PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO HAZAROUS WASTE REGULATIONS 

TRANSPORTER/RECYCLING PROVISIONS AND FEES REGULATIONS

RESPONSE TO COMMENTS
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY
The Department of Environmental Protection (“the Department”) held six public hearings between May 3rd and 7th,  2002 for proposed amendments to the hazardous waste (HW) transporter regulations (310 CMR 30.400 and 30.800); the Vehicle Identification Device (VID) Permit Fee category (310 CMR 4.00); and hazardous waste recycling regulations (310 CMR 30.200).  Other than DEP staff, 12 individuals in total attended the hearings.  Nine written comments were received.  This memorandum presents an overview of the proposed amendments, summarizes the public comments received, and gives the Department’s response.
  
I.  TRANSPORTER VID FEE

Background

Pursuant to the Massachusetts statutes and regulations governing hazardous waste transporter fees found at Massachusetts General Law (“M.G.L.”) Chapter 21A, Section 18 and 310 CMR 4.00; and M.G.L. Chapter 21C and 310 CMR 30.000, the Department proposes a new approach for implementing the Vehicle Identification Device (VID) Fee for licensed transporters of hazardous waste in Massachusetts.  M.G.L. c. 21C Section 7 requires the Department to issue cards to licensed hazardous waste transporters and to assess an annual fee.  In a case brought against the Commonwealth, American Trucking Associations, Inc. v. Secretary of Administration, 415 Mass. 337, 613 N.E.2d 95 (1993), the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court (MA SJC) invalidated Massachusetts’ $200 per vehicle flat VID fee as unconstitutional under the Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution.  In its analysis, the SJC observed that the imposition of the full measure of the fee was triggered by an interstate truck simply crossing the border a single time, and that the fee was unapportioned and unrelated to actual use of Massachusetts highways.  In striking down the fee, the SJC found that it “d[id] not fairly approximate the value of any benefit received [in Massachusetts] or a cost actually incurred here.”  The Court stated that factors such as volume or mileage appear “to be the most practical means of allocating the approximate benefit received by each trucker.”

Following the 1993 court decision, the Department refunded roughly $1 million to out-of-state companies for VID Fees submitted from November 1988 through May 1993, and ceased charging VID Fees to hazardous waste transporters.  Since 1993, no VID Fee has been assessed to any hazardous waste transporter licensed in Massachusetts.  The general taxpayer has since borne the cost of the VID program, which continues to support the statutory objective of ensuring public and environmental safety through proper management and transport of hazardous wastes.  Because the statute requires the Department to assess a VID Fee, the Department is now reinstating the VID Fee in a manner designed to satisfy the criteria established by the court.  

The costs associated with the VID program include processing VID permit applications, making and issuing VID cards/stickers, providing technical assistance, and conducting surveillance, inspection, compliance monitoring, and enforcement activities (including reviewing reports submitted, managing data systems, and verifying fee payments).  There are currently 135 licensed hazardous waste transporters, with approximately 8,200 vehicles with current VIDs.  The VID program needs 5.52 “Full Time Equivalent” staff positions, which cost (using FY 2002 data) $582,851 annually.  These costs were described in detail in Attachment B of the “Public Hearing Draft: Revisions to the Hazardous Waste Transporter and Recycling Programs” (March 2002) entitled “VID Fee Cost Estimates.”
Over the past four years, the Department has engaged stakeholders in an extensive discussion about how to reinstate the VID Fee. In 1998, the Department evaluated several options for reinstating the VID Fee, and raised it as an issue in amendments to rules governing the hazardous waste transporter program.  In January 2000, the Department decided to separate the VID Fee issue from the proposed Transporter Regulations package, and to discuss the VID Fee further with its Policy and Fees Advisory Committee (PFAC).  In March 2001, the PFAC recommended that the Department reinstate the VID Fee, and also to increase it to cover a larger portion of DEP’s costs associated with implementing the VID program. The Department then re-evaluated the VID Fee in terms of the program’s costs, and recommended that the proposed reinstated fee be set at a level that would raise $466,000 (representing about 80% of the program’s costs) rather than $125,000 as had originally been discussed.  

The Department established the following criteria for reinstating the VID Fee:  

· the Fee should comply with the MA SJC decision, including apportionment;

· the Fee should cover costs of DEP permitting and compliance assurance services;

· the Fee should be based on streamlined administrative processes as much as possible; and
· implementation should rely on data that is readily available to transporters and the Department.
With these criteria in mind, the Department considered three options for re-establishing the VID Fee.  The options were as follows:

1. Annual Permit Application Fee apportioned by volume/quantity;

2. Annual Compliance Assurance Fee apportioned by volume/quantity; and,

3. Annual Permit or Compliance Assurance Fee apportioned by mileage.

In April 2002, DEP proposed for public comment regulation amendments to reinstate the VID Fee as an Annual Permit Application Fee that would be apportioned by the quantity of hazardous waste transported during the previous year.  For further discussion, see the “Public Hearing Draft:  Revisions to the Hazardous Waste Transporter and Recycling Programs …” (March 2002).

During the public comment period for the draft regulation, the Department advised all 135 licensed hazardous waste transporters of the public hearing and the opportunity for comment.  In addition, the Department has given at least eight briefings over the past three years to the Hazardous Waste Advisory Committee (HWAC) Transporter Subcommittee, which meets bi-monthly, and has briefed HWAC on these discussions.

Comments Received
The Department received seven sets of comments on the VID Fee regulations, which generally opposed reinstatement of the VID Fee in its proposed form and focused on three major issues (answered in Comments A-C below):  (a) billing lag time, (b) economic burden on transporters, and (c) unfair economic burden on Massachusetts transporters.  Commenters also suggested alternate solutions (see Comments D-L below), including reducing revenues collected, issuing refunds, establishing an upper cap, charging a greater “minimum” fee per company, charging a “minimum” fee per truck, including exempt waste, excluding recycled wastes, excluding hazardous wastes generated by Small Quantity Generators (SQGs) and Very Small Quantity Generators (VSQGs), and lastly introducing a generator fee.  Additional comments and questions are addressed in Comments M-S.

The Department, after carefully considering the issues raised, is promulgating final regulations with some changes in response to these comments.  

Summary of Final VID Fee Regulations
The Department has determined that an Annual Permit Application Fee based on the quantity of waste hauled would best satisfy the criteria. This approach relies on the existing process for issuing VID cards and stickers annually, and utilizes information that is currently required.  The Annual Permit Application Fee will require no major changes to existing DEP data management systems, and is administratively the most efficient for the Department to implement, and for transporters to comply with. The alternative approaches would require new data submissions and/or more complex administrative processes while offering no apparent advantages.

The new VID Fee will replace the annual Fee struck down by the court in 1993.  It will implement the requirements of M.G.L. c. 21C, Section 7 and M.G.L c. 21A, Section 18: 

· The Fee will be implemented as an Annual Permit Application Fee required of all transporters holding a Massachusetts hazardous waste license.  All licensees are required to obtain VID cards and stickers.  Transporters who neither pick-up nor drop off hazardous waste in Massachusetts are not required to obtain a Massachusetts license, nor are they subject to VID or VID Fee requirements.
· The Fee will be apportioned according to the quantity of hazardous waste picked up and/or dropped off in Massachusetts. 

· Wastes subject to the VID Fee are the same as those subject to the Massachusetts Hazardous Waste Transporter Fee (MA HWT Fee).  Wastes exempted from the MA HWT Fee pursuant to 801 CMR 4.07 are also exempt from the VID Fee, except for the minimum VID Fee described below. 

· The Fee will be set at $0.0014/lb of non-exempt hazardous waste manifested for transport during the accounting period (except for applications for 2003 VIDs, as described below).

· The Fee will be due with the transporters’ applications for VID cards/stickers for the following calendar year.  

· The Fee will be calculated on the basis of the amount of non-exempt hazardous waste manifested for transport during the twelve months ending on the March 31st prior to the VID application (in this document, this period is referred to as the “accounting period”)

· The “minimum” VID Fee will cover a portion of the Department’s administrative costs for reviewing applications and issuing VID cards and stickers to a transporter that hauled a minimal quantity or no hazardous waste during the accounting period as described below. The “minimum” VID Fee of $50 will be charged to:

· transporters who hauled only wastes that are exempt from the MA HWTF in Massachusetts during the accounting period;

· newly licensed transporters who did not haul hazardous wastes in Massachusetts during the accounting period; and,

· transporters who hauled less than 35,714 pounds of non-exempt waste in Massachusetts during the accounting period.  

Such transporters receive the benefit of having their applications processed and the $50.00 minimum fee covers a portion of the cost of providing that benefit.  As such, the minimum fee conforms to Commerce Clause requirements.

Initial Implementation for 2003 VIDs

To ease initial implementation of the reinstated VID Fee, the 2003 VID Application Fee will be assessed at $0.00084/lb of hazardous waste manifested, which is 60% of the final Fee amount. This reduced Fee will only be assessed for 2003 VIDs and stickers. For calendar year 2004 and subsequent VIDs and stickers, the Fee will be set at $0.0014/lb of hazardous waste manifested.  The “minimum” Fee for 2003 VIDs and stickers will remain at $50.   In addition, the Department will work with HWAC over the next year to evaluate whether to expand or contract the universe of hazardous wastes subject to the VID Fee.

II.  TRANSPORTER LICENSE MODIFICATION PUBLIC NOTICE REQUIREMENTS
The Department received a comment asserting inadequate lead time for the publication of newspaper notice about a transporter license modification.  To allow both a 21-day public comment period and adequate Departmental review time within the 30-day technical review period, the Department must retain its notice publication date requirement of four business days from the date that the Department receives the application.

III.  MERCURY RECYCLING EXEMPTION
Background

Mercury that is released into the environment can be transformed through biological processes into methyl mercury. This form of mercury “bioaccumulates” in fish to levels that are 100,000 times higher than levels in the water in which the fish live, making them unhealthful or dangerous to eat.  Methyl mercury is highly toxic to developing nervous systems. For these reasons, the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH) has advised pregnant women, nursing mothers, women of child-bearing age and children under 12 to avoid eating native freshwater fish from any Massachusetts lakes, rivers and streams.  DPH has also recommended that all Massachusetts citizens limit their consumption of certain marine species and avoid certain fish from those bodies of water where sampling has revealed a significant mercury problem.

The Massachusetts Executive Office of Environmental Affairs has adopted a “Zero Mercury Strategy,” which is designed to virtually eliminate mercury use and releases to the environment.  The Strategy focuses on reducing mercury air emissions and wastewater discharges from Massachusetts incinerators and businesses, and on educating consumers so they know what products contain mercury.  As of today, the high mercury emissions levels recorded in Massachusetts in 1996 have been cut in half.

Mercury is commonly found in several products in dental offices that are often disposed of as solid wastes:  bulk mercury (formerly used to prepare dental amalgam), excess pre-packaged amalgam, mixed amalgam with tooth scraps.  Dental offices also release mercury to the environment through wastewater as drains discharge to sewers or septic systems.  Dental offices contribute an estimated 13% of the mercury discharged to Massachusetts waters, primarily through wastewater discharges.  Studies have shown a link between the mercury that ends up at POTWs and the discharge of amalgam particles from dentist offices. The Department has targeted mercury for its Innovative Technology development and support efforts. An innovative technology currently supported by the Department is designed to remove heavy metals, including dissolved and fine particulates of mercury, from contaminated wastewater. The Department believes that waiving the permit requirement will facilitate the use of such technology. 

Summary of Final Mercury Recycling Exemption Regulations

The major difference between the existing regulations and proposed amendments is VSQGs may now send mercury-bearing Regulated Recyclable Material (“RRM”) off-site for recycling without having to obtain a Class A recycling permit.   The regulations assist VSQGs by describing in one place the applicable requirements as follows:

· Obtain a Massachusetts generator identification number;
· Ship RRMs only to authorized recyclers who have a Class A permit (unless out of state);
· Obtain a receipt of recycling certification from the off-site recycling facility; 

· Keep a record of each shipment sent off-site for recycling; and,

· Accumulate recyclable material in containers that are sealed and structurally sound and labeled as a RRM, if the recyclable material is accumulated on-site prior to shipping.

The Department believes that by eliminating the administrative burden associated with obtaining a hazardous waste recycling permit and reporting on recycling to the Department, these regulations will facilitate mercury recycling and further reduce a source of mercury pollution.  The proposed revisions would increase protection of human health and the environment by replacing disposal of mercury-bearing wastes with recycling.

Comments Received

The Department received comments on the mercury recycling regulations from three parties.  One party supported the proposal, but asked the Department to require dentists to recycle dental amalgam wastes.  In response, the Department is planning to conduct outreach to dentists, but cannot categorically identify dental amalgam waste as a hazardous waste at this time because existing data and studies are inconclusive. Another commenter inquired how eliminating a permit would promote recycling. The Department believes that dentists will be more likely to voluntarily adopt innovative treatment technologies not currently required by DEP to rid wastewater of mercury if no permit is required to recycle the hazardous sludges that these technologies generate as wastes.

Changes Made in Response to Comments

For the dental mercury Class A recycling permit exemption condition pertaining to containers, the labeling requirement was changed from “Regulated Recyclable Material” to ”Regulated Recyclable Material – Toxic – Mercury.” 

RESPONSE TO COMMENTS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TRANSPORTER REGULATIONS

I.  TRANSPORTER VID FEE

Primary Comments and Issues

A. Billing Lag Time







8
B. Economic Burden on All Transporters Doing Business in Massachusetts
9
C. Unfair Economic Burden on Transporters Whose Businesses are Based
in Massachusetts







9


Alternate Solutions Proposed by Commenters

D. Reduce Revenues To Be Collected





11
E. Issue Refunds From Excess Receipts





12
F. Establish an Upper Cap on VID Fee 





12
G. Charge Greater Minimum Fee Per Company




12
H. Charge Minimum Fee Per Truck





13
I. Charge VID Fee for the Transport of Exempt Hazardous Wastes

13
J. Exclude Wastes Destined for Recycling from VID Fee



14
K. Exclude Very Small Quantity Generator (VSQG) and Small 
Quantity Generator (SQG) Generated Waste from VID Fee 
14  

L. Charge VID Fee Directly to Generator Based on Manifest Data

15

Other Comments and Issues

M. Violation of 21C Statute






15

N. VID Fee Inconsistent with Fees Charged in Other States


16

O. Double Counting of MA HWT Fee Oversight Costs 



17 

P. Avoid Multiple Fees on Transport of Hazardous Waste


17

Q. Double Payment of Fees for Continuing Transport Shipments

17

R. Gallons to Pounds Conversion Factor





18

S. Arbitrary Discount Factor






18

II.  TRANSPORTER LICENSE MODIFICATION PUBLIC NOTICE REQUIREMENTS

T. Lead Time for Publishing Legal Notice in Local Newspaper


19

RECYCLING REGULATIONS 

III.  MERCURY RECYCLING EXEMPTION

U. DEP Should Improve Guidance for Dentists with Emphasis on 

Waste Identification  







19

V. Eliminating Permits Promotes Recycling




20

W.  
Container Labeling







20
X.  
Expand Applicability of Proposed Permit Exemption



20
List of Commenters:

1. Franklin Environmental Services, Inc.
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Commenters are identified by number in the following “Response to Comments”.

TRANSPORTER REGULATIONS

I.  TRANSPORTER VID FEE
Primary Comments and Issues 

A. Billing Lag Time 

1.
COMMENT:  The VID Fee should not be retroactive, since it will be impossible for the transporter to collect this Fee from generators who have already paid the transporter to take their wastes. (6)

RESPONSE:  The VID Fee is not being assessed retroactively.  The Commonwealth’s current fiscal situation and DEP’s budget for FY 2003 require that the VID Fee be reinstated as soon as possible in order to maintain the existing program. The final regulations for this Fee establish it as an Annual Permit Application Fee, which will be due to DEP after the rules are promulgated.  However, DEP understands that many transporters usually add a surcharge on their bills to collect fees from their customers, and then use the funds collected to pay fees when they are due.  By basing the 2003 Fee on the quantity of waste manifested in the accounting period, we understand that the reinstated VID Fee may not be entirely covered by this practice. 

To ease the initial implementation burden, DEP has set a lower rate for 2003 VID Application Fees.  The rate for 2003 VID Applications is $0.00084/lb of non-exempt waste manifested during the accounting period.  The rate for 2004 and subsequent VID Applications will be $0.0014/lb, to collect $466,281 in an average revenue year. 

2. 
COMMENT:   One transporter reported that his firm has lost a significant amount of business since April 1, 2002, and commented that it is unfair to base the new VID Fee on last year’s higher revenues [April 1, 2001 through March 31st, 2002], given the far lower revenues currently being earned. (6) 
RESPONSE:  The Department acknowledges that some companies have experienced a loss of business over the past year.  Further, reinstatement of the full VID Fee may not allow these companies adequate time for planning to pay the full Fee.  The Department has therefore decided to assess a lower Fee for 2003 VIDs, as described in Comment #1 above. 

3.
COMMENT:  There should be a 45-60 day advance notification period to allow companies to start collecting the VID Fee.  

RESPONSE:   While VIDs and stickers must be obtained from the Department by December 31 of each year, the regulations do not require VID Applications to be submitted by a particular date.  Allowing a 45-60 day “advance notification” of the final rule would prohibit DEP from collecting at least some application Fees for 2003 VIDs.   A lower application Fee will be charged for 2003 VIDs to balance the transporters’ request for “an advance notification period” with the Department’s need to ensure at least some of the resources needed to maintain the VID program.
B. Economic Burden on All Transporters Doing Business in Massachusetts

1.
COMMENT:  Recently all HW transporters with a Massachusetts license have experienced an increased financial burden.  Since September 11, 2001: 

· Business has gone down;

· Liability insurance has gone up by 40%; 

· Fuel costs have increased significantly, and,

· Costs associated with increased law enforcement scrutiny and training have increased.

In these difficult financial times, any form of fee reinstatement is unwarranted.  If a fee must be implemented it could and should be minimal. Why are transporters being forced to take on this additional financial responsibility? (1, 3, 6).   

RESPONSE:  The Department acknowledges that businesses in the Commonwealth are experiencing difficult economic times.  However, the VID Fee is required by state law (M.G.L. c. 21C, Section 7).  The Commonwealth uses revenues generated by the Fee to cover the expenses of the VID program which, along with the transporter licensing program, assures the public that hazardous waste is transported safely and that public health and the environment are protected. For the past nine years, the Department’s costs for the VID program have been paid by the general taxpayer.  Now, part of that cost is being shifted back to the transporters, to comply with the requirements of M.G.L. c. 21C.

2.
COMMENT:  The VID Fee will impose more paperwork on an industry that already is highly regulated.  Why are transporters being forced to take on this additional administrative responsibility? (6)
RESPONSE:  The Department has tried to minimize additional administrative burdens on transporters for the reinstated VID Fee by using the same transporter forms that are currently used for the MA HWT Fee. The annual permit application will be based on quantities of hazardous waste already reported on existing MA HWT Fee quarterly reports.  DEP believes that this is an efficient mechanism that relies on data that is readily available.  The Department will provide transporters with a one-page worksheet to help them calculate the VID Fee they owe.  
C.   
Unfair Economic Burden on Transporters Whose Businesses are Based in Massachusetts 

1.
COMMENT:  The proposed VID Fee creates a disadvantage to larger in-state transporters who will bear the major portion of the reinstated Fees.  The formula proposed of multiplying pounds by $0.0014 results in an inequitable solution for Massachusetts companies transporting hazardous waste in Massachusetts.  This new proposal penalizes transporters that are domiciled in Massachusetts and employ Massachusetts’s workers.  VID Fees that would be levied on transporters for their annual volumes of waste shipped would pose an undue burden on the average Massachusetts transporter; this is a fee Massachusetts’s transporters cannot afford. By allowing a “minimum” VID Fee of $50, high volume transporters are subsidizing the program for low volume users.  Things could be made easier and much less expensive to do business in Massachusetts.   (1, 2, 5)  
RESPONSE:  The new VID Fee is required of any transporter who picks up and/or drops off non-exempt hazardous waste in Massachusetts, whether their business is based in the Commonwealth or elsewhere.  The increased assessments for Massachusetts’s hazardous waste transporters will be an apportioned fee based on the quantity of non-exempt waste hauled, rather than on a flat fee basis.  The MA SJC has determined that an apportioned fee is inherently fair, because it is calculated on the basis of the amount of hazardous waste transported in MA.   There is no competitive disadvantage to Massachusetts based companies, because out-of-state transporters will pay the same VID Fee for their Massachusetts business. 

For the past nine years, in-state hazardous waste transporters have received the benefit of not paying VID Fees, even though the VID Fee was only deemed by the MA SJC to be unconstitutional in its impact of charging out-of-state transporters. 

2.
COMMENT:  Describe which hazardous wastes are subject to the new VID Fee. (1)

RESPONSE:  
Hazardous wastes used for setting the MA HWT Fee are also used to calculate the VID Fee, but if only exempt wastes are transported during the accounting year, a $50 minimum VID Fee will be charged for the next year’s VIDs.  The MA HWT Fee is paid on the basis of the quantity of waste shipped on a hazardous waste manifest, with specific exemptions for federal or state M.G.L. c. 21E response action wastes, wastes approved for reuse or recycling pursuant to 310 CMR 30.200, household hazardous wastes, and MA90 through MA99 recycled and non-hazardous wastes [and as otherwise described in 801 CMR 4.07(3)-(7)].  See also Comment “I” below.  

3.
COMMENT:  Will transporters hauling MA HWT Fee-exempt hazardous waste be subject to the new VID Fee?  

RESPONSE:  
Any company required to obtain a Massachusetts hazardous waste transporter license must pay a VID Fee to receive required VID cards/stickers.   Transporters of only MA HWT Fee-exempt hazardous waste will be subject to the “minimum” VID Fee of $50 per company.  

4.
COMMENT:   The MA HWT Fee and the VID Fee combined will equate to $8-$11 per typical drum offered for transport.  Companies have lost quotations/jobs for less than that $10 difference.  If VID Fees are circumvented or, for example, not billed or collected by the Department, or paid by competing transporters, those competing transporters would have an unfair advantage.  How will the Department ensure that competitors comply? (6)

RESPONSE: Hazardous waste transporters licensed in Massachusetts will not receive VID cards or stickers for the following calendar year unless they have applied for a VID permit and, in so doing, paid their VID Fee.  The Department will track compliance of all transporters and will initiate enforcement action against companies who transport hazardous waste in vehicles during the new calendar year without an updated card or sticker.  The Department will also continue to pursue unlicensed transporters of hazardous waste for fees and penalties.  If a transporter or any other person has information about non-household hazardous waste being transported in Massachusetts without a valid transporter license or in vehicles without valid VIDs, please call Bill Sirull of the Department’s Bureau of Waste Prevention at 617-292-5838.  The Department will follow up on any reported information. 

3. 5.
COMMENT:  Aren’t the MA HWT Fee and the proposed VID Fee really pass-through fees charged to hazardous waste generators?  Some Massachusetts companies do not get reimbursed by their generator customers for bookkeeping and accounting expenses.  When generators don’t pay fees that the transporter attempts to pass through, transporters end up absorbing disposal costs, including the MA HWT Fee, and now an additional VID Fee. This is a Fee transporters cannot pass on to their customers.  (1, 4, 6) 

RESPONSE:  The Department recognizes that, in most cases, both the MA HWT Fee and the reinstated VID Fee will be passed on to the generator.  For this reason, transporters are not usually placed at a competitive disadvantage, since all transporters are subject to the fees.  

6.
COMMENT:  The Department over-simplified its calculation of per vehicle costs for transporters subject to the proposed VID Fee.

RESPONSE:  To comply with the requirements of the May 1993 MA SJC decision, the Department is implementing an apportioned Fee based on the quantity of hazardous waste transported in Massachusetts.  The Public Hearing Draft (March 2002) included discussion of the “per vehicle” $200 flat Fee in effect prior to May 1993 for comparison to the proposed apportioned quantity-based VID Fee.  In Section 3(a) of the Public Hearing Draft, the Department indicated that it “currently has about 130 licensed hazardous waste transporters with a total of approximately 8,200 vehicles with VIDs.  Although actual volumes would vary significantly, if each vehicle hauls the same volume annually of hazardous waste in Massachusetts, the VID Fee would be approximately $57 per vehicle based on the size of the company fleet.  This represents about 28% of the $200 per vehicle Fee charged to transporters by the Department prior to the MA SJC decision.”  

Of course, actual volumes hauled vary significantly from one company to another.  Some transporters haul large amounts of non-exempt hazardous waste annually in Massachusetts, while some licensed haulers, including many out-of-state companies, haul mostly exempt wastes and only minimal volumes of non-exempt waste annually in Massachusetts.  

7.
COMMENT:   On a per vehicle basis, some companies will pay up to six times what they used to pay for their VID Fee.  For example this year, one Massachusetts company would have paid $4,200 under the prior fee approach, and under the new VID Fee will pay $16,700. (1)

RESPONSE:  Some transporters will pay more than $200 per vehicle and have submitted comments comparing the new rate with the formerly assessed $200 per vehicle.  The comparison is academic since the court has prohibited the Department from charging a flat Fee.  The Department believes that a quantity-based Fee is inherently more equitable than a flat “per vehicle” Fee. 

Alternate Solutions Proposed by Commenters

[Note that Comments D-K assume retaining, at least in part, the proposed volume-apportioned “permit application Fee”.  Comment L suggests abandonment of a VID Fee assessed to transporters. ]  

D.  
Reduce Revenues To Be Collected 

1.
COMMENT:   Using the proposed  $0.0014 per pound factor, wouldn’t actual volumes transported in Massachusetts generate VID Fee revenues that exceed program budgetary requirements?  (1, 5, 6)   

RESPONSE:  No. Over the last ten years, the MA HWT Fee receipts have averaged about $6,000,000/year.  Based on this average, the VID Fee at the $0.0014 per pound rate will generate only $466,231 (see Response to Comment #E below), which is what DEP needs to raise to cover 80% of its costs for the VID program (see Attachment B of the Public Hearing Draft  -- “VID Fee Cost Estimates”). 

2.
COMMENT:   The VID Fee could be reduced by half from the proposed $0.0014 per pound Fee to $0.0007 per pound, while still meeting the Department’s budgetary goals.  Another commenter stated that if a fee must be implemented, it could and should be minimal. (3, 5) 

RESPONSE:  Reducing the VID Fee rate by half would not allow the Department to cover most of the costs of the VID program over the long term.  Balancing the commenters’ concerns with the Department’s revenue needs has led the Department to implement a VID Fee to cover 48% of these costs for 2003 VID cards/stickers and 80% of these costs for subsequent year VIDs.  The remainder of the program’s costs are borne by Massachusetts taxpayers, who have been paying for the entire program since the VID Fee was discontinued in 1993.   

E.  
Issue Refunds From Excess Receipts

COMMENT:  The Department should create a mechanism to refund hazardous waste transporters if total receipts from the VID Fee exceed $466,231.  (1)  

RESPONSE:  The Department’s proposed VID Fee rate is based on a ten year average of MA HWT Fee receipts.  The Department anticipates annual fluctuations in actual receipts above and below this average.  Over time, the average receipts should balance out. The Department’s fees are set so they bring in sufficient funds to cover program costs on average over time. None of the Department’s other fees include provisions for rebates or surcharges.  The Department will neither: (a) charge a surcharge in years when the receipts are below $466,231, nor (b) issue refunds in years when the receipts exceed $466,231.

F.   
Establish an Upper Cap on VID Fee 

COMMENT:  Establish an “upper cap” on the amount an individual hazardous waste transporter will be required to pay for its VID Fee, even while still applying a fee rate.  This will ensure that the Department does not unintentionally assess fees in excess of those costs it endeavors to recover, and does not penalize transporters for increasing business.  [4] 

RESPONSE:  The MA SJC has directed that a VID Fee be an apportioned fee.  An upper cap would not be an apportioned approach, for it would discriminate against smaller licensed hazardous waste transporters and favor the larger transporter.  
G.  
Charge A Higher Minimum Fee Per Company 

COMMENT:  Hazardous waste transporters should pay a greater “minimum” Fee.  According to Attachment B of the Public Hearing Draft, transporters collectively receive 2.48 FTEs of Departmental services related to permitting and compliance (regardless if a quarterly MA HWT Fee report is submitted), and 3.04 FTEs of applicable compliance services related to Electronic Monthly Operating Report (EMOR)/ MA HWT Fee Report submissions.  Each of the 130 transporters benefits from 2.48 FTEs of the program for permitting and compliance services not related to waste reports.  A more equitable distribution would be for each of the 130 transporters to cover a proportionate amount of the cost for the 2.48 FTEs and then have the cost of the remaining 3.04 FTEs covered by a price per pound of MA HWT Fee Report (based on reported quantities of waste transported).  The Department should structure the Fee with a $1,611 per transporter base fee (covering the 2.48 FTEs described above) plus $0.00077/lb fee based on MA HWT Fee volumes (covering the 3.04 FTEs described above).  This formula should meet Constitutional muster, because the Fee would be fairly apportioned based upon the transporters’ actual transported waste volumes and actual use of the Commonwealth permitting services.  (2)  

RESPONSE:  The “minimum” annual $50 VID Fee covers some of the administrative costs of processing and issuing VID cards/stickers to a transporter that hauled a minimal quantity or no hazardous waste during the “accounting period”, i.e., the twelve months ending on the March 31st prior to the VID application.  Such transporters receive the benefit of having their applications processed.  As such, the minimum fee conforms to Commerce Clause requirements.  The VID Fee, which is apportioned by quantity of hazardous waste transported in Massachusetts during the accounting period, is an equitable distribution that conforms to the SJC decision in American Trucking.
In addition to covering a portion of the MA HWT Fee oversight costs, the VID Fee must cover the costs of other related VID compliance and permitting activities as referenced in Attachment B.  Generally, these costs are incurred in the oversight of transporters hauling significant quantities of hazardous wastes on Massachusetts roads, and not usually for permitting and oversight of out-of-state transporters who seldom transport hazardous wastes in Massachusetts.  A significant percentage of out-of-state transporters do very little business in Massachusetts.  The comments pertaining to licensed transporters hauling exempt hazardous waste are addressed in the response to Comment “I” below.

H.  
Charge A Minimum Fee Per Truck 

1.
COMMENT:  Out-of-state companies that license hundreds of vehicles are the biggest burden to Departmental resources. Out-of-state transporters cost the Department more in permitting, compliance checks, out-of-state audits, and enforcement costs than costs for oversight of in-state transporters.  Checking compliance, making hundreds of VID cards/stickers, and monitoring nationwide (and Canadian) operations of out-of-state companies would seem to be more costly than $50 annually per company. The Department’s program costs relate to all transporters of hazardous waste, regardless of whether the waste is subject to the MA HWT Fee. (1, 4)

RESPONSE: The Department’s resources are devoted primarily to oversight of transporters who actively pick up and/or drop off hazardous waste shipments in Massachusetts, regardless of whether they are based in-state or out-of-state.

2.
COMMENT:  The Department should charge a “minimum” per truck (e.g., $20) in addition to the apportioned Fee with its default $50 per company “minimum”charge. (1)  
RESPONSE:  The Court ruled against a flat per vehicle VID Fee.  A flat Fee per vehicle, even at a “minimum” level of $20 per vehicle, would contravene the “apportionment” directive, and could expose the VID Fee to legal challenge.

I.  
Charge VID Fee for the Transport of Exempt Hazardous Wastes

COMMENT:  The hauling of some categories of waste that are exempt under the MA HWT Fee should be charged the VID Fee.  One commenter suggests that wastes exempt from the MA HWT Fee pursuant to 801 CMR 4.07 should be subject to the VID Fee, except for household hazardous waste, wastes which are recycled pursuant to 310 CMR 30.200, and “those wastes otherwise recycled”. The data reported in Column 3 of the MA HWT Fee Report excludes wastes not subject to the MA HWT Fee and the VID Fee as well.  In the proposed VID Fee, an out-of-state company will pay a default $50 “minimum” VID Fee per company and license tens if not hundreds of vehicles to transport tens of thousands of tons of exempt wastes and never pay VID Fees above the $50 per company “minimum”.  Haulers of exempt wastes, primarily related to the Central Artery (CA), Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA), Federal/State response action sites, and household hazardous waste jobs, consistently generate large volumes of exempt wastes; out-of state companies maintain large fleets with the capacity [to] service these big campaigns and will benefit by creating bottom line revenue; meanwhile, in-state companies will pay more VID Fees on several drums of hazardous wastes than an out-of state company will pay on tens of thousands of tons of exempt waste.  If these large volumes of exempt waste were included in the basis for the VID Fee, it would reduce the fee rate from the proposed $0.00140 per pound rate.  If a waste necessitates a hazardous waste transporter license, then it should be accounted for in the VID Fee structure.  Including at least some of the exempt wastes will ensure that all licensed transporters managed by the Department program contribute equitably to the program costs.  Are there not many more equitable methods that can be instituted without putting the burden on so few?  (1, 2, 3, 4) 

RESPONSE:  Exemptions to the MA HWT Fee were created to reflect policy goals established by M.G.L. c. 21C and 21E, and may reasonably be applied in the establishment of the VID Fee. Exempted wastes are exempt for all transporters and do not favor one type of firm over another.  After promulgating the VID Fee regulations, the Department will open future discussions with stakeholders on whether the VID Fee should apply to exempted waste categories.   The Department will work with the HWAC over the next year to evaluate the universe of wastes subject to the apportioned VID Fee.

J. 
Exclude Wastes Destined for Recycling from VID Fee 

COMMENT:  Wastes destined for recycling should be exempt from the VID Fee.  The existing regulatory hurdles under the Massachusetts hazardous waste recycling regulations at 310 CMR 30.200 result in much recycled waste having little or no regulatory fee advantage over waste destined for disposal. Under the VID Fee proposal, there is no regulatory advantage for recycling over waste destined for disposal.  Since the proposed VID Fee is a quantity-based fee without consideration of whether the waste is recycled, the Department misses an opportunity to shepherd more environmentally responsible methods of waste management.  Recycling benefits all of the Commonwealth’s citizens and protects the Massachusetts environment from illegal abandonment or disposal of hazardous waste.  Wastes that are recycled pursuant to 310 CMR 30.200, and “those wastes otherwise recycled” should not be subject to the VID Fee. (4)  

RESPONSE:  Much of the hazardous waste that is recycled is specification waste oil and other “Class A regulated recyclable materials”.  These wastes are currently exempt from the MA HWT Fee.  If only exempt wastes are transported during the accounting year, a $50 minimum VID Fee will be charged for the next year’s VIDs.  Over the next year, the Department will review the exemption categories and work with the HWAC to evaluate whether to expand or contract the universe of wastes that would be subject to the VID Fee.

K.  
Exclude VSQG and SQG Generated Waste from VID Fee

COMMENT:   Safe, reliable, and cost-effective hazardous waste management is needed to service small businesses.  Hazardous waste transporters cannot absorb the cost of another fee increase and will be required to pass the fee increases to the small businesses serviced.  Since the VID Fee will be passed on to hazardous waste generators, VSQGs and SQGs in MA would bear an additional financial burden atop an already exorbitant fee structure (the MA HWT Fee).  Small businesses must count their pennies each and every day, and proper management of hazardous waste comes at a cost.  Rather than pay higher fees for proper waste management, some small businesses operating at slim profit margins and faced with ever-increasing fees might avoid proper hazardous waste management and make less desirable waste management decisions such as illegal abandonment or disposal.   Shouldn’t VSQG and SQG wastes be exempt from the re-instated VID Fee?  (4)

RESPONSE:  No.  All Massachusetts hazardous waste generators are subject to the Massachusetts hazardous waste statute and regulations.  The Department believes there would be no justification to exempt waste generated by VSQGs and SQGs.  VSQGs already benefit from regulations allowing them to self-transport their hazardous waste. Exempting VSQG and SQG generated waste would create a greater burden on Large Quantity Generators (LQGs).  Further, it would require greater expenditure by the Department in setting up a new load-by-load tracking system and would greatly increase the costs of oversight.  The result would be a more expensive VID Fee for those remaining non-exempt wastes.  

L.  
Charge VID Fee Directly to the Generator based on Manifest Data

COMMENT:  Could the state calculate the VID Fee from manifest copies and send companies a bill? Other states (Connecticut and Vermont) bill the generator directly off the manifest. (6)  

RESPONSE:  M.G.L. c. 21C, Section 7 requires the Department to charge transporters a VID Fee.  Abandonment of a VID Fee charged to hazardous waste transporters in favor of a manifest based fee charged directly to generators would contravene both the statutory mandate and the MA SJC decision.  Furthermore, implementing a billing system based on manifests, instead of the proposed application Fee, would add significant collection costs that would further increase the estimated VID Fee.  The Department believes the simplest and cheapest way for it to reinstate the Fee as guided by the Court is to use the existing infrastructure of the MA HWT Fee system.  The Department’s recommended approach relies on existing data that transporters already submit to the Department and is less expensive for both the Department and the transporter.   

Other Comments and Issues

M.  
Violation of 21C Statute

1.
COMMENT:  Hasn’t DEP been in violation of the 21C statute for nine years for its failure charge a VID Fee? (5)  

RESPONSE: Since May 1993, the Department has not implemented the c. 21C statutory requirement.  The Department acknowledges that the general taxpayer has borne the VID program cost since the 1993 court case.  Since 1998, the Department has worked through its public participation process with the HWAC Transporter Subcommittee, HWAC, and PFAC to review options for reinstating a VID Fee, and has decided to reinstate a VID Fee at this time.   

2.
COMMENT:  Why are transporters required to calculate and input data for reports, and collect, hold, and pay the MA HWT Fee and the proposed reinstated VID Fee?  Could the law

(c. 21C statute) be changed or amended? (6)  

RESPONSE: Hazardous waste transporters are legally bound to pay the MA HWT Fee pursuant to M.G.L. c. 21C, Section 7 and the MA HWT Fee regulations, 401 CMR 4.07. Hazardous waste transporters are legally bound to pay the VID Fee pursuant to M.G.L. 

c. 21C, Section 7; the Department’s Hazardous Waste Regulations, 310 CMR 30.000; M.G.L. c. 21A, Section 18, and 310 CMR 4.00.  Only the Legislature can amend a state statute.  This VID Fee takes the same approach that has been used for many programs to ensure that the regulated firms pay for the services they receive from the Commonwealth.  
N.  
VID Fee Inconsistent with Fees Charged in Other States

1.
COMMENT:  Other states use flat transporter fees. (1)

RESPONSE:  Massachusetts’s flat Fee was held to be unconstitutional by the MA SJC.  

2.
COMMENT:  How is it that some other states, for example New Hampshire, Indiana, South Carolina, have no permitting/licensing fees, no transporter vehicle identification device fees, and no generator hazardous waste fees?  One commenter, who transports hazardous waste in all 48 contiguous states, reports that it pays a hazardous waste transporter fee in only nine states. (2, 6) 

RESPONSE:  Seven of the nine states that do not levy transporter fees (Hawaii, Kentucky, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Washington) do not have transporter licensing programs and therefore have no administrative and oversight costs. Two states, Arkansas and New Hampshire, issue permits to transporters, and yet have chosen not to charge fees.  Other states collect a variety of apportioned or flat transporter fees, and some have separate fees for transporter permitting/licensing. In some states (e.g., Connecticut), fees are charged directly to hazardous waste generators.  In other states, (e.g., New York and Michigan), fees apportioned by volume are charged to the hazardous waste disposal facility.

3. 
COMMENT:  Why can’t Massachusetts replace its VID card system with a simplified approach similar to New Hampshire which issues a one page permit that is carried on the vehicle? (6)

RESPONSE: Massachusetts law (M.G.L. c. 21C) requires VID cards and payment of an annual VID Fee.  The purpose of the VID card is to link each vehicle transporting hazardous waste generated in or destined for Massachusetts to one licensed company.  

4.
COMMENT:  With fees that are five to ten times higher than other states, Massachusetts is substantially more expensive compared to other government agencies with similar oversight.  (1, 2)

RESPONSE:  The VID Fee is designed to cover 80 percent of the costs of the VID program.  In other states, transporters may be subject to a variety of fees.  Other states employ a variety of mechanisms for funding their transporter programs and hazardous waste site cleanups.  These mechanisms may include volume-apportioned assessments to generators/disposal facilities and/or drawing revenues from their General Funds supported by taxpayers. 

5.
COMMENT:  This unbalanced taxing of hazardous waste transporters in Massachusetts (i.e., the MA HWT Fee) will be exacerbated should Massachusetts add the additional VID Fees. (2)

RESPONSE:  The “additional VID Fee” is a reinstatement of a fee currently required by M.G.L. c. 21C, Section 7.   Massachusetts has extensive public water supplies and other environmentally sensitive resources protected by its cleanup and hazardous waste regulatory programs, and uses fees and taxes to help support its programs, as do most other states.

O:  
Double Counting of MA HWT Fee Oversight Costs  

COMMENT:  The mechanism to calculate the VID Fee is based upon the MA HWT Fee Report.  Although the fees for the two programs are calculated from the same data, the two programs are separate and distinct.  There are significant cost components included in the calculation of the 5.52 FTEs including administration of EMORs and of MA HWT Fee oversight (combined 3.10 FTEs).  Are these costs of administering the oversight and compliance activities for the MA HWT Fee already covered elsewhere?  If so, isn’t the proposed VID Fee inflated?  (2)  

RESPONSE:  No.  The reinstated VID Fee will support 2.1 FTEs for oversight and compliance activities related to the VID Fee.  When the MA HWT Fee was set up in 1986, it only covered the cost of 0.5 FTE for oversight of the MA HWT Fee.  Because the MA HWT Fee generates a large revenue stream, the Department now devotes 4.2 FTEs to ensuring that fees are paid properly.  There is no duplication between the MA HWT and VID Fees.

The EMORs data system supports multiple hazardous waste program objectives, including compliance with VID requirements.  DEP’s costs for maintaining the EMORs data system will be partially supported by the reinstated VID Fee, but is also supported by other related DEP fees (e.g., the annual compliance fees paid by hazardous waste generators).

P:   
Avoid Multiple Fees on Transport of Hazardous Waste

COMMENT:  Regulations at 801 CMR 4.07(2) state that the Commonwealth desires… “to avoid the imposition of multiple fees on the transport of a single volume of waste.”  The intent is clear to not impose additional fees above the volume/weight-based fee already imposed on transporters.  The Department’s proposed VID Fee stands in contradiction to this intention.  (4) 

RESPONSE:   The statement does not apply to the VID Fee.  M.G.L. c. 21C requires imposition of both the VID Fee and the MA HWT Fee.  The intent of the above cited section of the MA HWT Fee regulation is to eliminate double counting of wastes by exempting from the MA HWT Fee wastes leaving a Massachusetts Treatment Storage and Disposal Facility (TSDF) being sent to a final disposal site. Those otherwise non-exempt wastes were already subject to a MA HWT Fee when they were delivered to the TSDF.  

Q.    
Double Payment of Fees for Continuing Transport Shipments

COMMENT:  Under these regulations, is it possible two companies will end up paying the transporter VID Fee on continuing transportation of hazardous waste via a truck-to-truck transfer at a facility?  If the waste is manifested to a different facility and brought temporarily to a TSDF and transferred from one truck to another for logistical purposes, will both the inbound and outbound transporter be charged the VID Fee?  (2)

RESPONSE:  Only one transporter is required to include the quantity transported in calculating a single VID Fee.  The Department has interpreted the rules to cover the following situations:  

· when a TSDF facility in Massachusetts accepts a shipment, signs the manifest, and ships the waste out on a new manifest, the outgoing shipment is reported as exempt waste, so as not to double-count; and,

· when a shipment is generated in MA and shipped to a TSDF facility in MA where a truck-to-truck transfer occurs pursuant to the TSDF license conditions, the first transporter will include that quantity in its VID fee calculation.  

The Department is willing to explore other possible double-counting scenarios proposed by the HWAC Transporter Subcommittee and develop guidance as necessary.  

R:   
Gallons to Pounds Conversion Factor

COMMENT:  In its MA HWT Fee Report and in the proposed VID Fee, the Department uses ten pounds per gallon to convert liquid measures to weight (i.e. gallons to pounds).  Since many liquid waste streams are aqueous, wouldn’t 8.0 or 8.4 pounds per gallon be a more accurate conversion factor for liquid waste streams?  Most liquid wastes transported have a density lower than that of water.  The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania uses a factor of 8.0 in calculating its transporter fee. (2,3).   

RESPONSE:  Not all hazardous waste weighs the same as water (i.e., 8.4 pounds per gallon); there is a wide range of weights of hazardous waste transported.  The density of liquid hazardous waste varies considerably depending on its nature (e.g., whether it’s aqueous or organic).  To maintain consistency, the Department will, in its VID Fee calculations, retain the same 10 pounds per gallon factor that is used to calculate the MA HWT Fee.  The conversion factor of 10 pounds per gallon was chosen in 1986 when the Executive Office of Administration and Finance promulgated regulations establishing the MA HWT Fee.   It approximates an average of the density of petroleum-contaminated aqueous liquids (which typically have a density close to or under 1.0 and a conversion of, for example, 8 pounds per gallon) and higher density hazardous waste shipments of pure product (e.g., TCE at 12.17 pounds per gallon).  The Department encourages transporters to directly weigh shipments of hazardous waste so that the amount of hazardous waste shipped is accurately measured.  If this is done, conversion factors are not needed.  
S.  
Arbitrary Discount Factor

COMMENT:   The Department’s calculations are not documented and reasons are not given for the 20% discount calculation in the cost of the FTE’s.  Absent any further justification, isn’t the discount factor of 20% based on “accounting for the variability of the estimates contained in the analysis” rather arbitrary?  (2) 

RESPONSE:  It is a matter of common practice in assessing fees for service to apply an 80% factor (the inverse of the 20% discount), given the variability described.  The Department’s proposed VID Fee rate is based on 80% of the VID program costs during one year after looking at the annual average amount of $6,000,000 that has been raised by the MA HWT Fee over a recent ten year period.  The Department has evaluated fluctuations above and below this rate for the past 12 years.  In 1999, total MA HWT Fee receipts totaled $7,043,893, which is 17.4 % higher than the $6,000,000 average.  In three other years (1991, 1992, and 2,000), MA HWT Fee receipts exceeded the $6,000,000 average by between 11.0 and 12.4%.  During 1990, 1993  -1997, and 2001, MA HWT Fee receipts were less than $6,000,000.  Total MA HWT Fee receipts have not exceeded the $6,000,000 average by as much as 20% in the past twelve years.  Therefore, the 20% discount factor provides a reasonable assurance that, even in a higher revenue year, VID Fee receipts will not exceed the Department’s budget requirement for the VID program, which totals $582,581(and corresponds to 5.52 FTE’s).   
II.  TRANSPORTER LICENSE MODIFICATION PUBLIC NOTICE REQUIREMENTS
T.  
Lead Time for Publishing Legal Notice in Local Newspaper 

COMMENT:  Four days is inadequate time for a company to publish a notice in a local paper, given certified mail is not received for five to ten business days. To avoid this situation, the regulation could require newspaper publication within four days of receipt of the application by the Department or within seven days after submittal of the application to the Department by registered mail.  (2)
RESPONSE:  The Department understands that transporters will not have adequate time to schedule the newspaper notice if they wait to receive the certified letter back from the Department.  The Department has only 30 days to complete its technical review, and must hold a 21-day public comment period within this 30-day period.  Allowing at least three days at the end of the public comment period for the Department to review submitted comments and make its decision, the applicant therefore needs to publish the newspaper notice no later than six days after the Department receives the application. Therefore, DEP is retaining its proposed notice publication deadline of four business days (this is the equivalent of six calendar days covering a weekend) from the date that the Department receives the application.  In the transporter license modification application, the Department will advise transporters to contact the Department by telephone or email before they submit a license modification application, to discuss an appropriate publication date for the newspaper notice, if applicable.  

RECYCLING REGULATIONS

III.   MERCURY RECYCLING EXEMPTION
U. 
Dentists Need Better Guidance, with Emphasis on Waste Identification  

COMMENT:  The proposed permit exemption for mercury recycling will be more effective if 

the Department takes a more active role in instructing dentists on how to manage mercury-bearing wastes, since historically there has been confusion regarding whether such materials are “RCRA hazardous” wastes or not. (7)

RESPONSE:  Dental amalgam has not clearly either passed or failed the Toxicity Characteristic Leaching Procedure (TCLP), which is a test used to determine whether a waste is hazardous or not. DEP has reviewed a number of published studies and has found the results to be inconclusive. 

The Department is planning to increase its outreach to dentists on waste management. Promulgating the rule that waives the permit requirement for recycling certain mercury-bearing wastes will be an opportunity to reassess and update existing hazardous waste fact sheets and guidance documents for dentists. DEP will coordinate its outreach efforts with the MWRA, other Publicly Owned Wastewater Treatment Works, and the Massachusetts Dental Society, as well as with companies involved in providing hazardous waste management services and marketing pollution control devices. In addition to hazardous waste requirements, the guidance will inform dentists of the Executive Office of Environmental Affairs’ policy goal of working toward the virtual elimination of mercury releases to the environment.

However, due to the inconclusive test results referenced above, the Department is not at this time in a position to formally classify dental amalgam wastes as “hazardous”. Therefore, the Department’s revised guidance will advise dentists that dental amalgam may be a hazardous waste, and that it must either be managed as such, recycled pursuant to 310 CMR 30.200, or tested prior to disposal to document that it has been determined to be non-hazardous. Therefore, the emphasis of the Department’s guidance will be that recycling is the best option since it is cost-effective (no testing is required if recycled) and environmentally protective. 

V.  
Eliminating Permits Promotes Recycling

COMMENT:   How does eliminating a permit requirement promote recycling? (8)

RESPONSE:  Eliminating the permit will reduce transaction costs of using innovative pollution control. While the mercury-bearing wastewater generated by dentists is not necessarily a hazardous waste, the treatment of such wastewater can generate a hazardous sludge. The Department believes mercury pollution control technologies are more likely to be utilized by dentists if no permit is required, and that the adoption of such technology will ultimately lead to an increase in the amount of mercury recycled in Massachusetts (and removed from wastewater discharges).
W.  
Container Labeling

COMMENT:  The conditional requirements for mercury characteristic sludge exemption include labeling requirements for containers accumulated onsite prior to shipping.  Currently, the text reads “… and labeled as a regulated recyclable material.”  The commenter suggests that the text be re-written as “and labeled with the words “Regulated Recyclable Material”.  

RESPONSE:  The text has been modified to require that the container be labeled “Regulated Recyclable Material - Toxic - Mercury”. 

X.  
Expand Applicability of Proposed Permit Exemption 

COMMENT:  The regulatory approach proposed for mercury waste should be applied to other materials similarly recycled. (4)

RESPONSE: In addition to its proposed regulatory approach for mercury waste, the Department has also been evaluating the current Class A recycling permit requirements. The focus of this review (which has been underway for over a year) has been on replacing the Class A permit requirement for on-site recycling activities with performance standards.  Other than the proposed permit exemption for mercury wastes being finalized with this Response to Comments document, the Department has not yet proposed waiving the permit requirement for off-site shipments of other types of RRMs, because DEP is currently discussing with the US EPA issues of how these types of changes would comply with federal rules. This issue will be re-evaluated when the next set of Class A recycling regulations are proposed.

� Please note that the Public Hearing Draft is available on the Department’s web site at � HYPERLINK "http://www.state.ma.us/dep/bwp/dhm/dhmpubs.htm#regs" ��http://www.state.ma.us/dep/bwp/dhm/dhmpubs.htm#regs� (click on “phvidss.doc”) and � HYPERLINK "http://www.state.ma.us/dep/files/permits/permit.htm#reg" ��http://www.state.ma.us/dep/files/permits/permit.htm#reg� (click on “feeregs.doc”). � HYPERLINK "http://" ���.  
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