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Application Fee

The processing fee for reactivation from retirement is non-refundable.  Please make a check in the amount of $600.00 payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  A certified check or money order is preferred, but personal checks are accepted.  Applications unaccompanied by the reactivation from retirement fee will not be processed.

Practice of Medicine
The “practice of medicine” is defined in the Board’s regulations, in part, as the following conduct: diagnosis, treatment, use of instruments or other devices, or the prescription or administration of drugs for the relief of diseases or adverse physical or mental conditions.  A person who holds himself out to the public as a “physician” or “surgeon” or with the initials “M.D.” or “D.O.” in connection with his name and who also assumes responsibility for another person’s physical or mental well-being is engaged in the practice of medicine.

Application Instructions

Social Security Number:  Your social security number may be used to facilitate the authorized sharing of information with designated agencies for identification of licensees for the following purposes:  reporting of disciplinary actions to national data reporting systems; tax default status; student loan default status; child support arrearages; Medicaid provider eligibility; possession of Massachusetts controlled substances registration; and collection of fines from Board disciplinary case.  Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405 (c) (2) (c) (i), (v), (vi) and M.G.L. c. 30A, § 13A, and M.G.L. c. 119A, § 16, you are required to provide this information.  The Board considers this information highly confidential and it is not subject to release, except as specifically authorized.

Postgraduate Education and Hospital Appointments:  Chronologically list and date all educational and professional training experience and employment from the date of graduation from medical school to the present.  Account for all periods of time, whether or not you were engaged in the practice of medicine.  Also enclose a copy of your updated curriculum vitae by month and year.
Medical Malpractice Insurance:  Indicate whether your medical malpractice insurance is covered by an insurance carrier or letter of credit.  You must have malpractice coverage before your reactivation from retirement can be revived, unless you are exempt. 
Continuing Professional Development Requirements (formally known as Continuing Medical Education):  In the blanks provided, list the manner in which you completed your CPD requirements during the past two years.  Unless exempt, you must list the number of Category 1 and 2 credits you have completed. Licensees enrolled in residency and clinical fellowship programs are exempt from the CPD requirement until the first full license renewal cycle that begins after their program has ended.

Otherwise, you must have met the basic CPD requirements for the two-year period ending on the date you sign this form.  A brochure with more complete information on the CPD requirements is available on the Board’s web site at www.mass.gov/massmedboard.
The basic CPD requirement for a two (2) year cycle requires no fewer than 100 hours of CPD credit with the following components:

(a)
At least 40 credit hours in Category 1 programs (the entire 100 hour requirement may be met by earning Category 1 credits);

(b)
Up to 60 credit hours in Category 2 activities;
(c)
Ten credit hours of risk management study (see below), with at least 4 hours in Category 1;

(d)
Two credit hours by studying the Board’s regulations in either Category 1 or 2;
(e)
Two credit hours of end-of-life care issues in either Category 1 or 2.  These credits may be used toward risk management credits.  This CPD requirement is mandatory for all physicians regardless of specialty.  Physicians may find a free online course at http://www.eolcounseling.com or may contact the Massachusetts Medical Society.  Pediatricians may wish to check with the American Academy of Pediatrics for courses in Palliative Care for Children.

(f)
As of February 1, 2012, physicians who prescribe controlled substances (Schedules II - VI) must have completed at least three (3) credit hours of Board-approved CPD in effective pain management, which shall include training in how to identify patients at high risk for substance abuse and training in how to counsel patients about side effects, the addictive nature, and proper storage and disposal of prescription medicines. Please remember that all prescription drugs are controlled substances in Massachusetts. 

Physicians are responsible for determining whether the pain management CPD requirement applies to them, based upon the nature of their practice.  A free online resource to obtain the necessary credits is available at www.opioidprescribing.com.  The three (3) credit hours of opioid and pain management training will qualify as either Category 1 or Category 2 credits and may be used as risk management credits for continuing professional education.

(g)
A majority of the total 100 credit hour requirement must be in the licensee’s primary area(s) of practice.

“Risk management study” must include instruction in medical malpractice prevention, such as risk identification, patient safety and loss prevention, and may include instruction in any of the following areas: medical ethics, quality assurance, medical-legal issues, patient relations, utilization review that directly relates to quality assurance, non-economic aspects of practice management, electronic health records, end-of-life care issues and opioid and pain management.
SUPPLEMENT TO APPLICATION 

Instructions for answering the questions on the Supplement Form are included in the application package. All of the questions on the Supplement Form must be answered “YES” or “NO.”  Please be careful in matching your answers to questions, because incorrect answers will jeopardize and delay processing of your application.  Pages 5-10 must be completed if you answer “YES” to any question(s).

OFFICE BASED SURGERY

 “Surgery” means those procedures defined in the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS) Office Based Surgery Guidelines under the following specific definitions: “Surgery;” “Office Based Surgery;” “Major Surgery;” “Minor Surgery;” and “Special Procedure.”  You must complete the Office Based Surgery form if you perform any procedures in your office that are described in these definitions.  (MMS Office Based Surgery Guidelines have been endorsed by the Board and are available through the MMS and Board websites: www.massmed.org and www.mass.gov/massmedboard.) 
Malpractice Cases

If you have had a malpractice case brought against you, you will need to either request that your liability carrier or your attorney forward a copy of the documents to you and you must forward them to the Board in the sealed envelope with your reactivation from retirement application.  If a malpractice case is open, closed or dismissed against you, your liability carrier or attorney must indicate that fact to the Board in a letter containing the claimant’s name or initials.  If the malpractice case is dismissed, please include the date of dismissal and a statement if no monies were paid to the claimant on your behalf.  Your liability carrier or lawyer must also provide a copy of the complaint or summons or dismissal for every malpractice case filed against you.  You must complete question #14 on the Supplement Form even if a complaint was filed against you, but did not result in any action.

Malpractice History Form

Complete the malpractice history form listing all liability carriers from the time you completed your postgraduate training to the present. Include the liability carrier for the time period when you were in a postgraduate training program only if you had a full license or you were named in a malpractice case during that period.

· Send a copy of the malpractice history form to all liability carriers whether or not a claim or suit was filed against you.

· You must include with your full license application:  the original malpractice history form and the malpractice history reports received from your liability carriers detailing your medical malpractice history during the period of your coverage.

· When you receive your malpractice history report from your liability carrier, you should review it for accuracy and ensure that you have reported all malpractice cases to the Board 

· You should make a copy of the malpractice history reports received from your liability carriers for your records and to ensure that you are aware of all instances where you have been named in a medical malpractice claim.    

· You do not need to list a liability carrier for the time period when you were in a training program unless had a full license or you were named in a malpractice case.

· Complete a supplement form for each medical malpractice claim whether the case is open, closed or dismissed and follow the instructions on the supplement for the additional documents to be included with your full license application.

If a malpractice history report is unavailable from the liability carrier due to merger or if the carrier is no longer in business, you must obtain a letter confirming the merger or closure from the Division of Insurance in the state where the liability carrier was registered.

Legal Issues

For each criminal proceeding in which you were named a defendant, certified copies of the complaint, judgment or other disposition must be sent to the Board by your lawyer, the court or other appropriate agency.  You must also provide a detailed explanation of the incident, including date, time, place, who was with you, and the court action.
Authorization for Release of Information 

The Authorization for Release of Information form must be completed and returned to the Board with your application.

Medicare/Tax Form

All applicants for Massachusetts medical licensure must complete this form.

AMA or AOA Physician Profile

You may request an AMA Physician profile on line by visiting http://www.ama-assn.org/AMAProfiles and your AMA profile will be sent directly to the Board, or you may contact the AMA Customer Service for ordering assistance at (800) 665-2882 or (312) 364-5199.  Contact the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) for the AOA Physician profile at www.osteopathic.org for the AOA Physician profile.
National Practitioner Data Bank

To request a National Practitioner Data Bank Profile, please visit http://www.npdb-hipdb.hrsa.gov/
and complete the Self-Query form online.  After completing the Self-Query form, you must print out a hard copy, have it notarized and forward it to the Data Bank.  Please note that the date of your signature and notary date must be the same, otherwise the Self-Query form will be returned to you, delaying processing of your application.  Also note that the Self-Query fee is payable by CREDIT CARD ONLY (Visa, MasterCard, Discover).  Please remember to include your credit card number and expiration date on your query form. You must request your National Practitioner Data Bank Profile to be sent to you in a sealed envelope and forwarded to the Board with your reactivation from retirement application. 
License Processing Time

Do not send your reactivation from retirement application to the Board until you receive the National Practitioner Data Bank profile and your malpractice history reports or malpractice documents in sealed envelopes.  It takes approximately four weeks, after the required documents are received by the Board, to process a reactivation from retirement application that:  a) retired in less than two years; and b) where there are no legal or malpractice issues.  When a licensee applies to revive a license and more than two years have passed, the application must be reviewed by the Licensing Committee.  The Licensing Committee meetings are held once a month.  Reactivation from retirement applications containing malpractice or legal issues will require more time to process.

Reactivation from retirement licenses recommended for revival by the Licensing Committee are forwarded to the Board for approval at its next meeting, approximately two weeks later.  Upon approval of your application for licensure, your wallet-sized card will be mailed to you.

Controlled License Substance Registration and DEA Registration

If you wish to prescribe or dispense drugs, you must apply for a Massachusetts Controlled Substance Registration.  Go to the Department of Public Health website at www.mass.gov/dph/dcp for an application for Massachusetts Controlled Substance Registration and follow the instructions or call (617) 753-8052.  For DEA registration, go to the DEA website at www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov and follow the instructions or call (617) 557-2468. 
Address Changes

The Board’s regulations require that you notify the Board, within 30 days, in writing, when any of your addresses change. Please note that only one address can be a post office box and it cannot be your mailing address.

Birth Date Renewal

Renewal of your medical license will occur on your first birthday after the license issuance date, unless your birthday falls within ninety (90) days of obtaining initial licensure.  If your first birthday after the issuance date falls within this time frame, you will not be required to renew your license until the following birthday.  Renewals thereafter will be on a two-year birthday cycle.

Please be advised that under Massachusetts law you may not practice medicine in Massachusetts until you have received a license.  The license applicant is responsible for determining that the Board has issued a license prior to practicing medicine in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

PLEASE MAKE A COPY OF ALL SUBMITTED FORMS FOR YOUR RECORDS.

Please include the National Practitioner Data Bank Profile and malpractice history reports or any other documents with your reactivation from retirement application and mail them to the Board.  The Board’s regulations require that you provide a copy of your completed reactivation from retirement application and supplement to all healthcare affiliations. 

TELEPHONE DIRECTORY AND WEBSITE ADDRESSES
American Medical Association
(800) 621-8335

www.ama-assn.org
Board of Registration in Medicine
(781) 876-8200

www.mass.gov/massmedboard
Education Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG)
(215) 386-5900

www.ecfmg.org
Federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)
(617) 557-2468

www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov
Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB)
(817) 868-4000

www.fsmb.org
Massachusetts Department of Public Health--Controlled Substance License
(617) 753-8052

Massachusetts Medical Society
(781) 893-4610

www.massmed.org
National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME)
(215) 590-9500
www.nbme.org
National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME)
(773) 714-0622

www.nbome.org
National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB)
(800) 767-6732

www.npdb-hipdb.com
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