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MassHealth Disability  
Accommodation Ombudsman

MassHealth has an ombudsman to help 
members and applicants with disabilities get 
the accommodations they need. This office can 
also provide personal assistance by explaining 
MassHealth processes and requirements, and 
helping you fill out forms over the telephone. People 
who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled 
can call on VRS or by TTY. You can always get help 
in person at a MassHealth Enrollment Center (MEC).

MassHealth can provide personal assistance 
by telephone or e-mail and can provide some 
publications in the following formats:

•	 	 large print;

•	 	 electronic; and

•	 	 braille.



MassHealth Disability Accommodation 
Ombudsman

100 Hancock Street, 6th floor 
Quincy, MA 02171

masshealthhelp@ehs.state.ma.us

617-847-3468

TTY: 617-847-3788 (for people who are deaf, hard 
of hearing, or speech disabled)

Attention Non U.S. Citizens!

Important information you need to know about 
applying for MassHealth Limited and the Health 
Safety Net can be found on page 15.
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INTRODUCTION 

MassHealth, the Massachusetts Health 
Connector, and the Health Safety Net provide a 
wide range of medical and other benefits. These 
programs are authorized by state and federal law.

Senior Guide to Health Care Coverage: A guide 
for seniors and for persons of any age needing 
long-term-care services is for Massachusetts 
residents who

•	are 65 years of age or older and living at home; 
or

•	are any age and are in or are waiting to go into a 
long-term-care facility; or

•	are eligible under certain programs to get long-
term-care services to live at home; or

•	are applying for Health Connector plans.

Note: If you are disabled and working 40 hours 
or more a month or you are currently working and 
have worked at least 240 hours in the six months 
immediately before the month of application, or if 
you are a parent or a caretaker relative* of children 
under 19 years of age, or you are applying for 
certain disabled, immigrant children under 19 
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years of age who live in nursing homes or other 
long- term-care facilities, this guide may not be for 
you. Call us at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-
4648 for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or 
speech disabled) to find out if another booklet, the 
Member Booklet, is for you.

*	 A caretaker relative is an adult who is living 
with and related to the children under 19 years 
of age, and who is the main caregiver of the 
children because neither parent of the children 
is in the home.

Please keep this guide. 

It has important information you may want to 
look up after you apply for MassHealth and while 
you are a MassHealth member. It gives general 
information about

•	applying for MassHealth, ConnectorCare plans, 
or the Health Safety Net if you are a senior living 
at home,

•	applying for MassHealth if you are in or are 
waiting to go into a long-term-care facility or 
need long-term-care services at home,
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•	eligibility rules including income and asset 
standards,

•	U.S. citizen/national status and identity 
verification requirements*,

•	 immigration information for non-U.S. citizens 
(See pages 121-134 for information about 
immigration status and eligibility for benefits.),

•	 the MassHealth coverage types,

•	some of the services and benefits available 
under each coverage type,

•	how to get MassHealth services and benefits,

•	when your coverage begins,

•	how accident and estate recovery rules affect 
you as a MassHealth member,

•	 real estate liens,

•	your rights and responsibilities, and

•	where to get help.

*	 See pages 135-142 for a list of acceptable 
documents to prove U.S. citizenship/national 
status and identity.

This guide is intended only as a handy reference 
and does not give complete information about 
the eligibility rules or benefits under MassHealth, 
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ConnectorCare plans, and the Health Safety Net. 
These details can be found in the MassHealth 
regulations at 130 CMR 515.000 through 522.000, 
450.000, and 610.000, and the Health Safety Net 
regulations at 101 CMR 613.00.

The information in this guide reflects income 
standards in effect on March 1, 2016, and the 
rules effective on January 1, 2016.

What U.S. citizens/nationals need to know 
about applying for MassHealth, the Health 
Safety Net, ConnectorCare plans, and 
Advance Premium Tax Credits

Verification of U.S. citizenship/national status and 
identity is required for all U.S. citizens/ nationals 
applying for MassHealth and ConnectorCare plans 
and Advance Premium Tax Credits. Verification 
of identity is required for all individuals applying 
for the Health Safety Net. See pages 135-142 for 
more information about proof of U.S. citizenship/
national status and identity.

If you need to provide a form of proof, the most 
common types of proof for both U.S. citizenship/
national status and identity are a U.S. passport, 
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a Certificate of U.S. Citizenship, a Certificate of 
U.S. Naturalization, or a document issued by a 
federally recognized American Indian tribe showing 
membership or enrollment in, or affiliation with, 
this tribe. U.S. citizenship/national status may also 
be proved with a U.S. public birth certificate or a 
Report of Birth Abroad of a U.S. Citizen. Identity 
may also be proved with a state driver’s license 
containing the individual’s photo, a government-
issued identity card containing the individual’s 
photo, or a U.S. military ID card. For more 
detailed information about proving citizenship and 
identity, see pages 135-142. We may be able to 
prove your identity through the Massachusetts 
Registry of Motor Vehicles records if you have a 
Massachusetts driver’s license or a Massachusetts 
ID card. Once you give us proof of your U.S. 
citizenship/national status and identity, you will not 
have to give us this proof again. You must give us 
proof of identity for all household members who are 
applying. Seniors and disabled persons who get or 
can get Medicare or Supplemental Security Income 
(SSI), or disabled persons who get Social Security 
Disability (SSDI) do not have to give proof of their 
U.S. citizenship/national status and identity. A child 
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born to a mother who was getting MassHealth 
on the date of the child’s birth does not have 
to give proof of U.S. citizenship/national status 
and identity. (See pages 135-142 for complete 
information about acceptable forms of proof.)

For help getting forms of proof, like a 
Massachusetts birth record or information about 
how to get a birth record from another state, 
please call us at 1-800-841-2900  
(TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for people who are deaf, 
hard of hearing, or speech disabled).

What non-U.S. citizens need to know 
about applying for MassHealth  or 
ConnectorCare plans and Advance 
Premium Tax Credits

To get the type of health care that gives the 
best coverage, or to get a ConnectorCare plan 
and Advance Premium Tax Credits, satisfactory 
immigration status for each household member 
who is applying must be proved.

We will perform information matches with federal 
and state agencies to prove immigration status. If 
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electronic data sources are not able to prove an 
individual’s declared information, we will ask for 
additional documentation. We will send a Request 
for Information notice that will list all the required 
forms of proof and the deadline for submitting 
them. Immigration status information is listed on 
pages 121-134, or go to the MassHealth website 
at www.mass.gov/masshealth.

What non-U.S. citizens need to know 
about applying for MassHealth Limited and 
the Health Safety Net

Non-U.S. citizens who are not eligible for a 
social security number (SSN) or do not have 
documentation of their immigration status may 
still qualify for MassHealth Limited or the Health 
Safety Net. However, they do have to give us
•	proof of their income; and

•	proof of identity to be eligible for the Health 
Safety Net.

Non-U.S. citizens do not have to submit their 
immigration documents with the application if they 
are applying only for their children, but are not 
applying for any health coverage for themselves.
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If individuals do not have pay stubs or tax records, 
they can prove what their income is in other 
ways, like giving us a signed statement from their 
employer containing the gross (before taxes and 
deductions) pay and hours worked.

Applications and the information on them will be 
kept confidential. This means that
•	names and addresses will not be sent to 

immigration enforcement officials; and

•	we will not match information with other 
agencies if individuals do not have social 
security numbers.

What visitors need to know about applying

Individuals who are not Massachusetts residents 
are not eligible for MassHealth or other health care 
benefits that are funded by the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts. A list of free and low-cost legal 
services is available on the MassHealth website at 
www.mass.gov/masshealth. If you would like this 
list in print form, call us at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 
1-800-497-4648).
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SECTION 1
APPLYING FOR MASSHEALTH OR 
THE HEALTH SAFETY NET— 
FOR SENIORS LIVING AT HOME 
INCLUDING PERSONS NEEDING  
LONG-TERM-CARE SERVICES  
WHILE LIVING AT HOME

Information about MassHealth or the 
Health Safety Net for Seniors Living at 
Home

This section gives general information about the 
MassHealth eligibility rules for persons who are 65 
years of age or older, live at home, and generally 
do not need long-term-care services. It also gives 
information about how to apply for MassHealth 
or the Health Safety Net. If you are not eligible for 
MassHealth, you may be eligible for the Health 
Safety Net, which has different eligibility rules. For 
more information about the Health Safety Net, see 
page 83 in this guide.
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You may also qualify to buy a health and/or dental 
insurance plan through the Massachusetts Health 
Connector, if you meet the following requirements:
•	you are a resident of Massachusetts,

•	you are a U.S. citizen/national or are lawfully 
present in the United States, and

•	you are not in prison.

Health coverage through the Massachusetts 
Health Connector is not MassHealth. If you have 
Medicare you will not be eligible for any cost 
sharing or tax credits, and you cannot purchase 
a plan through the Health Connector unless you 
were enrolled in a Health Connector plan when 
you became eligible for Medicare. The only time 
you should apply for Health Connector programs 
if you have Medicare, is if you are not enrolled 
in Medicare yet but would have to pay for your 
Medicare Part A premiums. In this case you may 
be eligible for a Health Connector Plan.

If you are in or are waiting to go into a long-
term-care facility, read Section 2 of this guide, 
“Applying for MassHealth—for Persons in or 
Waiting to Go into a Long-Term-Care Facility.”
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General Eligibility Rules

To decide if you can get MassHealth, we look at 
your income and assets and, in some cases, your 
immigration status.

Residency

You must be a resident of Massachusetts to get 
any kind of health care coverage. This means 
you actually live in Massachusetts and are not 
temporarily visiting here.

An individual’s residency will be considered 
proven if the individual has self-declared as being 
a Massachusetts resident, and the residency has 
been confirmed by electronic data matching with 
federal or state agencies, or information services, 
or the individual has provided any of the following 
documents.

•	A copy of the deed and record of the most 
recent mortgage payment (if the mortgage was 
paid in full, a copy of the property tax bill from 
the most recent year)

•	A current utility bill or work order dated within 
the past 60 days



20

•	A statement from a homeless shelter or 
homeless service provider

•	School records (if school is private, additional 
documentation may be requested)

•	Nursery school or day care records (if school 
is private, additional documentation may be 
requested)

•	A Section 8 agreement

•	A homeowner’s insurance agreement

•	Proof of enrollment of custodial dependent in 
public school

•	A copy of the lease AND record of the most 
recent rent payment

•	 If you cannot give us any of the documents 
listed above, you may submit an affidavit 
supporting residency signed under the pains 
and penalties of perjury.

Social Security Numbers

You must give us a social security number (SSN) 
or proof that one has been applied for for every 
household member who is applying, unless one of 
the following exceptions applies.
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•	You or any household member has a religious 
exemption as described in federal law.

•	You or any household member is eligible only 
for a nonwork SSN.

•	You or any household member is not eligible for 
an SSN.

Income Rules

MassHealth compares your monthly income 
before deductions to certain limits that are set by 
law. These limits are based on a percentage of the 
federal poverty level, and may increase each year. 
The income limits are included in the MassHealth 
Income and Asset Chart on page 29. If you are 
married and live with your spouse, we count 
both of your incomes in deciding if you can get 
MassHealth.

To determine the amount of your income, we look 
at the amount of your social security, pension, and 
other nonwork-related income (before deduction 
of your Medicare premium, taxes, or other 
deductions).

If you have income from working, we allow certain 
deductions. (Generally, we count only about half 
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of your monthly income from working before 
deductions.)

Income Rules—the Deductible 

If your income is too high to get MassHealth 
Standard*, Family Assistance, or Limited, you 
will have a deductible. We can tell you how to get 
MassHealth by meeting your deductible.

The deductible is the total amount of your monthly 
income that is greater than MassHealth’s income 
limits over a six-month period.

To meet your deductible, you must have medical 
bills that equal or are greater than the amount of 
your deductible. You may use medical bills for 
you and your spouse. MassHealth will not pay for 
these medical bills—they are your responsibility. 
Also, the bills you use cannot be for services that 
are covered by other insurance that you or your 
spouse may have.

*	 Also, see Section 3, “Special Income Eligibility 
Rules under MassHealth Standard—for 
Persons Aged 65 or Older Needing Personal-
Care-Attendant Services to Live at Home.”
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Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI)

For community applicants under 65 years of age, 
MAGI methodology is used to calculate income.

Financial eligibility is based on Modified Adjusted 
Gross Income (MAGI). MAGI is the income 
reported on line 22 on the personal 1040 income 
tax return after the deductions from lines 23-35 
have been deducted. Then tax-exempt interest, 
foreign earned income exclusions, and tax-
exempt social security are also added back in.

Countable Income

•	MAGI methodology includes earned income, 
such as wages, salary, tips, commissions, and 
bonuses.

•	MAGI methodology does not count pre-tax 
contributions to salary reduction plans (of up 
to $3,500 or $5,500 depending on filing status 
as allowable on tax return) for payment of 
dependent care, transportation, and certain 
health expenses.

•	Self-employment income is included in 
adjusted gross income, but the tax code allows 
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deductions for various business-related travel 
and entertainment expenses (up to a limit), 
and business use of a personal home. If the 
deductions exceed the income earned from 
self-employment, the losses can be used to 
offset other income.

•	An amount received as a lump sum is counted 
as income only in the month received. 
Exception: for plans through the Health 
Connector, income received as a lump sum is 
countable for the year in which it is received.

Deductions

The following are allowable deductions from 
countable income when determining MAGI: 
alimony paid; student loan interest; educator 
expenses; certain business expenses of reservists, 
performing artists, or fee-based government 
officials; health savings account deduction; moving 
expenses; deductible part of self-employment tax; 
contribution to self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and 
qualified plans; self-employed health insurance 
deduction; penalty on early withdrawal of savings, 
Individual Retirement Account (IRA) deduction; 
higher education tuition and fees; and domestic 
production activities deduction.
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Noncountable Income

•	 Scholarships, awards, or fellowship grants used for 
education purposes and not for living expenses*

•	Distributions to American Indians and Alaska 
Natives (AI/AN)* 

•	Child support received

•	 Income received by a Transitional Assistance 
to Families with Dependent Children (TAFDC), 
Emergency Aid to the Elderly, Disabled and 
Children (EAEDC), or Supplemental Security 
Income (SSI) recipient

•	Certain sheltered workshop earnings 

•	Nontaxable federal veterans’ benefits 

•	Certain income-in-kind

•	Certain room and board income derived from 
persons living in the applicant’s or member’s 
principal place of residence

•	Any other income that is excluded by federal 
laws other than the Social Security Act

•	 Income received by an independent foster care 
adolescent

*	 Exception: for plans through the Health 
Connector, income received is countable 
income.
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General Asset Rules

MassHealth looks at the current value of any 
assets owned by you and compares them to 
the limits included in the MassHealth Income 
and Asset Chart on page 29. If you are married 
and live with your spouse, we count the value of 
assets owned by you and your spouse. 

Countable Assets

Countable assets include, but are not limited to, 
the value of bank accounts, certificates of deposit, 
mutual funds, stocks and bonds, and the value 
of real property, except your home, if it meets 
eligibility requirements.

Noncountable Assets

Noncountable assets include:

•	 the home you live in if it is located in 
Massachusetts, unless you are getting long-
term-care services in a long-term-care facility 
(see Section 2 of this guide).

Note: Although we do not count the value of your 
home, we may claim money from your estate after 
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your death. For more information about estate 
recovery, see page 110.

•	one vehicle for each household

•	 life insurance policies for both you and your 
spouse if the total face value for each of you is 
$1,500 or less (Face value of term policies is not 
counted.)

•	burial plots

•	up to $1,500 per person for you and your 
spouse that is specifically set aside for funeral 
and burial expenses. This amount

•	must be in separate, identifiable accounts; or

•	may be in the form of life insurance policies 
specifically set up for funeral and burial 
expenses if the total face value for each of 
you is $1,500 or less.

•	an irrevocable burial trust or prepaid irrevocable 
burial contract set up in reasonable amounts for 
future payment of funeral or burial expenses

The Federal Poverty Level (FPL) Chart can be 
found on the inside back cover. For the most up-
to-date charts, go to www. mass.gov/masshealth/
eligtables.
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The services or benefits that are available under 
the MassHealth coverage types— Standard, 
Family Assistance, Limited, Senior Buy-In, and 
Buy-In—are described in Section 8.

The symbols below are used in the MassHealth 
Income and Asset Chart on the next page. 

★ 	 Even if your income is over this limit, you may 
still be eligible for MassHealth Standard if you 
lost your eligibility for Supplemental Security 
Income (SSI) because of an increase in your 
social security check.

◆ 	 Even if your income is over this limit, you 
may still be eligible for MassHealth Standard 
if you are 65 years of age or older and need 
personal-care-attendant services. See Section 
3.

▲ 	 This figure is in effect as of March 1, 2016. 
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MASSHEALTH INCOME AND ASSET CHART

Eligibility Rules for Individuals

•	 IF YOUR MONTHLY INCOME IS... 
at or below $1,010 ★◆▲ (See “Income Rules—
the Deductible” on page 22.)

•	AND your assets are at or below $2,000

•	AND YOU ARE a U.S. citizen/national, a lawfully 
present immigrant, or a certain noncitizen who 
is not lawfully present

•	THEN YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE for payment 
of a wide range of medical benefits under 
MassHealth Standard or Family Assistance

•	FILL OUT a Senior Application.

•	 IF YOUR MONTHLY INCOME IS... 
at or below $1,010 ▲

•	AND your assets are at or below $7,280

•	AND YOU ARE eligible for Medicare

•	THEN YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE for payment of 
your nonprescription drug Medicare premiums, 
copays, and deductibles through MassHealth 
Senior Buy-In

•	FILL OUT a Senior Application.
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•	 IF YOUR MONTHLY INCOME IS... 
at or below $1,010 ▲ (See “Income Rules—the 
Deductible” on page 22.)

•	AND your assets are at or below $2,000

•	AND YOU ARE an undocumented noncitizen

•	THEN YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE for payment 
of certain emergency medical services under 
MassHealth Limited

•	FILL OUT a Senior Application.

•	 IF YOUR MONTHLY INCOME IS... 
below $1,357 ▲ 

•	AND your assets are at or below $7,280

•	AND YOU ARE eligible for Medicare

•	THEN YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE for payment 
of your Medicare Part B premiums through 
MassHealth Buy-In

•	FILL OUT a MassHealth Buy-In Application.
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Eligibility Rules for Married Couples  
Who Live Together

•	 IF YOUR MONTHLY INCOME IS... 
at or below $1,355 ★◆▲ per couple (See 
“Income Rules—the Deductible” on page 22.)

•	AND your assets are at or below $3,000

•	AND YOU ARE a U.S. citizen/national, a lawfully 
present immigrant, or a certain noncitizen who 
is not lawfully present

•	THEN YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE for payment 
of a wide range of medical benefits under 
MassHealth Standard or Family Assistance

•	FILL OUT a Senior Application.

•	 IF YOUR MONTHLY INCOME IS... 
at or below $1,355 ▲ per couple

•	AND your assets are at or below $10,930

•	AND YOU ARE eligible for Medicare

•	THEN YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE for payment of 
your nonprescription drug Medicare premiums, 
copays, and deductibles through MassHealth 
Senior Buy-In

•	FILL OUT a Senior Application.
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•	 IF YOUR MONTHLY INCOME IS... 
at or below $1,355 ▲ per couple (See “Income 
Rules—the Deductible” on page 22.)

•	AND your assets are at or below $3,000

•	AND YOU ARE an undocumented noncitizen

•	THEN YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE for payment 
of certain emergency medical services under 
MassHealth Limited

•	FILL OUT a Senior Application.

•	 IF YOUR MONTHLY INCOME IS... 
below $1,823 ▲ per couple

•	AND your assets are at or below $10,930

•	AND YOU ARE eligible for Medicare

•	THEN YOU MAY BE ELIGIBLE for payment 
of your Medicare Part B premiums through 
MassHealth Buy-In

•	FILL OUT a MassHealth Buy-In Application.
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Persons Living at Home Needing Long-
Term-Care Services

People living at home (children as well as adults) 
who need more help than family members can 
give, may be able to get certain long-term-care 
services to help them live at home, instead of in 
a long-term- care facility. MassHealth has three 
types of programs that allow certain MassHealth 
Standard members to get these needed long-
term-care services at home: 1) Kaileigh Mulligan 
Program (Home Care for Disabled Children); 
2) PACE (Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly); and 3) Home- and Community-Based 
Services Waiver programs. These programs are 
briefly explained on the following pages.

Each program has its own eligibility rules 
(including income and asset rules) that may 
be different from other MassHealth Standard 
eligibility rules.
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Kaileigh Mulligan Program (Home Care for 
Disabled Children)

What it is and who it helps

•	Allows certain severely disabled children 
(under 18 years of age) to live at home with 
their parent(s) and have MassHealth eligibility 
determined without counting the income and 
assets of their parent(s) 

•	Requires that the child’s medical needs be 
severe enough to need a level of care equal to 
that provided in a hospital or pediatric nursing 
facility, as determined by MassHealth’s Disability 
Evaluation Service* 

•	Covers payment for a wide range of medical 
and nursing care, and certain medical 
equipment and supplies for the child 

•	Requires that the cost to MassHealth for these 
services be not greater than what it would 
cost for the child to live in a hospital setting or 
nursing facility

•	Sets up a link between the child’s family 
and the Department of Public Health’s case 
management services to follow the child’s care
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How and where to apply

Generally, referrals are made by Department of 
Public Health case managers or by the child’s 
hospital social worker who can give you an 
Application for Health Coverage for Seniors and 
People Needing Long-Term-Care Services (Senior 
Application) and help you apply for this program. 
Call us at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-
4648 for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or 
speech disabled) for a Senior Application, and for 
more information about this program.

PACE (Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly), also called Elder Service Plan (ESP)

What it is and who it helps

PACE is a program that provides comprehensive 
medical and social services to people so that 
they can live in their communities instead of in 
nursing homes.

A team of health professionals does an assessment 
of each participant’s needs, and develops a plan of 
total care. Services are usually provided in a PACE 
center, but may be given in the participant’s home 
or other facility.
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PACE is for people who

•	 are 55 years of age or older,

• 	 live in the service area of a PACE organization,

• 	 are able to live safely in the community,

• 	 are certified by the state as eligible for nursing 
home care, and

• 	 agree to receive health services exclusively 
through the PACE organization.

The PACE program is covered by Medicare and 
MassHealth.

PACE participants receive coordinated care 
provided by doctors, nurses, aides, therapists, 
social workers, nutritionists, and other medical 
and social service providers.

Covered services include: meal delivery, 
transportation, adult day health, social services, 
prescriptions*, hospitalizations, and, if necessary, 
nursing facility placement.

PACE provides a PACE case manager to 
coordinate the participant’s care.

* 	 PACE provides your Medicare prescription 
drug coverage.
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How and where to apply

MassHealth applicants and members may apply 
for the PACE program. Call us at 1-800-841-2900 
(TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for people who are deaf, 
hard of hearing, or speech disabled) for a Senior 
Application, and for more information about this 
program.

Home- and Community-Based Services 
Waiver for Frail Elders

What it is and who it helps

•	Allows certain people from 60 through 64 
years of age who are totally and permanently 
disabled, or 65 years of age and older 
regardless of disability, to live at home and 
get specified waiver services (like homemaker, 
nonmedical transportation, and social day care). 
waiver participants may also receive services 
covered under MassHealth Standard. 

•	 When determining eligibility for this Waiver, 
MassHealth counts the income and assets of only 
the Waiver applicant, unless an income deductible 
is required. (Also, see “How We Count Transfers of 
Income, Assets, and the Home” on page 56.)
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•	Requires that the member has a level of care* 
equal to that provided in a nursing facility

How and where to apply

Generally, referrals are made by the person’s 
medical provider or by a case manager. 

Call us at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-
4648 for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or 
speech disabled) for a Senior Application, and for 
more information about this program.

Home- and Community-Based Services 
Waiver for Persons with Traumatic Brain 
Injury

What it is and who it helps

•	Allows certain people, from 18 through  64 
years of age, who are totally and permanently 
disabled or 65 years of age and older regardless 
of disability, who have a traumatic brain injury 
as defined by the Massachusetts Rehabilitation 
Commission to receive specified waiver services 
in the home or community. Waiver participants 
may also receive services covered under 
MassHealth Standard. 
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•	When determining eligibility for this waiver, 
MassHealth counts the income and assets of only 
the waiver applicant, unless an income deductible 
is required. (Also see “How We Count Transfers of 
Income, Assets, and the Home” on page 56.) 

•	Requires that the member has a level of care* 
equal to that provided in a nursing facility or 
hospital.

How and where to apply

Generally, referrals are made by Massachusetts 
Rehabilitation Commission case managers. Call 
us at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for 
people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech 
disabled) for a Senior Application, and for more 
information about this program.

Home- and Community-Based Services 
Waivers for Persons with Acquired Brain 
Injury

What it is and who it helps

•	 Allows certain people from 22 through 64 years of 
age who are totally and permanently disabled or 
65 years of age and older regardless of disability, 
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who have acquired, after reaching the age of 
22, a brain injury including, without limitation, 
brain injuries caused by external force, but not 
including Alzheimer’s disease and similar neuro-
degenerative diseases, the primary manifestation 
of which is dementia. Applicants for this waiver 
must have been an inpatient in a nursing facility 
or chronic disease or rehabilitation hospital with 
a continuous length of stay of 90 or more days at 
the time of application for the waiver

•	Waiver services may be provided in a residential 
habilitation setting or in the home or community. 
Waiver participants may also receive services 
covered under MassHealth Standard.

•	When determining eligibility for these Waivers, 
MassHealth counts the income and assets of only 
the waiver applicant, unless an income deductible 
is required. (Also see “How We Count Transfers of 
Income, Assets, and the Home” on page 56.) 

•	Requires that the member has a level of care* 
equal to that provided in a nursing facility.

*	 An agency of the Massachusetts Executive 
Office of Elder Affairs (EOEA) that covers your 
local area will review your medical need for 
long-term-care services for MassHealth.
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How and where to apply

To apply for the Home- and Community-Based 
Services Waivers for Persons with Acquired Brain 
Injury, contact the Waiver Unit at the University 
of Massachusetts Medical School at 1-866-281-
5602 (TTY: 1-800-596-1746 for people who are 
deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled).

Money Follows the Person Home- and 
Community-Based Services Waivers

What it is and who it helps 
Allows certain people from 18 through 64 years of 
age who are totally and permanently disabled, or 
65 years of age and older regardless of disability, 
who are an inpatient in a nursing facility, chronic 
disease or rehabilitation hospital, or, for participants 
18 through 21 years of age or 65 years of age and 
older, psychiatric hospital with a continuous length 
of stay of 90 or more days, excluding rehabilitation 
days to receive support services and other specified 
waiver services. Waiver services may be provided 
in a residential habilitation setting or in the home or 
community. Waiver participants may also receive 
services covered under MassHealth Standard.
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•	 When determining eligibility for this waiver, 
MassHealth counts the income and assets of only 
the waiver applicant, unless an income deductible 
is required. (Also see “How We Count Transfers of 
Income, Assets, and the Home” on page 56.)

•	Requires that the member has a level of care 
equal to that provided in a nursing facility or 
hospital.

How and where to apply 

To apply for the Money Follows the Person Home- 
and Community-Based Services Waivers, contact 
the Waiver Unit at the University of Massachusetts 
Medical School at 1-855-499-5109 (TTY:  
1-800-596-1746 for people who are deaf, hard of 
hearing, or speech disabled).

Home- and Community-Based Services 
Waiver for Adults with an Intellectual 
Disability

What it is and who it helps

•	These three waiver programs allow individuals 
with an intellectual disability from 22 through 64 
years of age, who are totally and permanently 
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disabled or 65 years of age and older regardless 
of disability, who are certified by MassHealth or 
its agent to be in need of inpatient care at an 
intermediate-care facility for the intellectually 
disabled to receive support services and other 
specified waiver services

•	Waiver services may be provided in a residential 
habilitation setting or in the home or community. 
Waiver participants may also receive services 
covered under MassHealth Standard.

•	When determining eligibility for this waiver, 
MassHealth counts the assets of both the 
waiver applicant and their spouse but counts 
the income of only the Waiver applicant. (Also 
see “How We Count Transfers of Income, 
Assets, and the Home” on page 56.)

How and where to apply

Generally, referrals are made by case managers 
from the Department of Developmental Services.

Call us at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 
for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or 
speech disabled) for a Senior Application, and for 
more information about this program.
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Applying for MassHealth or the Health 
Safety Net

How to apply 

1.	 Fill out the Senior Application.

Note: If you are applying for MassHealth through 
the Kaileigh Mulligan or PACE programs, you do not 
have to fill out the Long-Term-Care Supplement. If 
you are applying for MassHealth through the Home- 
and Community-Based Services Waiver, you only 
need to fill out the “Resource Transfers” section of 
Supplement A: Long-Term-Care on page 21 of the 
Senior Application.

2.	 Send us the filled-out and signed application  
	 with proof of

•	your monthly income before taxes and 
deductions (like a copy of your pension stub 
or award letter). You do not need to send us 
proof of your social security or SSI income. 
If employed, send proof of your monthly 
employment income before taxes and 
deductions, such as two recent pay stubs 
or a U.S. tax return. If self-employed, send 
a U.S. tax return, or if no U.S. tax return has 
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been filed, you may submit a Profit and Loss 
Statement for the last 12 months signed by 
an accountant (or you, if no accountant was 
used). Current business records showing 
other relevant documents may be submitted 
as acceptable proof of self-employment;

•	 the current value of your assets (like copies of 
your current bank statements*); and

•	 your U.S. citizenship/national or immigration 
status and identity. (See pages 135-142 for 
complete information about acceptable forms of 
proof.) See pages 121-134 for information about 
immigration status and eligibility for benefits.

*	 Under Chapter 125 of the Acts of 2008: An Act 
Relative to Exempting Seniors from Certain Bank 
Fees, financial institutions cannot charge seniors 
for copies of bank or other financial records if 
MassHealth is asking for the information.

We will perform information matches with other 
agencies and information sources when an 
application is submitted, at annual review, and 
periodically to update or prove eligibility. These 
agencies and information sources may include, 
but are not limited to: the Internal Revenue 
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Service, the Department of Homeland Security, 
the Social Security Administration, the Department 
of Revenue, and the Division of Unemployment 
Assistance. Income information will be obtained 
through an electronic data match. Income is 
considered proved if the income data received 
through an electronic data match is reasonably 
compatible with the income amount you stated on 
your application (the “attested” income amount). 

To be reasonably compatible, 

•	 the attested income must be higher than the 
income from the data sources; or 

•	 the attested income and the income from the 
data sources must be within a 10 percent range 
of each other. 

If electronic data sources are unable to prove 
attested information or are not reasonably 
compatible with attested information, we will 
require additional documentation from the 
applicant.

3.	 After you have filled out the Senior Application  
	 and any needed supplements, send your  
	 application by 



47

mail or fax to              or

MassHealth  
Enrollment Center 
Central Processing Unit 
P.O. Box 290794 
Charlestown,  
MA 02129-0214 
fax: 617-887-8799

hand deliver to

MassHealth  
Enrollment Center 
Central Processing Unit 
The Schrafft Center 
529 Main Street, Suite 1M 
Charlestown, MA 02129.

Where to call

1.	 Call us at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648  
	 for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or  
	 speech disabled) if you need

•	a Senior Application;

•	a Senior Guide to Health Care Coverage in 
another language; or 

•	 interpreter services.

2.	 Call a MassHealth Enrollment Center at  
	 1-888-665-9993 (TTY: 1-888-665-9997)

•	 if you need help filling out the Senior 
Application; or

•	 if you have any questions about the 
application process.
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SECTION 2
APPLYING FOR MASSHEALTH—
FOR PERSONS IN OR WAITING 
TO GO INTO A LONG-TERM-CARE 
FACILITY

Long-Term-Care Information

This section gives general information about the 
special eligibility rules for persons who are in or 
are waiting to go into a long-term-care facility. If 
you meet these special rules, MassHealth may 
be able to pay for your care in a long-term-care 
facility. Section 2 also gives information about 
how to apply for MassHealth.

A long-term-care facility is a type of medical 
institution that includes

•	 licensed nursing facilities;

•	chronic disease and rehabilitation hospitals;

•	state hospitals and state schools specifically 
designated as long-term-care facilities; and

•	 intermediate-care facilities for the intellectually 
disabled.
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Long-term-care services are the types of 
services needed if you are frequently ill and/or 
permanently disabled and need help, or cannot 
take care of yourself. These include medical and 
personal care services. Generally, people get 
long-term-care services while they are in a long-
term-care facility.

To be eligible for payment of long-term-care 
services in a long-term-care facility, you must

•	be eligible for MassHealth Standard as a person 
who is

•	65 years of age or older;

•	21 through 64 years of age and disabled 
according to the Social Security 
Administration’s disability rules, or pregnant; 
or

•	under 21 years of age;

•	be determined by MassHealth as medically 
needing long-term-care services; and

•	prove that you (and your spouse) meet certain 
income and asset rules.
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General Long-Term-Care Eligibility Rules

To decide if you can get MassHealth, we look at 
your income and assets and, in some cases, your 
immigration status.

Residency

You must be a resident of Massachusetts to get 
any kind of health care coverage. This means 
you actually live in Massachusetts and are not 
temporarily visiting here.

An individual’s residency will be considered 
proven if the individual has self-declared as being 
a Massachusetts resident, and the residency has 
been confirmed by electronic data matching with 
federal or state agencies, or information services, 
or the individual has provided any of the following 
documents.

•	A copy of the deed and record of the most 
recent mortgage payment (if the mortgage was 
paid in full, a copy of the property tax bill from 
the most recent year)

•	A current utility bill or work order dated within 
the past 60 days
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•	A statement from a homeless shelter or 
homeless service provider

•	School records (if school is private, additional 
documentation may be requested)

•	Nursery school or day care records (if school 
is private, additional documentation may be 
requested)

•	A Section 8 agreement

•	A homeowner’s insurance agreement

•	Proof of enrollment of custodial dependent in 
public school

•	A copy of the lease AND record of the most 
recent rent payment

•	 If you cannot give us any of the documents 
listed above, you may submit an affidavit 
supporting residency signed under the pains 
and penalties of perjury.

Social Security Numbers

You must give us a social security number (SSN) 
or proof that one has been applied for for every 
household member who is applying, unless one of 
the following exceptions applies.
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•	You or any household member has a religious 
exemption as described in federal law.

•	You or any household member is eligible only 
for a nonwork SSN.

•	You or any household member is not eligible for 
an SSN.

General Asset Rules

MassHealth looks at the current value of any 
assets owned by you and compares them to 
certain limits (see the Asset Rules section under 
“Amount You and Your Spouse Can Keep” on 
this page). If you are married and live with your 
spouse, we count the value of assets owned by 
you and your spouse. 

Countable Assets

Countable assets include, but are not limited to, 
the value of bank accounts, certificates of deposit, 
mutual funds, stocks and bonds, and the value 
of real property, except your home, if it meets 
eligibility requirements.
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Noncountable Assets

Noncountable assets include

•	 the home you live in if it is located in 
Massachusetts and meets other eligibility 
requirements. If you move out of your home to 
live in a long-term-care facility or other medical 
institution, other rules may apply. See “How We 
Count Assets and the Home” on this page.

•	one vehicle for each household

•	 life insurance policies for both you and your spouse 
if the total face value for each of you is $1,500 or 
less (Face value of term policies is not counted.)

•	burial plots

•	up to $1,500 per person for you and your 
spouse that is specifically set aside for funeral 
and burial expenses. This amount must be in 
separate, identifiable accounts, or may be in the 
form of life-insurance policies specifically set up 
for funeral and burial expenses if the total face 
value for each of you is $1,500 or less.

•	an irrevocable burial trust or prepaid irrevocable 
burial contract set up in reasonable amounts for 
future payment of funeral or burial expenses
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Asset Rules for People Who Are in or Are 
Waiting to Go into a Long-Term-Care Facility

Amount You and Your Spouse Can Keep

•	You may keep $2,000. 

•	Your spouse at home may keep up to a certain 
amount, which changes every January. This 
amount may also be increased as a result of an 
appeal. (See the MassHealth regulations at 130 
CMR 520.000.) MassHealth must follow special 
rules when determining how much the spouse 
at home may keep.

Note: Your spouse at home has the right to ask 
for a fair hearing to determine if he or she can 
keep more of your combined assets.

How We Count Assets and the Home 

If the equity interest in your home is over 
$828,000, you may be ineligible for payment 
of long-term-care services, unless one of the 
following relatives is living in your home:

•	your spouse; 

•	a permanently and totally disabled child;
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•	a blind child; or

•	a child under 21 years of age.

In certain cases, MassHealth may waive this 
requirement if undue hardship exists.

If you move out of your home to live in a medical 
institution, MassHealth decides if your former 
home is a countable asset because it is no longer 
your principal place of residence.

Your home is not countable if you have moved to 
a medical institution and

•	 	 your spouse lives in your home or certain 
other relatives who meet specific rules live in 
your home;

•	 	 you intend to return home; or

•	 	 you have long-term-care insurance that meets 
certain requirements.

If none of the above three situations applies to you, 
the value of your home may be counted, but you 
will be allowed nine months to sell the property (in 
certain cases, you will be allowed even more time).

Note: Although we may not count the value of 
your home, we may claim money from your estate 
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after your death, or from the sale of your home 
while you are in a long-term-care facility. For more 
information about real estate liens and estate 
recovery, see below and page 110.

How We Count Transfers of Income, Assets, 
and the Home

If you or your spouse gave away or transferred 
assets or income for less than what they were 
worth, MassHealth may not be able to pay for 
your nursing facility services (or for services equal 
to those provided in a nursing facility) for a certain 
period of time. MassHealth reviews all transfers, 
including transfers into and out of trusts, that were 
made during the period of time up to 60 months 
before the date you applied for MassHealth, or 
before the date you or your spouse entered a 
medical institution, whichever is later.

The transfer rules apply to

•	people living at home who are applying for or 
getting MassHealth on the basis of the Home- 
and Community-Based Services Waiver;

•	people applying for or getting MassHealth who 
are living in a medical institution; and
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•	any assets, including your home, or income in 
which you or your spouse have a legal interest 
and that are transferred to anyone other than 
your spouse and certain others. However, 
you may transfer your home under certain 
conditions according to MassHealth rules.

If you got MassHealth and you transferred 
property for less than what it was worth, 
MassHealth may take legal action to set aside the 
transfer. (This means that a court may determine 
that you still legally own the property.) For more 
information about estate recovery, see page 110.

See the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 520.000 for 
more information.

Liens on Property, Including the Home

MassHealth will place a real estate lien on any 
property in which you have a legal interest, unless 
the property is your former home and one of the 
following relatives is living in the property:

•	your spouse;

•	a sibling with a legal interest who has lived there 
for at least one year immediately before you 
went into a long-term-care facility;
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•	a permanently and totally disabled child;

•	a blind child; or

•	a child under 21 years of age.

A lien is placed only after MassHealth decides 
that it is not likely that you will return home from 
the long-term-care facility, and sends a notice that 
it intends to place a lien. If you are discharged 
from the facility and return home, MassHealth will 
remove its lien. If you sell the property during your 
lifetime, MassHealth has the right to get back from 
your share of the proceeds any money it paid for 
all services you got from MassHealth on or after 
April 1, 1995. MassHealth will count any remaining 
proceeds when deciding if you can still remain 
eligible for MassHealth. 

In certain cases, MassHealth may decide not to 
use its lien during a person’s lifetime to get paid 
back for long-term-care services. For information 
about recovery and long-term-care insurance, see 
page 110.

See the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 515.000 for 
more information.
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The Patient-Paid Amount

You may have to make a monthly payment to the 
long-term-care facility. This is called your patient-
paid amount. (Your spouse living at home does not 
have to contribute any of his or her income toward 
the cost of your care.) Your patient-paid amount is 
determined using the following income deductions.

A personal needs allowance

The amount (set by state and federal law, in most 
cases $72.80 a month) that you are allowed 
to keep for personal expenses, like clothing, 
haircuts, and activities.

A spousal maintenance needs allowance

A deduction, based on financial need, for the 
living expenses of your spouse who is living at 
home. The minimum allowance changes every 
July, and the maximum allowance changes every 
January, and can vary if your spouse has extra 
shelter expenses. (See the MassHealth regulations 
at 130 CMR 520.000.) The maximum amount can 
be higher as a result of an appeal or a court order.
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A family maintenance needs allowance

A deduction for the living expenses of certain 
family members who live with your spouse at 
home. 

A home maintenance allowance

A deduction for your home expenses if you are 
single and a medical decision has been made that 
you are expected to return home within six months. 
The current monthly allowance is $990. (This 
amount is in effect as of March 1, 2016.)

A medical expense allowance

A deduction for health insurance premiums and 
certain other incurred medical expenses (including 
allowable guardianship fees) not payable by any 
insurer.

Applying for MassHealth 

How to apply 

1.	 Fill out the Senior Application including the 
Long-Term-Care Supplement.
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2.	 Send us the filled-out and signed application 
and the Long-Term-Care Supplement with 
proof of

•	your monthly income before taxes and 
deductions (like a copy of your pension stub 
or award letter). You do not need to send us 
proof of your social security or SSI income. 
If employed, send proof of your monthly 
employment income before taxes and 
deductions, such as two recent pay stubs 
or a U.S. tax return. If self-employed, send 
a U.S. tax return, or if no U.S. tax return has 
been filed, you may submit a Profit and Loss 
Statement for the last 12 months signed by 
an accountant (or you, if no accountant was 
used). Current business records showing 
other relevant documents may be submitted 
as acceptable proof of self-employment;

•	 the current value of your assets (like copies of 
your current bank statements*); and

•	your U.S. citizenship/national status and 
identity. (See pages 135-142 for complete 
information about acceptable forms of proof.) 
See pages 121-134 for information about 
immigration status and eligibility for benefits.
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We will perform information matches with other 
agencies and information sources when an 
application is submitted, at annual review, and 
periodically to update or prove eligibility. These 
agencies and information sources may include, 
but are not limited to: the Internal Revenue 
Service, the Department of Homeland Security, 
the Social Security Administration, the Department 
of Revenue, and the Division of Unemployment 
Assistance. Income information will be obtained 
through an electronic data match. Income is 
considered proved if the income data received 
through an electronic data match is reasonably 
compatible with the income amount you stated on 
your application (the “attested” income amount). 

*	 Under Chapter 125 of the Acts of 2008: An Act 
Relative to Exempting Seniors from Certain Bank 
Fees, financial institutions cannot charge seniors 
for copies of bank or other financial records if 
MassHealth is asking for the information.

To be reasonably compatible, 

•	 the attested income must be higher than the 
income from the data sources; or 
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•	 the attested income and the income from the 
data sources must be within a 10 percent range 
of each other. 

If electronic data sources are unable to prove 
attested information or are not reasonably 
compatible with attested information, we will require 
additional documentation from the applicant.

3.	 After you have filled out the Senior Application 
and any needed supplements, send your 
application by

mail or fax to              or

MassHealth  
Enrollment Center 
Central Processing Unit 
P.O. Box 290794 
Charlestown,  
MA 02129-0214 
fax: 617-887-8799

hand deliver to

MassHealth  
Enrollment Center 
Central Processing Unit 
The Schrafft Center 
529 Main Street, Suite 1M 
Charlestown, MA 02129.

Where to call

1.	 Call us at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-
4648 for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, 
or speech disabled) if you need
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•	a Senior Application;

•	a Senior Guide to Health Care Coverage in 
another language; or 

•	 interpreter services.

2.	 Call a MassHealth Enrollment Center at 1-888-
665-9993 (TTY: 1-888-665-9997)

•	 if you need help filling out the Senior 
Application; or

•	 if you have any questions about the 
application process.
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SECTION 3
SPECIAL INCOME ELIGIBILITY 
RULES UNDER MASSHEALTH 
STANDARD—FOR PERSONS 65 
YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER NEEDING 
PERSONAL-CARE-ATTENDANT 
SERVICES TO LIVE AT HOME*

*	 Section 3 applies only to persons with income 
over 100% of the federal poverty level (see 
chart on the inside back cover). Persons of 
any age with income at or below 100% of 
the federal poverty level do not need to meet 
these special income eligibility rules to get 
MassHealth or to get personal-care-attendant 
(PCA) services paid for by MassHealth. 

How does my need for MassHealth personal-
care-attendant (PCA) services affect the way 
MassHealth decides if I can get MassHealth?

If, according to the chart on the inside back cover, 
we decide that your income is over 100% of the 
federal poverty level and you are 65 years of age 
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or older, we may be able to count less of your 
nonworking income when deciding if you can get 
MassHealth. Special MassHealth eligibility rules 
would then apply, which are explained below.

What does MassHealth mean by PCA 
services?

The types of services offered by the MassHealth 
PCA Program under MassHealth Standard may 
help you if you are elderly and have a permanent 
or long-lasting disability that keeps you from being 
able to do your daily living activities, like bathing, 
grooming, eating, getting dressed, toileting, 
moving around, taking your medicines, etc., unless 
someone physically helps you. By getting PCA 
services, some people can live at home instead of 
having to live in a long-term-care facility. 

For more information, see MassHealth PCA regulations at 
130 CMR 422.000.

Who can get MassHealth PCA services?

Not everyone can get MassHealth PCA services. 
To get PCA services, you must
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•	have a permanent or long-lasting disability;

•	need someone to physically help you with your 
daily living activities, like those listed above, 
which you cannot do by yourself;

•	have a doctor’s written authorization that you 
need PCA services; and

•	get prior authorization from MassHealth.

How do I tell MassHealth that I am now 
getting or think I need PCA services?

If you are now getting or you think you may need 
PCA services because of your disability, you may 
tell us when you fill out a Senior Application (if you 
are applying for MassHealth) or a renewal form 
(if you are already a MassHealth member). Each 
of these forms has a separate PCA section with 
three questions about your need for PCA services, 
as explained below. 

•	You must answer the first question in the PCA 
section.

•	 If you are now getting MassHealth PCA 
services, and want to continue getting 
MassHealth PCA services, answer only question 
1 in the PCA section. MassHealth will send you 
a notice telling you about our decision.
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•	 If you think you need PCA services, you must 
also answer questions 2 and 3 in the PCA 
section. If you answer “YES” to questions 2 
and 3, you must also fill out Supplement C: 
Personal Care Attendant. The PCA Supplement 
is enclosed with the Senior Application and the 
renewal form.

What happens next?

We will review your statement of need for PCA 
services and your filled-out PCA Supplement so we 
can decide if you may need any PCA services. We 
will send you a notice telling you about our decision.

What must I do if MassHealth agrees that I 
may need PCA services?

If we decide that you need PCA services, and we 
count less of your income, and we decide you can 
get MassHealth,

•	you must contact a MassHealth personal 
care management (PCM) agency to set up 
PCA services within 90 days of the date we 
decide you can get MassHealth. To get a list of 
MassHealth PCM agencies, call us at  
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1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for 
people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech 
disabled); and

•	we will tell you if you need to give us proof that 
you have contacted a MassHealth PCM agency.

Important: When the PCM agency you have 
chosen accepts you for PCA services, you will 
become the employer of your own PCA. This 
means that you are responsible to find, hire, train, 
and fire (if needed) your own PCA. You will also 
have to follow special rules to make sure your 
PCA gets paid on time. The PCM agency can tell 
you how to get help with these duties. MassHealth 
may not pay certain members of your family to be 
your PCA.

To find out more about the MassHealth Personal 
Care Attendant Program, call us at 1-800-841-
2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for people who are 
deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled).
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100% Federal Poverty Level Income Chart

Family Size Your monthly income is over

You $1,010

You and your spouse $1,355

These figures are in effect as of March 1, 2016.  
For the most up-to-date charts, go to  
www.mass.gov/masshealth/eligtables
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SECTION 4	
MASSACHUSETTS HEALTH 
CONNECTOR

TThe Massachusetts Health Connector (Health 
Connector) provides access to health and dental 
insurance plans for individuals, families, and small 
businesses.

Health coverage through the Massachusetts 
Health Connector is not MassHealth. If you have 
Medicare you will not be eligible for any cost 
sharing or tax credits, and you cannot purchase 
a plan through the Health Connector unless you 
were enrolled in a Health Connector plan when 
you became eligible for Medicare. The only time 
you should apply for Health Connector programs 
if you have Medicare, is if you are not enrolled 
in Medicare yet but would have to pay for your 
Medicare Part A premiums. In this case you may 
be eligible for a Health Connector plan.

Generally, you can qualify to buy a health and/
or dental insurance plan through the Health 
Connector if you meet the following requirements:
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•	you are a resident of Massachusetts,

•	you are a U.S. citizen/national, or are lawfully 
present in the United States, and

•	you are not in prison.

You have the option of choosing to buy a health 
coverage plan through the Health Connector if you 
are 65 years of age or older. You may be eligible 
for cost sharing reductions (meaning you pay 
less money for out-of-pocket health care costs) 
through the Health Connector if your income is at 
or below 400% of the federal poverty level, if you

•	do not have or are not eligible for Medicare; or

•	do not have access to an affordable health plan 
that meets the minimum essential coverage; or

•	are not otherwise eligible for MassHealth; and

•	file federal income taxes.

If you are not eligible for cost sharing reductions, 
and you want health coverage through the Health 
Connector, you will be responsible for the full cost 
of the plan.
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Health Connector Plans

All of the health plans offered provide full health 
benefits, including visits to the doctor or hospital, 
and prescriptions. The Health Connector’s plans 
are described below using metallic terms to make 
it easier for you to compare them. 

•	Platinum plans have the highest premium, but 
the lowest copays and deductibles.

•	Gold and Silver plans have lower premiums, but 
higher copays and deductibles.

•	Bronze plans have the lowest premiums, but the 
highest copays and deductibles.

Each health plan also has different doctors, 
hospitals, and other providers in its networks.

Help paying for health insurance

You may also qualify to buy a low-cost insurance 
plan and get additional savings from the federal 
and state government through the Health 
Connector. The following cost saving programs 
are available for people who shop for insurance 
through the Health Connector.

•	Advance Premium Tax Credits

•	ConnectorCare plans
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Advance Premium Tax Credits

Advance Premium Tax Credits are a way to lower 
the cost of your insurance premiums. The amount 
of your tax credit depends on your household size 
and income. You can find out whether you qualify 
for a tax credit, and how much the credit will be 
after submitting an application.

If you qualify for an Advance Premium Tax Credit, 
you can choose to get this credit at the end of the 
year when you file your taxes. Or, you can use it on 
a monthly basis toward your insurance premiums. 
The tax credit will be sent directly to your insurance 
company so that you pay less each month. You 
may also be able to use some of the tax credit to 
buy dental insurance through the Health Connector.

You may qualify for Advance Premium Tax Credits 
if you

•	have income that is between 100.1% and 400% 
of the federal poverty level (FPL). For example, 
a household of four with an income of up to 
$97,000 a year may qualify for Advance Premium 
Tax Credits. You may also qualify for tax credits 
if you are a lawfully present immigrant with an 
income that is at or below 100% of the FPL;
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•	are not able to buy health insurance through 
an employer that meets “minimum value” 
requirements and is affordable; or 

•	are not eligible for coverage under a 
government-sponsored plan (such as, 
MassHealth, Medicare, and TRICARE); and

•	file federal income taxes.

What does “Minimum Value” mean?

A health insurance plan meets the minimum value 
standard if it is designed to pay at least 60% of 
the total cost of medical services. Please contact 
your employer/plan administrator or health insurer 
to find out if the plan meets minimum value 
requirements.

How do I know if my employer’s plan is 
affordable and meets Minimum Value 
standards?

“Minimum Value” standards mean that the health 
plan will pay at least 60% of the total cost of 
medical services for a standard population. The 
other 40% of costs would be paid by members 
through deductibles, copays, and coinsurance. 
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Most employer plans meet the Minimum Value 
standards. To find out if your employer’s plan 
meets these standards, talk to your human 
resources department or the health plan.  

How do I know if my employer’s plan is 
affordable?

Under the Affordable Care Act (ACA), your 
employer’s plan is considered affordable in 
2016 if the lowest-cost plan that covers only 
the employee costs less than 9.66% of your 
household’s income. Do not use the cost of a 
family plan, even if you need coverage for your 
whole family. The following steps will help you 
determine if the plan is affordable.

A.	 Determine your household’s Modified 
Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI)  
for 2016 (see Part 5 of this guide). 
Write that number down here:  
$ _____________
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B.	 Find out what 9.66% of your monthly 
household income is.

1.	 Take the Modified Adjusted Gross Income you 
estimated in step A and multiply it by 0.0966. 
$ _____________

2.	 Divide the amount in Number 1 by 12 $	. This 
is 9.66% of your estimated monthly income 
for next year.

C.	 Write down the lowest-cost monthly 
premium for employee-only coverage.  
$_______________  
(Ask your employer for this information.) 
 
Is this amount more than 9.66% of your 
income in Section B?

If yes, insurance is not affordable to you. 

If no, insurance is affordable to you.
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Read across the row closest to your 
household’s estimated income to see how 
much an affordable premium is.

If your household 
income is

Insurance is affordable 
if the lowest cost plan 
to cover the employee 
only (not a family plan) 
costs less than

$5,000 $39

$10,000 $79

$15,000 $119

$20,000 $159

$25,000 $199

$30,000 $239

$35,000 $278

$40,000 $318

$45,000 $358

$50.000 $398

$55,000 $438
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If your household 
income is

Insurance is affordable 
if the lowest cost plan 
to cover the employee 
only (not a family plan) 
costs less than

$60,000 $478

$65,000 $517

$70,000 $557

$75,000 $597

$80,000 $637

$85,000 $677

$90,000 $717

$95,000 $756

$100,000 $796

To get tax credits, you need to file income taxes 
for the year when you got health benefits. If you 
are married, you need to file your income taxes 
jointly, unless you are a victim of domestic abuse 
or abandoned by a spouse.
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ConnectorCare plans

In addition to Advance Premium Tax Credits  
from the federal government, you may also be 
able to get help paying for health insurance from 
Massachusetts through a ConnectorCare health 
insurance plan. ConnectorCare plans are a set of 
health insurance plans with lower monthly premiums 
and lower out-of-pocket costs. They are available 
for people whose income is at or below 300% of the 
FPL. If you qualify for a ConnectorCare plan, you 
will be able to get the most savings possible if you 
choose one of these plans for your health insurance.

Cost sharing reductions

Cost sharing is the amount of money you pay 
when you get medical care. These costs may 
include copays and annual deductibles, and 
sometimes coinsurance. If you qualify for cost 
sharing reductions, your out-of-pocket costs 
will be lower when you get care. Cost sharing 
reductions are available for people with incomes 
that are at or below 250% of the FPL. Cost 
sharing reductions are only available if you are 
enrolled in a ConnectorCare plan.
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Special cost sharing for American Indians 
and Alaska Natives

There are special cost sharing rules for 
American Indians and Alaska Natives. If you 
are an American Indian and you get services 
directly from an Indian Health Service Center, 
tribal or Urban Indian organization, or through 
the Contract Health Service program, you will 
not have to pay any out-of-pocket costs at 
the time you get care. You will also be able to 
enroll in or change health plans on a monthly 
basis throughout the year. American Indians and 
Alaska Natives with income at or below 300% 
of the FPL will not have to pay for cost sharing 
expenses, such as copays, deductibles, and 
coinsurance.

Premiums

If you have a monthly premium, it must be paid by 
the 23rd of the month. When you enroll in a plan 
through the Health Connector, you will need to 
pay your first premium by the 23rd of the month 
before your coverage can start.
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Coverage begins

After you qualify for a health or dental insurance 
plan through the Health Connector, you must 
complete your enrollment before your coverage 
can begin. To finish enrolling, you must choose 
a medical or dental insurance plan and send 
payment for your first premium bill before the 23rd 
of the month. Once you have chosen a plan and 
paid your first bill, your coverage will begin on the 
first day of the following month.
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SECTION 5
THE HEALTH SAFETY NET

The Health Safety Net (HSN) pays Massachusetts 
acute hospitals and community health centers 
for certain health care services provided to low-
income patients. Effective April 1, 2016, the HSN 
pays for services provided to Massachusetts 
residents with Modified Adjusted Gross Income 
(MAGI) household income at or below 300% of 
the federal poverty level. Eligibility for the Health 
Safety Net is determined by MassHealth.

Who can get benefits

The Health Safety Net may be able to pay for 
certain services you receive from an acute 
hospital or a community health center if you are 
a resident of Massachusetts and are uninsured 
or underinsured (your health insurance does not 
cover all medically necessary services).

Income standards

You must give us proof of your income for every 
person in your household. The Health Safety Net 
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generally covers individuals with household income 
at or below 300% of the federal poverty level. If your 
income is above 150% of the federal poverty level,  
and at or below 300%, an annual deductible based 
on income may apply. The deductible is a certain 
amount of health care costs you are responsible for. 
Both paid and unpaid bills can count toward your 
deductible. Only services that the Health Safety 
Net can pay for will count toward your deductible. 
Private doctor and private lab or radiology bills do 
not count toward the deductible, even if you get 
these services in a hospital. Ask your provider which 
bills can count toward your deductible.

Covered services

For the Health Safety Net, services must be 
provided by a Massachusetts acute hospital or 
community health center. The Health Safety Net will 
generally pay for the same services that are covered 
by MassHealth Standard. The Health Safety Net 
pays for some pharmacy services, but you must 
fill your prescription at a pharmacy associated with 
the doctor who wrote your prescription. There may 
be some limits, so you should always check with a 
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provider to see if they offer the service. You may be 
charged copays and deductibles.

Some of the services not covered

Some noncovered services are listed below. You 
should check with your provider to find out the full 
list of what is and is not covered.

•	Physicians that are not employed by the 
hospital, even if they work at the hospital

•	Ambulance services

•	Lab charges that are not billed by a 
Massachusetts acute care hospital or 
community health center

•	Radiology services that are not billed by 
a Massachusetts acute care hospital or 
community health center

•	Durable medical equipment, except for crutches 
and canes provided during a medical visit

•	Nonmedical services (social, educational, 
vocational)

•	Nonmedically necessary services

•	Experimental or unproven services
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A more detailed description of the services covered and any 
limitations can be found in the Health Safety Net regulations 
at 101 CMR 613.00.

Coverage begins

If you are eligible, your Health Safety Net 
eligibility may begin up to 10 days before the date 
MassHealth gets your application, if we get all 
the needed information within 90 days. Ask your 
provider if you have retroactive Health Safety Net 
eligibility.

Deductible income standard

If your income is above 150% of the federal 
poverty level, you may be responsible for a 
deductible. 

Grievance process

Patients may request that the Health Safety Net 
conduct a review of an eligibility determination, or 
of provider compliance with the Health Safety Net 
regulation. To file a grievance with the HSN, send 
a letter to
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Health Safety Net Office 
Attn. HSN Grievances 
100 Hancock Street, 6th floor 
Quincy, MA  02171.

The letter should include your name and address, 
and, if possible, information about the situation, 
the reason for the grievance, the provider’s name 
(if a provider is involved), and any other relevant 
information. Questions about filing a grievance 
should be directed to the HSN Help Line at 1-877-
910-2100.
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SECTION 6
MASSHEALTH AND OTHER 
BENEFITS

Senior Care Options (SCO) Program 

What it is and whom it is for

Senior Care Options (SCO) is a comprehensive 
health program. SCO covers all of the services 
normally paid for through Medicare and 
MassHealth. The SCO program provides services 
to members through a SCO plan and its network 
of providers. SCO offers the opportunity to 
receive quality health care by combining health 
services with social support services. It does this 
by coordinating care and specialized geriatric 
support services, along with respite care for 
families and caregivers. 

There are no copayments for members enrolled in 
SCO.

Enrollment is open to MassHealth Standard 
members who meet the following criteria:

•	are 65 years of age or older;
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•	 live at home or in a long-term-care facility (a 
member cannot be an inpatient at a chronic 
or rehabilitation hospital, or reside in an 
intermediate care facility for the intellectually 
disabled);

•	are not subject to a six-month deductible period 
under MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 
520.000;

•	are not diagnosed with end-stage renal disease; 
and

•	 live in an area served by a SCO plan.

SCO offers seniors the benefits of coordinated 
care services. Members enrolled in SCO have 
24-hour access to care and active involvement in 
decisions about their health care. SCO members 
have a primary care provider (PCP) who is 
affiliated with the SCO plan. The member’s PCP 
and a team of nurses, specialists, and a geriatric 
support services coordinator work with the 
member (and family members or caregivers, if 
applicable) to develop a plan of care to specifically 
address the needs of the member. 
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Covered services include all MassHealth and 
Medicare covered services, for example: meal 
delivery, transportation, adult day health, social 
services, prescriptions*, hospitalizations, and, if 
necessary, nursing facility placement.

Enrollment in SCO is voluntary, and once enrolled, 
a member may disenroll any month of the year.

*	 SCO provides your Medicare prescription drug 
coverage.

Where to call

Senior Care Options at 1-888-885-0484 (TTY: 
1-888-821-5225 for people who are deaf, hard of 
hearing, or speech disabled).

Other Benefits

The following MassHealth benefits are some 
of the wide range of community, residential, 
and institutional long-term supports available 
to persons 65 years of age or older or disabled 
persons who live at home or need nursing facility 
care.
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Type of Benefit

Group Adult Foster Care 
If you need help with daily personal care and need 
to live in supported housing or an assisted living 
residence*, group adult foster care may be right 
for you.

*	 If applying for group adult foster care in 
assisted living, the SSI-G living arrangement 
through the Social Security Administration 
may be an option.

Adult Foster Care  
If you need help with daily personal care, and 
would like to get that care in a family, home-like 
setting, adult foster care may be right for you.

Adult Day Health  
If you need help with personal care and/or nursing 
services provided in a medically supervised, 
structured day program setting, adult day health 
may be right for you.

Day Habilitation Program  
If you are a person with intellectual or 
developmental disabilities and need assistance 
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to develop skills designed to help keep you 
independent in the community, the Day 
Habilitation Program may be right for you.

Nursing Facility Care 
If you need skilled nursing services provided in an 
institutional setting on a short- or long-term basis, 
nursing facility care may be right for you.

Requirements to be met

•	A doctor’s approval stating that these services 
are right for you

•	A clinical approval from the designated clinical 
agent**

•	The need for daily personal care**

•	Financial requirements as described in this guide

** 	Not required for the Day Habilitation Program

Where to call

For general financial questions about MassHealth 
call us at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 
for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or 
speech disabled).
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SECTION 7
IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT 
MASSHEALTH

MassHealth Coverage Types and Benefits

The MassHealth coverage types are briefly 
explained on the following pages. If you have a 
question about which services are covered, call us 
at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for people 
who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled).

Standard

MassHealth Standard is the most complete 
coverage offered by MassHealth. It pays for a 
wide range of health-care benefits and is the only 
coverage that pays for long-term-care services.

Coverage Start Date (if eligible) 
Coverage generally begins on the date 
MassHealth gets your filled-out and signed Senior 
Application. If you have unpaid medical bills, 
coverage may begin up to three months before 
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the month of your application if you can prove you 
would have met the eligibility rules.

Covered Services 
For MassHealth Standard, covered services 
include the ones listed below. There may be some 
limits. Your health care provider can explain them.

•	 Inpatient hospital services (Note 1)

•	Outpatient services: hospitals, clinics, doctors, 
dentists, home health care

•	Medical services (Note 1): lab tests, X rays, 
therapy, prescription drugs (Note 2), dentures, 
eyeglasses, hearing aids, medical equipment 
and supplies

•	Mental health and substance abuse services: 
inpatient and outpatient

•	Hospice services—special rules apply

•	Pharmacy (Note 2)

•	Transportation—special rules apply

•	Personal care attendant services—special rules 
apply

•	Long-term-care services—special rules apply

•	Chronic disease and rehabilitation inpatient 
hospital services—special rules apply
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•	Adult day health and adult foster care

•	Care and services related to an organ transplant 
procedure (if approved)

•	Payment of Medicare cost sharing—Medicare 
Part A and B premiums and nonpharmacy 
Medicare copayments and deductibles

MassHealth Card  
You will get a MassHealth card. You must show 
your MassHealth card to your doctor or other 
health care provider whenever you get medical 
care. If you also have other health insurance, be 
sure to show all cards.

Family Assistance 

MassHealth Family Assistance is available to 
seniors who meet the income and asset rules for 
MassHealth Standard, but have an immigration 
status that keeps them from getting MassHealth 
Standard. It pays for a wide range of health care 
benefits.

Coverage Start Date (if eligible) 
Coverage generally begins on the date 
MassHealth gets your filled-out and signed Senior 
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Application. If you have unpaid medical bills, 
coverage may begin up to three months before 
the month of your application if you can prove you 
would have met the eligibility rules.

Covered Services 
For MassHealth Family Assistance, covered services 
include the ones listed below. There may be some 
limits. Your health care provider can explain them.

•	 Inpatient hospital services (Note 1)

•	Outpatient services: hospitals, clinics, doctors, 
dentists

•	Medical services (Note 1): lab tests, X rays, 
therapy, prescription drugs (Note 2), dentures, 
medical equipment and supplies

•	Mental health and substance abuse services: 
inpatient and outpatient

•	Pharmacy (Note 2)

•	Ambulance transportation for an emergency 
medical condition only

MassHealth Card 
You will get a MassHealth card. You must show 
your MassHealth card to your doctor or other 
health care provider whenever you get medical 
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care. If you also have other health insurance, be 
sure to show all cards. 

Note 1: There may be some limitations, including age.

Note 2: If you are eligible for both Medicare and 
MassHealth, Medicare provides most of your 
prescription drug coverage through a Medicare 
prescription drug plan. This means you must 
choose and enroll in a Medicare prescription drug 
plan. If you do not choose a drug plan, Medicare 
will choose one for you. You may change plans at 
any time.

Emergency Aid to Elderly, Disabled and 
Children (EAEDC)

Individuals 65 years of age or older who are 
getting cash assistance through the Department 
of Transitional Assistance’s EAEDC program are 
eligible for MassHealth Standard or MassHealth 
Family Assistance.

Note: If you are getting cash benefits under the 
EAEDC program through the Department of 
Transitional Assistance, you will also get medical 
coverage under the EAEDC program.
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Limited 

MassHealth Limited coverage is available to 
seniors who meet the income and asset rules 
for MassHealth Standard or MassHealth Family 
Assistance, but have an immigration status that 
keeps them from getting MassHealth Standard 
or Family Assistance. Coverage is for emergency 
medical services only.

Coverage Start Date (if eligible) 
Coverage generally begins on the date 
MassHealth gets your filled-out and signed Senior 
Application. If you have unpaid medical bills, 
coverage may begin up to three months before 
the month of your application if you can prove you 
would have met the eligibility rules.

Covered Services 
For MassHealth Limited, covered services include 
the ones listed below. You can get care only for 
medical emergencies (conditions that could cause 
serious harm if not treated). There may be some 
limits. Your health care provider can explain them.

•	 Inpatient hospital services: emergency services 
only
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•	Outpatient hospital services: emergency 
services and emergency visits to emergency 
departments

•	Certain medical services provided by doctors 
and clinics outside of a hospital

•	Pharmacy services for treating an emergency 
medical condition

•	Ambulance transportation for an emergency 
medical condition only

MassHealth Card  
You will get a MassHealth card. You must show 
your MassHealth card to your doctor or other 
health care provider whenever you get medical 
care. If you also have other health insurance, be 
sure to show all cards. Certain members must 
show their MassHealth Limited approval letter to 
their doctor or other health care provider.

Senior Buy-In

Payment of your Medicare Parts A and 
B premiums and nonpharmacy Medicare 
copayments and deductibles. (Certain MassHealth 
Standard members may also get this benefit.)
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Coverage Start Date (if eligible) 
Coverage begins on the first day of the month 
after the date MassHealth decides that you can 
get MassHealth.

Covered Services 
Medicare Parts A and B premiums and nonpharmacy 
Medicare copayments and deductibles

MassHealth Card 
You will get a MassHealth card. You must show 
your MassHealth and Medicare cards to your 
doctor or other health care provider whenever you 
get medical care. If you also have other health 
insurance, be sure to show all cards.

Buy-In

Payment of your Medicare Part B premiums only

Coverage Start Date (if eligible) 
Coverage begins on the date MassHealth gets 
your filled-out and signed MassHealth Buy-In 
application and may begin up to three months 
before the month of your application if you can 
prove you would have met the eligibility rules.
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Covered Services 
Medicare Part B premium payment

MassHealth Card 
You will not get a MassHealth card.

Buy-In

Certain MassHealth Standard members who live in 
a long-term-care facility may also get this benefit.

Coverage Start Date (if eligible) 
Coverage begins on the date MassHealth gets 
your filled-out and signed MassHealth Buy-In 
application and may begin up to three months 
before the month of your application if you can 
prove you would have met the eligibility rules.

Covered Services 
Medicare Part B premium payment

MassHealth Card 
You will get a MassHealth card. You must show 
your MassHealth and Medicare cards to your 
doctor or other health care provider whenever you 
get medical care. If you also have other health 
insurance, be sure to show all cards. 
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A complete listing and details of the covered services 
can be found in the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 
450.105, 415.000 (inpatient hospital services), and 407.000 
(transportation services). More information on copayments 
can be found at 130 CMR 450.130.

Information about Getting Medical 
Services While on MassHealth Standard, 
Family Assistance, or Limited

Prior approval 
For some medical services, your doctor or 
health care provider has to get approval from 
MassHealth first. This is called “prior approval.” 
Medical services that are covered by Medicare do 
not need prior approval from MassHealth.

If you have other health insurance 
If you also have Medicare, Medigap, or any other 
kind of health insurance, your health care provider 
must bill the other insurers first. MassHealth will pay 
any remaining copays or deductibles. Your health 
care provider must not bill you for any service or part 
of any service that is covered by MassHealth.

Note: MassHealth will not pay any part of the cost 
of services covered by other health insurance.
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Out-of-pocket expenses

In some cases, MassHealth can pay you back for 
medical bills that you paid before you got your 
MassHealth approval notice. We will do this if

•	we denied your eligibility and later decided that 
the denial was incorrect; or

•	 you paid for a MassHealth-covered medical service 
that you got before we told you that you would 
get MassHealth. In this case, your health care 
provider must pay you back and bill MassHealth 
for the service. The provider must accept the 
MassHealth payment as payment in full.

Out-of-state emergency treatment

MassHealth is a health care program for people 
living in Massachusetts who get medical care in 
Massachusetts. In certain situations, MassHealth 
may pay for emergency treatment for a medical 
condition when a MassHealth member is out of 
state*. Special rules apply.

*	 Per MassHealth regulation 130 CMR 
450.109(B), MassHealth does not cover any 
medical services provided outside the United 
States and its territories.
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If an emergency occurs while you are out of 
state, show your MassHealth card and any other 
health insurance cards you have, if possible. 
Also, be sure to call us at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 
1-800-497-4648 for people who are deaf, hard of 
hearing, or speech disabled) within 24 hours of 
the emergency treatment, or as soon as you can.

The MassHealth card 

If you are eligible for MassHealth Standard, 
MassHealth Family Assistance, MassHealth 
Limited, or MassHealth Senior Buy-In, you will 
get a MassHealth card. You must show your 
MassHealth card to your doctor or other health 
care provider whenever you get medical care. 
Those determined to be low income for the 
purposes of the Health Safety Net (HSN) will not 
get a card. If you are eligible for HSN services, 
hospitals and community health centers will check 
to determine if they can get reimbursement for 
services provided to you and your spouse.
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SECTION 8 
OTHER THINGS YOU NEED TO KNOW

Our decision 

We will contact you if we need more information 
to make our decision. We will send you a written 
notice about your eligibility generally within 45 
days of the date we get your filled-out and signed 
application.

•	 If you are eligible, the notice will tell you the 
date your coverage begins. See Section 8 for 
information about services and benefits that are 
available under each coverage type.

•	 If you have a deductible, the notice will tell you 
how we determined the deductible amount and 
what you need to do to meet the deductible.

•	 If you have to pay a patient-paid amount (PPA) 
to the long-term-care facility, the notice will tell 
you the amount and how we determined the 
PPA.

•	 If you are not eligible, the notice will tell you the 
reason and your right to appeal our decision. 
See page 119.
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Copay and premium information for 
American Indians/Alaska Natives

American Indians and Alaska Natives who have 
received or are eligible to receive a service from 
an Indian health care provider or from a non-
Indian health care provider through referral from an 
Indian health care provider are exempt from paying 
copays and premiums as MassHealth members.

How we use your social security number

Unless one of the exceptions on page 20 applies, 
you must give us a social security number (SSN) 
or proof that one has been applied for, for every 
household member who is applying. MassHealth 
may require you to give us the SSN, if you can 
get it, of any person not applying who has or who 
can get health insurance that covers you or any 
member of your household.

We use SSNs to check information you have 
given us. We also use them to detect fraud, to 
see if anyone is getting duplicate benefits, or to 
see if others (a “third party”) should be paying for 
services. 
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We match the SSN of anyone in your household 
who is applying and anyone who has or who can 
get health insurance for any such persons with the 
files of agencies, including the following: 

•	 Internal Revenue Service

•	Social Security Administration

•	 Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE)

•	Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

•	Registry of Motor Vehicles

•	Department of Revenue

•	Department of Transitional Assistance

•	Department of Industrial Accidents

•	Division of Unemployment Assistance

•	Department of Veterans’ Services, Human 
Resource Division

•	Bureau of Special Investigations

•	Bureau of Vital Statistics (Department of Public 
Health)

If MassHealth pays part of your health insurance 
premiums, MassHealth may add your SSN or 
the SSN of the policyholder in your household 
to the State Comptroller’s vendor file. You or the 
policyholder in your household must have a valid SSN 
before you can get a payment from MassHealth. 
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Files may also be matched with social service 
agencies in this state and other states, and 
computer files of insurance companies, 
employers, and managed care organizations. 
Additionally MassHealth may obtain your 
financial record (and, if applicable, those of your 
household members) from banks and other 
financial institutions in order to verify your financial 
resources and otherwise determine your eligibility 
while you are a MassHealth member.

If you or members of your household are in 
an accident

If you or any members of your household are in an 
accident or are injured in some other way, and get 
money from a third party because of that accident 
or injury, you will need to use that money to repay 
whoever paid the medical expenses related to that 
accident or injury.

•	You will have to pay MassHealth for services 
that were covered by MassHealth or the 
Children’s Medical Security Plan (CMSP).

•	 If you are applying for MassHealth or CMSP 
because of an accident or injury, you will need 
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to use the money to repay the costs paid by 
MassHealth for all medical services you and 
your household get.

•	 If you or any members of your household are 
in an accident, or are injured in some other 
way, after becoming eligible for MassHealth 
or CMSP, you will need to use that money to 
repay only the costs paid by MassHealth or 
CMSP for medical services provided because 
of that accident or injury.

•	You will have to pay the Massachusetts Health 
Connector or your health insurer for certain 
medical services provided.

•	You will have to pay the Health Safety Net for 
medical services reimbursed for you and any 
household members. 

•	You must tell MassHealth (for MassHealth and 
CMSP), your health insurer for ConnectorCare 
plans and Advance Premium Tax Credits, 
or the Health Safety Net in writing within 10 
calendar days, or as soon as possible, if you 
file any insurance claim or lawsuit because of 
an accident or injury to you or any household 
members who are applying for, or who already 
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have, benefits. Third parties who might give you 
or members of your household money because 
of an accident or injury include the following:

•	a person or business who may have caused 
the accident or injury;

•	an insurance company, including your own 
insurance company; or

•	other sources, like workers’ compensation.

For more information about accident recovery, see the 
MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 517.000 and Chapter 
118E of the Massachusetts General Laws.

Recovery from the estates of certain 
members who die

MassHealth has the right to get back money from 
the estates of certain MassHealth members after 
they die. Unless certain exceptions apply (see 
MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 515.011). 
In general, the money that must be repaid is for 
services paid by MassHealth for a member:

•	after the member turned 55 years of age; and

•	at any age while the member was permanently 
in a long-term-care facility.
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Protections and exceptions to the estate recovery 
rule above.

•	 If a deceased member leaves behind a spouse, 
or a child who is blind, permanently and totally 
disabled, or under 21 years of age, MassHealth 
will not require repayment while any of these 
persons are still living.

•	 If real property, like a home, must be sold to 
get money to repay MassHealth, MassHealth, 
in limited circumstances, may decide that the 
estate does not need to repay MassHealth. The 
property must be left to a person who meets 
certain financial standards, and who has lived 
in the property, without leaving, for at least one 
year before the now-deceased member became 
eligible for MassHealth. Also, certain income, 
resources, and property of American Indians and 
Alaska Natives may be exempt from recovery. 

•	 In addition, when a member is eligible for both 
MassHealth and Medicare, MassHealth will not 
recover Medicare cost sharing benefits (premiums, 
deductibles, and copayments) paid on or after 
January 1, 2010, for persons who got these 
benefits while they were 55 years of age or older.
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•	 In addition, if the member, on the date of 
admission to the long-term-care facility, had 
certain long-term-care insurance* and met the 
other requirements under the rules to qualify 
for this exception, the estate of a MassHealth 
member may not have to repay MassHealth 
for nursing facility and other long-term-care 
services.

*	 The long-term-care insurance must meet the 
rules of the Division of Insurance under 211 
CMR 65.09, and MassHealth regulations at 
130 CMR 515.000. The member must also 
have been living in a long-term-care facility 
and told MassHealth that he or she did not 
intend to return home.   
For more information about estate recovery 
and real estate liens, see the MassHealth 
regulations at 130 CMR 515.000, and Chapter 
118E of the Massachusetts General Laws. 

Repayment from annuities

The Commonwealth must be named as a 
remainder beneficiary of any annuity bought, 
annuitized, or otherwise changed by a MassHealth 
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applicant, member, or spouse on or after 
February 8, 2006, for the total amount of medical 
assistance paid for the institutionalized individual. 
This beneficiary designation must not be removed.

See the MassHealth regulations at 130 CMR 520.000 for 
more information.

Signing up to vote

This guide includes information about voter 
registration. You do not need to register to vote to 
get benefits.
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SECTION 9
YOUR RIGHTS AND 
RESPONSIBILITIES

Confidentiality and fair treatment

MassHealth cannot discriminate against you 
because of race, color, sex, age, disability, country 
of origin, sexual orientation, religion, or creed. 
MassHealth is committed to keeping the personal 
information we have about you confidential. All 
personal information MassHealth has about any 
applicant or member, including medical data, 
health status, and the personal information you 
give us during your application for and receipt of 
benefits is confidential. This information may not 
be used or released for purposes not related to 
the administration of MassHealth without your 
permission unless required by law or a court order. 
You can give us your written permission to use 
your personal health information for a specific 
purpose or share it with a specific person or 
organization. You can also give us your permission 
to share your personal information with your 
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authorized representative or certified application 
counselor, if you have one, by filling out an 
Authorized Representative Designation Form or a 
Certified Application Counselor Designation Form.

For more information about how MassHealth 
may use and share your information and what 
your rights are regarding your information, 
please review the MassHealth Notice of Privacy 
Practices. You can get a copy by calling us at 
1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for people 
who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled) 
or by visiting www.mass.gov/masshealth.

Authorized representative

An authorized representative is someone you 
choose to help you get health care coverage 
through programs offered by MassHealth and the 
Massachusetts Health Connector. You can do 
this by filling out the Authorized Representative 
Designation Form (ARD) or a similar designation 
form. An authorized representative may fill out 
your application or eligibility review forms, give 
proof of information given on these eligibility forms, 
report changes in your income, address, or other 
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circumstances, get copies of all MassHealth or 
Health Connector eligibility or enrollment notices 
sent to you, and act on your behalf in all other 
matters with MassHealth or the Health Connector. 

An authorized representative can be a friend, 
family member, relative, or other person or 
organization of your choosing who agrees to 
help you. It is up to you to choose an authorized 
representative, if you want one. MassHealth or the 
Health Connector will not choose an authorized 
representative for you.

You must designate in writing on the Authorized 
Representative Designation Form or a similar 
designation document or authorization document 
the person or organization you want to be your 
authorized representative. In most cases, your 
authorized representative must also fill out this form 
or a similar designation document or authorization 
document. This form is included in the application 
packet, or you can call us at 1-800-841-2900 
(TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for people who are deaf, 
hard of hearing, or speech disabled), or visit www.
mass.gov/masshealth, to get one. Please see the 
instructions on the form for more details.
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An authorized representative can also be 
someone who is acting responsibly on your 
behalf if you cannot designate an authorized 
representative in writing because of a mental or 
physical condition, or has been appointed by law 
to act on your behalf or on behalf of your estate. 
This person must fill out the applicable parts of 
the Authorized Representative Designation Form 
or provide a similar designation document. If this 
person has been appointed by law to represent 
you, either you or this person must also submit 
to MassHealth or the Health Connector a copy 
of the applicable legal document stating that this 
person is lawfully representing you or your estate. 
This person may be a legal guardian, conservator, 
holder of power of attorney, or health care proxy, 
or if the applicant or member has died, the 
estate’s administrator or executor.

Permission to Share Information

If you want us to share your personal health 
information, including sending copies of your 
eligibility notices, with someone who is not your 
authorized representative, you can do this by 
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giving us written permission. We have forms 
you can use to do this. You can call us, or visit 
www.mass.gov/masshealth, to get a copy of the 
appropriate form.

Reporting changes 

You must tell us about any changes that may 
affect your eligibility, including, but not limited to, 
any changes in

•	 income

•	health insurance

•	assets

•	 immigration status

•	disability status

•	address

within 10 days of the changes or as soon as 
possible. 

If you do not tell us about changes, your 
MassHealth benefits may stop and you will not be 
able to use your MassHealth card. 
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Giving correct information

Giving incorrect or false information may end your 
benefits. It may also result in fines, imprisonment, 
or both.

Our decision and your right to appeal

We will send you a notice to let you know if 
you can or cannot get one of the MassHealth 
coverage types or programs, or ConnectorCare 
Plans and Advance Premium Tax Credits, or the 
Health Safety Net. If you think that our decision is 
wrong, you have the right to ask for a fair hearing 
to appeal our decision. Notices have information 
that explains how to ask for a fair hearing and how 
much time you have to ask for one. 

See page 146 to find out where to send your fair 
hearing request. If you have questions about a 
MassHealth notice or how to ask for an appeal, 
call us at 1-888-665-9993 (TTY: 1-888-665-9997 
for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or 
speech disabled). 

If you have questions about a Health Connector 
appeal that is about services or premiums, call the 
Health Connector at 1-877-623-6765. 
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If you have questions about a Health Safety Net 
grievance, call the Health Safety Net Customer 
Service Center at 1-877-910-2100. Health Safety 
Net determinations are conducted through 
MassHealth.
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SECTION 10
U.S. CITIZENSHIP AND 
IMMIGRATION RULES

When deciding if you are eligible for benefits, we 
look at all the requirements described under each 
coverage type and program. We will try to prove 
your U.S. citizenship/national status and immigration 
status using federal and state data services to 
decide if you may get a certain coverage type.

U.S. Citizens/Nationals

U.S. citizens/nationals may be eligible for MassHealth 
Standard and Family Assistance, They may also 
be eligible for ConnectorCare plans and Advance 
Premium Tax Credits or the Health Safety Net.

Proof of citizenship and identity is required 
for all U.S. citizens/nationals.

A citizen of the United States is

•	an individual who was born in the United States 
or its territories, including Puerto Rico, the 
Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana 
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Islands, except if born to a foreign diplomat 
and who otherwise qualifies for U.S. citizenship 
under § 301 et seq. of the Immigration and 
Nationality Act (INA);

•	an individual born of a parent who is a U.S. 
citizen or who otherwise qualifies for U.S. 
citizenship under § 301 et seq. of the INA;

•	a naturalized citizen; or

•	a national (both citizen and noncitizen 
national).Citizen national. A citizen national is 
an individual who otherwise qualifies as a U.S. 
citizen under § 301 et seq. of the INA.

•	Noncitizen national. A noncitizen national is an 
individual who was born in one of the outlying 
possessions of the United States, including 
American Samoa and Swain’s Island, to a 
parent who is a noncitizen national.

Non-U.S. citizens

To get the type of MassHealth that gives the 
most coverage, or to get a ConnectorCare plan 
and Advance Premium Tax Credits, satisfactory 
immigration status must be proved. MassHealth 
will perform information matches with state and 
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federal agencies to prove immigration statuses. If 
electronic sources are unable to prove declared 
status, additional documentation will be required 
from the individuals.

Non-U.S. citizens do not have to submit their 
immigration documents with the application if they 
are applying only for their children, but are not 
applying for any health benefits for themselves.

Lawfully present immigrants

The following are lawfully present immigrants.

Qualified noncitizens

People who meet one of the following statuses 
may be eligible for MassHealth Standard or 
CommonHealth. They may also be eligible for 
benefits through the Health Connector or the 
Health Safety Net.

There are two groups of qualified noncitizens:

1.	 People who are qualified regardless of when 
they entered the U.S. or how long they have 
had a qualified status. Such individuals are
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•	 people granted asylum under section 208 of 
the INA;

•	 refugees admitted under section 207 of the INA;
•	 people whose deportation has been withheld 

under section 243(h) or 241(b)(3) of the INA, 
as provided by section 5562 of the federal 
Balanced Budget Act of 1997;

•	 veterans, their spouses, and their children(i)	
veterans of the United States Armed Forces 
with an honorable discharge not related to 
their noncitizen status; or
–	 veterans of the United States Armed 

Forces with an honorable discharge not 
related to their noncitizen status; or

–	 Filipino war veterans who fought under 
U.S. command during WWII; or

–	 Hmong and Highland Lao veterans 
who are admitted for legal permanent 
residence (LPR) and who fought under 
U.S. command during the Vietnam War; 
or

–	 persons with noncitizen status on active 
duty in the U.S. Armed Forces, other 
than active duty for training; or
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–	 the spouse, unremarried surviving 
spouse, or unmarried dependent children 
of the noncitizen described in the four 
points above;

•	 conditional entrants under section 203(a)(7) 
of the INA as in effect before April 1, 1980;

•	 people who entered as Cuban/Haitian 
entrants under section 501(e) of the Refugee 
Education Assistance Act of 1980;

•	 Native Americans with at least 50 percent 
American Indian blood who were born in 
Canada pursuant to section 289 of the INA 
or other tribal members born in territories 
outside of the United States pursuant to 25 
U.S.C. 450b(e);

•	 Amerasians as described in section 402(a)
(2)(A)(i)(V) of the Personal Responsibility 
and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act 
(PRWORA) of 1996;

•	 victims of severe forms of trafficking, and 
spouse, child, sibling, or parent of the victim 
in accordance with the Victims of Trafficking 
and Violence Protection Act of 2000 (Public 
Law 106-386) as amended;
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•	 Iraqi Special Immigrants granted special 
immigrant status under section 101(a)(27) of 
the INA, pursuant to section 1244 of Public 
Law 110-181 or section 525 of Public Law 
110-161; or

•	 Afghan Special Immigrants granted special 
immigrant status under section 101(a)(27) of 
the INA, pursuant to section 525 of Public 
Law 110-161.

2.	 People who are qualified based on having a 
qualified status identified at “A” below and 
who have satisfied one of the conditions listed 
at “B” below.  Such individuals are

A.	 people who have one or more of the 
following statuses: 
–	 people admitted for legal permanent 

residence (LPR) under the Immigration 
and Nationality Act (INA); or

–	 people granted parole for at least one 
year under section 212(d)(5) of the INA; 
or

–	 a battered spouse, battered child, or 
child of a battered parent or parent of 
a battered child who meet the criteria 
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of section 431(c) of the Personal 
Responsibility and Work Opportunity 
Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996, 8 
U.S.C. 1641; and also

B.	 people who satisfy at least one of the 
following three conditions:
–	 they have had a status listed in 2.A. 

above for five or more years (a battered 
noncitizen attains this status when the 
petition is accepted as establishing a 
prima facie case);

–	 they entered the U.S. before August 22, 
1996, regardless of status at the time 
of entry, and have been continuously 
present in the U.S. until attaining a status 
listed in 2.A. above. For this purpose, 
an individual is deemed continuously 
present who has been absent from the 
U.S. for no more than 30 consecutive 
days or 90 nonconsecutive days before 
attaining a status listed in 2.A. above; or

–	 they also have or had a status listed in 
number 1 above.
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Qualified noncitizens barred

People who have a status listed under qualified 
noncitizens at 2.A. above (legal permanent 
resident, parolee for at least one year, or battered 
noncitizen) and who do not meet one of the 
conditions listed at 2.B. above, are qualified 
noncitizens barred. Qualified noncitizens barred, 
like qualified noncitizens, are lawfully present 
immigrants. Certain people who are qualified 
noncitizens barred may be eligible for MassHealth 
Standard, Family Assistance, or Limited. They 
may also be eligible for benefits through the 
Health Connector and the Health Safety Net.

Nonqualified individuals lawfully present

Certain people who are nonqualified individuals 
lawfully present and meet one of the following 
statuses may be eligible for MassHealth Standard, 
Family Assistance, or Limited. They may also 
be eligible for benefits through the Health 
Connector and the Health Safety Net. People 
who are nonqualified individuals lawfully present 
are not defined as qualified under PRWORA of 
1996, 8 U.S.C. § 1641, but are lawfully present. 
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Nonqualified individuals lawfully present are as 
follows.

•	People in a valid nonimmigrant status as 
otherwise defined in 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15) or 
otherwise defined under immigration laws as 
defined in 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(17).

•	 People paroled into the U.S. in accordance with 8 
U.S.C. 1182(d)(5) for less than one year, except for 
an individual paroled for prosecution, for deferred 
inspection, or pending removal proceedings.

•	 People who belong to one of the following classes:

•	granted temporary resident status in 
accordance with 8 U.S.C. 1160 or 1255a, 
respectively;

•	granted Temporary Protected Status (TPS) 
in accordance with 8 U.S.C. 1254a, and 
individuals with pending applications for 
TPS who have been granted employment 
authorization;

•	granted employment authorization under 8 
CFR 274a.12(c);

•	Family Unity beneficiaries in accordance 
with section 301 of Public Law 101-649, as 
amended;
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•	under Deferred Enforced Departure (DED) 
in accordance with a decision made by the 
President;

•	granted Deferred Action status, except for 
applicants or individuals granted status under 
DHS Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival 
Process (DACA);

•	granted an administrative stay of removal 
under 8 CFR part 241; or

•	beneficiary of approved visa petition who 
has a pending application for adjustment of 
status.

•	People with a pending application for asylum 
under 8 U.S.C. 1158, or for withholding of 
removal under 8 U.S.C. 1231, or under the 
Convention Against Torture who

•	have been granted employment authorization; 
or

•	are under 14 years of age and have had an 
application pending for at least 180 days. 
application pending for at least 180 days.

•	People who have been granted withholding of 
removal under the Convention Against Torture.
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•	Children who have a pending application for 
Special Immigrant Juvenile status as described 
in 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(27)(J).

Qualified noncitizens barred and 
nonqualified individuals lawfully present

Qualified noncitizens barred and nonqualified 
individuals lawfully present who are 65 years 
of age or older may be eligible for MassHealth 
Family Assistance, Limited, or the Health Safety 
Net.

Nonqualified Persons Residing Under 
Color of Law (Nonqualified PRUCOLs)

Nonqualified PRUCOLs are certain noncitizens 
who are not lawfully present. These individuals 
may be permanently residing in the United States 
under color of law as described in 130 CMR 
518.000. Certain people who are nonqualified 
PRUCOLs and meet one of the following statuses 
may be eligible for MassHealth Standard, Family 
Assistance, or Limited. They may also be eligible 
for benefits through the Health Safety Net.
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•	Noncitizens living in the United States in 
accordance with an indefinite stay of deportation

•	Noncitizens living in the United States in 
accordance with an indefinite voluntary departure

•	Noncitizens and their families who are covered 
by an approved immediate relative petition, who 
are entitled to voluntary departure, and whose 
departure the United States Department of 
Homeland Security (DHS) does not contemplate 
enforcing

•	Noncitizens granted voluntary departure by 
the DHS or an Immigration Judge, and whose 
deportation the DHS does not contemplate 
enforcing

•	Noncitizens living under orders of supervision 
who do not have employment authorization 
under 8 CFR 274a.12(c)

•	Noncitizens who have entered and continuously 
lived in the United States since before January 
1, 1972

•	Noncitizens granted suspension of deportation, 
and whose departure the DHS does not 
contemplate enforcing
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•	Noncitizens with a pending application for 
asylum under 8 U.S.C. 1158 or for withholding 
of removal under 8 U.S.C. 1231 or under the 
Convention Against Torture who have not been 
granted employment authorization, or are under 
14 years of age and have not had an application 
pending for at least 180 days

•	Noncitizens granted Deferred Action for 
Childhood Arrival status or have a pending 
application for this status

•	Noncitizens who have filed an application, 
petition, or request to obtain a lawfully present 
status that has been accepted as properly filed 
but who have not yet obtained employment 
authorization and whose deportation DHS does 
not contemplate enforcing

•	Any other noncitizens living in the United States 
with the knowledge and consent of the DHS, and 
whose departure the DHS does not contemplate 
enforcing. (These include persons granted 
Extended Voluntary Departure due to conditions 
in the noncitizen’s home country based on a 
determination by the Secretary of State.)
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Nonqualified PRUCOLs

Nonqualified PRUCOLs who are aged 65 or older 
may be eligible for MassHealth Family Assistance, 
Limited, or the Health Safety Net.

Other noncitizens

If your immigration status is not described above, 
you are considered an other noncitizen. You may 
be eligible for MassHealth Limited or the Health 
Safety Net.

NOTE: People who were getting MassHealth, 
formerly known as Medical Assistance, or 
CommonHealth on June 30, 1997, may continue 
to get benefits regardless of immigration status if 
otherwise eligible.

The eligibility of immigrants for publicly funded benefits 
is defined in the federal Personal Responsibility and Work 
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, the federal Balanced 
Budget Act of 1997, and in various provisions of state law. 
For additional details, see the MassHealth regulations at 130 
CMR 518.000.
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U.S. CITIZENSHIP/NATIONAL 
STATUS REQUIREMENTS 
FOR MASSHEALTH AND 
CONNECTORCARE PLANS AND 
ADVANCE PREMIUM TAX CREDITS 

IDENTITY REQUIREMENTS FOR 
MASSHEALTH, CONNECTORCARE 
PLANS AND ADVANCE PREMIUM 
TAX CREDITS, AND THE HEALTH 
SAFETY NET

Proof of both U.S. Citizenship/National Status 
AND Identity*

*	 Exception: Seniors and disabled persons 
who get or can get Medicare or Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI), or disabled persons who 
get Social Security Disability (SSDI) do NOT have 
to give proof of their U.S. citizenship/national 
status and identity. A child born to a mother 
who was getting MassHealth on the date of the 
child’s birth does not have to give proof of U.S. 
citizenship/national status and identity.
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The following are acceptable forms of proof 
of BOTH U.S. citizenship/national status AND 
identity. (No other documentation is required.):

1.	 a U.S. passport, including a U.S. Passport Card 
issued by the Department of State, without regard 
to any expiration date as long as this passport or 
Card was issued without limitation; or

2.	 a Certificate of U.S. Naturalization; or

3.	 a Certificate of U.S. Citizenship; or

4.	 a document issued by a federally recognized 
Indian tribe, as published in the Federal Register 
by the Bureau of Indian Affairs within the U.S. 
Department of the Interior, and identifies the 
federally recognized Indian Tribe that issued 
the document, identifies the individual by name 
and confirms the individual’s membership, 
enrollment, or affiliation with the Tribe. These 
documents include, but are not limited to: a 
Tribal enrollment card, a Certificate of Degree 
of Indian Blood, a Tribal census document, and 
documents on Tribal letterhead issued under the 
signature of the appropriate Tribal official that 
meet the requirements of 130 CMR 518.000.
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OR

Proof of U.S. Citizenship/National Status Only

•	 If one of the documents that satisfies both 
citizenship and identity is not provided, the 
following documents may be accepted as proof 
of U.S. citizenship/national status only.

•	A U.S. public birth certificate (including the 50 
states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico (on 
or after January 13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin 
Islands (on or after January 17, 1917), American 
Samoa, Swain’s Island, or the Commonwealth 
of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI) (after 
November 4, 1986). The birth record may be 
issued by the state, Commonwealth, territory, 
or local jurisdiction. The individual may also be 
collectively naturalized under federal regulations.

•	A cross match with the Massachusetts Registry 
of Vital Statistics that documents a record of birth

•	Certification of birth 

•	A U.S. Citizen ID card

•	A Northern Mariana Identification Card issued to 
a collectively naturalized citizen who was born 
in the CNMI before November 4, 1986
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•	A final adoption decree showing the child’s 
name and U.S. place of birth (if adoption is 
not final, a statement from a state-approved 
adoption agency that shows the child’s name 
and U.S. place of birth)

•	Evidence of U.S. civil service employment 
before June 1, 1976 

•	An official U.S. military record showing a U.S. 
place of birth

•	A data match with the Systematic Alien 
Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) Program 
or any other process established by the 
Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to 
prove an individual is a citizen

•	Documentation that a child meets the 
requirements of section 101 of the Child 
Citizenship Act of 2000 (8 U.S.C. 1431)

•	 Medical records, including, but not limited to, 
hospital, clinic, or doctor records, or admission 
papers from a nursing facility, skilled care facility, or 
other institution that indicate a U.S. place of birth

•	Life, health, or other insurance record that 
indicates a U.S. place of birth

•	An official religious record recorded in the U.S. 
showing that the birth occurred in the U.S.
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•	School records, including preschool, Head 
Start, and day care, showing the child’s name 
and U.S. place of birth

•	Federal or state census record showing U.S. 
citizenship or a U.S. place of birth

•	 If an individual does not have one of the documents 
listed in 130 CMR 518.000, he or she may submit 
an affidavit signed by another individual, under 
penalty of perjury, who can reasonably attest to 
the individual’s citizenship, and that contains the 
individual’s name, date of birth, and place of U.S. 
birth. The affidavit does not have to be notarized.

PLUS

Proof of Identity Only

•	The following documents are acceptable as 
proof of identity, provided this documentation 
has a photograph or other identifying information 
including, but not limited to, name, age, sex, 
race, height, weight, eye color, or address.

•	 Identity documents listed at 8 CFR 274a.2(b)
(1)(v)(B)(1), except a driver’s license issued by 
a Canadian government authority

•	A driver’s license issued by a state or territory 
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•	A school identification card

•	A U.S. military card or draft record

•	An identification card issued by the federal, 
state, or local government 

•	A military dependent’s identification card

•	A U.S. Coast Guard Merchant Mariner card

•	For children under age 19, a clinic, doctor, 
hospital, or school record, including preschool 
or day care records

•	Two documents containing consistent 
information that confirms an applicant’s 
identity. These documents include, but are not 
limited to

•	employer identification cards

•	high school and college diplomas (including 
high school equivalency diplomas) 

•	marriage certificates

•	divorce decrees 

•	property deeds or titles

•	a pay stub from a current employer with the 
applicant’s name and address preprinted, 
dated within 60 days of the application
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•	census proof containing the applicant’s name 
and address, dated not more than 12 months 
before the date of the application

•	a pension or retirement statement from a 
former employer or pension fund stating the 
applicant’s name and address, dated within 
12 months of the application

•	 tuition or student loan bill containing the 
applicant’s name and address, dated not 
more than 12 months before the date of the 
application

•	utility bill, cell phone bill, credit card bill, 
doctor’s bill, or hospital bill containing 
applicant’s name and address, dated not more 
than 60 days before the date of the application

•	 valid homeowner’s, renter’s, or automobile 
insurance policy with preprinted address, dated 
not more than 12 months before the date of 
the application, or a bill for this insurance with 
preprinted address, dated not more than 60 
days before the date of the application

•	 lease dated not more than 12 months before 
the date of the application, or home mortgage 
identifying applicant and address
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•	employment proved by W-2 forms or other 
documents showing the applicant’s name 
and address submitted by the employer to 
a government agency as a consequence of 
employment

•	 A finding of identity from a federal or state agency, 
including, but not limited to, a public assistance, 
law enforcement, internal revenue, tax bureau, or 
corrections agency, if the agency has proved and 
certified the identity of the individual

•	A finding of identity from an Express Lane 
agency, as defined in section 1902(e)(13) (F) of 
the Social Security Act

•	 If the applicant does not have any document 
specified in the first three main bullets above, 
and identity is not proved through the fourth 
and fifth main bullets above, the applicant may 
submit an affidavit signed, under penalty of 
perjury, by another person who can reasonably 
attest to the applicant’s identity. This affidavit 
must contain the applicant’s name and other 
identifying information establishing identity, as 
described in the first main bullet above. This 
affidavit does not have to be notarized.
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SECTION 11
WHERE TO GET HELP

MassHealth Customer Service Center 

1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for people 
who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled)

Topic

•	How to get a Senior Application

•	How to get a Long-Term-Care Supplement or a 
PCA Supplement

•	How to get a MassHealth Buy-In Application

•	Where to send the Senior Application

•	General eligibility information

•	Covered medical services

•	How to get interpreter services

•	How to get acceptable forms of proof

•	MassHealth premiums

•	How to find a MassHealth provider

•	Emergency services—out of Massachusetts

•	Questions about the voter registration process 
and help filling out the Voter Registration Form
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Executive Office of Elder Affairs (EOEA)

1-800-AGE-INFO (1-800-243-4636)  
(TTY: 1-877-610-0241 for people who are deaf, 
hard of hearing, or speech disabled)

Topic

•	 Elder Affairs Prescription Advantage Program  
(For persons who are not getting prescription drug 
benefits under MassHealth or Medicare, who are 
either under 65 years of age and disabled or 65 
years of age or older, and who want information 
about help with prescription drug costs)

MassHealth Enrollment Center

1-888-665-9993 (TTY: 1-888-665-9997 for people 
who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled) 
self-services available 24 hours/7 days a week

Topic

•	Member eligibility information

•	How to get MassHealth forms

•	Your eligibility notice

•	How to ask for a fair hearing to appeal 
MassHealth decisions
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•	How to meet your deductible

•	Your long-term-care patient-paid amount (PPA)

•	Where to report changes

•	How to replace a MassHealth card

•	 Information to process case

•	Examples of acceptable forms of proof

Special MassHealth Programs

Call MassHealth Enrollment Center 
1-800-408-1253 (TTY: 1-800-231-5698 for people 
who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled)

•	Kaileigh Mulligan Program—Home Care for 
Disabled Children

•	PACE (Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly)

Call MassHealth Enrollment Center  
1-888-665-9993 (TTY: 1-888-665-9997 for people 
who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled

•	Home- and Community-Based Services Waiver 
Program 
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Third Party Liability

1-800-754-1864

Topic

•	Real estate lien recovery

•	Accident recovery

•	Estate recovery

Board of Hearings

617-847-1200 or 1-800-655-0338  
fax: 617-847-1204

100 Hancock St., 6th Floor 
Quincy, MA 02171

Topic

•	MassHealth appeals—fair hearings

MassHealth Disability Accommodation 
Ombudsman

617-847-3468 (TTY: 617-847-3788 for people who 
are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled)

100 Hancock Street, 6th floor 
Quincy, MA 02171 
masshealthhelp@ehs.state.ma.us
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Topic

•	For applicants and members with disabilities 
who need accommodations

Social Security Administration (SSA)

1-800-772-1213 | www.ssa.gov  

Topic

•	Eligibility for Social Security enrollment in 
Medicare Parts A and B

•	Social Security benefits

•	Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits

•	Applying for an SSN

Medicare prescription drug coverage

1-800-MEDICARE 1-800-633-4227  
(TTY: 1-877-486-2048 for people who are deaf, 
hard of hearing, or speech disabled) 
www.medicare.gov

Senior Care Options

1-888-885-0484 (TTY: 1-888-821-5225 for people 
who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled) 



148

Massachusetts Health Connector

1-877-MA-ENROLL (1-877-623-6765)  
(TTY: 1-877-623-7773 for people who are deaf, 
hard of hearing, or speech disabled)  
www.mahealthconnector.org

Topic

•	Reporting changes

•	 Information about enrollment in health plans, 
premiums, copays, other program information, 
and appeals information

To report member or provider fraud 
1-877-437-2830 (1-877-4-FRAUD-0)

Health Safety Net Customer  
Service Center

1-877-910-2100

Topic

•	Health Safety Net
Grievances with HSN  
Health Safety Net Office  
Attn: HSN Grievances 
Two Boylston St., 6th Floor 
Boston, MA 02116 
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Legal Services 

A list of free and low-cost legal services is 
available on the MassHealth website at  
www.mass.gov/masshealth.

If you would like this list in print form, call us 
at 1-800-841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for 
people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech 
disabled).

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT 
VOTER REGISTRATION

The National Voter Registration Act of 1993 
requires MassHealth to give you the opportunity 
to register to vote. Your decision to register to 
vote will not affect your eligibility for benefits. 

A mail-in voter registration form is enclosed in the 
middle of this booklet, if this booklet contains the 
MassHealth application. If you would like a mail-in 
voter registration form sent to you, please call the 
MassHealth Customer Service Center at 1-800-
841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for people who 
are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled).
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When you get the form, fill it out and send it to 
your city or town hall. If you have any questions 
about the voter registration process, or if you 
need help filling out the form, call one of the listed 
telephone numbers, or visit a local MassHealth 
office. MassHealth office locations can be found 
at www.mass.gov/masshealth. (Click on “Contact 
MassHealth.”)

Remember: You will not be registered to vote until 
you send the filled-out voter registration form to 
your local city or town hall. Your local election 
department will let you know in writing when your 
voter registration has been processed. If you do 
not get written notification within a reasonable 
time, contact your local city or town hall election 
department for more information. 

Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services 
MassHealth

VOTE-3 (Rev. 03/15)

MassHealth updates the federal poverty levels 
each year based on changes made by the federal 
government. The income levels above reflect the 
standards as of March 1, 2015.



Federal Poverty Levels (Monthly)

Household Size	 100%	 5%	 133%	 150%

1	 $981	 $50	 $1,305	 $1,472

2	 $1,328	 $67	 $1,766	 $1,992

3	 $1,675	 $84	 $2,227	 $2,512

4	 $2,021	 $102	 $2,688	 $3,032

5	 $2,368	 $119	 $3,149	 $3,552

6	 $2,715	 $136	 $3,610	 $4,072

7	 $3,061	 $154	 $4,071	 $4,592

8	 $3,408	 $171	 $4,532	 $5,112

Additional Persons	 $347	 $18	 $462	 $520	

Household Size	 200%	 250%	 300%	 400%

1	 $1,962	 $2,453	 $2,943	 $3,924

2	 $2,655	 $3,319	 $3,983	 $5,310

3	 $3,349	 $4,186	 $5,023	 $6,697

4	 $4,042	 $5,053	 $6,063	 $8,084

5	 $4,735	 $5,919	 $7,103	 $9,470

6	 $5,429	 $6,786	 $8,143	 $10,857

7	 $6,122	 $7,653	 $9,183	 $12,244

8	 $6,815	 $8,519	 $10,223	 $13,630

Additional Persons	 $694	 $867	 $1,040	 $1,387



Important!  If you need an interpreter or 
translation help with any MassHealth notice 
or form, or if you want a booklet/guide in your 
language, or if you have any questions about 
MassHealth, please call the MassHealth Customer 
Service Center at 1-800-841-2900 

(TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for people who are deaf, 
hard of hearing, or speech disabled). MassHealth 
does not discriminate on the basis of national 
origin. 

[ITF Rev. 10/12]

This booklet is also available in braille and large-
print editions. To get a copy, please call the 
MassHealth Customer Service Center at 1-800-
841-2900 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 for people who 
are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech disabled).

SACA-1-LP (Rev. 03/15)


