Minor (Ages 14-17) Employment Permit Process

NOTE: This process is specific Minor must obtain job offer from employer (may be verbal)
to a job. A new permit must be
issued if the minor changes jobs,
obtains a different position with Y
the same employer, and for each Obtain Work Permit Application from Department of Labor
additional employment position Standards website: http://www.mass.gov/dols/youth
or job.
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Have employer complete the “Promise of Employment” section
of the Work Permit Application.
Is the Minor 14 or 15 years old?
\ 4 \ 2
If yes: If no:
\ 2 \ 2
Doctor must complete “Physican’s “Physican’s Certificate of Health”
Certificate of Health” section of Work not required. Obtain proof Minor
Permit Application. Minor must obtain meets requirements for completion
School Record from school last attended. of 6" grade.
School Record can be obtained by the
Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education Security Portal by a designated
School official. v

Parent/Guardian/Custodian and Minor must review “Summary
of Massachusetts Laws Regulating Minors> Work Hours and
Occupations Restrictions” and assess whether the new job meets
work hours and restrictions.
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If the new job will meet work hours and restrictions, the
Parent/Guardian/Custodian must sign the Work Permit Application
in section 4 and the minor must sign the Work Permit Application
in section 5.
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Bring Work Permit Application, School Record
or proof of meeting requirements for completion
of 6" grade, and proof of age (passport, birth
certificate etc.) to public school superintendent

in the municipality where the employer is located.
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Does Minor live outside of
Y Massachusetts?
If yes:

If no:

|

Bring completed Work Permit
Application, School Record or
proof of meeting requirements for
completion of the 6™ grade, and
proof of age (passport or birth
certificate to either the public
school Superintendent of schools
where the Minor attends or the
Superintendent of schools where
the Minor lives.

Superintendent will review school record (14 and 15 year olds) or proof of meeting 6™ grade
requirements (16 and 17 year olds) then download and complete Employment Permit from the
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Security Portal, if deemed appropriate.
The Minor will sign the Employment Permit in the Superintendent’s presence. Contact your
local school district for more information including: hours, location etc.
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issuing Superintendent.

School will maintain a copy of all documents. Minor will bring completed Employment Permit
to employer, who must keep it on file at all times while Minor is employed, or until the Minor is
18 years old. After which, the Employment Permit may be destroyed. If the Minor’s
employment ends prior to his/her 18" birthday the Employment Permit must be returned to the




