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Buying an Automobile in Massachusetts? 
What You Should Know about the  

State’s Lemon Laws 
Look for the Yellow 
Warranty Sticker!

Auto dealers are required 
to place yellow Lemon Law 
warranty notices on cars that 
are offered for sale. These 
notices inform consumers of 
their rights under the state’s 
new and used car Lemon 
Laws.

These notices 
are different for 
new and used 
cars and must 
be affixed to 
the window or 
the dashboard.  
They detail a 
consumer’s 
right to a 
refund after 
a reasonable 
number of 

repair attempts, and outline 
the arbitration process when 
a dealer and consumer 
disagree about whether the 
car qualifies for a refund.

If you don’t see the notice, ask 
the salesman for one.

Barbara Anthony, Undersecretary       10 Park Plaza      Suite 5170      Boston, MA  02116
Hotline 617-973-8787    888-283-3757    www.mass.gov/consumer

Thinking of  buying a car in Massachusetts? If  so, you also need to know 
about the state’s Lemon Laws that protect Massachusetts car buyers. These 
laws provide you with protections that may include repair, replacement or 
refund of  your vehicle.

The Lemon Law covers only serious defects – those that impair the use, 
market value or safety of  the vehicle. Although a car problem is annoying, 
you must prove specifically how the market value, use, or safety is impaired 
by the defect.  

The “term of  protection” for consumers purchasing a new vehicle is one 
year or 15,000 miles of  use from the date of  original delivery. Coverage on 
used vehicle purchases depends on 
the age and mileage on the car. 

Before your car is considered a 
“lemon,” you must give the manu-
facturer, its agent, or authorized 
dealer three attempts to repair the 
same defect. 

The Lemon Law allows for arbitra-
tion if  both parties cannot agree 
that the standards for a refund have 
been met. The arbitration program 
offered by the Office of  Consumer 
Affairs and Business Regulation is 
free and gets results. After  
acceptance of  a request for arbitration, a formal decision is generally issued 
within 45 days. A request for arbitration must be received within 18 months 
of  a new car purchase or within six months of  a purchasing a used car.

Consumers may also bring a civil action in court and, in addition to other re-
lief, may be entitled to recover reasonable attorneys’ fees and all court costs. 

For more information about the Lemon Law, please contact the Office of  
Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation Hotline toll free at (888) 283-3757 
or visit the Lemon Law section of  our website.

http://www.mass.gov/consumer
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