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Date labels are the dates on food packaging that are accompanied by phrases such as “use by,” “best before,” “sell 
by,” “enjoy by,” and “expires on.” Date labels can lead to food waste because they are often misleading to 
consumers and result in safe, wholesome food being needlessly thrown away. Furthermore, date labels impact food 
donation in Massachusetts, because Massachusetts state law sets additional conditions on the sale or donation of 
any food once the labeled date has passed.  
 
Federal Law on Date Labels 
There currently is no federal law regulating date labels.1 Congress has, however, passed legislation delegating 
general authority to the FDA and the USDA to ensure food safety and protect consumers from deceptive or 
misleading food labeling.2 Unfortunately, the FDA and the USDA have not interpreted this authority to allow them 
to regulate date labels, thus: 

• The FDA does not require date labels on foods, other than infant formula.3  

• The USDA does not require date labels on foods under its purview, including meats, poultry, and egg 
products.4 If, however, USDA-regulated foods are dated, either as required under state law (see below) 
or voluntarily, they must include: (1) a day and month (and year for frozen or shelf-stable products) and 
(2) an explanatory phrase, such as “sell by” or “use before.”5  

 
Massachusetts State Law on Date Labels 
Because federal law is so limited, states have broad discretion to regulate date labels. As a result, inconsistent date 
labeling laws exist across the country.6 What has been consistent, however, is food manufacturers’ practice of 
basing these dates not on food safety but on optimal food quality and freshness.7 Despite this fact, many consumers 
continue to believe date label are related to food safety.8 However, no link has been shown between eating food 
after its labeled date and foodborne illness.9  
 
Massachusetts state law on date labels is among the strictest in the country. Many states have chosen either not to 
regulate date labels at all or to regulate only one or two foods, such as milk or shellfish.10 In contrast, 
Massachusetts generally requires all prepackaged “perishable” (a shelf life of 60 days or less) or “semi-perishable” 
(a shelf life greater than 60 days but less than 90 days) foods to have date labels.11 Despite that general 
requirement, the following categories of foods are exempt from Massachusetts’ date labeling requirements:12  

• Fresh meat, poultry, fish, fruits, and vegetables that are sold either unpackaged or in a container allowing 
“sensory examination” (for example, raw chicken or fish selected from a display case); 

• Salt and crystallized refined sugar; 

                                                 
1 See Food Product Dating, U.S. DEP’T OF AGRIC. FOOD SAFETY & INSPECTION SERV., 

http://www.fsis.usda.gov/wps/portal/fsis/topics/food-safety-education/get-answers/food-safety-fact-sheets/food-

labeling/food-product-dating/food-product-dating (last visited February 25, 2015). 
2 See What We Do, FOOD & DRUG ADMIN., http://www.fda.gov/AboutFDA/WhatWeDo/default.htm (last visited February 25, 

2015); Labeling/Labeling Approval, U.S. DEP’T OF AGRIC. FOOD SAFETY & INSPECTION SERV., 

http://www.fsis.usda.gov/wps/portal/fsis/topics/regulatory-compliance/labeling (last visited February 25, 2015). 
3 See Food Product Dating, supra note 1. 
4 See id.; Labeling/Labeling Approval, supra note 2. The USDA does, however, require a “pack date” for poultry and a “lot 

number” or “pack date” for egg products certified by the USDA. HARVARD FOOD LAW & POLICY CLINIC AND NAT’L RES. DEF. COUNCIL, THE 

DATING GAME: HOW CONFUSING FOOD DATE LABELS LEAD TO FOOD WASTE IN AMERICA 11 (2013). 
5 Food Product Dating, supra note 1. 
6 HARVARD FOOD LAW & POLICY CLINIC AND NAT’L RES. DEF. COUNCIL, supra note 4, at 14 fig. 4. 
7 See id. at 17. 
8 Id. at 19. 
9 See id. at 19-20. 
10 See id. at 14 fig. 4. 
11 See 105 Mass. Code Regs. 520.119 (2013). 
12 Id. 
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• Bulk foods to be used in the manufacture of other foods, not to be distributed to consumers; 

• Individually-packaged foods that are prepackaged as part of a larger food item, so long as the date labels 
are no sooner than the date label applied to the larger food item (for example, the granola in a yogurt 
parfait kit); 

• Prepackaged foods for retail sale weighing less than 1.5 ounces; and  

• Foods manufactured, processed, or stored for sale outside Massachusetts. 
  
In Massachusetts, date labels on prepackaged perishable and semi-perishable foods, as well as any foods that are 
labeled voluntarily, must meet specific requirements. For example, these foods must have a “sell by date” or “best 
if used by date” determined by the manufacturer, processor, or whoever packaged them.13 The date must be 
accompanied by a description of “recommended storage conditions,” if storage conditions would impact the date 
on the label.14 Once a date is applied to perishable and semi-perishable foods, it cannot be changed (“recoded”).15 
Date labels can be recoded for foods that are voluntarily labeled, but only by the party who applied the original 
date.16  
 
Despite the evidence that date labels are unrelated to food safety, Massachusetts (along with nineteen other states 
and the District of Columbia) sets additional conditions on the sale or donation of any food once the labeled date 
has passed.17 Specifically, in order to sell or donate a food that is “past date” in Massachusetts, the food must 
satisfy three criteria:18 

• It must be “wholesome,” and its sensory qualities must not have “significantly diminished”; 

• It must be separated from foods which are not past date; and 

• It must be clearly marked as being offered for sale after its sell by or best if used by date. 
Only if these criteria are met will the food donor or seller be eligible for protection from liability under The 
Emerson Act and Massachusetts’ Good Samaritan statute.19 To ultimately be afforded protection, however, the 
food donor or seller must meet the additional requirements of those laws, as described in Massachusetts Best 
Management Practices around Food Donation: Liability Protections.  
 
Conclusion 
In sum, because there is no federal law on date labeling, its regulation has been left largely to the states. 
Massachusetts follows one of the most restrictive date labeling laws in the country. In Massachusetts, all 
prepackaged perishable and semi-perishable foods must have date labels; once applied by the manufacturer, 
processor, or whoever packaged the food, the date label cannot be recoded. Further, Massachusetts is one of 
twenty states that set additional conditions on the sale or donation of foods after the labeled date. Past date food 
may only be sold or donated in Massachusetts if it meets three criteria regarding wholesomeness, separation from 
other foods, and identification as past date. 

                                                 
13 Id. 
14 Id. 
15 Telephone interview with Joan L. Gancarski, Food Protection Program of the Mass. Dep’t. of Public Health (Nov. 2,, 2011). 
16 Id. 
17 See HARVARD FOOD LAW & POLICY CLINIC AND NAT’L RES. DEF. COUNCIL, supra note 4, at 12, 22; Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 94, § 328 (2011).  
18 105 Mass. Code Regs. 520.119 (2013). 
19 See 42 U.S.C.A §1791 (b)(2), (c) (West 2011); Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 94, § 328 (2011). 
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Businesses and nonprofits that provide or receive donated food are generally well-protected by laws designed to 
provide immunity from liability related to such donations. The federal Bill Emerson Good Samaritan Food 
Donation Act provides liability protection for food donors; and Massachusetts’ Good Samaritan law provides 
additional liability protection to businesses in the state.  

 
The Emerson Act 
The Bill Emerson Good Samaritan Food Donation Act (the Emerson Act) provides a federal baseline of protection 
for food donors.1 The Act covers individuals, businesses, non-profit organizations, and the officers of businesses 
and non-profit organizations. It also covers gleaners—individuals that harvest donated agricultural crops to a 
nonprofit organization that distributes to the needy.2 These individuals and businesses are protected so long as 
they donate qualifying types of food in good faith.  

• Qualifying Food: The donated food must be “apparently wholesome” or an “apparently fit grocery 
product” and meet “all quality and labeling standards imposed by Federal, State, and local laws and 
regulations,” even if it is not “readily marketable due to appearance, age, freshness, grade, size, surplus, or 
other conditions.”3  

• Exception for Reconditioned Food: Even if a food does not meet all applicable standards, the donor 
can still be protected by the Emerson Act as long as he follows all of the Act’s reconditioning 
procedures,4 which include: 
1) The donor informs the nonprofit of the nonconforming nature of the product; 
2) The nonprofit agrees to recondition the item so that it is compliant; and 
3) The nonprofit knows the standards for reconditioning the item.5 

 
The Emerson Act protects many but not all donations of qualifying food. In order to get protection, the 
transaction must be structured such that: 

1) The donor donates to a non-profit organization.6  
2) This nonprofit organization distributes the donated food to needy populations.7 Direct donations to 

needy individuals do not seem to be protected by the Act.8  
3) The ultimate recipient does not pay for this donated food.9 However, if one nonprofit donates food 

to another nonprofit for distribution, the Act allows the first nonprofit to charge the distributing 
nonprofit a nominal fee to cover handling and processing costs.10 

The Emerson Act is quite protective of donors, and does not hold a donor liable unless the donor acts with gross 
negligence or intentional misconduct.11   

                                                        
1 42 U.S.C. §1791 (2012). 
2 42 U.S.C. §1791(b)(5) (2012). 
3 There is an exception for mislabeled food products that are “not readily marketable,” which can also be protected so long as 

the donor explains the mislabeling to the donee, and the donee has sufficient knowledge do and does recondition the product 

to meet applicable standards. 42 U.S.C. §1791(b)(1-2) (2012). 
4 Legal Guide to Food Recovery, U. ARK. L.L.M DEP’T OF AGRIC. & FOOD LAW 10 (2013), available at 

http://law.uark.edu/documents/2013/06/Legal-Guide-To-Food-Recovery.pdf. 
5 Id. 
6 The Act defines a non-profit as an incorporated or unincorporated entity that satisfies these requirements: (1) operates “for 

religious, charitable, or educational purposes” and (2) “does not provide net earnings to, or operate in any other manner for 

the benefit of any officer, employee, or shareholder.” 42 U.S.C. §1791(b)(9) (2012). 
7 42 U.S.C. §1791(b)(9) (2012). 
8 Id. 
9 42 U.S.C. §1791(b)(3) (2012). 
10 Id. 
11 42 U.S.C. §1791(c)(3) (2012). 



• Gross Negligence involves “voluntary and conscious conduct (including a failure to act)” by a person or 
organization that knew when the donation was made that the donated food was likely to have harmful 
health impacts.12  

• Intentional Misconduct is when a person or organization donates “with knowledge...that the conduct is 
harmful to the health or well-being of another person.”13  
 

In other words, one should not donate or facilitate the distribution of donated food that one knows is likely to be 
harmful or dangerous. Unfortunately, the Act gives little guidance on what activities qualify as gross negligence or 
intentional misconduct. However, the House of Representatives Report associated with the Emerson Act has 
indicated that each case must be analyzed individually, and that, for example, donating food past the sell-by date 
generally will not impact liability protections because such labeling is not federally required and often does not 
correspond to food safety.14 The lack of court cases interpreting the Act is an indication of how protective the Act 
is of donors; research does not turn up a single case related to food donation liability.15 

 
Liability Protection for Food Donation in Massachusetts 
There are two ways that state law is relevant to liability protection for food donations.  

• The Emerson Act: The Act indicates that donated food must meet all applicable state and local food 
quality and labeling standards in addition to federal requirements.16 This means that state law regarding 
food labeling and safety must be followed for a food donor to receive protection under the Emerson Act.  

• State Authority: States are free to enact laws that are more protective of donors than the federal 
Emerson Act, which sets a floor on liability protection.17  

The Massachusetts Good Samaritan Law protects donors who donate food, including food that is past date, to a 
nonprofit corporation for distribution as long as two requirements are met.18  

1) The food cannot be misbranded or adulterated at the time of donation and must have been 
manufactured, processed, prepared, handled or stored in compliance with all applicable public 
health regulations.19  This means that donated food must comply with the Massachusetts laws 
on date labeling in order to receive liability protection. These requirements are laid out in Best 
Management Practices around Food Donation: Date Labeling Laws.  

2) Any injury resulting from such donation cannot be the result of “gross negligence, recklessness or 
intentional misconduct.”20 Like the Emerson Act, the state law does not provide additional guidance 
on what constitutes gross negligence, recklessness, or intentional misconduct. 

The state law also clarifies the requirements for nonprofits that accept donated food for distribution. No nonprofit 
can distribute or serve donated food unless the relevant establishment has been inspected and is in compliance 
with all inspection or permit requirements.21 It cannot be charged a fee for these permits.22 Additionally, whereas 
the federal Emerson Act only allows charges to cover costs between nonprofits, the state law allows a nonprofit 
to charge a fee to individual recipients that is sufficient to cover the cost of handling the food, in order to encourage 
social enterprise.23  

                                                        
12 42 U.S.C. §1791(b)(7) (2012). 
13 42 U.S.C. §1791(b)(8) (2012). 
14 Legal Guide to Food Recovery, supra note 4 at 9. 
15 Id. 
16 42 U.S.C. §1791(b)(1-2) (2012). 
17 Legal Guide to Food Recovery, supra note 4 at 10. 
18 MASS. GEN. LAWS ch. 94, § 328 (2015).  
19  Id.  
20 Id. 
21 Id. One notable exception is that food prepared in private homes to go to nonprofit organizations is not subject to such 

licensing and inspection requirements. 
22 Id. 
23 Id. 
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Federal tax incentives provide important financial incentives to businesses that make food donation more cost-
effective and economically beneficial. These tax incentives have been extraordinarily successful in incentivizing food 
donation; when federal tax incentives for food donations were temporarily expanded to cover more businesses in 
2006, food donations across the country rose by 137%.1  
 
While in some states, federal tax incentives may be augmented by state level tax incentives,2 Massachusetts has no 
such state-level policy. Therefore, businesses in Massachusetts are only eligible for federal tax incentives, which are 
available in the form of a standard tax deduction or an enhanced tax deduction. A standard tax deduction allows a 
business to deduct the basis of the donated food (the cost that the business paid to acquire it), while an enhanced 
deduction is more desirable because businesses can deduct an amount that is higher than the basis of the donated 
food (see below for more details). This guide will focus on how business structure affects eligibility for federal tax 
incentives, how to calculate federal tax incentives, and what restrictions there are on these incentives. 
 
Who is eligible?   
 
C-Corporations: Under Section 170(e)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, C-corporations are eligible for an 
enhanced tax deduction for the donation of certain property, including food (see below for details on the 
calculation of the enhanced and non-enhanced deductions).3 This is a permanent provision of the tax code and C-
corporations are therefore always eligible for the enhanced deduction. 
 
Businesses other than C-Corporations (LLC, S-Corporation, Sole Proprietorship, etc.): At this time, 
businesses other than C-corporations are only eligible for a standard deduction. However, tax benefits can change 
from year to year and in the past Congress has extended the enhanced deduction to other businesses. In 2005, 
Congress passed the Katrina Emergency Tax Relief Act (KETRA), which extended the availability of the enhanced 
tax deduction to all businesses that donate food.4 This provision was re-authorized multiple times, but it expired 
on December 31, 2014.5 There is currently a bill in Congress that would permanently extend the enhanced 
deduction to businesses other than C-corporations.6 
 
How is the tax incentive calculated? 
 
Standard tax deduction: In general, businesses that donate inventory may claim a tax deduction in the amount 
of the property’s basis, which is usually its cost to the business and is often lower than the fair market value of the 
property.7  A donating business’ total annual deductions cannot exceed 10% of the business’ taxable income for the 
year.8 
 
Enhanced tax deduction: The enhanced deduction allows for the donating business to deduct more than its 
basis value. The donating business may deduct the lesser of (a) twice the basis of the donated food or (b) the basis 

                                                        
1 Feeding America Urges Swift Vote On Expired Tax Provisions, FEEDING AMERICA (June 8, 2012), 

http://www.feedingamerica.org/hunger-in-america/news-and-updates/press-room/press-releases/feeding-america-urges-

swift-vote-on-expired-tax-provisions.html. 
2 Currently Arizona, California, Colorado, Iowa, Kentucky, Missouri, and Oregon have tax incentives for food donation while 

Maryland and New York are considering such legislation. California law also provides a tax credit for 50% of the costs of 

transporting donated food. See Cal. Rev. &Tax. Code § 17053.12. 
3 See I.R.C. § 170(e)(3) (2014), available at http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/170. 
4 United States Tax Benefits, FOOD DONATION CONNECTION, http://www.foodtodonate.com/Fdcmain/TaxBenefits.aspx (last visited 

March 17, 2015). 
5 See H.R. 644, Fighting Hunger Incentive Act of 2015, CONGRESSIONAL BUDGET OFFICE (Feb. 5, 2014), 

https://www.cbo.gov/publication/49932. 
6 See id. 
7 See RONALD FOWLER & AMY HENCHEY, EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS – CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION ARTICLES: IN-KIND CONTRIBUTIONS 

(1994), available at http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-tege/eotopice94.pdf. 
8 See I.R.C. § 170(b)(2)(A), available at http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/170. 



 

of the donated food plus one-half of the food’s expected profit margin, had it been sold at its fair market value.9 
The 10% of taxable income limitation still applies.10  
 
For example, let’s say that a grocery store donates $100 worth of potatoes. The basis value of these potatoes, or 
the cost that the grocery store paid to acquire them, was $30. Under the enhanced deduction, the grocery store is 
eligible to deduct the smaller of: 

 
(a) $60 – this is the basis-times-two calculation ($30 x 2) OR  
(b) $65 – this is the basis plus one-half of the profit margin ($30 + 1/2[$100 - $30]) 

 
The enhanced deduction would be $60. The enhanced deduction is substantially higher than the standard 
deduction, which is limited to the basis value of $30. 
 
What restrictions and requirements are there on tax deductions for food donations? 
Recipient: In order to qualify for a federal tax deduction, a business must donate to a recipient organization that 
meets several criteria. First, the recipient must be a qualified 501(c)(3) not-for-profit as defined by the Internal 
Revenue Code.11 Additionally, the recipient must adhere to the following guidelines: 

(A) The recipient must use the donated food in a manner consistent with the purpose constituting that 
organization’s exempt status under IRC 501(c)(3), which means that the donated food must be used 
exclusively for charitable purposes;  
(B) The food must be used for the care of the ill, needy or infants;  
(C) The food may not be transferred by the recipient organization in exchange for payment of any kind.12 For 
example, if a business donates food to a food bank (the recipient organization), the food bank may not charge 
a soup kitchen or individuals eating at a soup kitchen for the food. 

 
Record keeping: In order to receive its tax deduction, the donating business must receive a written statement 
from the recipient organization.13 The statement must describe the contributed property and represent that the 
property will be used in compliance with the requirements outlined above.14 
 
Quality: The donated property must satisfy the requirements of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act 
(FDCA) at the time of donation and for the preceding 180 days.15 For food that did not exist for 180 days prior to 
donation, this requirement is satisfied if the food was in compliance with the FDCA for the period of its existence 
and at donation, and any similar property held by the donor during the 180 days prior to donation was also held in 
compliance with the FDCA.16 
 
Conclusion 
Due to the absence of a Massachusetts state tax incentive for food donations, Massachusetts businesses are only 
eligible to receive federal tax incentives. Non C-Corporations are currently only eligible for a standard tax 
deduction, while C-Corporations are eligible for an enhanced tax deduction. The enhanced tax deduction 
improves the cost-effectiveness of donating food and encourages entities to donate surplus food rather than 
dispose of it.  

                                                        
9 See I.R.C. § 170(e)(3)(B), supra note 3. 
10 See I.R.C. § 170(b)(2)(A), available at http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26/170. 
11 See I.R.C. § 170(e)(3), supra note 3. 
12 See I.R.C. § 170(e)(3), supra note 3; see also FOWLER & HENCHEY, supra note 7. 
13 Id. 
14 26 CFR 1.170A-4A(b)(4), available at http://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/26/1.170A-4A; see also FOWLER & HENCHEY, supra 

note 7. 
15 See 26 CFR 1.170A-4A, supra note 14. 
16 See id. 


