MASSACHUSETTS ADVANCED EMT

All individuals seeking to recertify their Massachusetts Advanced EMT certification in
2017 need to follow the steps outlined on this page. Please read it carefully.

AEMT RECERTIFICATION STEPS

Renew your NR AEMT Certification

Submit state application and fee (“Step 3”)
(Steps 1 & 2)

A. Log into state’s eLicensing website at: www.mass.gov/dph/oems/elicensing

Find your eLicensing account. First time users should find their information based on SSN
and birthdate.

Following the National Registry of EMTs policies B. . Review, attest & pay state recertification fee.
and procedures, recertify your NRAEMT Review your information for accuracy, answer questions, and submit the recertification
certification: All AEMTs in Massachusetts must fee ($125) electronically.

have NRAEMT certification, and are required to
renew this certification in order to renew their
Massachusetts state certification. As long as you have completed all of the required steps, you will receive your new
certification card in the mail within 2-3 weeks.

C. Submit your state application by 03/31/17.

CHECK! As you approach the expiration of your current state EMT certification, be

sure to login to elicensing to ensure you have renewed!

Need help with steps 1 or 2? Direct your questions first to your
agency’s Training Officer; if more help is required, contact the
NREMT at 614-888-4484

Need help with step 3? Contact the
elicensing help desk at 617-973-0935

For additional information regarding the Massachusetts OEMS, including recertification, please visit: www.mass.gov/dph/oems.
If you have general questions for OEMS regarding your recertification, please email: oems.recert@state.ma.us.

TIMELINE

APRIL 1, 2015 OCTOBER 1, 2016 FEBRUARY 15, 2017 MARCH 31, 2017 APRIL 30, 2017
Continu.ing Training profile & state Recommended date. Last. day to compete cont.'inuing Last day to have all
education application open for to complete & submit | education. Last day to submit renewal renewal steps complete.

completed after this online payment & all steps in order to application without penalty. After 650 late f " |
date can be used for submission. receive your new card midnight, if not recertified, you ate e.e will apply
2017 recertification. by 04/01/17. cannot staff an ambulance! after April 1, 2017.

OVERVIEW: Current continuing education requirements are broken into 3 categories listed below, totaling 50 hours. The requirements involve
redesigned and innovative education focused on increased clinical skills and changes in practice. In accordance with the National Continued
Competency Program (NCCP, effective July 1, 2015).

Reminder for 2017 expiration — DISTRIBUTIVE EDUCATION GUIDELINES: In accordance with AR 2-212, personnel recertifying in 2017 may
only take 1/3 of their National continuing education hours (8h), none of their Local hours (Oh) and ALL of their Individual hours (12.5h) via
distributive education (DE). Please reference AR 2-212 for a complete definition of distributive education

Content that all EMTs Content that all EMTs in your state, Content that individual EMT can
NATIONAL nationwide need to take. LOCAL region and/or service need to take. INDIVIDUAL choose to take.
25 Total Hours Required 12.5 Total Hours Required 12.5 Total Hours Required
1/3 of the NATIONAL hours can be None of the LOCAL hours can be All of the INDIVIDUAL hours can be Distributive
Distributive Education (8 hours) Distributive Education (0 hours) Education (12.5 hours)
Tikiis s & dlafines) ause wihidh E'es dhe quftir?génsfviﬂts?rhhcx21fzrrff)ecr/§ifﬁa$:'i::iw Erl]ecEi'\\//IeScourse r?quirement. Courses must be within
now the scope of practice.
place of the old refresher. defined as elective courses that must be done P P
via non-distributive education (in person only).
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