
ADULT BASIC EDUCATION TEACHER’S LICENSE 
Application Questions and Answers 

 
THE LICENSE
Q. Is the license required for ABE teachers? 
A.  By statute, this is a voluntary license.  The Department 
cannot require this license; however, employers have the 
option of using this license as part of their hiring criteria. 
 
ROUTES TO LICENSURE 
Q:  Do I have to know what route to licensure I qualify to 
pursue before I apply? 
A:  No, but having an idea of what route you may qualify to 
use will help you decide whether you need to complete 
additional documentation.  For example, if you have 5 or 
more years of ABE teaching experience and you believe you 
qualify to use Route 4, then completing the ABE Teaching 
Experience Verification form and submitting it with your 
application will help expedite your application process. 
 

Q:  What if I do not know what route I qualify to use? 
A:  If you do not know, that’s OK.  We will evaluate your 
application and documentation and send you a letter 
outlining what, if anything, else you will need to do. More 
information on the routes to licensure can be found on the 
enclosed handout:  The Professional License for ABE 
Teachers:  Summary and Requirements by Route. 
 
RECIPROCITY: 
Q:  Is there a reciprocity agreement for the ABE license 
with other states? 
A:  No.  Not all states offer a credential for ABE teachers.  
Of those states that do offer a certificate, license, or 
endorsement for ABE, the requirements differ significantly 
from state to state; therefore, it is impossible to arrange a 
reciprocity agreement.  However, that may change in the 
future. 
 
TESTS: 
Q:  Are there any tests required for the ABE teacher’s 
license? 
A:  Yes.  Applicants must pass the required MTEL tests 
(Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure), which are the 
Communication and Literacy Skills Test and the ABE 
Subject Matter Test.  Information about the tests is available 
on the Department’s web-site www.doe.mass.edu/mtel 
including test objectives, sample questions, and how to 
register for the test. 
 

Q:  When will are the tests offered? 
A:  The tests are administered 4-5 times per year.  Please 
refer to the above web-site for specific dates and locations.   
 

Q:  How can I register for and get more information on 
taking the teacher tests? 
A:  A Registration Bulletin may be obtained from the 
education departments of Massachusetts colleges and 
universities, the Office of Educator Licensure, or on the 
Department’s web-site at www.doe.mass.edu/mtel.  Inquiries 
may also be addressed to:  Massachusetts Teacher Tests, 
P.O. Box 660, Amherst, MA  01004-9013, telephone: 413-
256-2892, or toll free at 866-565-4894. 

 
FEES: 
Q:  How much is the application fee? 
A:  If this is your first time applying for educator licensure 
in Massachusetts, there is a $100 fee for the first license, and 
a $25 fee for each additional field/level/stage for which you 
apply.  If you hold or have previously held a Massachusetts’ 
educator license, and are applying for an additional license, 
there is a $25 fee for each license for which you are 
applying. 
Example:  Applying for ABE license, but have no prior 
Massachusetts license ($100). 
Example:  Applying for ABE license, but have a prior 
Massachusetts license ($25). 
 

Q:  Will my fee be refunded if I do not qualify for 
licensure? 
A:  No. This fee is non-refundable and non-transferable.  
 

Q:  How should I make out my certified check/money 
order? 
A:  Please make your certified check/money order payable to 
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  Please write your 
Social Security Number on the check. 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION: 
Q:  What happens if I don’t qualify for licensure? 
A:  If you do not meet all of the requirements or have not 
submitted all of the required documents, you will receive a 
letter outlining what you need to do. 
 

Q:  Is there a number I can call if I have any questions? 
A:  Yes.  You can call 781-338-6600 to speak to a licensure 
associate. 
 

Q:  Should I apply for licensure just to find out what I 
need? 
A:  Not necessarily.  We have an informational web-site at 
www.doe.mass.edu/educators/abe.html and pre-application 
counseling available for you. 
 

Q:  How can I assure my application will be processed 
quickly? 
A: You can assist us in expediting your application if you 
have submitted a complete application, the appropriate fee, 
and if possible, submitted all documentation in one package.  
A complete application will allow us to process your 
application, and the applications of others, more 
expeditiously. 
 

Q:  How can I find out more about the requirements for 
the levels and routes to the ABE license? 
A.  Please refer to the guidelines for either the level or the 
route to licensure, which are also available on our web-site.  
http://www.doe.mass.edu/educators/abeguidelines. 
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