MASSACHUSETTS Advanced EMT

All individuals seeking to recertify a Massachusetts Advanced EMT certification in 2017 need to follow the steps outlined on this page. Please read it carefully.

RECERTIFICATION STEPS
Go to MASSEMT.ORG and follow the prompts to access all steps of recertification:

STEP-1 and 2: Renew your NR AEMT Certification.
Following the National Registry of EMTs policies and procedures, recertify your NRAEMT certification: All AEMTs in Massachusetts must have NRAEMT certification, and are required to renew this certification in order to renew their Massachusetts state certification.

STEP-3: STATE APPLICATION
A. Log into state’s eLicensing website.  Find your eLicensing account. First time users should find their information based on SSN and birthdate.
B. Review, attest & pay state recert. fee.  Review your information for accuracy, answer questions, and submit the recertification fee ($125) electronically.
C. Submit your state application by 03/31/17.  As long as you have completed all steps you will receive your new certification card in the mail within 2-3 weeks.

CHECK! - As you approach the expiration of your current state EMT certification, be sure to check your eLicensing account to ensure you have renewed!
Need help with steps 1 or 2? Direct your questions first to your EMS Agency Training Officer; if more help is required, contact the NREMT at 614-888-4484.  Need help with step 3? Contact the eLicensing help desk at 617-973-0935.

TIMELINE
[bookmark: _GoBack]APRIL 1, 2015: Continuing education completed after this date can be used for 2017 recertification.
October 1, 2016: Training profile & state application open for online payment & submission.
	FEBRUARY 15, 2017: Recommended date to complete & submit all steps in order receive your new card by 04/01/17.
MARCH 31, 2017: Last day to compete continuing education. Last day to submit renewal application without penalty. After midnight, if not recertified, you cannot staff an ambulance!
APRIL 31, 2017: Last day to late file state application and fee ($50 late fee may apply).).
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
OVERVIEW: Current continuing education requirements are now broken into 3 categories totaling 50 hours. The new requirements involve redesigned and innovative education focused on increased clinical skills and changes in practice. Following the National Continued Competency Program (NCCP; Pilot version 2), personnel recertifying in 2016 may only take 1/3 of their overall continuing education using distributive education (DE), usually done online with no live instructor teaching.

APPROVAL & SUBMISSION: Training institutions and Continuing Education sponsors no longer submit rosters to the state but will retain copies on file and will instead issue EMTs documentation of course completion. It is the individual EMT’s responsibility to maintain documentation of their completed continuing education in the form of either a course certificate or copy of roster. All courses must have an OEMS approval number or CECBEMS approval number.

NATIONAL (25 hours): Content that all EMTs nationwide need to review.  These is a defined course and take the place of the old refresher. 25hr breakdown is:20 hour EMT NCCP & 5 hours elective EMT-I/AEMT topics.

LOCAL (12.5 hours): Content that all EMTs in your state, region and service need to review.  For 2016 recertification, this section is not defined and instead completed based on elective courses, similar to the INDIVIDUAL category (will be further defined next cycle).

INDIVIDUAL (12.5 hours): Content that you as an individual EMT need and/or want to review.  Elective course requirement.   Courses must be within the EMS scope of practice.  

