includes overdrafts caused by paper
checks or electronic funds transfers
such as debit card transactions.

Are ‘premium’ accounts, those based
on a higher minimum balance, subject
to the 18-65 law?

® As long as
there is
another E \ -
full service, Lo
smaller
minimum
balance k
savings and
checking
account offered by the bank then,

no, a ‘premium’ account would not
be covered by the law.

Can the bank require a co-signer for
my account if | am under 18?
e Yes. The bank can require an adult
to co-sign on the account opened
for a minor.

If 1 am eligible for an 18-65 account,
can | open a joint account with my
spouse who is not?

e Yes. If you are eligible, you may
open a joint account with your
spouse as a depositor regardless of
the age of your spouse.

Benefits of an
18S-65 Account:

e No minimum balance
requirements

* No charges for a deposit
or withdrawal

e No fees for initial or subsequent
basic checks associated with
an 18-65 account

¢ Limited insufficient funds fee

For More Information

Visit the Division of Banks website,
www.mass.gov/dob, for more details

about 18-65 accounts and more informa-

tion about state-chartered banks. The
Division of Banks is part of the Patrick-
Murray Administration’s Office of Con-
sumer Affairs and Business Regulation.

Office of
Gon_sumer Affairs &
Business Regulation
v Better businesses. Smarter consumers.

Barbara Anthony
Undersecretary

18-69

Accounts

Free for Teens
and Seniors

@ivision of Banks
N

Better businesses. Smarter consumers.

Deval L. Patrick
Governor



What is the “18-65”" Law?

The Massachusetts “18-65" law, allows any person who is 65 years of age or older
or 18 years of age or younger to have a savings account and a checking account at
a Massachusetts state-chartered savings bank, co-operative bank or trust company
without having to pay a service, maintenance or similar charge.

Accounts covered by the 18-65 law are not subject to minimum balance require-
ments, a charge for a deposit or withdrawal, or fees for the initial order or subse-
quent refills of the basic line of checks offered by the bank.

However, the 18-65 law does allow a state-chartered bank to charge a reasonable
fee, determined by the Division of Banks, when a payment has been refused due to
insufficient funds, (commonly referred to as bouncing a check), or when payment
is made from the account despite insufficient funds (commonly known as “bounce
protection”).

A full listing of all Massachusetts state-chartered savings banks, co-operative banks
and trust companies which are subject to the 18-65 law and their branch locations
may be found on our website: www.mass.gov/dob. For additional assistance you may
also contact the Division’s Consumer Assistance Unit at (617) 956-1501.

Frequently Asked not required to offer the 18-65
N accounts. However, some credit
QlleStIOIlS unions and federally-chartered
Are all banks located in Massachusetts banks may offer similar programs
required to offer the 18-65 account? so you should inquire with your
* No, the 18-65 law specifically states institution.
that Massachusetts state-char-
tered banks are required to offer How can | obtain an 18-65 account?
these accounts. Banks which are e You must notify the bank of your

federally-chartered,
often designated by

eligibility if you wish to
open an 18-65 account. A

annual disclosure to all depositors
regarding the 18-65 law.

How many 18-65 accounts can | open?

e If you are eligible, you may open
ONE checking account and ONE
savings ac-
count. Eligible
savings ac-
counts include:
regular passbook
accounts, state-
ment savings or
NOW accounts.

Can a state-chartered bank
impose fees on 18-65 accounts
for some services?

¢ Yes, a state-chartered bank
may charge fees for stop pay-
ment orders; wire transfers; certi-
fied or bank checks; money orders;
deposit items returned; and trans-
actions at electronic branches and
through other electronic devices.

What has the Division of Banks deter-
mined to be the reasonable fee that
can be charged by the bank if | bounce
a check or if the bank honors a check

an N.A. or F.S.B., after PTG R bank is required to post no- even if there are insufficient funds?
their names, are not " o tice of the availability of the ¢ The Division has set the fee which
required to offer such 18-65 account in all banking a bank can impose on an 18-65 ac-

accounts. Credit unions are also locations. It must also provide an count at $5.00 per transaction. This



