
MASSACHUSETTS PARAMEDIC  
All individuals seeking to recertify their Massachusetts Paramedic certification in  

2017 need to follow the steps outlined on this page.  Please read it carefully. 

RECERTIFICATION STEPS 
Go to MASSEMT.ORG and follow the prompts to access all steps of recertification 

STEP-1: TRAINING PROFILE STEP-2: PROFILE REVIEW STEP-3: STATE APPLICATION 

A. Create a training profile.   
 

If you have NREMT certification, you will be 
redirected to log into your NREMT account 
through NREMT.org, otherwise utilize 
MASSEMT.org.  

A. Work with TO for profile review and 
submission of continuing education. 
 

Your EMS agency Training Officer (TO) 
will review your training profile for 
accuracy and document the proficiency 
of your skills (if applicable). 

A. Log into state’s eLicensing website at: 

www.mass.gov/dph/oems/elicensing 

Find your eLicensing account. First time users 
should find their information based on SSN and 
birthdate. 

B. Affiliate with your EMS agency. 
 

If you are unaffiliated (and non-NREMT): 
select unaffiliated based on your region (more 
info available on massemt.org).  

B. Make any necessary edits.  
 

If your Training Officer recognizes the 
need for further explanations or edits, be 
sure to complete the edits & resubmit. 

B. Review, attest & pay state recertification fee. 
 

Review your information for accuracy, answer 
questions, and submit the recertification fee 
($125) electronically. 

C. Enter all required continuing education 
hours. 
 

Hours this cycle can be used from 04/01/2015 
through 03/31/2017.  

NREMT Paramedics Only:  
 

Your agency Medical Director will also 
review and authorize your training profile 

and skills. 

C. Submit your state application by 03/31/17. 
  

As long as you have completed all of the required 
steps, you will receive your new certification card 
in the mail within 2-3 weeks. 

D. Pay for training profile & send to Training 
Officer. 
 

Send your training profile & training profile 
fee electronically using the Department 
designated site.    MA-only Paramedics: $25 

MA/NREMT Paramedics: $20 

Non-NREMT who are unaffiliated:   
 

You must submit all of your training 
records (including course completion 

documentation) to your EMS region, who 
will act as your training officer (more info 

available on massemt.org). 

CHECK! 
As you approach the expiration of your current 

state EMT certification, be sure to login to 
elicensing to ensure you have renewed! 
www.mass.gov/dph/oems/elicensing 

  

Need help with steps 1 or 2? Direct your questions first to your agency’s Training Officer; if 
more help is required, contact the NREMT at 614-888-4484. 

Need help with step 3? Contact the  
eLicensing help desk at 617-973-0935.  

For additional information regarding the Massachusetts OEMS, including recertification, please visit: www.mass.gov/dph/oems. 
If you have general questions for OEMS regarding your recertification, please email: oems.recert@state.ma.us.   

TIMELINE  
APRIL 1, 2015 OCTOBER 1, 2016 FEBRUARY 15, 2017 MARCH 31, 2017 APRIL 30, 2017 

Continuing education 

completed after this 

date can be used for 

2017 recertification. 

Training profile & 

state application open 

for online payment & 

submission. 

Recommended date to 

complete & submit all 

steps in to order receive 

your new card by 

04/01/17. 

Last day to compete continuing 

education. Last day to submit 

renewal application without 

penalty. After midnight, if not 

recertified, you cannot staff an 

ambulance! 

Last day to have all 

renewal steps complete. 

$50 late fee will apply 

after April 1, 2017.  

SEE PAGE 2 FOR IMPORTANT CHANGES TO THE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR 2017 

http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems


CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 
  

OVERVIEW: Current continuing education requirements are broken into 3 categories listed below, totaling 60 hours. The requirements involve 
redesigned and innovative education focused on increased clinical skills and changes in practice. In accordance with the National Continued 
Competency Program (NCCP, effective July 1, 2015). 

APPROVAL & SUBMISSION: Course sponsors do not send rosters to OEMS, but must retain them on file and instead issue EMTs 
documentation of course completion. It is the individual EMT’s responsibility to retain the documentation of completed continuing education 
in the form of either a course certificate or copy of roster. All courses must have an OEMS approval number or CAPCE (formerly CECBEMS) 
approval number.  

TIMELINE FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION ACCRUAL: For personnel expiring in 2017, continuing education hours can be used from 3/31/15 to 
4/1/2017. However, after renewing this cycle, hours can be used from the date that personnel complete renewal until next expiration. 
Example, if you renew October 15, 2016, you can start accruing hours October 16, 2016 for your 2019 renewal.  

Reminder for 2017 expiration — DISTRIBUTIVE EDUCATION GUIDELINES: In accordance with AR 2-212, personnel recertifying in 2017 may 
only take 1/3 of their National continuing education hours (10h), none of their Local hours (0h) and ALL of their Individual hours (15h) via 
distributive education (DE). Please reference AR 2-212 for a complete definition of distributive education. 

NATIONAL  
Content that all EMTs 
nationwide need to take.  LOCAL 

Content that all EMTs in your state, 
region and/or service need to take.  INDIVIDUAL 

Content that individual EMT can 
choose to take.  

30 Total Hours Required 15 Total Hours Required 15 Total Hours Required 

1/3 of the NATIONAL hours can be 
Distributive Education (10 hours) 

 

This is a defined course which takes the place of 
the old refresher. 

None of the LOCAL hours can be Distributive 
Education (0 hours) 

 

Beginning with the 2017 recertification, the method 
of instruction for LOCAL hours is now defined as 
elective courses that must be done via non-
distributive education (in person only). 

All of the INDIVIDUAL hours can be 
Distributive Education (15 hours) 

 

Elective course requirement. Courses must be within 
the EMS scope of practice. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you do not have NREMT certification and elect to test into the NREMT, obtaining a 2019 expiration date during your 
recertification period (which is optional), you will fulfill the continuing education and transition requirements for your Massachusetts 
certification expiring in 2017 and can finish the state recertification process by submitting a state recertification application and fee (step 3).   

MASSACHUSETTS PARAMEDIC  

SCOPE OF PRACTICE TRANSITION 
WHY? HOW? WHEN? 

Prior to this initiative, there were over 40 
different EMS certification levels across the 
country. In many cases the same title meant 
very different skill sets and training 
requirements. In an effort to standardize all 
EMS certifications there is a nationwide 
initiative to update all EMTs to the most 
modern minimum standards on top of which 
statewide treatment protocols will build. 
  
  

At the Massachusetts Paramedic level, the transition course will be 
limited and can count towards continuing education (under either the 
local or individual categories).  The content is driven by the National 
Scope of Practice.  The goal is that at the end of the course, EMT-
Paramedics know and understand all topics covered within the new 
Paramedic Scope of Practice.  It is up to the service to decide how to 
best fill their students “knowledge gaps” and document how that new 
standards are met.  Course hours will depend on material required to 
be covered.  Completing the ALS National Continued Competency 
Requirements (NCCR) does not include all the knowledge needed for 
Massachusetts transition.  

Massachusetts 
“Paramedics” 
must transition by 
03/31/2017. 
  

IMPORTANT NOTE: Completing this transition process does not result in a NREMT certification. The only way to obtain NREMT certification is 
to successfully complete the exam process. Obtaining NREMT certification is optional for currently certified  

Massachusetts Paramedics. If you have an NREMT number, and it starts with an “M” you have already transitioned. 

All individuals seeking to recertify their Massachusetts Paramedic certification in  
2017 need to follow the steps outlined on this page.  Please read it carefully. 


