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BOARD OF REGISTRATION OF MASSAGE THERAPY 
Instructions for Establishment Application 

1. An application must be submitted for each physical location. Additionally, should you move 
your establishment after licensure by the Board of Registration of Massage Therapy 
(“Board”), a new application must be submitted because licenses are not transferable.  

2. You must read the regulations: 269 CMR 6.00 et. seq.  Go to: www.mass.gov/dpl/mt and 
select "statutes and regulations."  On the next page select "Rules and regulations governing 
massage therapists."  On the next page select "269 CMR 6.00: Facility Licensure." 

3. If you answered Question #13(a) in the affirmative, a certificate of standing is required from 
every out-of-state licensure jurisdiction. Certificates are required for all licensure statuses 
including lapsed, expired, etc. Contact that jurisdiction and have the document mailed to you 
for inclusion with your application. Please maintain the official statement(s) in the 
unopened, jurisdiction-sealed envelope(s) to accompany your application.  The 
document may also be mailed direction to the Board; however, this may cause a delay in 
processing your application.   

4. Regarding Question #14, you must list all offenses including OUI, DUI, and Operating 
after/with suspended license or registration.  Dispositions of “continued without finding” 
(“CWOF”) or “admission to sufficiency of facts” must be reported.  Do not include minor 
traffic offense(s).    

5. Your application must be signed and notarized.  The checklist must also be signed and 
notarized. 

6. Your application must include a floor plan. 

7. Your multiple therapist application must include a compliance plan.  

8. If your establishment is required to carry worker’s comp insurance, you must provide a 
copy of the worker’s comp insurance policy declarations page that indicates the amount 
and effective date of coverage.  The policy must reference the establishment.  The Board 
cannot make recommendations about insurers nor can the board provide advice on whether 
your establishment is required to carry worker’s comp insurance.   

9. Include a check or money order for $50.00 (if single therapist) or $150 (if multiple) in U.S. 
funds made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The fee is not refundable.  
Please note that your application will not be processed without the correct fee.  The initial fee 
includes both application processing and your first license.   

10. Mail the complete application package to: Board of Massage Therapy, 1000 
Washington Street, Suite 710: Establishment Licensure, Boston, MA, 02118-6100.    

11. Please allow 4 – 6 weeks for processing. If you have any additional questions, please 
contact the Board via email: feiyan.h.chen@state.ma.us or ana.garcia@state.ma.us or by 
phone, (617) 727-1747.   
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The Commonwealth of Massachusetts 

Division of Professional Licensure 
Board of Registration of Massage Therapy 

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 
Boston MA 02118-6100 

ESTABLISHMENT APPLICATION  

      
1.  Type of Establishment:    Single Therapist (Solo) -- Mass. Massage Therapist License #__________   

   More than one Therapist (Multiple) –Name & License # of Compliance       
Officer _____________________________________________________  

 
2. Name of Establishment Operator:           

                            Last   First               Middle  
 
3.  Name/Address of Establishment:          
 

____________________________________________________ 
              No.   Street   P.O. Box 
                  ____________________________________________________________ 
             City/Town   State   Zip Code 
 
4.  Contact Information : Day Phone:            Evening:                                             
  
E-mail: ______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Please note: EMAIL will be the primary means of contact for routine correspondences during the application process. 
    
5.  Establishment is:  Individually Owned    Partnership     Incorporated (enclose Articles of Corporation) 

If a corporation, what is the name?  ________        

If establishment is incorporated, state where:          

If a corporation, list names, addresses and phone numbers of the officers.     

 _____________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________ 

If a partnership, list names, addresses and phone numbers of the partners. _____________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________ 

If individually owned, who is the owner? _______________________________________________ 

     

 
6.   Location of establishment:    Store   Residence   Office Building   Salon/Spa                       
  Medical Office/Clinic   Physical Therapy Facility   Other ___________________ 

BOARD USE ONLY 
Fee:   Check/MO #________________   Amt Received:   $50 (Solo)   $150 (Multi)   

Investigator’s Name:       Date of Inspection:      

Received By:                      CORI sent __________  CORI rec’d: ________ 

Application Number__________________________  License Number:      
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7.  Has owner obtained all necessary local permits?    Yes     No 
 

8.  Is a floor plan attached (required for all establishments)?    Yes     No 
 

(If applying for a solo establishment license, skip to question #10) 

9.  Is a Compliance Plan attached (required for all multiple therapist establishments)?    Yes     No    

(There is a sample compliance plan available on the Board’s “Applications and Forms” web page) 
 

10.  How many massage therapists will be practicing at this establishment?        
Below list all names & MA license #’s 

             

             

              
 

11. Specify how many of each of the items listed below: 
 

  Bathrooms _____  Sinks ______  Massage Tables ______  Covered Disposals _______ 

12. Is this establishment required to carry Worker’s Compensation insurance? 
Yes:     No:       If “Yes,” provide a copy of the Worker’s Comp. insurance policy 
declarations page. 

 
 

13.  To be completed for all signatories to this application: 
 

a) List any licenses/certifications any signatory to this application has held in the United States or any country 
or foreign jurisdiction and the jurisdiction from which the license/certification was originally issued.  
Please attach a certificate of standing from each jurisdiction outside Massachusetts in which the signatory 
is licensed/certified, indicating the status of the license and any relevant disciplinary information.               
______________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

b) Has any disciplinary action been taken against any signatory to this application by a licensing/certification 
authority located in the United States or any country or foreign jurisdiction?  Yes:     No:   
If yes, please state the details (use a separate sheet if necessary):__________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

c) Is any signatory to this application the subject of pending disciplinary actions by a licensing/certification 
authority located in the United States or any country or foreign jurisdiction?  Yes:     No:   
If yes, please state the details (use a separate sheet if necessary): __________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________ 

d) Has any signatory to this application ever voluntarily surrendered or resigned a professional license to a 
licensing/certification authority in the United States or any foreign jurisdiction? 
Yes:     No:    If yes, please state the details (use a separate sheet if necessary):____________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

e) Has any signatory to this application ever applied for and been denied a professional license in the United 
States or any foreign jurisdiction?  Yes:     No:        If yes, please state the details (use a separate sheet 
if necessary): ___________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 
 
 
 

Establishment operator or manager must notify the Board of Registration of Massage Therapy, thirty 
(30) days prior, of any change in ownership or location.   
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14. Has any signatory to this application ever been convicted of, or admitted to a felony or misdemeanor in the 
United States or any foreign jurisdiction, other than a traffic violation for which a fine of less than $200.00 
was assessed? Yes:     No:     If yes, please state the details (use a separate sheet if necessary):   
             ____ 
NOTE: The Board has received certification by the Criminal History Systems Board (ID# MAREG G) to access data about convictions 
and pending criminal cases.  Your signature on this application allows the Board to conduct criminal background checks for 
conviction, non-conviction, and pending criminal case information only, on an ongoing basis, and that it will not necessarily 
disqualify you from licensure (or later license renewal).  Other Federal and professional records may also be checked.  The Board 
will not deny you a license (license renewal) based on criminal information prior to giving you an opportunity for a limited 
appearance before the Board. 

 

15. I certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that the information I have provided pursuant to this 
application for licensure is truthful and accurate.  I understand that the failure to provide accurate 
information may be grounds for the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Massage Therapy to deny, 
suspend or revoke any license issued to me in accordance with Massachusetts Law.  I further attest that, 
pursuant to G.L. c. 62C, s. 49A., to the best of my knowledge and belief, I have filed all state tax returns 
and paid all state taxes required by law. 

 
           
Signature of Operator   Date 
 
       ID THEFT INDEX PIN: ___________1

Birth Date 
 

 
           
Signature of Owner    Date 
 
       ID THEFT INDEX PIN: ___________1 
Birth Date 
 
           
Signature of Owner    Date 
 
       ID THEFT INDEX PIN: ___________1 
Birth Date 

 
 
On this ____ day of ___________, 20__, before me, the undersigned notary public, personally appeared 
________________________________________________________ (name[s] of document signer[s]),  
proved to me through satisfactory evidence of government issued identification, which was/were 
__________________________________, to be the person whose name is signed on the preceding or attached 
document, and acknowledged to me that (he) (she) signed it voluntarily for its stated purpose.           SEAL 
        
 
 
 
____________________________________ My commission expires ____________ 
Signature of Notary Public 
 
Investigator Only:  Please staple a copy of the ITD printout for the above referenced Establishment. 

                                                 
1 Only applicable if the individual has been enrolled in the NCIC Identity Theft File by the CHSB. 
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        YOU MUST INCLUDE THIS 
 APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

WITH YOUR APPLICATION 
 

I certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury, the truth of the following statements: 
• I have read the instructions and all regulations: 269 CMR 6.00 et. seq.  

• I have enclosed a completed (signed & notarized) “License Application” form.  Each and every 
question must be answered with the appropriate information. For “Yes/No” questions please 
answer “Yes,” “No” or “Not Applicable”                            

• If applicable, I have enclosed a copy of my local est. license, valid within the past 2 yrs.  

• If applicable, I have enclosed a copy of the Articles of Corporation of the owning corporation.   

• I have enclosed floor plan of my establishment which includes measurement specifications.     

• If Question #9 was answered in the affirmative, I have enclosed the establishment’s 
compliance plan.     

• If applicable, I have enclosed a copy of the Worker’s Comp. Insurance declarations page. 

• I have enclosed a Check/Money Order payable to: Commonwealth of MA for the following 
amount:  $50 (Solo)    $150 (Multiple)   

 

MANDATORY 
My Social Security Number or Tax Identification Number is: 
 □□□-□□-□□□□ 
Pursuant to G.L. c. 62C, § 47A, the Division of Professional Licensure is required to obtain your social security number and 
forward it to the Department of Revenue.  The Department of Revenue will use your social security number to ascertain 
whether you are in compliance with the tax laws of the Commonwealth. 
 

           
Signature of Operator or Owner  Date 
 
       ID THEFT INDEX PIN: ___________2

Birth Date 
 

 
On this ____ day of ___________, 20__, before me, the undersigned notary public, personally 
appeared____________________________ (name of document signer), proved to me through satisfactory evidence 
of government issued identification, which was/were _____________________, to be the person whose name is 
signed on the preceding or attached document, and acknowledged to me                    SEAL 
that (he) (she) signed it voluntarily for its stated purpose.        
 
____________________________________  My commission expires ____________ 
Signature of Notary Public 
 
Mail your application materials to: Board of Massage Therapy, 1000 Washington Street, Suite 710: 
Establishment Licensure, Boston, MA, 02118-6100.    

                                                 
2 Only applicable if the individual has been enrolled in the NCIC Identity Theft File by the CHSB. 


