Questions and Answers - Renewal of Dental Licenses

1. Areindividual anesthesia permits and facility permits renewed at the same
time as the license?
Yes, dental Licenses, facility permits and anesthesia permits are all renewed at
the same time, by March 31st of the even numbered years.

2. Can | write one check or money order to cover the license, anesthesia and
facility permits?
No. Separate checks or money orders, made payable to the “Commonwealth of
Massachusetts”, must accompany the application forms for each license or
permit being renewed.

3. What should I do if | do not wish to renew at this time?
If you do not wish to renew at the present time, return the application form
without the fee and state that you do not wish to renew at this time. Your license
will expire. After the renewal cycle, your status will become “expired”.

4. If I let my license expire, what is required to reinstate it if | decide | want to
practice in Massachusetts again?
To reactivate an expired license, at a minimum, you will be required complete
and sign a renewal application, pay all back renewal fees (including a $57 late
fee), and provide proof of continuing education for all previous renewal cycle(s),
licensure verification from any and all states where you have/had a license, and
a work history or resume. Depending on the circumstances of the expiration,
there may be other requirements for renewal.

5. I've changed my address since the last renewal. Could you send one to
my new address?
You are obligated by law to notify the Board of any change in address or name
within 30 days of the change. If you have not done so, and have not received a
renewal application from the Board by February 28", please contact the Board
Office and a duplicate will be mailed to you. You may change your address
using the On-line Services on the website, or by notifying the Board office in
writing. Name changes must be in writing, including proof of the change in
name. Name and address changes cannot be taken by the Board office over
the phone.

6. How many continuing education credits do | need for this renewal cycle?
You must have completed 40 CEUs between January 1, 2006 and
December 31, 2007.

7. lwas just licensed recently. Do I still need to have 40 CEUs to renew my
license?
No, you are not required to have 40 CEUs for your first renewal period.
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| thought my dental license was valid for two years. | was just licensed
recently (October, November or December 2007, for example). Do | need to
pay to renew it by March 31, 2008?

Yes. Any dentist who was initially licensed before January 1, 2008 will need to
renew. Dental licenses issued after January 1, 2008 will be valid until March 31,
2010.

Do | need to fill out the disciplinary action questionnaire even if there have
been no complaints against me?
Yes, all dentists must complete the questionnaire to renew their licenses.

I've misplaced my dental license/anesthesia permit/ and/or facility permit
renewal form(s). Could you send me out another?
Contact the Board office to have a duplicate renewal form(s) mailed to you.

Can I just send the check without the application forms to expedite the
process?

No. A check or money order must always be accompanied by a signed renewal
form. Once you receive the form in the mail, send the form(s) and check(s) in
the enclosed envelope(s). Submitting an incomplete application will delay your
renewal.

What address do | send the application(s) to?

The check and application should be mailed to the Division of Professional
Licensure, Commonwealth of Massachusetts, PO Box 3607, Boston, MA
02241. Use the pre-addressed envelope enclosed in your renewal notice.

The disciplinary action form and dental census/survey should be mailed
under separate cover and addressed to the Massachusetts Board of Dentistry,
239 Causeway Street, 2nd Floor, Boston, MA 02114

Do | need to mail proof of my continuing education credits to the Board?
No. However, by signing the application form, you are signing under the pains
and penalties of perjury that you have completed the required CEUSs for the
renewal cycle. You should maintain proof of CEUs for a minimum of three
years, should you be asked to provide proof in the future.

What happens if | answer “yes” to one of the disciplinary questions?
You should provide supporting documentation with the disciplinary action form
that addresses the nature of the problem and the outcome. You may be
contacted to provide additional information for Board review.
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How long does it take to get the wallet card once I've sent in my renewal
payment?

Allow 4 weeks to receive your wallet card. Once your renewal is processed,
your status will show “current” with an expiration date of March 31, 2010 on the
Dental Board website, and it will be legal to practice dentistry at that time.

Will I get separate cards for my license and my individual anesthesia and
facility permits once I've sent in the renewal payments?

Yes. You will receive separate cards for each type of license and permit that
you hold.



