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OVERVIEW 
 

This application is for candidates who held Massachusetts EMT-Basic certification (with or without National Registry of EMTs 
certification) that has expired within the last 2 years and are applying to reinstate their certification. 
 

EMT-Basics who held state certification must apply for Massachusetts reinstatement while simultaneously obtaining their NREMT 
certification. Information on obtaining a NREMT certification can be found on the NREMT website, at nremt.org or by calling 614-
888-4484. Please also reference the Department’s Administrative Requirement (AR) 2-248, available at http://mass.gov/dph/oems. 
 

MDPH/OEMS will review and verify your eligibility for certification. Only those candidates who meet ALL eligibility requirements will 
be granted authorization to take the Massachusetts EMT-Basic practical examination and written examination administered by the 
NREMT. Applications will be returned to those candidates who are not eligible for certification.  Please fill out both sides of the form 
completely and legibly.  Sign and date the application form as testimony that all of the information presented is accurate to the best 
of your knowledge. 
 

APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 

□ APPLICATION   Completed application for Massachusetts EMT-Basic Reinstatement. 
 
□ NON-REFUNDABLE FEE Required Massachusetts certification fee, in the form of a check or money order for 

$150, payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  
 
□ NCCR COURSE Successful completion of a 20 hour National Registry of EMTs’ National Continued 

Competency Requirements (NCCR) course(s) at the EMT level no more than one year 
prior to the submission of the application for reinstatement.  Documentation must be in 
the form of a certificate or letter of successful course completion, signed by the course 
director that indicates the sponsoring institution, start and end dates, and the OEMS 
approval number of the course 

 
□ CPR CARD A copy of both sides of your current Basic Cardiac Life Support (BCLS) course or 

equivalent, provided by a nationally recognized organization and reflecting current 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and emergency cardiac care resuscitation science 
and treatment recommendations issued by the International Liaison Committee on 
Resuscitation (ILCOR)’s  International Consensus on Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and 
Emergency Cardiovascular Care Science With Treatment Recommendations (CoSTR). 

 
□ CORI PACKET Only if you answer “YES” to QUESTION 4 (criminal history). Form available at 

www.mass.gov/dph/oems. 
 

Submit the complete application with your certification fee and required credentials to: 
 

MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 
ATTN: REINSTATEMENT 
99 CHAUNCY STREET, 11TH FLOOR 
BOSTON, MA 02111 

 

Please check your application for completeness and legibility.  If your application is incomplete or illegible, it will be returned to you 
and your certification will be delayed. Make sure you have provided all supporting documents, as applicable, based on your answers 
to the questions on the back of the application.  
 

APPLICABLE STATE REGULATIONS 
 

Applicants for EMT certification should be aware of Massachusetts laws and regulations which govern the conduct of EMTs, 
including, but not limited to, M.G.L. c. 111C and 105 CMR 170.000.  These laws and regulations are available on line, at 
www.mass.gov/dph/oems, at the State House Book Store and may be available at your local library for your review. 

http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems
http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems
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This application is for candidates who held Massachusetts EMT-Basic certification (with or without National Registry of EMTs 
certification) that has expired within the last 2 years and are applying to reinstate their certification. 
 

EMT-Basics who held state certification must apply for Massachusetts reinstatement while simultaneously obtaining their NREMT 
certification. Information on obtaining a NREMT certification can be found on the NREMT website, at nremt.org or by calling 614-
888-4484. Please also reference the Department’s Administrative Requirement (AR) 2-248, available at http://mass.gov/dph/oems 
 
  

NON-REFUNDABLE FEE:  $150.00 non-refundable check or money order made out to the COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS 
 

SUBMIT TO:  MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES 
ATTN: REINSTATEMENT 
99 CHAUNCY STREET, 11TH FLOOR 
BOSTON, MA 02111 

 

PLEASE PRINT LEGIBLY IN BLACK OR BLUE INK 
NAME: 
 
 
  FIRST     MIDDLE      LAST  
MAILING ADDRESS:  
  
 
  STREET        CITY              STATE         ZIP CODE 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:           (SSN required per M.G.L. Chapter 30A Sec. 13A) 
 
DATE OF BIRTH (mm/dd/yyyy):  ________________________ TELEPHONE NUMBER: 
 
EMAIL ADDRESS:   
 
 
 

 
MASSACHUSETTS EMT NUMBER:   ________________________________ 

 
NCCR COURSE APPROVAL #:   ________________________________        
 
 

DO YOU CURRENTLY HOLD (OR HAVE YOU EVER HELD) EMT CERTIFICATION/LICENSURE (AT ANY LEVEL) IN ANY OTHER STATE 
THAN MASSACHUSETTS? 
 

 NO    YES (LIST ALL STATES):     
 

Please note that you must submit a state verification form for every state in which you hold/have held EMT certification/licensure.   
Form is available at mass.gov/dph/oems. 

 

OPTIONAL INFORMATION       The following information is requested for statistical purposes. Please check the appropriate boxes: 
 

RACE:  White Non-Hispanic  Black Non-Hispanic  Hispanic  Asian or Pacific Islander 
 American Indian  Other:  

EDUCATION:  Some High School  HS Grad or GED  Some College  
 Bachelor’s Degree  Graduate Degree   

SEX:  Male  Female   
 

(CONTINUED ON REVERSE) 
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PLEASE READ CAREFULLY AND ANSWER ALL OF THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS 
 

Your failure to answer any of the above referenced questions will result in the return of your application without action. Your 
failure to disclose relevant information may result in the denial or revocation of your certification. 

 

IF YOU ANSWER YES TO ANY OF THE QUESTIONS BELOW, ATTACH A WRITTEN EXPLANATION WITH SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION 
 

EMT BACKGROUND 
 

1. Were you ever certified or licensed as an EMT (at any level) outside of Massachusetts, in another state or 
jurisdiction? 

 

 YES  NO 

2. Were you ever certified or licensed as another type of health care provider in Massachusetts or any other 
state or jurisdiction? 

 

 YES  NO 

3. Was your certification, license, or ability to work as an EMT (at any level) or another type of health care 
provider ever restricted, suspended, revoked, or voluntarily surrendered in Massachusetts or in any other 
state or jurisdiction (including, but not limited to, by the state, your employer, supervising physician or 
hospital)? 

 YES  NO 

CRIMINAL HISTORY 
4. Have you ever: a) been convicted of; b) entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to; or, c) 

admitted to sufficient facts, in connection with a felony or misdemeanor in any jurisdiction, other than a 
minor traffic violation, even if the matter was continued without a finding or the court withheld 
adjudication so that you would not have a record or conviction? For purposes of this question, driving 
under the influence or driving while impaired is not a minor traffic violation.  

 

 YES  NO 

With regard to charges of criminal offenses, convictions, and disciplinary proceedings provide documentation, including, but not limited to, that 
which fully describes the offense, copies of relevant court documents or administrative proceedings, dispositions and current status. 

 
If you answered “yes” to question #4, you must submit a CORI Acknowledgement form (available on the OEMS website, at 
www.mass.gov/dph/oems), WITH a copy of your current driver’s license or government-issued photo identification, and 

supporting documentation. 
 

CERTIFICATIONS AND AUTHORIZATIONS 
 

1. I certify that I will fulfill my obligations to report abuse or neglect of children pursuant to M.G.L. c. 119, § 51A and to report abuse of 
elderly persons pursuant to c. 19A, § 15. 

 

2. I certify that I have complied with the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts relating to taxes, reporting of employees and 
contractors, and withholding and remitting of child support. 

 

3. I agree to abide by all rules and regulations of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  
  

4. I agree to keep DPH/OEMS informed in writing of any name or address changes over the course of my certification period.  I 
understand that the name and address on this application shall be deemed the appropriate name and address to which all notices 
from the Department of Public Health will be sent, unless I notify DPH/OEMS in writing of any changes. 

 

5. I authorize DPH/OEMS and its staff to contact the Criminal History Systems Board for access to conviction and pending criminal 
case data, as well as to contact other agencies as may be necessary to verify information related to this application.  As an applicant 
for certification or recertification or as an EMT, I understand that a criminal history check may be conducted and that it will not 
automatically disqualify me.  

 

6. I hereby certify that I meet all the criteria for certification as required by 105 CMR 170.000 et seq. Further, I certify under the 
penalty of perjury that the information contained in this application is correct and I acknowledge that any false, inaccurate, or 
omitted statement or document is grounds for denial, revocation or suspension of the certification which I am seeking to regain. 

 
 

 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT:                                                                                                                                                DATE:    
 

 

http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems

