350 176 7,300- 7,350 388 11,300 - 11,350 600 15,300 - 15,350 812 19,300 - 19,350 1,024 23,300 - 23,350 1,236
3,350 - 3,400 179 7,350 - 7,400 391 11,350 - 11,400 603 15,350 — 15,400 815 19,350 - 19,400 1,027 23,350 - 23,400 1,239
3,400 - 3,450 182 7,400- 7,450 394 11,400 - 11,450 606 15,400 - 15,450 818 19,400 - 19,450 1,030 23,400 — 23,450 1,242
3,450 — 3,500 184 7,450 - 7,500 396 11,450 - 11,500 608 15,450 — 15,500 820 19,450 - 19,500 1,032 23,450 — 23,500 1,244
3,500 - 3,550 187 7,500 - 7,550 399 11,500 - 11,550 611 15,500 - 15,550 823 19,500 - 19,550 1,035 23,500 - 23,550 1,247
3,650 - 3,600 189 7,550 - 7,600 401 11,550 - 11,600 613 15,550 — 15,600 825 19,5650 - 19,600 1,037 23,550 - 23,600 1,249
3,600 - 3,650 192 7,600 - 7,650 404 11,600 - 11,650 616 15,600 — 15,650 828 19,600 - 19,650 1,040 23,600 - 23,650 1,252
3,650 - 3,700 195 7,650- 7,700 407 11,650 - 11,700 619 15,650 — 15,700 831 19,650 - 19,700 1,043 23,650 - 23,700 1,255
3,700—- 3,750 197 7,700 - 7,750 409 11,700 - 11,750 621 15,700 — 15,750 833 19,700—- 19,750 1,045 23,700 - 23,750 1,257
3,750 - 3,800 200 7,750 - 7,800 412 11,750 - 11,800 624 15,750 - 15,800 836 19,750 - 19,800 1,048 23,750 - 23,800 1,260
3,800 - 3,850 203 7,800 - 7,850 415 11,800 - 11,850 627 15,800 - 15,850 839 19,800~ 19,850 1,051 23,800 - 23,850 1,263
3,850 - 3,900 205 7,850 - 7,900 47 11,850 - 11,900 629 15,850 — 15,900 841 19,850 - 19,900 1,053 23,850 - 23,900 1,265
3,900 - 3,950 208 7,900 - 7,950 420 11,900 - 11,950 632 15,900 - 15,950 844 19,900 - 19,950 1,056 23,900 - 23,950 1,268
3,950 - 4,000 211 7,950 - 8,000 423 11,950 - 12,000 635 15,950 - 16,000 847 19,950 - 20,000 1,059 23,950 - 24,000 1,271

If your 5.3% income for the tax table is less than $10, your tax is “0.”



DOR Locations
in Massachusetts

Boston

19 Staniford St.
Boston, MA 02114
(617) 887-MDOR

Fall River

218 South Main St.
Fall River, MA 02721
(508) 678-2844

Hyannis

60 Perseverance Way
Hyannis, MA 02601
(508) 771-2414

Pittsfield

333 East St.
Pittsfield, MA 01201
(413) 499-2206

Springfield

436 Dwight St.
Springfield, MA 01103
(413) 784-1000

Worcester

67 Millbrook St.
Worcester, MA 01606
(508) 792-7300

Department of Revenue Resources

What kind of help is available

The instructions in the Department of Revenue’s tax forms should provide answers to most taxpayer questions.
DOR'’s website at www.mass.gov/dor is also a valuable resource for tax information 24 hours a day. Thousands
of tapayers use DOR’s website to e-mail and receive prompt answers to their general tax inquiries. Taxpayers
can also check the status of their refunds, make estimated tax payments and review their estimated tax pay-
ment histories through the Web Services for Income section of our website.

Public libraries and DOR district offices (listed on this page) also offer access to DOR'’s website for those tax-
payers who don’t otherwise have computer access.

Where to get forms and publications

1 Most Massachusetts tax forms and publications are available via the DOR website. The address for the

HCH
&7 Department’s website is www.mass.gov/dor.

f E To obtain Massachusetts forms and publications by phone, call the Department’s main information lines
’ at (617) 887-MDOR or toll-free in Massachusetts at 1-800-392-6089. Please note that many forms and
publications are available 24 hours a day by calling the Department’s automated forms request system at the
numbers listed above.

I

g During the income tax filing season, you can pick up Massachusetts personal income tax forms at
your local library or at IRS district offices across the state.

Note: To obtain federal tax information and forms via the Internet, go to www.irs.gov or call the IRS toll-free
at 1-800-829-1040.

For help in one of the following specific areas

D Certificates of Good Standing (617) 887-6550 d Instaliment Sales (617) 887-6950

D Teletype (TTY) (617) 887-6140 » Small Business Workshop (617) 837-5660
D Vision-impaired taxpayers can contact DOR by calling one of the phone numbers listed above to receive
assistance.

» Upon request, this publication is available in an alternative format. Please send your request to: Office of
Diversity and Equal Opportunity, PO Box 9557, Boston, MA 02114-9557.

To report allegations of suspected misconduct or impropriety involving Department of Revenue employees,
call the Inspectional Services Division’s Integrity Hot Line at 1-800-568-0085 or write to PO Box 9568, Boston,
MA 02114-9568.

Volunteer in Your Community
Be sure to visit the Commonwealth’s new Connect and Serve website to learn about the wide variety of volunteering
opportunities available to Massachusetts residents. The site may be found at www.mass.gov/connectandserve.
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Dear Taxpayet,

Electronic filing of personal income tax returns in Massachusetts hit a record high of 66 percent last year —
up from 63 percent the previous year. Electronic filing means quicker and more accurate processing of
returns and faster deposit of refunds.

To provide even more assistance to taxpayers who seek the advantages of electronic filing, and building

on the success of the WebFile for Income program introduced last filing season, DOR has developed a new
enhanced version of this free web-based program for filing Massachusetts personal income tax returns in
the 2009 filing season. It is convenient, secure and available at the DOR website at www.mass.gov/webfile.

The new WebFile for Income has added all forms and schedules, making this application even more useful
and user-friendly. It may be used by all full-year residents who do not have to report installment sale income.
At any step in the process of filling out the return you may access help and review a comprehensive section
of FAQ’s and substantive tax links. The new WebFile also uses data entered onto the form to help prevent
simple mistakes. For instance, it will prevent a taxpayer from filling out Schedule CB (the Circuit Breaker
Credit) if the taxpayer or spouse were not age 65 before January 1, 2010.

Navigation tools allow you to complete, review and save sections of their return. As the return is filled out
online, you can see it in PDF form just as it will show on the printed tax form. WebFile has been designed
to work well with third party screen readers and other disability software. Math is checked for you and the
return can be saved and finished later. When your return is completed and filed, the refund can be wired
straight to your bank account, the quickest way for you to receive your hard-earned money.

Tax year 2009 marks the third year of DOR’s implementation of the state’s landmark health care reform law.
DOR’s website has an instructional video to assist and answer questions, while more information on obtain-
ing affordable health insurance is available at www.mahealthconnector.org or from insurance providers.

Also, please check to see if your income level qualifies for the Earned Income Tax Credit, a refundable federal
tax credit for low-income working individuals and families. The Massachusetts credit is 15% of the allowable
federal credit, and may be claimed even if no tax is due. And don’t forget the aforementioned Circuit Breaker
Tax Credit for homeowners and renters 65 and older.

Please see the enclosed instructions or visit our website www.mass.gov/dor for more information on all
these initiatives. Contact our Customer Service Bureau by phone (617) 887-6367, toll-free in Massachusetts
at (800) 392-6089, or email websitefeedback@dor.state.ma.us with your questions, concerns or comments.

Sincerely,

A/Wé@

Navijeet K. Bal
Commissioner
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