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My name is Stephen Foley. I am president and a co-owner of Foley FoodService in Norwood Massachusetts. I am a past President of the Massachusetts Vending Association and I reside at 13 Union Street in Charlestown, Massachusetts.
The proposed vending machine fee increase from $3 to $20 per machine does not at first seem to be too unfair or a burden to the vending machine operators in Massachusetts. But please consider that Foley is currently licensed to operate 392 “Food” vending machines in the commonwealth of Massachusetts at a current cost of $1,176. The proposed increase would mean that my annual expense for a license to operate a food vending machine in Massachusetts would increase by $6,664 to a grand total of $7,840; from $1,176 to $7,840. Based upon the net profit that my company earns per product after paying for the product and the labor to deliver and place it into the machine, I’m going to have to sell over 20,000 units of cold beverages such as juice, milk & soft drinks just to pay for this increase above & beyond what I currently pay for my license. This is a very unfair burden placed upon not just my company, but also the other small businesses that make up the vending industry in Massachusetts.
Foley is a small business of under $4M and I’m being asked to pay $7,840 for my license to operate in Massachusetts. I see from the website of the Department of Public Health that no other businesses are called upon to pay this exorbitant of a fee. These other businesses and their annual fees are:

· meat and poultry operator of Foley’s size - $225 

· a meat & poultry operator 3x Foley’s size or even up to 100x Foley’s size (e.g. Kayem Foods) -  $375

· a milk plant (e.g. Garelick Farms) - $300

· a manufacturer of frozen deserts (e.g. Hood) - $300

· a manufacturer of bedding or upholstered furniture - $300

This clearly demonstrates that even without the proposed increase to $7,840, even at only $1,176, my small company is paying more than its fair share for a license to operate in Massachusetts.
My father started our company as a one man operation in 1973. I worked with my father in his business through my high school and college years. In fact, I earned my degree in business management at the University of Massachusetts while also working full time in my father’s vending business. Since then, I’ve worked continuously in this business for a total of over 35 years. The reason that I’m telling this story is that in all of that time, I know of no instance in which any of our vending machines were actually inspected by a Massachusetts state health inspector. I have never been informed by the state or a customer that a state health inspector is going to perform an inspection, is now performing an inspection or has performed an inspection of one of our vending machines.
The reason that I state this is that I was informed many years ago that the cost of a license must be representative of the cost to actually police that company or industry. This presents the argument that the actual cost to the commonwealth of Massachusetts to police my company for the past 35 years has actually been zero. We operate our vending machines in other peoples businesses. We must provide the products that our customers demand at a fair price or they’ll simply get somebody else. We must either comply with the laws of the cities, towns, state and federal government we operate in or our customers will get somebody else to do it. History has proven that our customers will call another vending company instead of calling the Massachusetts DPH if they have a problem. In all actuality, we have thousands of people inspect our machines each & every day. Our company name, telephone number and license number is posted on every machine. People now take out their cell phone and call immediately if they have a problem. And we fix that problem usually within two hours and almost always on the same day.
The people that work in the vending industry in Massachusetts work very hard and work long hours to provide their service to their customers. It is not a get rich quick or even a get rich type of business. It is a business in which it’s getting harder and harder just to make a living. As a matter of fairness, please reconsider this proposal to increase the vending machine license fee in Massachusetts. It is unfair and unjust.
