
Massachusetts Veterans’                    
Memorial Cemetery 

1390 Main Street 
Agawam, MA 01001 

(413) 821-9500 ph 
(413) 821-9839 fx 

Commonwealth of  

Department of      
Veterans’ Services 

Massachusetts Veterans’ 
Memorial Cemeteries 

 

Agawam 
 

Winchendon 

Massachusetts Veterans’                          
Memorial Cemetery 
111 Glenallen Street 

Winchendon, MA 01475 
(978) 297-9501 ph 
(978) 297-4271 fx 

HOURS OF OPERATION 
Monday—Friday 

8am—4pm 
 

COMMITTAL SERVICES 
by appointment only 

Monday—Friday 
9:00, 10:00, 11:00 AM 
1:00, 2:00, 3:00 PM 

A place of honor 
Committal Service 
Military Honors 

Government Marker 
Presidential Memorial Certificate 

A place of dignity 

A place of respect 
Special ceremonies held each  

Memorial Day and Veterans’ Day in 
Agawam and Winchendon 

Perpetual care 

Grounds open 7am-Dusk, 7 days a week 



Required Documents 
 

Cemetery application 

All Military discharge papers (DD214) 

Birth certificate(s) OR driver’s license 

Marriage Certificate (if applicable) 

Residency certificate (if applicable) 

Death certificate  

 

 

Fees 
   Veterans: 

     • No charge for burial 

  Spouse / Dependent fees: 

$300 full casket burial 

$150 cremation burial 

 $200 fee for all disinterment’s  
   

Fees subject to change without notice 

Committal Chapel 

 

All committal services are conducted in the chapel 
 

No graveside services allowed 
 

Specific gravesites may not be reserved 
 

Cemetery policies, rules and regulations  

(including floral) are available at the cemetery office 
Above ground Columbarium Wall niche  

for cremated remains 
Granite niche cover 

In-ground cremated remains burial  
Upright granite headstone 

Full casket burials 
Upright granite headstone 

Types of  Burials 
& Markers 

Eligibility 
is based on Military Service and Massachusetts Residency: 

 
Military Service:  

1. Veteran was discharged or released from active duty service 
(other than for training) under honorable conditions, *OR 

2. Veteran served at least 20 years in the National Guard or Unit-
ed States Reserves and is in receipt of a military pension or has 
documentation verifying he/she will receive retirement pay at 
age 60, in accordance with Title 10, Chapter 1223, OR 

3. Any member of the Armed Forces of the United States who 
dies on active duty and whose home or record is Massachusetts. 

*With certain exceptions, service beginning after September 7, 
1980, as an enlisted person, and service after October 16, 1981, as 
an officer, must be for a minimum of 24 months OR the full peri-
od for which the veteran was called to active duty. 
(Examples include those serving less than 24 months in the Gulf 
War or Reservists that were federalized by Presidential Act.) 

 
Residency: 

 “Home of Record” at time of entry into active service on 
DD214 is Massachusetts OR 

Proof of Massachusetts residency: 
 Photocopy of veteran’s Massachusetts driver’s license  

   OR 
 An original letter from city/town clerk verifying residency 

after discharge.  

 
Spouse/Dependent Children: 

 Veteran and spouse must be legally married. 

 A former spouse of an eligible veteran whose marriage has been 
terminated by annulment or divorce is not eligible. 

 Deceased, unmarried minor child under the age of 21, or under 
age 23 who is a student attending an approved educational insti-
tution full-time.  

 Unmarried adult child incapable to self-support with physical or 
mental disability acquired before age 21, or 23 if attending a 
course of instruction at an approved educational institution. 


