
         
 

 
 
 
 

Application for Waiver of Minimum Wage  
for Employees with Disabilities 

M.G.L. c. 151, §9 and 454 CMR 27.06(2) 
 
Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 151, §9 and 454 C.M.R. 27.06(2), the Department of Labor Standards (DLS) may 
issue to any employer of: 
 
1) an employee whose earning capacity is impaired by age or physical or mental deficiency or injury, or 
 
2) an employee who is certified by the secretary of health and human services or his designee as a 

handicapped person 
 
a certificate (waiver) authorizing employment at a wage rate less than the established minimum fair wage. 
 
To apply for this waiver, the employer must submit:  
(a) this completed application form;  
(b) an application fee of one hundred dollars ($100);  
(c) a copy of the U.S. Department of Labor Application for Authority to Employ Workers with Disabilities at  
     Special Minimum Wages (Federal Form WH-226-MIS) and all supporting documentation that  
     accompanied that application;  
(d) a current Certificate Authorizing Special Minimum Wage Rates under Section 14(c) of the Fair Labor 
     Standard Act (Federal Form WH-228) issued in response by the U.S. Department of Labor.   
 
Employers who place an employee(s) with a disability(ies) at worksites other than the employer’s premises 
listed on the application must also provide:  
(i)  the names and addresses of the worksites to which the workers will be sent;  
(ii) a list of the workers corresponding with the worksite assignment;  
(iii) the wage proposed to be paid to each worker;  
(iv) the job each worker will perform;  
(v) a copy of the contract for service between the employer applying for the waiver and the third party 
     worksite employer, including the total sum of money to be paid by the third party to the employer for the  
     services being provided; (vi) and such other information as the Director of the Department of Labor  
     Standards may reasonably require.  
 
The application fee must be submitted in the form of a money order or check, payable to the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. This fee is not refundable in the event that this application is denied. 

 
Please submit the completed application form, application fee, and all required documents to: 

 
Department of Labor Standards 

Minimum Wage Program 
19 Staniford Street, 2nd Floor 

Boston, MA 02114 
 
Your application form, documents, and application fee should be submitted at least 30 days prior to 
the requested date of applicability. 
 

If you have any questions regarding this application, please contact DLS at 617-626-6952. 

 
19 Staniford Street  •  2nd Floor  •  Boston, Massachusetts 02114 

Phone: 617-626-6952  •  Fax: 617-626-6944  •  www.mass.gov/dols 



 
 

 
 

Application for Waiver of Minimum Wage for Employees with Disabilities 
M.G.L. c. 151, §9 and 454 CMR 27.06(2) 

 
Please provide the following information: 
 
1. Name of company/organization: _____________________________________________________ 
 
2.  Nature of business: _______________________________________________________________ 
 
3.  Telephone number: _______________________________________________________________ 
 
4.  Business address: ________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5.  Name of contact person and title: ____________________________________________________ 
 
6.  Provide names of all of the employees with disabilities, the nature and extent of the disabilities, and the   
     expected start dates and each location where the employees will be working (attach additional sheets  
     if necessary):   
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
7. Provide detailed information about the nature of the work and individual time studies for each disabled  
    employee (attach additional sheets if necessary): 
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
8. Provide the prevailing or usual wage rate for the work performed and the proposed adjusted hourly rate 
for each disabled employee. Explain how the prevailing rate and adjusted rate  were determined  
(attach additional sheets if necessary): 
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

10.  a. Is this the company/organization’s first application?   □YES   □NO 

 b. If this is not the first application, when was the last application made? _____________________  
 c. If a previous application was approved, when was the waiver in effect? ____________________ 

 
I declare the above facts and any supplemental documentation are true and complete to the best of my knowledge and understand 

that any false answer(s) will be considered just cause for denial of application. I understand that DLS and the Office of the 

Attorney General have the right of inspection of any employer’s payroll records at any time.  

 

 
 

  SIGNATURE PRINT NAME PRINT TITLE DATE 

 

19 Staniford Street  •  2nd Floor  •  Boston, Massachusetts 02114 
Phone: 617-626-6952  •  Fax: 617-626-6944  •  www.mass.gov/dols 
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