
REVISION DATE:  12/12/2016 1

 
 
Dear Pesticide Exam and Licensing Candidate: 
 
The Pesticide Examination and License Information 
Bulletin is your guide to taking the state pesticide 
examination for the purpose of obtaining a 
Massachusetts pesticide applicator license or 
certification. 
 
The state pesticide law requires that all persons who 
apply pesticides in public and private places used 
for human occupation and habitation with the 
exception of residential properties with three or less 
dwelling units, must be in possession of a valid 
license or certification issued by the Massachusetts 
Department of Agricultural Resources. See 
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 132B, Section 10. 
 
The Massachusetts Department of Agricultural 
Resources (MDAR) conducts written, closed-book 
examinations, and as appropriate, performance testing to 
measure competency to use, sell, and apply pesticides in 
Massachusetts. 
 
Take the time to read this bulletin and acquaint yourself 
with the prescribed deadlines, procedures, and forms so 
that you can successfully obtain either a pesticide 
applicator license or certification in the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts. 
 
Please note that all exam registration applications and 
license applications should now be mailed to the 
Lockbox address provided on these forms and should 
NOT be sent to or dropped off at the Department’s 
address.  
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
Steven Antunes-Kenyon 
Pesticide Operations Coordinator 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

   Visit the MDAR Pesticide Program website at: 
   www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/pesticides 
   for the latest Pesticide Program information!  
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AATT--AA--GGLLAANNCCEE  
 #1 Applicator 

License (Core) 
#2 Private 

Certification 
#3 Commercial 

Certification 
#4 Dealer  
License 

 
 

 
Who Needs 

One? 

If you intend to do pesticide 
work using general use 

pesticides for hire and have 
never had a pesticide license 

before, you must obtain a 
commercial Applicator 

License. 
 

This document is usually 
obtained by individuals 

working in the 
Exterminating, Lawn Care, 

Landscape and Tree 
industry. 

 
This also includes 

individuals working not for 
hire such as office building 
groundskeeper, apartment 

building landlords, 
custodians, condominium 

maintenance personnel, golf 
course superintendents. 

 

If you intend to do pesticide 
work using restricted use 

pesticides on property 
owned or rented by you or 

your employer for the 
purpose of raising 

agricultural commodities, 
you must obtain a Private 

Certification.  This 
document is usually 

obtained by individuals 
working as farmers and 

growers. 

You must take and pass the 
appropriate Commercial 

Certification category exam 
and have two years of 

relevant experience (see 
enclosed Resume Form on 

page 13). 
 

If you intend to do pesticide 
work using restricted use 

pesticides for hire or not for 
hire you must obtain a 

Commercial Certification.  
This document is usually 
obtained by individuals 

working in the 
Exterminating, Lawn Care, 

Landscape and Tree 
industry. 

If you intend to do 
pesticide work selling 

restricted use pesticides, 
you must obtain a Dealer 

License. 
 

This document is obtained 
by individuals who are 

employed by distributors 
and dealers of pesticides. 

 

Exam Fees 
 

$75 
 

$125 
 

$125 
 

$125 

 

Exam Times  
 

(and Lengths) 
 

 
12:30 PM  

125 questions 
(1 hour 45 minutes) 

 
9 AM 

125 questions 
(2 1/2 Hours) 

 
9 AM 

125 questions 
(2 1/2 Hours) 

 
12:30 PM 

125 questions 
(1 hour 45 minutes) 

 

Passing Score 
 

 
70% ( 87 or > out of 125)  

 
75% ( 94 or > out of 125) 

 
75% ( 94 or > out of 125) 

 
75% ( 94 or > out of 125) 

 

Workshops 
 

An Applicator License 
Training Workshop is 
available through the 

UMass Extension Pesticide 
Education Program.  

See Pages 14 
 

 
 

Not Available 

 
 

Not Available 

 
 

Not Available 

 
Study Materials 

(See order form on 
pages  9 - 10) 

 

Core Manual w/ 
supplement, Massachusetts 
Pesticide Control Act and 

Pesticide Regulations 

Core Manual w/ 
supplement, Massachusetts 
Pesticide Control Act and 
Pesticide Regulations, and 

Corresponding Private 
Certification Manual 

Core Manual w/ 
supplement, Massachusetts 
Pesticide Control Act and 
Pesticide Regulations, and 

Corresponding Commercial 
Certification Manual 

Core Manual w/ 
supplement, Massachusetts 
Pesticide Control Act and 
Massachusetts Pesticide 
Regulations and Dealer’s 

Package 
 

Insurance 

 
Required 

 
Not required 

 
Required 

 
Not Required 

 

License Fees 
 

 
$100 

 
$100 

 
$150 

 
$300 

 

License or 
Certification 
Expiration 

Dates 
 

 
 

December 31st 

 
 

December 31st 

 
 

December 31st 

 
 

February 28th or 29th 

 

Continuing 
Education 

 

 
6 Contact hours 

 
12 Contact hours 

 
12 Contact hours per 

category 

 
3 Contact hours 

 

Annual License 
Renewal Fees 

 

 
$100 

 
$100 

 
$150 

 
$300 

Visit the MDAR Pesticide Program website at www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/pesticides 
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G E N E R A L  I N F O R M A T I O N  
 

 
 
 
 
 
The first step is to determine which kind of pesticide 
license or certification you need.  In Massachusetts 
there are four different kinds of pesticide credentials 
or licenses.  As described below, and found in the 
Pesticide Exam Registration Application (GO TO 
PAGES 7 and 8), these four credentials correspond 
to four distinct exam registrations types: 
 

#1)  Applicator License (core) 
#2)  Private Certification 
#3)  Commercial Certification 
#4)  Dealer License 

 
► Choose #1 Applicator License (core) if you 
have never had a pesticide license in 
Massachusetts, or if you did and it lapsed 5 or 
more years ago, and you plan to use pesticides on 
the property of another for hire or as part of your 
current job duties on the property of your employer 
or leased by your employer. 

 
►Choose #2 Private Certification if you are a 
grower or farmer or work in agriculture and plan to 
use restricted use pesticides (RUP’s) on land that is 
owned or rented by you or your employer for the 
purpose of raising agricultural commodities. 
Agricultural commodities can include, but are not 
limited to, products like cranberries, potatoes, 
tomatoes, greenhouse plants, sod, nursery stock, 
blueberries, apples, corn and other field crops, etc. 

 
►Choose #3 Commercial Certification if you 
have held an Applicator  License (core) in 
Massachusetts or certification for two (2) or more 
years during the past five (5) years, and you plan to 
use restricted use pesticides (RUP’s) on the 
property of another for hire. 
 
►Choose #4 Dealer License if you plan to SELL 
restricted use pesticides (RUP’s). 

 
 
 
 

Once you have determined which kind of pesticide 
certification or license you need, you should order 
your study materials.  Given the limited hours of 
business, it is generally recommended that you 
order your self-study materials online or by U.S. 
Mail (GO TO PAGES 9 and 10).  Please 
understand that it will take a few weeks to receive 
the manuals.  

 
If you turn to the Manual Order Form (GO TO 
PAGE 9), you will note that the self-study boxes 
are numbered to correspond with the certification 
and license types discussed on this page.  Select 
the SELF-STUDY BOX NUMBER that 
corresponds with the number associated with the 
certification or license type you need.  Order all of 
the study materials specified in the box. 

 
 
 

 
 
To determine when and where exams are held, 
please review the exam schedule on PAGE 11.    

 
It is advisable to select available dates early in the 
year especially if you desire to obtain a pesticide 
license or certification for the spring and summer 
months.  Once you select a date and exam type, 
you will need to complete the exam application 
(GO TO PAGE 7).  For those individuals eligible 
for Commercial Certification (meaning you have 
held a certification or license for at least 2 years), 
you will also need to complete the Resume Form 
in addition to the exam application (GO TO PAGE, 
13).    
 

Note: Only one exam can be scheduled per 
exam date. 
 

Once your application is complete mail your form 
with a check or money order (cash is not 
accepted) payable to the “Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts” via the Lockbox address below. 
 

 
 
 
 
 

Exam Fees 
 
#1  Applicator License Exam (core)  $75  
 
#2  Private Certification Exam      $125 
 
#3  Commercial Certification Exam   $125 
 
#4  Dealer License Exam        $125 
PLEASE DO NOT MAIL CASH  
or PURCHASE ORDERS 

 
Incomplete applications or those without 
the proper fee will be returned.  

DETERMINE YOUR PESTICIDE 
CREDENTIAL NEEDS 

SCHEDULE YOUR EXAM  
DATE AND SITE 

ORDER YOUR STUDY MATERIALS 

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS 
PO BOX 417103 

Boston, MA  02241-417103
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All Pesticide Exam Registration Applications must 
be received by the deadline provided.  Before you 
mail the Exam Registration Application, be sure you 
have completed both pages of the Form. 

 
□ Complete Exam Candidate and Employer 
Information sections. 
□ Record the selected Exam Date from those 
available in the 2017 Exam Schedule (see p. 11).   
□ Fill-in in the oval for the correct exam type and 
enter category and code if applicable (see p. 3).   
□ Indicate exam history with signature and date 
on the back page of the Exam Registration Form. 
□ Include a completed Resume Form (p.13), if 
submitting an application for a Commercial 
Certification Exam. 
□ Enclose  the correct fee amount via check or 
money order payable to the “Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts” and mail to the Lockbox. 

 
Due to the frequency of scheduled exams, 
admission letters or notification cards will NOT 
be sent to you confirming your registration.  
You will need to confirm your registration by 
checking to see that your name is listed on the 
Pesticide Exam Dates and Rosters webpage found 
on the below website address.   
 
http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/pesticides/ 
 
An Exam Roster is posted online some 3 to 4-days 
prior to the exam.  All applications must be received 
by the deadline provided.  Alternatively, you may 
call or email the Department to confirm your 
registration for the requested exam date.   
 
Only pesticide exam candidates listed on the 
roster will be able to take the exam on that date!  
 
Applications for examinations are processed in 
order of receipt. If your name is not listed on the 
exam roster for the date requested your application 
may have been rescheduled for the next exam 
date. Examination dates in March, April and May 
are more likely to be affected.  Do NOT show-up at 
the exam location if your name is not listed on the 
Online Roster—you will not be allowed into the 
exam.  Please confirm your registration via the 
online roster or call or email the Department if you 
have any questions.   
 
All completed applications received after the 
maximum number of exam seats is reached or after 
the deadline will be rescheduled for the next 
examination date. However, if you have a conflict 
with this rescheduled date please contact the 
Pesticide Program to arrange for an alternate date 
or a return of your Exam Application and Fee. 

Incomplete applications may be returned as the 
result of: missing or incorrect fee, wrong exam 
dates or location, and ineligibility for an exam. 
 
Please be advised that the exam applications 
must be received and processed at least 1 week 
prior to the exam.  Be sure to submit your exam 
registration application and fee at least 5 to 7-days 
prior to the deadline.  Also be advised that due to 
heavy enrollment the receipt of an exam 
registration application and fee by the Pesticide 
Program prior to the examination deadline does 
NOT guarantee inclusion for the date requested.  

 
 
 
Allow yourself adequate time to travel to the exam 
site in order to arrive prior to the start of the exam.  
Exam administrators begin the registration of 
exam candidates and assign seating prior to the 
start of the exam.  Traffic delays and mechanical 
problems are not acceptable excuses for arriving 
late and you will not be allowed into the exam. 
 

#1 Applicator License (Core) Exams and  
#4 Dealer License Exams: 
  On-site exam “check-in” begins at 12:00 PM. 
  The exam begins promptly at 12:30 PM. 
 
#2 Private Certification Exams and 
#3 Commercial Certification Exams: 
  On-site exam “check-in” begins at 8:30 AM. 
  The exam begins promptly at 9:00 AM. 
 
Candidates who are late or do not appear for 
the scheduled exams will forfeit their exam 
fees. In such cases, exam candidates will be 
required to submit a new examination 
application and fee for another test date.  
Refunds cannot be given. 
 
As part of the exam registration process, the exam 
administrator will ask you to produce positive 
government issued photo identification e.g. 
driver’s license, passport, or military identification. If 
you cannot produce such positive photo 
identification, you will not be allowed into the exam. 
 
In addition, if your name does not appear on the 
Exam Roster or your application is not in the exam 
file, you will not be allowed to take the exam.  Walk-
in candidates will NOT be seated for the exam. 
 
Candidates who disrupt the registration process will 
be disqualified from taking the exam and the 
registration fee will not be refunded. Once checked-
in, candidates will be assigned a seat and will follow 
the instructions provided by the exam administrators.   

TAKE YOUR PESTICIDE EXAM
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Be sure to bring a sufficient number of sharpened #2 lead 
pencils with erasers.  Pencils will not be provided and 
sharpeners are not available at the exam sites.   
 
Remember all examinations are “closed book”!  Any 
use of calculators, notes, dictionaries, or other reference 
materials during the exam is strictly prohibited.  
 
Exams have 125 multiple-choice questions and are timed 
limited.  You will be allowed one hour and 45 minutes for 
the commercial applicator (core) and dealer license exams.  
You will be allowed two hours and 30 minutes to take 
commercial and private certification exams.  
 
 
 
 
A notification letter will be mailed to the residential address 
or P.O. Box provided, indicating the exam results.  This 
letter will indicate either PASS or FAIL with the raw score 
for the exam! If you do not receive your test results within 2 
weeks, you may call, e-mail, write or fax a letter with your 
current address requesting your exam results.  Please 
include your name, address, phone #, and exam date. 
 
The established passing score for the applicator (core) 
license exam is 70% (87 questions correct out of the 
total 125), and for all other exams 75% is passing (94 
questions correct out of the total 125) 

 
The Department posts the names of those applicants who 
have passed their exam by date on our web page at:  
www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/pesticides.html 
 
To ensure confidentially, test results will not be given over 
the telephone. 

 
REPEATING AN EXAM 

 
Candidates who are unsuccessful in passing the exam 
may re-take the exam as permitted under the regulations.  
To re-take the exam, you must submit a new examination 
application and applicable fee for another listed date. 
 

Regulations require that candidates that fail the exam 
twice must wait (3) three months before re-applying to 
take an exam.  After failing an exam three times, you 
must wait (1) one year before re-applying 
 

 
 
 
 
 
In addition to your exam results, if you pass the exam,  
you will be mailed an application to obtain a pesticide 
license or certification. This application for license or 

certification is valid for one year from the date of the 
examination.  The end of this valid application time 
period is indicated as the due date on the form provided.   
 

Be Advised, that passing the exam does not equate 
to being certified or licensed to use pesticides! 
To receive your license; sign the application, attach the 
appropriate fee, and provide proof of insurance as may 
be required under the regulations to attest to your 
insurance coverage or financial responsibility. 
 
To be issued the pesticide license you must: Accurately 
complete and return the application for license or 
certification with the correct fee and proof of insurance 
(if required) to the below address for approval and 
processing.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
Insurance is required for both Applicator License 
(core) and Commercial Certification credentials.  
Insurance is not required for either the Private 
Certification or the Dealer License credentials. 
 
 
 
 
RENEWAL AND EXPIRATION DATE 

 
 After you submit the application to obtain your 

license or certification, please allow a 2 -3 weeks 
for processing.  After review and approval, the 
Pesticide Program will mail the pesticide license or 
certification to the mailing address you provided. 
 

 State law requires you to carry the official license 
credential document on your person at all times 
while using pesticides.   
 

 Please note that the license or certification is valid 
for a period beginning with the actual date of 
issuance and ending on December 31st of the year 
issued unless it has been modified, revoked or 
otherwise suspended before that date.   

 
NOTE: For a Dealer License, the credential expires 
on February 28th or 29th. 
 

Each year, renewal applications for all licenses and 
certifications will be mailed to you at least 30-days 
prior to the expiration date of the pesticide 
credential.  It is important that you notify the 
Pesticide Program of any address changes to 
ensure timely receipt of your renewal application. 

OBTAIN YOUR LICENSE OR 
CERTIFICATION 

MAINTAIN YOUR LICENSE OR 
CERTIFICATION 

RECEIVE NOTIFICATION OF YOUR 
EXAM RESULTS 

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS 
PO BOX 417103 

Boston, MA  02241-417103 
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  In addition to renewing your license or certification 
annually, there are also re-training requirements.  As a 
holder of the license or certification, you must, at the 
end of each three-year period, be re-trained or re-
certified either through re-examination or by 
participation in approved continuing education 
programs or workshops within the three-year period.   
 
 The Cooperative Extension Service, UMASS 
Pesticide Education Program, as well as various trade 
groups and professional organizations provide training 
programs on an annual basis.  You may check the 
below Pesticide Program web site for the dates and 
locations of continuing education classes for your 
license type.  Select the link for Pesticide Applicator 
Continuing Education (PACE) Approved Programs:  
http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/pesticides/
pace-credits-and-contact-hours.html 
 
 You MUST obtain the required number continuing 
education contact hours to maintain your license or 
certification, or you will be required to retake the 
examination to maintain your license. 
 
 You are required to retain all training certificates as 
proof of your continuing education.  The Department 
audits individuals at the end of their three year 
recertification cycle in order to ensure compliance with 
the continuing education requirements. 

 
 The Department accepts training credits approved 
by other New England State Pesticide Programs within 
their borders as well as other training programs outside 
of New England—with PRIOR approval from the MDAR 
PACE Training Coordinator.   

Applicator License (core) 6 Contact hours 

Private Certification 12 Contact hours 

Commercial Certification 12 Contact  hours per category 

Dealer License 3 Contact  hours 

 
(1 contact hour = 50 consecutive minutes of learning) 

 
 

 
(For Applicator License (Core) and Commercial Certification)  
 

In order to satisfy the insurance requirements, you or 
your employer (on your behalf) must secure 
comprehensive general liability coverage relating to 
bodily injury and property damage.   
 

In addition, you must be sure your insurance policy has 
“an endorsement that modifies any pollution 
exclusion provisions” to cover you for “sudden and 
accidental” mishaps as it relates to the purposeful use of 
pesticides on the property of another. 
 

Municipal, state, and federal employees (government 
employees) are exempt from insurance requirements.  In 
lieu of insurance, you must attach to your certification or 
license application a letter on letterhead attesting that 
your pesticide activities are part of your duties when you 
are working in your governmental capacity. 
 

333 CMR (CODE OF MASSACHUSETTS 
REGULATIONS)  

 
10.13: Financial Responsibility or Insurance 
 
As a condition to obtaining or renewing a commercial 
applicator license or commercial certification, “an 
applicant shall be required by the Department to 
submit with his or her application an attestation by 
an insurance broker certifying that the insurance 
policy coverage in force and issued on behalf of said 
applicator meets or exceeds the standards set forth 
below, except as provided in 333 CMR 10.13(10). 
This attestation shall be on a form provided by the 
Department.” 
 
A comprehensive listing of the insurance requirements is 
included in the Department Regulations (333 CMR 
10.13) on our web site or you may call the Department to 
receive a copy of the insurance requirements. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
If a disability prevents you from taking the exam under 
the existing conditions outlined in this bulletin, you may 
request an accommodation.  Such requests are subject 
to approval by the Department upon submission and 
review of documentation needed by the Department in 
accord with the applicable State and Federal Disability 
Laws.  Such requests and documentation must be 
submitted well in advance of the desired exam date.   
 
Please call the Pesticide Operations Coordinator to 
discuss the disability requirements before you submit 
your exam application.  Anyone claiming a disability will 
need to provide both a clear description of the disability 
and supporting documentation.  This information will 
help determine your eligibility for accommodations in 
accord with State and Federal Disability Laws.  

CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS 

INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS

 PROVISIONS FOR CANDIDATES 
WITH DISABILITIES



MASSACHUSETTS PESTICIDE LICENSE/CERTIFICATION EXAM APPLICATION
EXAM

Current Mass. License or Certification Number (only if you are currently certified or licensed):

Government Employee:

EXAM CANDIDATE INFORMATION (PLEASE INCLUDE SPACES IN BETWEEN WORDS)

EMPLOYER INFORMATION

EXAM AND LOCATION INFORMATION

YES NO

Last Name: M.I. First Name:

Mailing Address (Street or P.O. Box): Apt #:

City/Town:

Social Security Number (SSN): Telephone Number:

Company Name or Employer (if None then write “Not Applicable” or “NA” and skip to Section 4):

Company Address (Street or P.O. Box):

City/Town:

State: Zip Code:

State: Zip Code:

A. Choose ONE exam date from the Exam Schedule provided on p. 11 of the Examination and Licensing Bulletin.

C. Choose only ONE exam type below - fill oval, enter category name, and number (see list on other side):

B. Exam Date: M M D D Y Y Y Y

#1 Applicator License (core) Exam
(No category applicable)

#4 Dealer License Exam
(No category applicable)

#3 Commercial Certification Exam (Print category below)

#2 Private Certification Exam (Print category below)

Category 
Number

Category
Number

Telephone Number:

(EXAM FORM PAGE 1 OF 2)                                                       7

 

State of Residence:

#1 Applicator License (core) Exam  $75

#3 Commercial Certification Exam $125

#2 Private Certification Exam $125

#4 Dealer License Exam  $125

Check the Fee Box that Applies

  DO NOT SEND CASH OR PURCHASE ORDERS

Note:  Exam locations are determined by the date of the exam.

EXAM FEES



HISTORY

MAILING INFORMATION

VIA U.S. MAIL:
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS
P.O. BOX 417103
BOSTON, MA 02241-417103

Bank of America Lockbox Services
COMMONWEALTH OF MASS - LBX 417103
MA5-527-02-07
2 Morrissey Blvd.
Dorchester, MA 02125

VIA OVERNIGHT MAIL/COURIER SERVICE:

A. Have you been found in violation of any statute or regulation pertaining to the use, distribution, or application 	
     of pesticides in Massachusetts or any other state in the past(5) years?

If YES, please explain in brief:

B. This is the:
First time I have ever taken this exam
Second time I have taken this exam
Third time I have taken this exam

YES NO

CATEGORIES

CATEGORY 			       MA State Code
Aerial					     (34)
Agriculture				    (33)
Aquatic					    (39)
Demonstration and Research		  (49)
Food Processing			   (50)
Forest					     (35)
Fumigation				    (42)
General Pest Control			   (41)
General Public Health			   (46)
Mosquito and Biting Fly Control		 (47)
Regulatory				    (48)
Rights of Way				    (40)
Sewer Root Control			   (55)
Shade Trees and Ornamentals		  (36)
TBT					     (54)
Termite and Structural Pest Control 	 (43)
Turf					     (37)
Vertebrate Pest Control			   (44)
Wood Preservative			   (52)

CATEGORY 	     	     MA State Code
Cranberries			   (30)
Dairy/Livestock			   (24)
Greenhouse			   (26)
Nursery				   (29)
Poultry				    (28)
Sod				    (32)
Small Fruit			   (27)
Tree Fruit			   (25)
Vegetable			   (31)

COMMERCIAL CERTIFICATION PRIVATE CERTIFICATION

Please make check or money order payable to the “COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS”.
(EXAM FORM PAGE 2 OF 2)                                                         8    

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT (Required)
I attest that I will be 18 years of age as of the date of the exam and that all of the information 
contained in this form is true.

Signature Today’s Date



 9                                (OVER FOR INSTRUCTIONS)  

         STATE PESTICIDE EXAM STUDY MANUAL Order form 
Order online: www.umassextensionbookstore.com 
 Effective December 1, 2016– December 31, 2017 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Basic Study Materials Inventory # Price Quantity 
 

NEW Core Manual (3rd Ed.) w/ MA Core Supplement (2014) 
 

 

A1 
 

$52.00 
 

_________ 
 

Massachusetts Pesticide Control Act (1978, amended 2015)  
(Chapter 132B M.G.L.)  

 

 
A2 

 
$6.00 

 
_________ 

For free download of the Pesticide Control Act:  https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXIX/Chapter132b 
 

Massachusetts Pesticide Regulations (1979, amended 2016)  
(333 CMR 1.00-14.00) 

 

 
A3 

 

 
$10.00 

 
_________ 

For free download of regulations:  http://www.mass.gov/courts/case-legal-res/law-lib/laws-by-source/cmr/300-399cmr/333cmr.html 

 

Private Certification Manuals Inventory # Price Quantity 
 

*EPA Worker Protection Manual (2015) needed for all private 
certification exams or free at https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2016-
10/documents/htcmanual-oct16.pdf 

 

A4 
 

$9.00 
 

_________ 

 

Cranberries (cat. 30) 1999 
 

 

PS-CRAN 
 

$6.00 
 

_________ 
 

Dairy/Livestock (cat. 24) 1982 
 

 

PS-LVST 
 

$5.00 
 

_________ 
 

Greenhouse (cat. 26) 2002 (order FL-IRPF also) 
 

 

PS-GRNH 
 

$40.00 
 

_________ 
 

Biology & Management of Insects and Related Pests of 
Floriculture Crops in New England (1992) 
 

 

FL-IRPF 
 

$10.00 
 

_________ 

 

Nursery (cat. 29) 1982 
 

 

PS-NRSR 
 

$6.00 
 

_________ 
 

Poultry (cat. 28) North Carolina Extension 
 

 

PS-PLTR 
 

$5.00 
 

_________ 
 

Small Fruit (cat. 27) 1982 
 

 

PS-SFRT 
 

$5.00 
 

_________ 
 

Tree Fruit (cat. 25) 1984 
 

 

PS-TRFT 
 

$6.00 
 

_________ 
 

Vegetable (cat. 31) 1992 
 

 

PS-VEGI 
 

$14.00 
 

_________ 

 

Dealer License Materials Inventory # Price Quantity 
 

Dealer’s Package (2004) 
 

PS-DEAL 
 

$2.00 
 

_________ 
 

#3 Commercial Certification 
  

 Core Manual w/ Supplement (A1) 
 Massachusetts Pesticide Control Act (A2) 
 Massachusetts Pesticide Regulations (A3) 
 Commercial Certification Manuals 
 (select one from page 10) 

#4          Dealer License 
 

 Core Manual w/ Supplement (A1) 
 Massachusetts Pesticide Control Act (A2) 
 Massachusetts Pesticide Regulations (A3) 
 Dealer’s Package 

#2       Private Certification 
 

 Core Manual w/ Supplement (A1) 
 Massachusetts Pesticide Control Act (A2) 
 Massachusetts Pesticide Regulations (A3) 
 EPA Worker Protection Manual (A4) 
 Private Certification Manual (select one) 

#1    Applicator  License 
 

 Core Manual w/ Supplement (A1) 
 Massachusetts Pesticide Control Act (A2) 
 Massachusetts Pesticide Regulations (A3) 
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Commercial Certification Manuals Inventory # Price Quantity 
 

Aerial Application (cat. 34) 2001 

 

PS-ARIL 
 

$37.00 
 

_________ 
 

Custom Agriculture Plant 2006 & Animal 1999 (cat. 33) 

 

PS-CAGR 
 

$66.00 
 

_________ 
 

Aquatic Weed Control (cat. 39) 2004 

 

PS-AQUA 
 

$42.00 
 

_________ 
 

Demonstration & Research (cat. 49) 1978 

 

PS-DMRS 
 

$23.00 
 

_________ 
 

Food Processing (cat. 50) 2005 

 

PS-FOOD 
 

$45.00 
 

_________ 
 

Forest Pest Control (cat. 35) 2006 

 

PS-FRST 
 

$45.00 
 

_________ 
 

Fumigation (cat. 42) 1993 

 

PS-FUMI 
 

$28.00 
 

_________ 
 

General Pest Control (cat. 41) Truman’s Scientific Guide to Pest 
Control 7th Edition, Purdue University 

 

PS-TRMN 
 

$124.00 
 

 
_________ 

 

General Public Health (cat. 46) 2002 

 

PS-GNPH 
 

$41.00 
 

_________ 
 

Mosquito & Biting Fly Control (cat. 47) – order cat. 46 
manual above and Mosquito Supplement below 

  
 

 

 

Mosquito Supplement (cat. 47) 1990 

 

PS-MOSQ 
 

$5.00 
 

_________ 
 

Rights-of-Way (cat. 40) 2005 

 

PS-ROWY 
 

$45.00 
 

_________ 
 

Sewer Root Control (cat. 55) 1996 
 

PS-SWRL 
 

$36.00 
 

_________ 
 

Shade Trees & Ornamentals (cat. 36) 1990 

 

PS-ST&O 
 

$14.00 
 

_________ 
 

Turf (cat. 37) order cat. 36 manual above 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Termite & Structural Pest Control (cat. 43) 1998 

 

PS-TERM 
 

$29.00 
 

_________ 
 

Tributylin (TBT) (cat. 54) 1991 

 

PS-TRIB 
 

$8.00 
 

_________ 
 

Vertebrate Pest Control (cat. 44) order cat. 41 manual above 

 

  
 

 
 

Wood Preservative (cat. 52) 1986 

 

PS-WDPR 
 

$8.00 
 

_________ 
SHIPPING & HANDLING (PLEASE CHECK ONE) 

US Postal Service media rate  (7-10 business days) Shipping & Handling for 1st item $6.00,  
S & H for each add’l item _______@ $1.00 each                Total             _________ 

UPS Ground (3-5 business days) Shipping & Handling for 1st item $10.00,  
S & H for each add’l item _______ @ $1.00 each               Total             _________ 

 
  
       Total Amount Enclosed $_________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 

For quickest order online: 
www.umassextensionbookstore.com 

or 
Make check (or money order) payable to the 

University of Massachusetts 
Send payment and completed form to the: 

UMass Extension Bookstore 
101 University Drive, Suite A4 

Amherst, MA  01002-2385 
Phone Number (413)545-5227   Fax Number (413) 545-5174 

 
If you have any questions regarding which manuals to order contact the 

Pesticide Education office at (413)545-1044 

 
_____________________________ 
Name/Company 

 

_____________________________ 
Mailing Address 

 

_________________________________ 
Town           state           zip 

 

_(______)_____________________ 
Daytime phone # 

 
_ (_______)_______________________ 
Fax Number 

For Credit Card Purchases Circle One:  VISA or Mastercard 
 

CC#         
Expiration Date ____________    Security Code  
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2017 
 MASSACHUSETTS PESTICIDE LICENSE AND CERTIFICATION EXAM SCHEDULE 

CAPE COD 
Upper Cape Regional Technical School  
220 Sandwich Road, Bourne, MA 02532 

SPRINGFIELD 
Springfield Technical Community College 

Building 2 – Scibelli Hall 
One Armory Square, Springfield, MA 01102 

 
 EXAM DATE (SNOW DATE)*       DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING APPLICATION 
  
  
February 22, 2017 (February 24, 2017 - Randolph)         February 15, 2017 
 
April 18, 2017 (April 28, 2017 - Randolph)           April 11, 2017 
 

*Snow date only if the Pesticide Program reschedules exam due to inclement weather. 

 
EXAM DATE (SNOW DATE)*       DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING APPLICATION 
 
March 22, 2017 (March 31, 2017 - Randolph)          March 15, 2017 
 
April 12, 2017 (April 28, 2017 - Randolph         April 5, 2017 
 
May 17, 2017 (No Snow Date)           May 10, 2017 
 

*Snow date only if the Pesticide Program reschedules exam due to inclement weather. 
 
  

RANDOLPH 
The Lantana 

43 Scanlon DR 
   Randolph, MA 02368 
 

 
EXAM DATE (SNOW DATE)*      DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING APPLICATION 

 
EXAM DATE (SNOW DATE)*      DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING APPLICATION 

 
January 6, 2017  (Jan. 20, 2017           December 30, 2016 
 
January 13, 2017  (Jan. 20, 2017)          January 6, 2017 
 
February 3, 2017  (Feb. 24, 2017)          January 27, 2017 
 
February 10, 2017  (Feb. 24, 2017)           February 3, 2017 
 
February 17, 2017  (Feb. 24, 2017)          February 10, 2017 
 
March 3, 2017  (March 31, 2017)            February 24, 2017 
 
March 10, 2017  (March 31, 2017)          March 3, 2017 
 
March 17, 2017  (March 31, 2017)          March 10, 2017 
 
March 24, 2017  (March 31, 2017)          March 17, 2017 
 
April 7, 2017  (April 28, 2017)            March 31, 2017 
 
April 14, 2017  (April 28, 2017)           April 7, 2017 
 

*Snow date only if the Pesticide Program reschedules exam due to inclement weather 

 
April 21, 2017  (April 28, 2017)            April 14, 2017 
  
May 5, 2017  (No Snow Date)             April 28, 2017 
 
May 12, 2017  (No Snow Date)            May 5, 2017 
 
May 26, 2017  (No Snow Date)           May 19, 2017 
 
June 9, 2017  (No Snow Date)           June 2, 2017   
 
July 7, 2017  (No Snow Date)           June 30, 2017 
 
August 11, 2017  (No Snow Date)          August 4, 2017 
 
September 15, 2017  (No Snow Date)         September 8, 2017 
 
October 6, 2017  (No Snow Date)          September 29, 2017 
 
November 3, 2017  (November 17, 2017)         October 27, 2017 
 
December 1, 2017  (December 8, 2017)          November 24, 2017 
 
*Snow date only if the Pesticide Program reschedules exam due to inclement weather 

PLEASE ARRIVE AT THE EXAM SITE AT LEAST 30 MINUTES BEFORE THE EXAM STARTS!!!! 
Exam Times: Private Certification and Commercial Certification Exams start promptly at 9:00 AM.   Applicator License (core) and Dealer License Exams start 
promptly at 12:30 PM.  Snow Dates:  Call 617-626-1841 for a pre-recorded message with exam dates, location, and cancellation information.  In the event of bad 
weather, call after 6:30 AM the day of the scheduled exam and listen to the message.  If the exam has been canceled, the message will inform you and indicate 
that you should report on the snow date.   
 
STOP!  Look on the reverse side of this exam schedule for general directions to exam locations. (Please do NOT call the exam site). 
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GENERAL DIRECTIONS TO EXAM LOCATIONS 
N O T E :  The exam candidate, by using these directions, should be aware that they are given for 
the sole purpose of guidance, and further, that the exam candidate does not in any way relinquish or 
waive their responsibility to arrive on time at any state pesticide licensure examination.  Electronic 
directions are also found on the below Pesticide Exam Rosters and Results page. 
http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/pesticides/pesticide-exams-dates-and-rosters.html 
 
 
T H E  L A N T A N A   
(43 Scanlon DR, Randolph, MA 02368) 
 

 From Route 24: Take Route 24 North to I-93 North - formerly 128 South - to Exit 5A (Randolph, Route 28 
South). Take a right at the first set of lights onto Scanlon Drive. The Lantana is at the end of Scanlon 
Drive on the right. 

 From Boston: Take I-93 South (“Southeast Expressway”) formerly 128 North - to Exit 5A (Randolph, 
Route 28 South). Take a right at the first set of lights onto Scanlon Drive. The Lantana is at the end of 
Scanlon Drive on the right. 

 From Cape Cod: Take Route 3 North to I-93 South - formerly 128 - to Exit 5A (Randolph, Route 28 
South). Take a right at the first set of lights onto Scanlon Drive. The Lantana is at the end of Scanlon 
Drive on the right. 

 From Rhode Island: Take I-95 north to I-93 North - formerly 128 - to Exit 5A (Randolph, Route 28 South). 
Take a right at the first set of lights onto Scanlon Drive. The Lantana is at the end of Scanlon Drive on 
the right. 

 From the West: Take the Mass Pike to I-95 South to I-93 North (formerly 128 South) to Exit 5A 
(Randolph, Route 28 South). Take a right at the first set of lights onto Scanlon Drive. The Lantana is at 
the end of Scanlon Drive on the right. 

 

U P P E R  C A P E  C O D  R E G I O N A L  T E C H N I C A L  S C H O O L  
(220 Sandwich Road, Bourne, MA 02532) 
 

 From the NORTH: Take Route 24 South to Route 495 South (Exit 14A) Continue on Route 25 East.  At 
Bourne Rotary Circle take the 5th Exit onto Route 6A heading to Provincetown/Hyannis.  Take a sharp 
left at Sandwich Road. School is on the left. 

 
  From the EAST:  Take Route 195 Cape Cod (Sagamore Bridge).  Take exit 22A to Route 25 east.  At 

Bourne Rotary Circle take the 5th Exit onto Route 6A heading to Provincetown/Hyannis.  Take a sharp 
left at Sandwich Road. School is on the left. 

 
 From the CAPE: Take Route 6 West to Exit 1 to State Highway 6A/Sagamore.  Merge onto Sagamore 

Bridge Connector.   Turn Left at Adams Road.  Turn left at RT-6A/Sandwich Road.  Turn left at RT-
6A/Sandwich Road  Turn right toward Sandwich Road.  School is on the left. 

 
S P R I N G F I E L D  T E C H N I C A L  C O M M U N I T Y  C O L L E G E  ( S T C C )  
(One Armory Square, Springfield, MA 01102) 
 

From Route 91 going south follow Hartford Signs to Exit 7, Springfield Center and follow State Street sign to 
first light.  Go Left under highway to State Street and take Federal Street.From Route 91 going North take 
exit 4 Broad Street and follow East Columbus Avenue to 3rd Light.  Turn right on State Street.  Proceed on 
State Street to Federal Street. From Mass Turnpike take Exit 6 and turn left onto Route 291.  Take Armory 
Street exit.  Go around Rotary and Take Armory Street going south.  Stay on Armory Street until you come to 
Federal Street.  For both dates, 03/29/2013 and 05/17/2013, the exam is will be held in Building 2 (Scibelli 
Hall).  Campus security is present and usually can direct you. 


T E L E P H O N E  A L E R T ! ! !   
Exam facilities do not have staff that can answer your exam and license questions.  Call the Pesticide 
Program main line in Boston if you have exam and/or license questions (617) 626-1720. 
 
E X A M  P O L I C Y  N O T E  
In the event of a postponement and/or cancellation (including but not limited to snow dates) due to 
circumstances beyond its control, the Department reserves the right to reschedule all exam candidates to the 
next pre-scheduled examination.  IN THE EVENT OF BAD WEATHER CALL (617) 626-1841 AFTER 6:30 
AM ON THE MORNING OF THE EXAM TO FIND OUT IF THE EXAM HAS BEEN CANCELED. 
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R E S U M E  F O R M   
 

Individuals whom have two or more years of experience as a pesticide applicator in another state are also required 
to pass the Massachusetts Applicator License (core) exam.  They are NOT; however, required to wait the additional 
two-years to upgrade their credential to one with certification categories.  Such individuals should submit the below 
resume form with their Commercial Certification Exam Application after they have received their Applicator License.   
 
(PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

NAME: _____________________________________________________________________________ 
LAST     FIRST    MI 

STREET ADDRESS: _________________________________________________________________ 
STREET     APT # 

____________________________________________________________________________________ 
CITY     STATE     ZIP 

COMPANY/EMPLOYER: ____________________________________________________________ 
(If Any) 

Signature ____________________________________________________________Date___________________ 
All of the information on this form is true and complete to the best of my knowledge 

 

Please mark with a check [√] the one category you intend to become certified in: 
Category MA State Code Category MA State Code

    Aerial 34      Mosquito and Biting Fly Control 47 

    Agriculture 33      Regulatory 48 
    Aquatic 39      Right of Way 40 
    Demonstration and Research 49      Shade Tree and Ornamental 36 
    Food Processing 50      TBT 54 
    Forest 35      Termite/Structural Pest Control 43 
    Fumigation 42      Turf 37 
    General Pest Control 41      Vertebrate Pest Control 44 
    General Public Health 46      Wood Preservative 52 

 

License History 
(Attach additional sheets if necessary) 

List or write in the years and categories you have held a certification or license in Massachusetts or another state. 
 Years Certified/Licensed           State(s)                          Categories of Certification 

Education History 
Name of College(s) or  
Technical school(s) attended_______________________________________________________________ 
 

    one year     four year    certificate program    Other___________________________ 
 
Year graduated___________  Degree_________________  Major_________________ 
 
Please Enclose verification (i.e. copy of diploma, transcripts, etc.)   

 Additional educational credit may be given for seminars, short courses, correspondence courses, conferences or training meetings that 
are pertinent to the category(ies) for which you are applying providing attendance is verified.  Enclose copies of course descriptions and 
Certificates of Attendance. 

Pesticide Related Work History Experience 
(Attach additional sheets if necessary) 

Company/Employer _____________________________________Dates Employed_______________ 
     Address___________________________________________________________________________ 
Supervisor’s Name and 
Address__________________________________________________________________________ 

(if different from above) 
  ________________________________________________________________________________ 
Licensed in Category(ies)_____________________________________________________________ 
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This optional (not mandated) two-day workshop is designed to help individuals prepare for the pesticide applicator 
license exam.  Topics that will be covered are: Pest Identification, Pesticide Types and Formulations, Pesticides and 
Human Health, Pesticide Label, Pesticides and the Environment, Integrated Pest Management, Pesticide Laws and 
Regulations, and Practice Exam. If you have any questions about this workshop call: (413) 545-1044 (M-F 9am-5pm) 
 
Time 
1st day  8:45 AM – 4:30 PM, 2nd day 8:45 AM – 4:15 PM 
 

Registration Information & Fee 
$145.00/person (This covers the cost of the workshop only. 
Study manuals and exam fees are not included.) Pre-
registration is required.  
Study Manuals Needed & Other Information 
Please purchase your study manuals separately using the order 
form enclosed. The 3rd edition of the Core Manual, 2014 MA 
Core Supplement, MA Pesticide Law and Regulations are 
required for the workshop. This workshop is offered in order 
for you to have an opportunity to discuss questions that you 
have regarding the study manuals.  Therefore you should read 
the study manuals prior to attending the workshop. This 
workshop will not cover information in the certification 
manuals.  Individuals who participated in this workshop in 
2015 had a 20% increase in exam passing rate compared to 
individuals who did not take the workshop. 
 

Special Accommodations 
Please contact the Pesticide Education Program as soon as 
possible if you require any special accommodations for the 
two-day workshop. 
 

Refunds 
There will be no refunds in the event that an individual cannot 
attend a workshop.  Instead, another individual may take 
his/her place, or he/she can attend another workshop (provided 
that there is enough room).   
 

Cancellations 
To determine whether or not a meeting is cancelled due to bad 
weather, call the Pesticide Education office. We reserve the 
right to cancel a workshop if there are less than 12 people pre-
registered. If the meeting is cancelled, registration fees will be 
refunded.   
 

Confirmations 
If the Pesticide Education office receives your registration 10 
days prior to the workshop, we will send to you a confirmation 
letter that has additional meeting information and directions. 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

2017 Pesticide Applicator License Training Workshops
          sponsored by Pesticide Education, Agriculture and Landscape Program 

University of Massachusetts Extension     www.umass.edu/pested 

Select a workshop that is approximately 1 week before your 
scheduled exam. There are 4 different workshop locations 
 

Best Western Royal Plaza, Marlborough, MA 
 
 January 18 & 19    March 16 & 17  May31 & Jun 1 
 February 2 & 3    Mar31 & Apr1  June 28 & 29 
 February 9 & 10   April 13 & 14  August 2 & 3 
 February 20 & 21   April 20 & 21  Sept. 6 & 8 
 March 2 & 3   May 2 & 3  Sept. 28 & 29 
 March 9 & 10   May 15 & 16  November 15 & 17 
  

UMass Cranberry Experiment Station,  
East Wareham, MA 
 February 16 & 17      April 4 & 11      

 STCC, Springfield        TBA, Amherst Mass 
    April 6 & 7                May 10&11 

Your Name: __________________________ 
 

Company Name: ________________________ 
 

Address: __________________________ 
    No.           Street 

  __________________________ 
   Town  State        Zip code 

  __________________________ 
  Daytime/work phone number 

         __________________________ 
  Fax number 

 Mail Form to: 
Pesticide Education 

230 Stockbridge Road 
French Hall 

University of Massachusetts 
Amherst, MA 01003-9316

Check, money order (or government purchase order) 
payable to University of Massachusetts.   
Registration Fee is $145.00 per person. 

Governmental purchase orders may be faxed to 
(413)545-3075. Fed ID Code 043167352 

 
Or Register online at www.umass.edu/pested using a 

credit card (for extra service fee of $11.00) 

Please list your exam date: ___/___/17 
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EIGHT FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

Q1 Is my exam fee refundable and can I be scheduled for the next exam or can someone else go in my place when 
I was unable to take the test on the date I requested due to family circumstances?  

A No. There are no refunds or substitutions! The fee(s) you pay when you register for an exam is a processing fee. 
Pesticide Program policy requires you to submit another completed application and fee before the exam deadline for 
the exam date of your choice. Substitutions are administratively prohibitive create record keeping problems that would 
negatively affect the prior preparation for the State Pesticide Exams.  

Q2 At what time are the exams given? 

A Commercial and Private Certification exams begin promptly at 9 AM ending at 11:30 AM. The other exams, 
Applicator License  (core) and Dealer License exams begin promptly at 12:30 PM and ending at 2:15 PM. 
PLEASE ARRIVE AT LEAST 30 MINUTES BEFORE THE EXAM STARTS!!!! 

Q3 What will happen if lam late arriving to the exam site? 

A You will not be permitted to take the test and will lose the exam fee.  This strict policy is necessary in order to assure 
consistency and fairness to all the other exam candidates who have planned accordingly. You would need to reapply for 
the next scheduled exam and submit another exam application and fee. 

Q4 Are there any deadlines for submitting exam registration applications? 

A Yes. The registration deadlines are listed on the exam schedule. In accordance with regulations, you must submit your 
completed application and fee; such that, it is received at least one-week or five business days prior to the examination 
date. This allows staff the necessary time to process and prepare for the administration of each scheduled date. This 
also provides time for staff to be sure there is available spacing at the exam site. You may miss the deadline by 
submitting the completed application and fee at the last minute. If you miss the deadline, you will NOT be scheduled for 
that exam. All complete applications received after the deadline will be rescheduled for the next available 
examination date/location.  If you have a conflict with this rescheduled date/location, you must contact the 
Pesticide Program immediately and at least one-week prior to the next available examination date/location, to 
arrange an alternate date/location or for return of your completed application.  Failure to attend a scheduled 
exam will result in forfeiture of your exam fee.  There are no refunds or substitutions! 

Q5 Are there a maximum number of exam candidates that may register for an exam date? 

A Yes. The testing sites have a limited amount of space; therefore, for your comfort and exam security purposes the 
Pesticide Program may have no choice but to cut-off registration if the number of people registering is too large. This is 
most commonly seen for exarn dates in March and April. In this case, once the cutoff point is reached all other exam 
applications and fees would be returned and you would have to resubmit those materials with a different date. 

Q6 What is the acceptable method of payment? 

A. The fee may be paid by check or money order payable to: "The Commonwealth of Massachusetts". Cash or 
purchase orders CANNOT be accepted! 

Q7 How long will it take to get my exam results? 

A. The Pesticide Program will notify you within ten (10) business days of your exam results.   Note: If you do not receive 
your exam results within a reasonable amount of time such as ten (10) business days, fax or mail a letter so that we can 
send you a duplicate notification. You may also check on our web site (www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/pesticides) for 
the names of candidates that have passed pesticide exams. This information is organized by the date of the examination.   

Q8 What is the bad weather and cancellation policy? 

A. The exam schedule lists snow dates in case the exam must be cancelled. You may call (617) 626-1841 after 6:30 AM 
the day of the exam to hear a pre-recorded message regarding the status of the exam. If the exam is cancelled*, 
you will be told to report on the snow date. The Pesticide Program will not grant any refunds or exam date substitutions. 

*NOTE: The Pesticide Program seldom cancels an exam due to snow and encourages you to plan 
accordingly giving yourself ample travel time to safely reach the exam site on time. Candidates who are late 
will not be permitted to take the exam, but must resubmit a new exam registration application and fee.   
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IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
 
 
Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources (MDAR) main phone number:  (617) 626-1720 
Website: www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/pesticides 
 
The complete Pesticide Examination and License Information Bulletin is available for download from our website at: 
www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/pesticides.  You may also download a copy of our Regulations (333 CMR 2.00 - 14.00), 
our Law (Massachusetts Pesticide Control Act) and other Department and Pesticide Program publications.  In addition, 
you will find information on Continuing Education programs, Renewals, Pesticide Use Reports, and other useful 
information such as the State Restricted Use Products list, Rights-of-Way information, and other helpful pesticide links. 
 
Please check our web site for informational updates.  The Pesticide Program web site has the latest information on ALL 
Pesticide Program activities and other important programs related to obtaining and maintaining your pesticide credential.   
 
Exam Times: Commercial and Private Certification Exams:  Begin at 9:00 AM and End at 11:30 AM. 

Applicator License (Core) and Dealer License Exams: Begin at 12:30 PM and End at 2:15 PM. 
 
Exam seating begins 30 minutes prior to the start of the exam.  The exam starts promptly at the time given. 
 
Snow Cancellations:  In the event of bad weather, call (617) 626-1841 after 6:30 AM for a pre-recorded message with 
the exam dates, location and cancellation information.  If the exam has been cancelled the message will inform you that 
you should report on the assigned snow date (see p. 11 of the 2016 Examination and Licensing Information Bulletin). 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

Licensing and Certification Questions: 
Steven Antunes-Kenyon (617) 626-1784 

Pesticide Operations Coordinator 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
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PESTICIDE EXAMINATION AND LICENSE INFORMATION BULLETIN 
(2017 Edition)  Previous Editions Are Obsolete 

Department of Agricultural Resources 
Pesticide Program 
251 Causeway Street, Suite 500 
Boston, MA  02114-2151 


